musicman013

Darren McGill, 38M.

Columbus, Ohio
Joined Jun 2010
24 Followers 21 Following

47 Loved Places

Listings

  • Ty's West Village, New York
  • Barracuda Chelsea, New York
  • GYM SPORTSBAR Chelsea, New York
  • The Eagle NYC Chelsea, New York
  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Hayloft Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    worth a visit
    Good sized bar with friendly bartenders. Pool table, dart boards, jukebox, TVs and video machines. Patio is large but has a lot of dead space. Atmosphere was laid back the Thursday night I visited with a nice looking (but tame) crowd.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Adam's Apple Over a year ago
    Loves it

    cozy but friendly
    Unassuming, small neighborhood bar. TVs, video screens, decent sized patio. Nothing special about this place, but the atmosphere is laid back and welcoming. And the bartender was an A+ the night I was there.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Broadway Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Cozy, unique WV bar
    Friendly bartenders in this little spot in WV. For a city this size, I couldn't imagine things much better. Well Rum definitely had a very bad taste, guess that is why I ordered up after that. Crowd was interesting to say the least, but I met some nice guys on the weeknight I was in town.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed JJ's Clubhouse & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great crowd of guys even on a Thursday
    Very small bar but with a great, sexy clientele. (no twinks) This is the bar to meet attractive, real men it seems. Not very busy on the Thurs night I was in town, but the limited space made it feel busier and was conducive to cruising. Definitely recommended.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Rehab Saint Louis Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Laidback neighborhood spot
    Service was friendly and the mixed crowd was laidback and unpretentious on the Thursday night I was in town. Would definitely feel comfortable hanging out there again. Not huge and nothing special about this place, but solid friendly spot for St. Louis.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed McCoy's Public House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    happening spot with good food
    Ate here in August and had a very good experience. Pizza was excellent. Service at the bar was very friendly, attentive and professional. Seemed to be a very popular spot all around. Nice mix of straight and gay crowd in the place. Would definitely recommend.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Ty's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    very low key
    This small bar feels the most inviting and laid back. If I were traveling alone to NYC, I would start here just to unwind. Friendly crowd of average joes. Great space just to make a new friend. Highly recommended if you are not looking to impress anyone- just drink and chat.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed The Eagle NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    large and cruisy
    This three level bar has many areas to enjoy your beer or enjoy your friends. Excellent layout for cruising. Crowd was mixed, but just about anyone could feel comfortable here. Witnessed some great action the night I was there. Just wish I would have checked it out sooner!

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed The Duplex Over a year ago
    Loves it

    always a fun time
    Bartenders will take care of you at this joint. Feels the most intimate of local bars. Cabaret here is excellent. Nice patio area as well. Upstairs has video screens and 2nd bar. This small place can get PACKED, but it will always put a smile on your face.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Stonewall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    always busy
    This institution always seems to have something going on. Crowd has gotten sexier than I remember. Service can take awhile if it's a busy night. But fun times to be had. If you are visiting, buy a Stonewall Inn Tshirt to show your pride.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Rockbar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    excellent masculine vibe
    If you are looking for the butch gay bars in NYC, check out Rockbar. Friendly bartender. Beefy crowd. Definitely worth a visit.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Pieces Over a year ago
    Loves it

    always yummy crowd
    Small and easily gets crowded. But very sexy crowd and great music make Pieces always a fun visit.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Julius' Over a year ago
    Loves it

    old but charming
    This historical bar is just a neighborhood dive, but is well worth checking out if you want a lowkey place to unwind. Crowd is older and mostly regulars. Only wish I could have sampled a burger with my draft beer.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed GYM SPORTSBAR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    excellent hangout spot
    This is a great place. The bartenders are friendly, the mix of crowd is excellent. The layout/design of the place is cool. Downstairs is also great when open. My favorite NYC bar. Boxers may have more TVs, but Gym Bar has a better vibe.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Boxers NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    happening place
    You can't go wrong with sexy bartenders serving you in silk boxers. Lots of TVs and loud music. Crowd seemed a little pretentious, but layout and vibe of this bar is worth checking out.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Barracuda Over a year ago
    Hates it

    it's a drag
    if you are looking for a drag bar, this place could be a lot of fun. lively crowd even on the Tuesday night I was there.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed 9th Avenue Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    simple and excellent
    nothing special about this place and THAT is a large part of what makes is special. friendly bartenders, laid back crowd, great location right in Hell's Kitchen. definitely a relaxing place to unwind.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed M'coul's Public House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    excellent menu and location
    Downtown Irish Pub with good patio space and rooftop deck. Large menu has excellent selections and very tasty food. Friendly servers and wait staff are a plus. Nothing gay about this place, though. Just a great place to grab a beer and a bite.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Club Body Center Providence Over a year ago
    Hates it

    decent bathhouse
    nicer of the two choices in Providence, but a bit cozier. multiple play areas (dark room, glory hole booths, steam room, sauna) Showers are not the greatest (and who wants separate shower stalls in a bathhouse?) Crowd was decent the weeknight I was there in July. I'd give it another chance if I was in the mood.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Lucky 32 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent menu
    Nothing overtly gay about this place at all. But good service, great tasting food and an excellent menu selection explain why this upscale restaurant is always busy!

