skier74

43M.

New York, New York
Joined Sep 2009
18 Followers 2 Following

24 Loved Places

Listings

  • Sip N' Twirl Fire Island Pines, Fire Island Pines
  • Low Tea at the Blue Whale Fire Island Pines, Fire Island Pines
  • Cherry's Cherry Grove, Cherry Grove
  • Ice Palace Cherry Grove, Cherry Grove
  • Worthington Guest House Fort Lauderdale Beach, Fort Lauderdale
  • Ipanema Plaza Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Playa De La Bassa Rodona Over a year ago
    Loves it

    see and be seen
    THE beach to see and be seen on the Mediterranean. Lots of eye candy and a fun time. Can be very tight and crowded in the summer which I guess can be a good or bad thing, depending. Get there "early" (before noon) to get a good chaise.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Pines Bistro & Martini Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Really went downhill this year
    The food has really gone downhill at the Bistro this year, unfortunately. We ate here about 3-4 times this season and it was usually the same story (you think we

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Worthington Guest House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute little place
    Nice little resort. We stayed there one night after a cruise. Location is good, a 10 min or so walk to the gay beach. (To be fair, many of the gay guesthouses are right in the same area.) We could only get a standard king but the room was just fine, if maybe a little small and lacking counter space in the bathroom. But all amenities of a big hotel, and the bed was very comfortable. Not sure what the advantage of a deluxe room would be. Overall facility was nice too. Crowd was generally friendly, though there was a group of guys from NC who didn't seem to mingle much and were even (inadvertently) blocking any "fun" from happening. I guess it could be worth finding out if there are any big groups booked before committing because I think it adversely impacted the atmosphere. But otherwise, a nice stay.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Porter House New York Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Reliable top-notch steakhouse
    Reliable food (including great steaks) and unfussy service in a modern, comfortable setting brings us back to Porter House several times per year. Great for a special occasion, or just one of those nights you feel like having a big hunk of beef.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed The Blue Whale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food but some pretty horrendous service
    Problem is that on weekends, the earliest reservation is at 9pm, after they clear the space from Low Tea. So at 9pm there are a flood of people trying to get seated, and it's absolute chaos. Our party of 5 made a reservation a few hours earlier but still waited 20 minutes to get seated. Then another 20 minutes before our orders were taken; even though there seemed to be plenty of service staff, they all were just prancing around the room, not helping us. This essentially went on all night until we were done with our meal at 12am. Yes -- a 3 hour meal! They need to get their service act together or better manage expectations given the unusual timing here. While the food was excellent, if not rather pricey (to be expected I guess), we probably won't be back unless we hear that the service improves.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Midtowne Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Decent place, fun ethnic crowd
    I went here on a Monday evening, and there was a pretty decent sized crowd. Yes, it was mostly Latinos and Asians, and a few blacks, and I was definitely in the minority as a Caucasian. That said, it was a great time -- little attitude here, the guys just want to get off. The facility is decent -- much better than Melrose Spa, particularly given its size. Pool, hot tub, steam *and* sauna, porn room, and lots of dark/play spaces. Neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy, but they have a guarded parking lot for $3. I'd come back here, particularly if I'm in the mood for some ethnicity.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Melrose Spa Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not the best facility
    This spa is kind of small. Just a jacuzzi and dry sauna, no steam room. (What kind of bath house doesn't have a steam room?!) The dark rooms are geared toward glory holes, there wasn't much space just to play around. I went for Bears and Bellies afternoon, and I guess it was what you would expect, although the crowd was somewhat light (in number). I'm not sure I need to run back here.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Hawk's Gym Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Just OK
    Hawk's is just OK. It's not the cleanest or most modern bathhouse I've been to. It does seem to attract some hot guys, but plenty of trolls and freaks as well.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Entourage Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Better than the alternative
    I came here on a Sunday afternoon in the Spring. The place wasn't terribly crowded, but there was enough of a variety of hot men that I had a great time. The facility is very large, all you could want in a bathhouse. I found it superior to Hawk's in about every measure.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Ipanema Farme de Amoedo Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Must-go beach destination
    Anyone who enjoys a good gay beach must get themselves to Farme Gay Beach in Ipanema -- STAT. The scenery is beautiful, and I'm not just talking about the geography. It's not quite a relaxing beach, definitely more of a social place. Gets very busy on the weekends and there's a lot of noise from the hawksters (only the little children are impositions, and they may only be there on Sunday). The beach attracts all types, don't worry if you don't have the perfect beach body, because any body is perfect here. Make sure to wear your square-cut speedo and Havianas or you'll stick out like an American tourist!

