slimrfun

47M. Love to travel in the winter and camp out of my kayak in the summer. If your looking for an adventure when visiting Vancouver, then contact me and we'll see what can be done. PS - I am partnered (left hand with my penis) but would love to be friends with other gays. Asian boys are my eye candy.

Vancouver, Canada
Joined May 2009
42 Followers 24 Following

58 Loved Places

Listings

  • Diva's Nightclub & Bar Polk Street, San Francisco
  • The Stud SOMA, San Francisco
  • Fusion Waikiki Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Mother Lode West Hollywood, West Hollywood

Cities

  • Sunee Plaza, Pattaya 21 Listings
  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Odyssey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Odyssey Re-Opens
    This place has a long history and allot of people where sad to see her closed few years back. But, wow, she's back and plans to re open on pride. I will update my review after spending time there, for now, my past experience will be the rating

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed The PumpJack Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Huge change!
    PumpJack has acquired next door property and renovated it to be ....drum roll .... a Dance Floor!!! Gays that danced stopped going out after the Odyssey shut down. Well now the word is spreading that the old lounge like Pumpjack has dancing. Enjoy it cuz it will be overwhelmed soon when everyone comes out again. PS - the old $14 to 20 cover charges have been rolled back too. Junction is only 5 and PumpJack has no cover. UPDATE August 30 2014 - had nasty experience here that tells me staff need more training - wake up Pumpjack manager!

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Kitchen 24 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Watch out for the surcharges
    Opted to order from our room at the Ramada next door. Food and portion sizes where ok but wasn't expecting the room surcharge and the automatic tip charge. Didn't notice till I already gave a 50% tip. I am totally against restaurants that automatically charge a tip! It should remain up to the customer.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Block Party Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Obviously Gay
    Great gay atmosphere. Checked it out for half hour then purchased 100 bucks in underwear. Great selection from budget to high end clothes.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed RAGE Restaurant & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Asain video night was the best
    Friday, Dec 6 was Asian video night. Wow, what a great time. Nice mix of hot Asians with cute white boys chasing them. Great music too. Unfortunately all other nights spent here didn't even come close.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Muscle Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Did my jog past here
    Ran from Santa Monica pier to Venice pier. Lots of looks and eye candy along the way. The record low temps kept most muscle heads away and most where dressed in jackets with hats. lol This kind of temperature is a warm summer evening in Vancouver.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Ramada WeHo Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great location but needs to be rescued
    We booked directly with this hotel hoping for better treatment than if we booked a package price. Paid extra for a loft room but got a small loft over looking rooftop fans. Spent 30 bucks on cleaning fluids then 2 hours cleaning this really dirty room. The smell never went away even after cleaning. My complaint was responded with sorry, then ignored. The location is the best thing about this hotel. Was happy to move to a Santa Monica beachside hotel for the rest of the trip.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Hamburger Mary's West Hollywood Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Typical bar food
    Great staff, wonderful setup and decorative atmosphere. We just stopped for lunch. Could see that this place would be fun at its peak. Unfortunately the food wasn't great and didn't consider it a highlight of our trip

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Re-bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Room for improvement
    Cons - the stench was repulsive and staff almost rude. Especially the blonde female bar tender. Didn't expect much from this place based on other reviews, and they did not disappoint. Pro's of this place was the patron atmosphere was about just being yourself and dancing the night away. We felt more welcome here than at the Q. The dj new how to play the low quality sound system and made a great dance beat. I can see myself coming back to this place - If I where drunk and desperate.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Seattle Pho and Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Vietnamese gone upscale/western
    Nice small social bar with restaurant seating beside it. The dishes are all your Vietnamese dishes but with a non traditional taste. By that I mean that they kept with the ingredients but made it really taste great with a western/ upscale twist. Worth checking out. We noticed that this place was popular with gay Vietnamese with Caucasian partners.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Q Over a year ago
    Hates it

    5 to 10% gay
    The space was smaller than what I expected and the music was monotonous same beat drunk dance beat of a typical young straight bar. We enjoyed the small time circus show but really loved that it took away some straight crowd from Neighbors. We spent 15min at Q then returned to neighbors for a great night out! The gay have lost the war to have this bar!!!!

