flashgordon

Ken Ken, 42M.

Orlando, Florida
Joined Jun 2009
14 Followers

62 Loved Places

Listings

  • Boardwalk Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Alibi Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Ramrod Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas

Cities

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Worthington Guest House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Big Place
    Usually stay at the Elysium but changed it up this time. Worthington is attached to Alcazar and Villa Venice. 2 heated pools (3 all together), 2 hot tubs, 3 buildings with plenty of rooms. Really great space! Lots of walking around room. I stayed in room at Alcazar. Nice room, very clean. Not as updated as Grand, but nice soft bed and large bathroom. Very friendly crowd and right in the middle of the action. I would stay here again and plan to. Friendly people and staff. Can't wait to go back!

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Rehab Saint Louis Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Strongest drinks in town
    Friendly-ish bartenders who make the best drinks on the block. The crowd is odd and mixed, but that's part of the charm. Take over the jukebox unless you're looking for alt rock or metal. My recommendation is to start here for the drinks and then move on.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Just John Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Went back again
    *** Just went back. Had 4 doubles and no buzz- I watched the pour and each bartender put plenty of booze in, but there was none in there. I think they water down their bottles. No proof other than the fact that I know a good cocktail when I have one- and I've never had one there. My bf and I had a fun time here. Check out the back area outside. The bartenders could be friendlier and faster, but the drinks were strong and not terribly expensive. The crowd was friendly and the music was great! Check it out early and then head to Ernie's.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Cattleman's Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Don't believe the hype
    We heard a lot about this place but it wasn't anything special. Also, it's rather out of the way. To start with, it's a dump. The waitstaff I guess would be considered "old school" but we just found them slow and unhelpful. We had the famous "lamb fries". Turns out it's a Denver oyster- cow testicles. They were flavorless and smooshy. Yuck. The salad was drenched in oil. The steak was expensive and flavorless. I've had much better meals at Outback. When we left we were told to hurry up and not to stand around outside because it was dangerous at night. WTF???

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Mud Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice little place to start out.
    This is a fun place to start out the night. It's right downtown and is just off the square. Be aware that drinking promptly ends at 1:15 (they take your glass at 1:30 and you're out on your rear! So get out there for HH.) in Springfield and no bars are open on Sundays unless there's a special event. This is NOT a gay bar, but it is as gay friendly as anything in Springfield is- that means the bar and staff are nice but the crowd is young and not always as tolerant. It's a cute place in a great area. It's right next to many of the downtown theaters. You will not be cruising here but you will have a fun, relaxed time.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed DoubleTree Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice and clean
    A nice one in the chain. It's convenient to 44 and most of the downtown area. It is attached to a Houlihan's restaurant but I would skip it and go across the parking lot to the BBQ place (Buckingham's or Hemingway's?) and have the burnt-ends meal. It's great! The hotel has a fun pool and is an $8 cab ride to any of the gay bars in town.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Hotel Mercurio Over a year ago
    Hates it

