59M.

Palm Springs, California
Joined Jan 2010
4 Followers

Following 0 people

15 Loved Places

Listings

  • Tortuga del Sol Downtown Palm Springs, Palm Springs
  • The Tropicale Downtown Palm Springs, Palm Springs
  • Trio Downtown Palm Springs, Palm Springs
  • Cantala / The Riviera Resort & Spa Downtown Palm Springs, Palm Springs
  • Alicante Downtown Palm Springs, Palm Springs
  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Watercress Vietnamese Bistro 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Tasty Food at one of PS' Better Asian Eateries
    Despite the overbearing music (they did turn the volume down when we asked) and the embarrassing, tacky "Oriental" artwork crowding the walls (nothing to do with Vietnamese culture), when the food arrived we were so happy that the quality and flavor were high. We started with pork belly buns (3 for $10) that were colorful, textural and tasty. I ordered Ban Mi ($6 without fries) so I could see whether or not the place had merit as a Vietnamese restaurant, and was happily surprised. The baguette was warm, crispy on the outside and soft inside to soak up the juices. The pork and veggies were perfect fillers (although not completely faithful to the real deal in Vietnam). My husband's pork vermicelli dish ($11) was tasty but missing enough of the colors and textures that veggies would have added (Vietnamese food is all about the variety of veggies and herbs added in). We noted that they offer healthier options of brown rice or sweet potato as substitutes to white rice and there were lots of vegetarian options on offer. Although Vietnam has many more styles of food than Americans are familiar with, the menu was padded out with Thai and other Asian dishes. Hopefully Watercress will introduce other, more authentic Vietnamese dishes as they develop, along with some complimentary baskets of fresh herb crudités that customers can add in as they like for more Vietnamese realness. Other gay couples spotted dining as well.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed LuLu California Bistro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Big Hit on the Strip
    Right in the heart of the tourist scene, on the strip, and (seemingly) always crowded, this new restaurant appears to be an instant hit. Very large interior opens (when weather is good) to the outside patio. The decor is modern and arty, yet casual. And ever so clever: the crystal chandeliers over the bar are de-kitsched with minimal, translucent shades; the looking glass in the hallway sees newbie diners checking their teeth for spinach without realizing that the 2-way mirror is the vista from the men's room. The large and moderately-priced menu features a wide range of food, from updated American classics to (a major surprise in land-bound Palm Springs) fresh seafood - including a New England lobster sandwich (welcome to California!). Special sections of the menu are devoted to substantial gluten-free as well as vegetarian offerings. I ordered lightly fried oysters (perfectly, delicately cooked) and a domestic "Kobe" beef burger (arrived exactly medium rare as ordered, with the condiments requested). My partner's babyback ribs were succulent and juicy, but completely bland other than the brushed-on barbecue sauce. The waiter happily accommodated a vegetable substitution for the potatoes as requested. The service staff were super attentive (the place is well-staffed), mostly male, and very, very handsome.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed The Tropicale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Twilight at the Oasis
    I love to sit outdoors, in the garden patio bar, under the lights and the sunset-hued sky and enjoy the Happy Hour prices on drinks and the excellent selection of appetizers (Wed is all-night Happy Hour pricing). Incredible steamed mussels (when in season) in spicy Thai coconut broth with crusty bread to dunk. Fresh made pizzas. Sinful treats and American standards. Plus, you can order anything off the main menu. Lots of gays and local scenesters wandering about. Friendly, attentive service staff. Relaxed and casual socializing at a fantastic price!

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Rick's Desert Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Consistently Good at a Great Price
    My bf and I eat here often and the food and service has been consistently good since my very first visit. Mostly locals (many of them gay groups of friends) and in-the-know visitors. Cuban specialties and all-American classics like turkey dinners, including scaled-down portions of their main entrees at a cheaper price for light eaters (the prices are very reasonable to begin with). Professional, seasoned and friendly staff. Love the complimentary welcome snack of old-fashioned deviled eggs (when available)! Giant black and white photos on the walls feature Palm Springs history and celebrities. Not on the hipster radar and that's just fine!

