wayneb27

Wayne Beck, 62M.

Akron, Ohio
Joined May 2010
13 Followers 8 Following

26 Loved Places

Listings

Cities

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Mr. Zubs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sandwich Shop
    Mr. Zub's Deli at The Matinee is a unique short order deli located in the eclectic Highland Square area of Akron, Ohio. We are not an ordinary sandwich shop. We go heavy on the quality meats and fresh veggies. Mr. Zub's grills our sandwiches (even though you can order them cold) and builds them just the way you like them. Our menu is large - just like our food.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Lockview Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gormet grilled cheese
    This place has a cool vibe and often has live music on the roof in the summer. Friendly staff as well as a wide selection of delicious grilled cheese sandwiches. I personally recommend the number 6. The place offers a full bar and is very popular with the downtown business crowd.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Dante Boccuzzi Akron Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale eatery in the trendy Northside district
    D.B.A. is a modern restaurant, in a modern setting, right on the edge of downtown Akron. The restaurant showcases an elegant dining space, private dining room, great cocktails at a late night bar and a spacious, comfortable patio. Our flagship restaurant, Dante in the historic Tremont area of Cleveland, is rated by Zagat dining guide as Extraordinary to Perfection. The dining experience here at D.B.A. only promises to mirror these standards. Enjoy a new kind of menu. A new kind of cuisine. And a new dining experience.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Wally Waffle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Primarily breakfast food but, served all day
    A cool addition to Highland Square. This place offers great breakfasts. Items include of course waffles but also omelets, eggs of any style served with real bacon or sausage along with grits or home fries AKA wally fries. The menu also offers very good burgers and salads and some interesting chicken sandwiches. Very reasonable prices.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Mary Coyle's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Homemade ice cream and Italian specialties
    This place is a step back in time. This place has not changed in 75 years and is clean as a button. The ice cream is smooth and flavorful and the italian dishes are hand made by the owner. It is like being in a diner from the fifties.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Zeber-Martell Studio and Gallery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Clay Studio and Gallery
    When you step into this showroom you'll think to yourself "Did Ijust step into an alternate universe" Handmade clayworks that defy desription. Beautifully flawless work. I actually designed my christmas tree from the colors in an ornament purchase here.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Akron Glassworks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hand Blown one of a kind glass
    Hand crafted glass works from some of Akron's finest artisans. All the glass in the shop is made about 15 feet from the showroom with glass blowing demonstrations every Saturday night from 6 to 10.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Rubber City Clothing Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool local boutique for all things Rubber City
    Lots of clothing and souvenirs unique to Akron. We are proud of our city and this shop screams civic pride. You can choose designs that appeal to you and put it on a shirt that brings out the color of your eyes.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Akron Civic Theater Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of only 4 atmospheric theatres in America
    This is a must see attraction while in Akron. It is a entertainment facility in Downtown Akron, Ohio that caters to all types of entertainment from local and regionaly produced entertainment to national and international touring productions

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed The Marketpath Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fair Trade Store
    This place is filled with eclectic, handmade items from around the world. The proceed from this store not ony benefit the world but also go to help the less fortunate people of Akron

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Akron Public Library/Highland Square Branch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    5 star Akron library local branch
    World class library. Extensive free video collection. You can check the database for any video or book title and it will be shipped from the main library downtown if not already in stock, very helpful staff and a community meeting place. This is the only branch in the city that has a gay & lesbian studies section

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Urban Eats Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip place for music and healthy food
    Serving in the Mocha Maiden coffee shop M-F and also during concerts at Musica. Liz and Jason are the brain children behind this endevor so the food is made with great care. The Mexican pizza should not be missed. Excellent

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Angel Falls Coffee Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I am often in this funky little place
    It has a very casual atmosphere and you can sit and converse for hours. I usually meet new "buddies" here and am comfortable being myself. I don't drink coffee but the deserts are excellent.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Capri Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best pizza and steak sandwich in Akron
    I have never had any thing that wasn't very good at this little place. The pizza is flawless but, for a sandwich it's the killer steak sandwich and the meatball. They usually have daily specials and it is made for you fresh. Mel is the owner of this gay friendly spot.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Retro Home Decor Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Retro being the key word for this place
    This place has an eclectic mix of mid century furniture and local historic art and items that are of interest to our community. Davin is extremely helpful and knows his business. I just purchased a chair that was perfect for me and very affordable.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Stagecoach Antiques, Inc Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Estates bought, sold and appraised
    You can rummage around this store for hours. Turn of the century glass, vintage postcards, furniture and items unique to Akron and Ohio. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly and you will feel welcome the moment you enter.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed First Grace UCC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Open and affirming church
    A small but welcoming congregation, a very accessible pastor. An arts program very liberal and daring. Sunday service are at 10:45 with a community breakfast at 10:00. This church also hosts the King's school meeting of AA, AKA meeting one. The church also hosts a small discussion meeting of AA on Tuesday evenings at 7:30

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Square Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best bar in Akron
    Very clean and stylish. Friendly good looking bar tenders. They often display work of local artists. It has a great dance floor and good music. The crowd is gay but the staff will tell you it is a hetero friendly club. A testament to the people of Akron.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Bricco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay owned and operated
    Excellent food, beautifully presented. I have never gotten bad service . I have gone there with many dates and been comfortable sitting close and talking. The decor is very stylish and cosmopolitan.

  • wayneb27
    wayneb27 reviewed Aladdin's Eatery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Healthy food, flawless service
    I dine at Aladdin's at least twice a week. The healthy food is flavorful and the variety is awesome. My favorites are the chicken chili and the Greek Pitza. The wait staff is friendly and professional.