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Ipanema Plaza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Solid 3.5 star hotel in a great location
    Not a luxury hotel, but clean, modern, well-appointed rooms in a great location in Ipanema, a short block from the main gay area of the beach. Most rooms have partial beach views. Nice rooftop pool and bar/cafe with great views. Service is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was decent; the hotel restaurant is very good Asian (for L/D), though the kitchen is a bit slow. A little overpriced for the quality, but it seems that's just a fact of Ipanema hotels.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Rio G Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot times, right off the beach
    Located just up the street off the gay beach, this is one hot sauna, particularly weekend afternoons/evenings. Full amenities here, including free internet access, and friendly staff. Crowd is mostly 20s and 30s and overall very hot. Had a number of hot hookups one Saturday afternoon.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Termas Leblon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice facility, slightly more mature crowd
    This is a pretty nice sauna in a residential, but convenient area of Ipanema. Full amenities, including lots of cabins, a dark room that got frisky at times, and lots of places to just hang out and relax. The crowd seems to tend a bit older, so inevitably there were some trolls, but there was also a good variety of men in their late-20s to 30s.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Club Fort Lauderdale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Top-notch facility, but increasing attitude
    This place is probably one of the nicest bathhouses in the country -- clean with great amenities (pool/hot tub, large sauna & steam, video room, gym). The place is always packed on the weekends, with a variety of men. From twinks to Latinos to bears to geriatrics. But I've noticed over the past few years that there seems to be more and more "attitude" here. Not sure why.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Jean Georges Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Special Occasions....or Lunch
    This is one of my favorite high-end restaurants in the city. There's nothing particularly gay about it, even though my partner and I celebrated our 5th anniversary here a few years ago. We didn't feel out of place, even though the crowd can be a little stuffy. Food and service are impeccable. Go for the tasting menu with wine pairings for dinner and it will be a really special night. OR -- go for lunch, where they have a fantastic deal -- essentially $15 per plate of many of the same dishes on the full dinner menu.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Steamworks Seattle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good mixed crowd, nice facility
    I usually go here when I'm in town and always have a pretty good time. Clientele is varied, which I like, because I don't always know what I'm in the mood for! Facility seems to have been upgraded somewhat with the re-branding. It's not huge by bathhouse standards, but plenty of places to play.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed W Seattle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hotel of choice when on business
    The W Seattle is my hotel of choice when I'm in town on business. Rates are probably a little too high for a leisure stay. I'm always treated well by the staff. The rooms are very comfortable, well-appointed and a good size. I usually get a semi-decent view.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed The Westin Seattle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Decent hotel if you can get a good rate
    This hotel usually comes on Priceline at the 4* level. Probably not worth paying full price, but at $80/nt it's a great value. Pretty decent hotel in a good location downtown near the shopping and Pike Place Market, and also convenient to great restaurants in Belltown. Quick cab ride to Capital Hill gay area. No full service restaurant for Bfast/Lunch is a drawback.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed The Pines Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot time on the beach
    The beach at Fire Island Pines is great. I just enjoy parking my butt in my chair and watching the parade of eye candy walk up and down the beach. Hot men on the beach. The water can be rough, but there were a few times this past summer where it was calm and even clear! Wider beach than at Cherry Grove, so it feels less cramped, and fewer kids and women (if that bothers you...)

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Sip N' Twirl Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always a great time
    Sip N'Twirl (also called Slip N'Fall) is always a great time. People don't start showing up until 11:30 or midnight, but it has a good crowd going for a few hours after that. Music is always good, and if you don't want to dance, just hanging out on the deck is a blast too.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Low Tea at the Blue Whale Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Yes, a must-do, but really really crowded
    Of course, Low Tea is a must-do at least once over the weekend. I do suggest getting there early, around 6 or so, so you can get situated and get a drink. The crowds start pouring in after 6:30 and usually by 7 you can't move and it takes a while to get served at the bar. That's really no fun! The Planters Punches are great (if pricey), but don't have more than two if you want to find your way home after.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Cherry's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A lot of fun
    Cherry's is always a lot of fun. Very mixed crowd, but everyone just gets along. Great place to dance, drink or just hang out outside on the patio.

  • skier74
    skier74 reviewed Ice Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    HOT Underwear parties
    The Daniel Nardicio Underwear parties hosted this past summer have been HOT. Much improved over the ones held at the Tides last year. Lots of people, hot boys of all shapes and sizes, and just good fun. And of course a crazy back room... I do hate that it's a mandatory clothes check to get into the main bar, and they charge you $3 on top of the $10 cover.