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Swank Modern Design Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Studio/gallery specializing in gay art & photos
    Swank Modern Design hosts regular exhibitions of (mostly) gay American and international painters and photographers in a classic 1950s Palm Springs modernist house. They are the only gallery in Palm Springs specializing in male nude fine art. Open by appointment (call), or during public viewings (check their website for schedules), they are closed during the summer. They also offer a variety of vintage mid-century modern plus 60s and 70s pop decor and furnishings for sale.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Norma's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Palm Springs ultimate breakfast or lunch splurge
    Norma's is the ultimate breakfast-at-1pm place in town. Located in the fabulous Parker, a 5-star boutique resort dripping with cool charm and completely casual non-attitude. From the salmon-pink outfits of the valet staff, to the cinnebar-colored Hollywood Regency entryway, to the hipster loungey mid-century high and low-brow decor, the Parker is all wink and swoon and minty-liciousness. Norma's has the best French press coffee and a menu that's playful, fresh and healthy. Yes, they do have a $1,000 omelette on the menu, but that's just the Beluga bling glinting - the prices are reasonable (fill up for under $40) considering you're probably sitting next to Brangelina's entourage. After relaxing away the early hours of the day, stroll through Parker's lush pleasure gardens and be sure to pop your head into Mister Parkers - the ultimate in fine dining - designed by Jonathan Adler and well hung with wacky 60s and 70s thrift store paintings.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Escena Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Palm Springs most beautiful brunch and breakfast
    Spectacular, panoramic views of the mountains and delicious, reasonably-priced breakfasts and champagne brunches. Local gays in-the-know flock to this nearly secret gem. Located inside Escena, a gigantic, unbuilt housing development (only the clubhouse and golf course were completed). Sit in the grill's gorgeous, modernist interior or, better yet, on the outdoor terrace with jaw-dropping al fresco views. No reservations taken, so show up by 11am for Sunday brunch or you may have to wait. Top notch classics like steak and eggs, benedicts, huevos rancheros, lox and bagels and more. Prices are surprisingly reasonable (the champagne brunch is under $20). After breakfast, take an easy stroll through the adjacent, superbly-preserved mid-century modern heritage neighborhood of the El Rancho Vista "Barbara" tract of homes at the corner of Vista Chino and Gene Autry Trail.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Trio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Palm Springs' trendiest hipster gay restaurant
    High style with substance, no wonder it's packed all the time. Contemporary decor and fine art sets the tone. Excellent service from their handsome, well-trained staff. Attentive, yet unobtrusive. The food is all about flavor and freshness. Prices are reasonable for the quality. You're likely to be engaged in conversation by the friendly patrons who are a mix of local professionals and upscale hipsters. Their bar is always hopping during dinner service. Located in "NoPa," the city's hippest stretch of galleries and designer boutiques. Largely gay clientele, but straight-friendly.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Studio One 11 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly neighborhood bar with live music.
    Unpretentious and welcoming. Friendly and chatty staff and patrons. They have a piano and singers who perform occasionally, usually earlier in the evenings. Bar, lounge seating, and outdoor patio. Right next door to one of Palm Springs better Thai restaurants and several other gay bars nearby.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Cantala / The Riviera Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Empty, theatrical, flies
    I had seen Circa 59's Prix Fixe menu for Palm Springs Restaurant Week online and just missed being able to try it, so I dropped by for lunch with high hopes. The OTT Glam-of-the-Giants interior design of the Riviera's uber-cool lobby carried over into the high-ceilinged, super plush restaurant.Very theatrical and completely empty. As the interior was dark, and I had brought a magazine to relax with, I took the receptionist's suggestion to sit in the cooled open air section facing the pool. Perfect resort view of tanned hipsters, but I was plagued with flies during my meal. I always rank a restaurant by their Caesar salad, and the version here (hearts of Romaine) was pedestrian: leaf, grated cheese, and croutons that seemed to be out of a bag. Freshly toasted bread drizzled with olive oil and some anchovies on the side would have perked it up a few notches. The dressing was on the side - a glistening, grey glob in a ramekin - and that made it very clumsy for me to dress with only a fork and knife, and it did taste fresh-made. My sirloin burger was perfectly cooked to my request and delicious. I had finished 2/3 of it by the time the mustard I had requested showed up. My waiter, who said he'd be back to take my bill, wasn't, and, after exhausting my magazine, a bus boy was kind enough to fetch a different waiter to bring my change.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Palm Springs Art Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent Oasis of Culture
    It's not the size that matters. Surprisingly top notch collections, and plenty to see. Fun sculpture garden next to the cafe. Gorgeous theater and lecture hall in the basement. The enormous Sam Francis in the lobby made me very happy. More than one canvas by Picasso. A Warhol paper dress. Lots of light (and aircon). A shop with some welcome quirkiness and maps of modernist Palm Springs.

  • noooby
    noooby reviewed Alicante Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Expansive menu, reasonable prices. Delish!
    I visited Zini during Palm Springs Restaurant Week and everything that we tried was delicious. Large selection of tapas dishes. Our starter - beets with walnuts, artisanal goat cheese and jalapeno creme - got even better as it warmed to room temp. So did our plate of Humbolt Fog, fig and fresh toasted/olive-oiled crostini. Magnificent, crunchy green beans, half-clothed in garlic aioli, were the star of the meal. The linguini with mussels and clams came wading in a delectable broth that the fresh, warm bread sopped up efficiently. The espresso-chocolate-and-ice-cream finale was outstanding. Our waiter was around exactly when we needed him. Outdoor and indoor seating and a friendly looking bar. Right on the strip, so its perfect for people-watching. Will be back for more goodness.