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Bally's Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Told not to return
    Five of us had two rooms. Balcony doors where permanently fastened shut and the rooms where your typical old Vegas hotel room. We noticed the placard on the wired internet that stated there would be a charge of $14 a day per room for its use so we didn't use it and acquired information from locals/pamphlets. We had only small issues occur for the 3 nights we stayed. Things changed at checkout on September 14. The front desk charged us a $120 service fee for internet and other amenities. The conversation led to asking for the supervisor. MELISSA just hardnosed us and said that the service fees stands. I told her we would never return to this hotel EVER. She replied with "don't ever come back" Other factors, are that we won over $2000 on the slots and drank lots of their free beer while we did it. At no time did we cause trouble or have any issues with security or other patrons.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Mother Lode Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Get a website, NOT a facebook link
    Really disappointed by bars that switch there websites links to facebook. This requires a membership signup that really piss's me off. I didn't get in shape by spending my time in front of a pc or on an iphone. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS BAR, and all other facebook bars TO GO BACK TO HAVING A WEBSITE! Equality is all that I am asking. FYI 40% of us normal folk refuse to be on facebook, for various reasons. Google it! But I think that this bar would be a bar that I would want to visit when I come this December, IF IT HAD A WEBSITE.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Overall best bar in Honolulu
    Went 4 times while on vacation. This bar has a laid back relaxed atmosphere. Unfortunately this means the music is down low and to a slower beat. Had problems getting a drink most days. The bartender passed me by time and again to serve locals so I complained to the front door. He mentioned I wasn't the first with this complaint and he apologized. Complimentary drinks also arrived. With all its potential - this place could use a visit from a gay version of 'bar rescue'. Overall - the best bar, had good times and would go again.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Aqua Waikiki Wave Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome 3 star hotel that makes you feel at home
    We checked hotels.com and agoda for pricing but found it cheaper to book directly with the hotel. After booking their special rate, the website then gives you upgrade options (at hundreds in savings). Our room was a standard room with partial ocean view. The upgrade was to a junior suite with partial ocean view. Upon arrival 'Kisha' at the front desk greeted us with an attitude that lights up a room, and was the highlight of all the friendly professional staff. The room was at first appearance, your typical 3 star room. We did our standard 'night crawler' inspection then re-arranged the room to our liking. Didnt take long to realize that we where on a corner suite with 2 balconies that viewed the sunrise and sunset. The international market place was directly below us with a nice blend of city landscape and ocean views. Try getting rooms 1514, 1414 or 1214. Pretty much everything was within walking distance and 3 of the gay bars where on the same block. Do take note that the elevators where undergoing a retrofit - thus extra slow. There is a rowdy gangster type bar directly east of the hotel that attracts allot of police attention till closing. The surrounding rooftop fans help cover this noise. While waiting for a cab back to the airport, we did notice that this hotel is popular with gay couples. The staff didn't say goodbye - they said 'see you in 6 months'. Note: There weren't many kids cuz they closed the pool.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Queen's Surf Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Still gays here
    Went several times while on vacation in December. Saw about a 50 to 70% gay population on the beach or grass. Not crowded at all this time of year. Had many a swim from this beach. Look forward to going here again when we return next year. With a surfboard!

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Siam Square Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food
    Located beside the Bacchus. This Thai restaurant was our favorite while in Honolulu. Favorite dish was the Pad Thai and the Cashew nut stir fry.Their website didnt work when I checked it out.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed District Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Most dead bar ever
    Went here to check it out on Monday, December 17, 2012 after 11pm. There was no cover, no people and no idication that it was even slightly gay. The music was way down low and there wasnt a bartender on duty to get a drink. My bf refused to enter - had to check it out myself. I stayed for less than a minute and gave a pitty tip to the front door man. I realize that this counters the review done in 2009

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Eggs 'N Things Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Three locations now
    The one on Saratoga rd is the flagship restaurant. We waited 40min. They give you a cd sized pager that goes off when your table is ready. So make sure you sign in at the downstairs reception for your pager. Food was good and the staff better. You can find another location accross from waikiki beach. Check out the website http://eggsnthings.com/ to see all locations and the menu.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Fusion Waikiki Over a year ago
    Hates it

    After hours bar
    This bar was dead on the Thursday night we went(2am). Friday night crowd didnt show till the other bars closed. They also double the cover charge for out of towners. The dance floor was sheet metal and not nice to dance on. Had friendly staff with ok dance music.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Diamond Head Lighthouse Beach Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No nudity seen
    We took a transit bus to Diamond head then walked to this beach. Ended up being a very long walk. Recommend just walking from waikiki or biking it. Take beach road instead of the pathway near the lighthouse. Went friday Dec 14 - was barely anybody there till the after work crowd started arriving at 3pm. Didnt see any nudity. The usual 'older guy walk by' was walking by every 10 min. The wind this time of year picks up the sand and blows it into all your belongings - so be carefull what you bring.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Tapa's Lanai Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly bar
    Went on sunday Dec 16th - There was no shortage of friendly staff and customers saying hi or aloha. Over a dozen customers at 230pm.They didnt have food available so I moved on.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed G.O.D. Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Late night bar
    This bar had nobody in it and was reeking of smoke. Information was that this bar was super busy after the other bars closed and that the crowd was mix.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed DJ Station Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nov 2011
    Nice to c gaycities finally added Bangkok.The show is a must see followed by dancing. There are several gay bars in this alley and they appear to be operated by the same owner. My best guess is that it is european owned and opereted. None the less, it is a must visit place, along with the other gay venues in this alley