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Sidekick's Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    worth a visit
    Large bar with multiple areas to hang out. (dance floor, pool table area, main bar w TVs) I was there on an off night when they weren't playing country or hosting anything in particular and the small crowd was still having fun.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Q-Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    friendly welcoming vibe
    Modest is the word here. Bartenders and patrons are friendly and unassuming. Good place to hang out. Slightly younger crowd later in the evening.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Sheraton Suites Country Club Plaza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    very well kept hotel with lots of amenities
    This Sheraton is in great condition. Rooms are all well appointed and good size. Large pool is indoor/outdoor. Hot tub and Fitness Center are on the small side, but both are in good condition. Restaurant serves tasty food but a little on the pricey side. Hotel offers valet parking, but you can self park in the garage for a fee (billed to your room). Nothing overtly gay friendly about the place, but good service at a nice hotel trumps that. Great location along the Country Club Plaza with loads of shops and restaurants. Will defnitely return.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Buddies Over a year ago
    Loves it

    unassuming and relaxed
    great little neighborhood bar. nothing special here but friendly bartenders, unpretentious crowd and a low key vibe.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Cafe Trio Over a year ago
    Hates it

    tasty food, nice location
    Food was excellent but service was shoddy at best. Dined on a slower night. Employees were in abundance but their attitude ranged from blatantly ignoring customers to abrupt, forced friendliness- not what I'd expect with the prices / intended caliber of the restaurant. Would give it another chance, though.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Hamburger Mary's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    campy burger joint
    I checked this place out on a late night Thursday. Appreciated that they served food late. Service was friendly. Decor was campy and over the top, but fun. No show while we were there, but the stage looked small and difficult to see from most places. I would return again.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Hampton Inn & Suites - Downtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Inviting welcome to Nashville
    I stayed at this nice location, near downtown a few weeks ago. Rooms are well designed with large bathrooms and well kept amenities- pool, hot tub, fitness center, breakfast area. Bonus was that I was welcomed to the city in the best way possible by a friendly hotel clerk. Highly reccommended and plan to return.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Duplex Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    nice vibe
    great food paired with good service (the attractive guys are a nice plus as well)

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed The Club Dallas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    nice facility
    one of the nicest bathhouses Ive ever been in. Decent size with an easy to navigate layout. whirlpool, sauna, steam room, pool all in good working order when i visited. not a bad little crowd for the wed night i visited. would definitely recommend.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed AWOL Over a year ago
    Loves it

    best patio
    Good neighborhood bar. Friendly bartenders, decent crowd here usually. Sometimes more of a happy hour crowd. Definitely is easy to find some drunk patrons here from time to time. Hands down the best patio in Columbus. (even if there is no view)

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Cavan Irish Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    excellent
    Great remodel of a former hole in the wall bar. Some of the sexiest and nicest bartenders work here. Good drink specials, great patio. My favorite bar.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Friend's Tavern Over a year ago
    Hates it

    nice little place, friendly bartenders

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Providence Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    nice mix
    nice mix of people, totally unpretentious. Mike seems like a great bartender (and fun guy) and who doesnt love porn on the TVs, lol.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    good food, great location
    u can't beat the scenery! food was above average. the decor and service were nice. crowd was a bit older, but overall a nice place! it helped that the mixed drinks were strong!

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed The Stable Over a year ago
    Hates it

    busy video bar
    This place was busy, even on a Thursday. Lots of video screens, cute guys- what else could u need? lol I would go back anytime.

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed The Alleycat Over a year ago
    Loves it

    small but great
    i had a great time here. Even on a slower thursday evening, there was some eye candy. Very small, but cozy vibe. Bartenders friendly and welcoming! Definitely reccomend!!

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Dark Lady Over a year ago
    Hates it

    very small
    was not impressed when i visited. it was early on a thursday, but bartender wasn't even very friendly. music OK. would not be my first choice of a destination

  • musicman013
    musicman013 reviewed Mega-Plex Bathhouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    nothing to brag about
    this place is in desperate need of a remodel! decent crowd when i was there on a weeknight. but steam room out of order and the shower area looked so disgusting i opted out of rinsing off. would not reccomend, unless u were meeting someone there.