    total dump
    The good part: beautiful pool area that has a fun happy hour that starts at 3. The bad: everything else. We stayed for 3 nights (I wanted to move immediately, but nothing else was available locally for 3 consecutive nights). The room was a dump. It was like something from a horror movie. There are no phones in the rooms. The bed was hard and lumpy. The wireless nonexistent. The bathroom was the worst- it has an open vent that leads out into the hallway. This means you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway- and they can hear you in the bathroom! Walk down the hallway at 10am and hear everyone getting up and getting ready for the day! Also, the noise in this place is astounding. The bar opens up at 3 but the music keeps playing till 12am. Then, breakfast is at 8am. It's good- but the woman who prepares is bangs every dish she an find until about 11am. So if your try to go to sleep early- denied. If you try to sleep late- denied. Skip this dump. Stay in a private condo and stop over for the afternoon pool. You don't have to be staying here to use the amenity.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Wet Dreams Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Stripper Bar
    New place on the strip, right around the corner from Mananas. Very clean and friendly staff. If you sit at the bar you can watch a very fun stripper show that takes place in a shower. Put your tips in the fishbowl and watch the show unfold. Other dancers make their way around the room and you can have a private dance in one of the back show rooms. Paper towels included ;-) Most dances I\'ve heard about are 500 pesos ($50) for about 20 minutes. This is a very intimate dance. There are private bathrooms and a \"vip\" section in back. Drinks are expensive- between 7 and 12 for a cocktail. Make sure you pay cash up front- the drinks add up quickly.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Paco's Ranch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun
    Two stories and good location. They charge a cover but it pays to go earlier, around 10, for the drink specials. Fun, local crowd with the best drinks and drink prices we've found. It gets packed! Wall to wall people. The drag show is odd- they use mics as though they're really singing. If the downstairs becomes too packed, try going to the faux-VIP section upstairs. There's room to spreak out and the waiters come around for cocktail orders very quickly. The bathrooms are a whole other experience... There's a whole lot of business going on at the trough! It's like a 70's porn movie in there! The crazy part though is that there is an older woman sitting right outside the bathroom selling gun and snacks. She watches like a hawk! Don't get caught doing anything too naughty because she'll blow her whistle (literally) and pull you out of the bathroom in a heartbeat. Paco's is a nice mix of locals and guests. Start your night here instead of the pretentious (and incredibly warm/hot) La Noche and enjoy the local flavor.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Blue Sunset Rooftop Bar (at Blue Chairs Resort) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New deck and fun shows
    I wouldn't stay at Blue Chairs, but I do enjoy their beach service and the fun people it draws out. The rooftop bar is the same. 5pm starts the happy hour with strippers. PVR doesn't have many gay HH's- most people start drinking around noon and take a siesta from 5-10 for dinner and disco naps. The strippers are cute and can be pushy, but back off if you ask politely. Cocktails are a little weak; I'd stick to the beer buckets. Personally, I'd skip HH and go for the "Dirty Bitches Show"- one of the few real drag shows in PVR. It's campy, silly fun. The performers are not the best, but their rough edges are smoothed out by their desire to entertain. It's like watching drag in it's infancy. My favorite part of watching drag in Mexico is that most of the performers use mics- although they're still lip syncing. The crowd loves it though and the girls are very funny and outgoing. The announcer was really fun too! At some point, make your way to the upper deck and take in the view and the pool. It's a new area and worth checking out. The sunset at Blue Chairs is spectacular.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Antropology Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Crazy.
    Nice looking and comfortable bar. But, unless you like dancers who will hound you for cash, don't go. I hated it but it was exactly what my friend was looking for it and he loved it! 500 pesos went very far for him. It took him all the way home... Take a cab, it's not that close, over the bridge into str8 land.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Coco's Kitchen Over a year ago
    Loves it

