madamemim1

40F.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Joined Jan 2008
4 Followers

Following 0 people

10 Loved Places

Listings

  • Brewer's Hotel Bar Strip District, Pittsburgh
  • Tilden Downtown, Pittsburgh
  • Lucky's Tavern Strip District, Pittsburgh
  • There Ultra Lounge Downtown, Pittsburgh
  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed Tilden Over a year ago
    Hates it

    AVOID
    Awful Awful Awful. Why would anyone want to pay for a membership to an after hours bar where you can't get a drink before they close it - And not because it's busy? Awful Awful Awful.

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed Brewer's Hotel Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love Love Love This bar!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    This place is small and is the perfect definition of Dive bar. However, this place rocks. I ordered a vodka and tonic, a miller lite and 2 shots of rocket fuel during happy hour and spent $5. WOW. Rocket Fuel is their house drink/shot. It is made from everything behind the bar and knocks you on your keester. Every type of person is found here - bear, leather, hipster, straight, gay, tranny, lesbian.. you name it, it's here. Have a ball!!

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed Cruze Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    TOTALLY WOWED ME!!!
    This place is amazing. The place has a lot of square feet but has no "dead space" - there is no Siberia in this club. The front lounge is gorgeous with huge floor to ceiling windows so natural light is not a problem here. You can sit in the comfortable couches and people watch if you like while socializing with friends. The whole place is set up with socializing in mind. The dance floor is completely state of the art - Amazing light show and sound system. The back bar is beautiful and it seems as though the owners did not skimp on anything. There is a deck that is open year round with misting fans for summer and outdoor heating for winter. I almost forgot to mention that when you come to the club on the weekends they have a great tab system - when you enter you open your tab at the door and get a bracelet with a number. That way you can go to any bartender at any station and receive fast hassle free service with your bracelet. I just have not seen any gay bar/club in Pittsburgh with such a service first attitude and am happy to report that I will be back many more times in the future. Bravo and well done!!!

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed There Ultra Lounge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    What happened to this bar?
    This bar was such a great place to visit and I must say that after this visit I will not return. It seems like the magic that made this bar a destination has vanished. I felt like I was in a dive bar - a seedy place. My last visit a year ago seemed a little more upscale and the place seemed well run and organized with lots of energy. That is no more. I observed employees drinking behind the bar, the doorman though cute, seemed intoxicated as did the bartender. The place has lost it's mojo and me as a customer. Good day.

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed Lucky's Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It is what it Is..
    Lucky's is just one of those bars that are stuck in a time warp. You walk in a side entrance and to your left is the old jukebox playing Britney Spears and a clock hanging just above that is set a tad fast to speed up last call. The place hasn't been remodeled ever - I think.. But that is okay. This place has two floors and the second floor is where the DJ spins and the naked go-go boys dance on the bar. It can be quite fun to go with a group of friends and drink low shelf drinks and watch the spectacle in front of you. It's old time gay meeting a curiosity for the new. Sometimes being stuck in a time warp is okay.

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed P-Town Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Bad Bartenders
    For some reason the bartender thought that I should be making my own drinks and the pay and tip HIM. If he could just leave his laptop alone. Otherwise it was an okay place.. real small though. But just as I may go to a bar to enjoy a clean atmosphere, the bartender is the definitive force that will keep me comming back or keep me away. In this case, out of the two times I've visited, THEY will keep me away.

  • madamemim1
    madamemim1 reviewed 941 Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    PASS ON BY...
    This bar is the center for drama in pittsburgh. While there are a few nice bartenders like Sprout to name one, it still has the same staff that runs the afterhours club upstairs and they are NOT NICE. If you are comming in from out of town, beware.. DO NOT leave your money and drink unattended on the bar. Even if you have to use the restroom for it will disappear. You will not find many different ethnic groups in this bar either as they only care for one group of people to be in the bar: pretty white boys.