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Double Shot Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Half open
    Went midnight on a tuesday night. One side door was open but the remaining shutters where closed and the chairs where stacked in a pile. The main bar appeared to be open. Not much of a bar this night.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Eden Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Typical Lounge bar
    The description for this place is accurate except for 'new'. Not a lounge person but I am sure it has its charm.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Mike's Bar La Cage: UNDER RENOVATION Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Renovation when visited
    This bar was closed when visited and posted 'under renovation' at the door. Did notice that it had the rainbow flag below a male and female icon - indicating its targeting a mix crowd.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Neighbours Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Updated Oct 2013
    The Q sucked and the cuff couldnt get its music up so we went back to neighbors. Staff and patrons are friendly and we had yet another great night here. We noticed that last call from the dj was at 120am even though they announced a closing of 4am. The downside is that they still do a progressive volume increase through the night which makes it difficult to dance till after midnight. The sound system needs to be upgraded.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed The Cuff Complex Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Updated Nov 2013
    The cuff and neighbors are our favorites in Seattle. Love the way the cuff targets a gay crowd by walking you through the leather lounge to get to the dance floor. We noticed that they have gone down hill since our visit of 5 years ago. No longer cleaning up spills on the floor and not doing security at all. We watched wasted patrons passing out while standing. So funny. Music and sound system need an overhaul.. If you want to be/have a dance floor - then play the music loud enough to dance to it, skip the progressive volume build! We went back to neighbors. Seattle is ready for a good gay dance club or cuff can overhaul its premises.

  • Updated Oct 2013
    These suites are great suites for anybody. We started going here back when a room was under $100. Now they have switched to deeper seasonal pricing. They have valet parking for $22 a day. When checking out, call down to have your car ready.The continental breakfast is well stocked all the way to 1030am on a sunday morning. Internet is free. It is about a 15min walk to seattle's gay district (not a big deal). We continue to stay here cuz of its incredible location and hospitality. 2013 - we have since stayed at other Marriott hotels/suites around the world. This one in seattle is special to us cuz they introduced us to the Marriott standard. A standard that fits us perfectly! PS - we used to do the Helliday Inn.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed The Junction Public House Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Lousy sound system
    Someone told me this was the place to dance since the Odyssey closed. There are some former 'O' staff here, but the place was small and uninviting. Music was lame and absent of any quality or bass. Went back to numbers for the rest of the night.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Numbers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Same look for years now.
    This place needs a renovation with emphasis on a bigger dance area and air conditioning. Apart from the issues this place has, it is still one of my favorites when I come down with cabin fever. Met some real sweathearts here and the staff is always friendly. I go early to beat the crowd - to dance. Usually gone by 1am from overcrowding. Nice to see they finally took most the tables off the floor, turned down the lights and cranked the bass.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Four Points by Sheraton San Diego Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great Price - Lousy Everything Else
    I SUBMITTED THIS REVIEW AS A NEW LISTING FOR HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS 1430 7TH AVE. GAY CITIES FOR SOME REASON, PUT IN WITH THE WRONG HOLIDAY INN!!! http://hiexpsandiego.com/location-map.asp Trip advisor painted this place as an ok place with awesome service. Not Accurate. The price was the only thing I liked about it. $69 per night (in Jan). The shuttle service told us to take the next shuttle. Arriving an hour later at the hotel, we where given the cold shoulder for offering a suggestion for the shuttle service(give names to the driver). The attitude from front desk lasted througout the stay. We realized it wasnt just us, when we witnessed them scorning new guests that just wanted info about the hotel. Quote: 'your checked in now, you can go.' PS - You get what you pay for. Welcome to the 'Hell-iday Inn' was my thought. lol