    We keep going back! And they gave a great exchange
    Right next to the Abbey, Coco's has a fun Mediterranean flair. Gyros, great strawberry salads, excellent mango margaritas and all in a tranquil courtyard setting. Again, it's not cheap ($10 for eggs Benedict), most of our bills are around 400 pesos, this is with cocktails. Food takes a bit to get out of the kitchen, so get a drink and chill. Service is friendly. Late breakfast and lunches. Going Monday for the Leg of Lamb special! They also exchanged our cash for a much better rate than we found elsewhere. Coco gave us 12, bank 11 airport 9.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed La Noche Martini Lounge Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice, clean fun
    Recently remodeled, they added a second level for smoking. The servers are friendly and the crazy martinis are plentiful, if not a little sweet for my taste. Drinks are all around 100 pesos (10 bucks.). Bathrooms are clean and private. My biggest complaint, outside of a slightly snobby crowd, is that the place is hotter than hell! They have candles everywhere and keep turning off the air! I was in there for 10 minutes and couldn't take it anymore. Sweat was pouring off me. It was warm the first night, but Friday was intolerable.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed The Swedes Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I agree, it's ok
    Nothing special. Very nice setting outside and set above the street. Food is European meets...I-Hop? Is that redundant? Anyhow, the food is pricey for what you get. It was prepared well and the staff is very friendly but there's better just up the block. Breakfast pancakes were very heavy and dinner one night was some bland sausages.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed La Palapa Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Maybe I was somewhere else?
    The location can't be beat. Go an hour before sunset for the best views. The ambiance and view are amazing. It's pricey and it's good, but it's not great. The tortilla soups and lobster bisque were good, but far from the best I've had. My red snapper didn't have much flavor and was overcooked. My partner's Chilean sea bass was delicious. The service was the most efficient and quick that we've ever had in PVR. Going out to eat here we've noticed is no short affair. It takes a while to get menus, order and forever for the food. Here it was the most timely we've experienced.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed University Plaza Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very nice and great menu
    We just stayed here for New Year's Eve. We chose this location because it is right downtown and near all the fun clubs and restaurants. The hotel is very pretty and was cheap. We paid 77.00 a night (plus tax, etc.) and got a nice room overlooking the outdoor pool. The room was clean. The fitness center could use some updating, but it was nice having the indoor pool. The hoel offer free breakfast from 7 to 10- this is a real breakfast, not some continental crap. We also had room service. We had a burger and a chicken wrap. They were both really good, esp. the wrap, and were less than $9.00 each! That's crazy cheap for room service! We could walk to many of the bars, though it was cold and didn't, but we will be back when it's warmer and do more exploring. It's a $10 cab to Latin Vibe from the hotel. The hotel is a little difficult to find at first, but is surrounded by midwestern houses straight out of Pollyanna. It is right next door to the college so you also see the boys jogging all day. Who's asking for more? Not the Ritz, but quite nice.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Martha's Vineyard Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun times
    Springfield is a fun little city. Martha's is the mainstay of the gay bars in the area. It's right downtown and easy to get to. Park on the street or across the way. The bar has 2 rooms and an outside area. It's mostly a younger crowd with boys looking to hookup around 12:30. There are a lot of str8 girls at this bar. It is also a smoking bar. The worst part about the bar is the layout. There's a bizzare stage that kind of wraps around the back wall of what is a makeshift dance floor. When the drag show is on everything comes to a halt. The show is, well, usually a train wreck; but so are most of the shows in the midwest, so one takes it with a grain of salt. The best part is the outside area. It's spacious and gets us out of the smoke and music. Bartenders are nice and the drinks tend to be fairly strong. Bathrooms are a mess every time. If you can find one that locks, more power to ya. Also, all alchol is stopped at 1:30 in Springfield. On more than one occasion I have ordered a drink at 1 and then had it ripped from my had at 1:15 as the bartenders yell (not for volume, but quite rudely) for us to get out. It's not a nice way to end the night. Crowd is friendly though and I see hookups there all the time.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Erney's 32 Degrees Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun place
    We always wind up here. I'm not sure what all the complaints are about concerning the "young" crowd. My bf and I are 35 and have never felt out of place. Everyone is quite friendly, including the staff. Drinks are a bit pricey but they have some good specials. The back outside area is my favorite. The put in a long bar that seats a bunch of people. This place picks up late and seems to be the bar to meet someone at the end of the night. Great music.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Flex Over a year ago
    Hates it

    skip it
    We went on a Saturday night. 2 guys, 2 girls all gay. First, the place is a dump. This isn't a deal-breaker- some of the most fun clubs in NYC are dumps. BUT, the bar tender was str8 and kinda dumb with no idea what was going to happen in Flex later in the night (a show? dancers?). The go-go boys were were pushing $5 shots to a crowd of 7. The music was hard-core rap... at a gay bar! Strong cocktails, but not cheap. It could be a fun place. It has the space and a small stage. I hope they get it together.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Hotel Torre De Oro Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice, clean, great location
    Stayed for 5 days. The staff is friendly and fun. The rooms are average at best. Make sure you get an ocean view or else you'll be looking at the burned out buildings across the street. Has a bar and pool, though I would skip both. The pool is freezing as it's it is covered from the sun for most of the day. No tanning, or boys, hanging out here. The beach is a block away. The beach and water are better on the hotel zone side, but Romantica is the fun place to be. You can stay anywhere in this area and feel totally comfortable. This is a nice place that could use a few updates. I'm not against staying here again, but it's not calling out my name.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Blue Chairs Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I didn't stay here, but...
    We spent two of the 5 days in PVR just hanging out on the beach here. The crowd is fun and laid back and the service was great! We had Luis for our server and he got us everything we needed and did it with a smile and a laugh. Nothing in PVR is cheap, but it's not outrageously expensive either. Tip well and you will be handsomely rewarded. Decent food and good cocktails. The roof top is the place to get started for the fun night ahead.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Bistro 303 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cozy
    Nice and clean place. Small. A few too many str8 girls there on there own for my taste, but they weren't obnoxious or rude. Can't smoke inside. Outside patio was very pretty with the exposed brick and plenty of seating. I wished that they had a server back there. It wasn't easy to get a drink. I'll be back.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Kansas City Marriott Country Club Plaza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place!
    Very nice room with pleasant staff. But the real reasons to stay here: 1- The workout room and pool area are excellent. The pool is inside but there's a great outdoor area that overlooks the Country Club. The workout room was the best I've been to in a smaller city. Clean with towels and a tone of tvs. Great free weighs. 2- free shuttle to the club area. If you give him a few dollars he'll take you to any of the gay bars, which are only minutes away.3- walk across the street to the park and enjoy the joggers and fun people. or, go across the street to all the museums. We've stayed in a few places in KC, but now I'm only staying here.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Gushers Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not bad for lunch
    Step back in time (or into Liberace's dining room) and have a nice lunch here. It over looks the first pool and is a comfortable and seemingly clean space. The food is diner-style food with a higher price tag. It was fine and was a good break after hanging by the pool all morning. We both had breakfast meals and the bill came out to $30. Yes, pricey.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Finishline Over a year ago
    Loves it

    only if you're a cowboy
    I gave this place 4 stars for all the cowboys. it is a cowboy bar. No other music is played. This is not my cup of tea, but if you like Lee jeans (I don't think I'd go so far as to say Levis) and seedy bathroom action, this is the place.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed The Boom Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun, laid back place
    We enjoyed the show and the crowd was friendly. A younger crowd overall but everyone mixed nicely and was having a fun time. I also liked how you could smoke in one room and not the other- that's always a fair option. was the place to go later in the evening. I would go back.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Habana Inn Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Oh my goodness no.
    We stayed in there "suite" adjacent to the cowboy bar. We knew we weren't getting the Ritz when we signed on, but people, come on! The room was old and the bathroom had seen better days. We were there just to go to the bars, hit the pool and check out the city, so we ignored the ratty outside and the fact that it looked like a prison from the street because the inner courtyards looked much nicer. Here's the good stuff: great location and if you're looking to hookup and have some fun, this is a good place to do it. Met some hot boys at the pool and a very cute guy on our first night. Bad stuff: Not very cruisy. Couldn't bring our own drinks to the pool, even though we're staying there. Had to pay $7 for a rum and coke in an 8oz plastic cup.The music starts pumping outside at 10 am and doesn't stop till 2 or so. And on the second day of our stay I found 3 huge roaches dead- one on the bed blanket. We got the heck out.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Copa Over a year ago
    Hates it