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Thai Island Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, superb service.
    The food was great. But this paled in comparison with the personal service they gave us. Mostly a busy weekday lunch crowd shows here. This gives them a chance to slow down and talk to their customers in the evening. Not only did we chat while our order was being cooked, but their son checked the web for discounts to sea world because we where not happy with the price for tickets on the 'off season'. Hope everyone gets this treatment sometime.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Saigon on Fifth Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place for 'after the bar closes'
    The restaurant is obviously gay friendly, being open till 3am in the Hillcrest area.We went here twice, around 1am and you could see that most of the patrons where gay or gay friendly. Everything was great, except that I didnt care for their version of lemon grass chicken.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Coronado Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best day of our trip
    Take the ferry from the broadway pier, only $2.50 (skip the $60 dinner cruise). Rent a bike at the Coronado ferry landing shopping center (dont forget the lock and map). Ride through the gorgeous residential streets, past jaw dropping houses, to coronado beach (save the bike path for the return ride). We started from the forces base and went south for about 3/4 mile. Sunbathed and bodysurfed the 4' chop in just a speedo (watch out for that nasty undertow/riptide). The locals where on boards in dry suits or jogging on the beach with a jacket on. 64f was cold for them, just right for us 'northern boys' that left the snow behind. Time your return so that you get the bike back before they close, have a sunset dinner at the coronado pier, then ride the ferry back in the dark with the city lights lighting up the ferry ride and your sweatheart in your arms.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Old Town Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great hotel with awesome staff
    After staying at the 'Hell-iday Inn', we transferred to this hotel. Wish we did it sooner. The staff was really friendly, let us check in early and even choose which room we wanted. Restaurants and shops are a short walk away in 'Old Town'. Getting downtown is easy too, a short ride on the blue line from old town station. 'Spin Saturdays' is a short 8 min walk, but it is a $20 taxi ride to the other gay bars. The walls are paper thin in the annex bldg so, noise will be an issue when they are busy. We ended up jumping in a taxi when the shuttle bus didnt show for our booked ride to the airport. Wasnt going to deal with another shuttle problem, especially with a return flight deadline.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Spin Over a year ago
    Hates it

    So Sad
    This bar is the largest dance bar in SD. I really enjoyed the layout and size. BUT AGAIN, we where getting ready to dance the night away, when the music turned into some 'bearish overbassed trance' Can managment not see the potential of this bar?!?!? If these dance bars are all that SD has to offer for dance, and if the locals are content, then I have to recommend visiting elsewhere.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Number One Fifth Avenue Over a year ago
    Hates it

    ok
    No dance floor. So we didnt stay.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Rich's San Diego Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Most Popular Spot
    Popular bar, with lousy music. The beat/bass is kept low on these dancefloors so that they dont conflict with each other. Invest in some insulation between dancefloors and put a draincatch under the fog machine spewing solution onto the dance floor. I really dont understand why SD bar management cant get it together. We never had a single good night of dance for the entire week of stay in SD

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed The Brass Rail Over a year ago
    Hates it

    What's with management?
    First night here, the dj went from lousy to good music swings. Then they suddenly closed - way early too. We went 3 more nights only to find them closed or closing. Who the fudge manages this place?

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Diva's Nightclub & Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not what i expected
    This place was clean and bright. Had a friendly neighborhood bar feel to it.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed The Stud Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Interesting place
    If your up for a challenge - go to this place and then try to sum it up in a review. YOU CANT. This place creates its own vibe. Truly unique in its own. While we wont b back, I encourage you to check it out, if not just for a chuckle. Stay for one of the shows. Smoking mexican hay and calling it mj, then telling everyone how stoned they are - was hillarious.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Hotel Rose Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Worst mattress ever
    Awsome location, great decor, clean hotel and friendly staff...but... ask for a newer mattress and ear plugs. The worst part of this hotel was the mattress that sank 6' when you lay on it. We used pillows to make it through the nights and ended up checking out with back pains. Reporting it to front desk went nowhere. WE WILL NEVER RETURN. June UPDATE - the manager called to appologize for the lack of action taken after our complaint. He was sincere and offered full credit towards another stay. We settled for one night credit towards the visa. Update Dec 2012 - They have sent us spam since our visit - we will never return here!

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Darcelle XV Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great show - small stage
    Went on a long weekend and was squeezed against the wall, sitting sideways. It was so tight in there, that the lady next to us had her breast pop out. Some of the performers where just having fun while others lip sink like they where actually singing it. A wonderful show over all. This show could really take off if it had a proper facility. The massive support beam at center stage - sucks. As a gay couple, we felt the special treatment but noticed that there target audience was the bachelorette party crowd. Worth going once - but wont be going again.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed C.C. Slaughter's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Enjoyed it
    The drinks where flat. The dj just added popular songs to a continous beat. We enjoyed our time in this bar. Definetely check this place out.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed Silverado Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Wasnt for us
    We watched 3 husky men and one cutie do there stuff on the stage for about 40min. Mix crowd of some horny women, older guys and drunk younger just standing around the stage watching. Boring! This place will never be a dance club given the condition of the floor.

  • slimrfun
    slimrfun reviewed R Place Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Won't be back
    First time in my life that I was told to remove my glasses to order a drink. While the staff where not totally rude, we certainly did not feel welcome. My first gay visit to Seattle gets a thumbs down. Will try another bar next time. The strong drinks where the best thing about rplace.