    If you're gonna be stuck in OKC...
    Big complex. Big cowboy bar. 2 pools. Pricey. Convenient. This is an ok place if you're stuck in OKC. The "dance club" is an odd space. It's decorated like a Golden Girls set had a miscarriage, but the bartenders were very nice and the vibe very fun. The dance floor is pushed to the back corner and has a raised stage area for people to dance on. The problem with the space is that it has no flow. Once you go in, you can't walk around much. Also, the bathrooms are frightening if you're a guy. You are fully on display. And, only women can use the "ladies' " room. Good music. The cowboy bar is a whole different story. Older guys. Good to play some pool in there but that's about it.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Beautiful but boring
    Stunning location and very architecture. A great space that screams LA. Lot's of rooms and always a ton of people wearing the newest trends. That said, I hated it here. Found most of the crowd to be unpleasant, pretentious and boring. Could one get one bartender to make eye contact. I stood at the bar and had a tiny little girl (who had to have been under 21) continuously push her gigantic purse into me to get me to move. Then her gay friend asked me, rudely, to move away so she could put her purse on the bar since it was so busy. Really? Yuck. And that's how I found this place. My partner and I went from room to room and found each one more boring than the other. People huddled together in their own little groups. No one mixed and mingled. No one new to converse with. Check it out and see how pretty it is and then get thee to a fun bar on the strip.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Ramrod Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Serious fetish bar
    Look no further if you're into tough guys and leather. If you're not into the fetish scene, keep walking. Fine drinks, nice enough staff- but most who come here on the weekends don't care too much about that. If you're looking to play with your inner freak, wait till late in the night and head out to the patio. It's Lauderdale's version of a back room. Dark and crazy.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Boardwalk Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Expensive and aggressive
    If you want to flirt with (mostly) cute young boys who (mostly) say their str8 and don't mind paying for their time, then this is the place. It's relatively clean and the bartenders are nice. The drinks are quite expensive and the cover varies from free to $20. Be warned that women come to this bar as well. This is neither good nor bad, but it does change the dynamic of the room. They have a small back room for dances. It is barely private from the main bar and you will have other dances going on at the same time. This is not a bar to just go and hang out in- these boys are workin' it. Iv'e been a few times with a friend and have found myself giving some of the more obnoxious dancers a buck or two just to move on and stop annoying me. Some don't like to take no for an answer. If you like attention and don't mind dropping a few bucks on it, try it out.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Hyatt Regency St. Louis At The Arch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stay here!
    Get a corner room/suite that faces the Arch. You won't belive the views! Clean, friendly and affordable. It's right across from the park and walking distance to the casino and new riverfront area. Everyone was super friendly! Never felt out of place. It's also right downtown so you can walk or take the metro anywhere- just ask concierge about the metro. It will save you tons of time and money! That said, the food at the Red Kitchen was some of the best I've ever had! The chicken piccata was heaven, but the polenta fries were to die for. And very reasonably priced. If you're going to ST. Louis, stay here! we tried a few of the other high end places, but nothing was like this. The one draw back- no pool. It was on the roof, but they filled it in! Go up to the roof to enjoy a glass of wine and the beautiful views. The gay bars are a $9 cab ride away.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Elysium Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay gay gay!
    Great location a block from the beach and hotel restaurants and the biggest gay resort. Heated pool and huge jacuzzi. It does end to have an older crowd, but there are young guys there too. Rooms are very affordable and clean. It's not the newest but it is a lot of fun and the place we like to go the most. It's cruisy at night, so don't be surprised if you see guys walking around at night. But, it's not pushy and no one will bother you if you're just looking to hangout. I've met lots of guys just at the pool during the day that have become friends- no sex involved. The staff is very accommodating. Get a room by the Jacuzzi or above the main office if you want some privacy, but still want to see what's going on. Take a cab from the resort to Wilton Manners- it's about 10 bucks.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Alibi Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Least favorite place on the strip
    Kind of a bitchy crowd. If you're looking for a busy place, this is it. They do a lot to support the community and lots of guys love it here, but it's not for me. Can't smoke and it's tough to mingle and walk around. They do have "food" and a pool table. I'd skip it.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Missie B's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This is it...
    This is basically the only place in town if you're looking for a "larger" gay bar. They have a fun dance space, an old-timey drag show (Cher, Dolly and George Michael were the staples) and great drinks. The bartenders are very friendly, though I've noticed no one in the midwest likes to make much eye contact. The only place to smoke is a tiny place "outside". If you smoke you will REEK of it by the end of the night. Cute boys and the place gets packed on the weekends. I'd start elsewhere and go to this place around 10 or later. Not the best, but not so bad.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Triniti Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Big, young after hours place
    A VERY young crowd. The place is in the middle of nowhere. It's in an industrial park. Lot's of str8 girls. There are 3 main rooms and then a separate bar that's 21 and up. It's a great space with fun trans music, but it never really picked up. Nice bartenders and some cute guys, but overall I'd just go back downtown.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Savoy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun and relaxed. Older crowd- except Sundays
    Great place. It's the first stop on the night out usually, though weekends get plenty busy. They also shuttle to their sister bar "Paradise" around the corner. The new patio is awesome and they have a new bar next door for those who don't like the smoke. Sundays has a very young, hot crowd.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Parliament House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun people, great drinks
    Have been many times! I enjoy the Thursday drag trivia with Gidget and Nick the bartender. They have fun happy hours but it doesn't usually get busy till at least 10 on the weekends. Try the back "country" bar for a more laid back experience. They have their own crowd and drink specials. Also, the drag bar is HUGE. Not a great neighborhood and I wouldn't stay the night- but I'd go back any time!

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed MGM Grand Hotel & Casino Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Terrible service
    Stayed in Hollywood suite. Crap view. People are rude. Room is very dated. Terrible slots. The main floor is nice and it's centrally located. VERY Str8 crowd. Did not run into any other gays at hotel- and I tried! Food is crap at buffet and Rainforest. Italian restaurant (Tiamma?) was excellent and server Adam was the only server/hospitality person who would make eye contact and not be a dick.

  • flashgordon
    flashgordon reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    expensive and boring
    Very expensive- 30 each. Cocktails sucked. Bartenders were overwhelmed and wouldn't look up because they couldn't pour fast enough. Better than all but Krave and that's not saying much. Skip Vegas. Go to Puerto Vallarta