monaural

40M.

Monterey, California
Joined Apr 2010
8 Followers 1 Following

Following 1 person

13 Loved Places

Listings

  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas
  • Abbey West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Hunters Palm Springs Arenas Road Area, Palm Springs
  • Mercantile Saloon (The Merc) Midtown, Sacramento
  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    good dance spot
    Nicely decorated, packed dance floor, good bar, good music. Loved the straight muscle guy simultaneously getting off on the gay attention, while clinging to his girlfriend for dear life. Gogo boys were not bad (could actually move) and are easy access on dancefloor. Surprising (and annoying) number of people just standing on the dancefloor in spite of the good music selection.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Mercantile Saloon (The Merc) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I like a dive as much as anyone...
    But my husbands drink (tho cheap) was watered down. Since he watched the bartender pour a crap-load of vodka into it, this indicates that this bar may have dived too deep and water got into the alcohol bottles. The place seemed 90% patio, and a smokey crowded patio at that. Wide mix of people, none I would want to take home... Though since it was the brightest lit dive bar I've ever seen, there was little danger of mistaking a naughty for a hottie.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Smokin, but not hot
    The venue(s) are fun and well-maintained, but the friday evening that I was there got off to a slow start, with the dance floors not filling up til past midnight. The drag show was fun, but at the same time, i would rather have had the show earlier in order to free up the Paranha dancefloor sooner. Having two dancefloors allowed for flexibility in what genres you get as well as an alternative if the music sucked on one floor, tho overall the music was good. Go go boys were OK, but their boxes took up a lot of real estate on the dancefloor. This would be a 4-star review except that the place was TOO smokey (cigarettes AND a fog machine on each floor) and one of the patrons was rude to a lesbian friend of mine, first asking if she was a girl or a boy (she is butch, but still easily classifiable as a female) and then informing her that there was "another club" for lesbians. You DONT mess with my lesbians! I got in early and avoided the $20 cover-if i had had to pay,it would have been a 2-star review...

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Bed and Buns Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Singular Experience in Boise
    My husband and I stayed here a couple years ago over Thanksgiving. The proprietors were very nice and the baked goods at breakfast were REALLY nice! The homo-kitsch artwork in the rooms was hilarious as was the retro porn which was provided on these strange things called "VHS TAPES", which according to the stickers, you need to rewind --whatever that means. At the time their website did not mention the dungeon that they were in the process of building in their basement. It was relatively rudimentary, a couple glory holes, a sling, a basket full of sex toys (public use sex toys - PLEASE USE CONDOMS!!!) and some old-school porn. We passed on the basket-o-toys, but did give the sling a late-night test-drive. All in all it was a great place to recover from a long weekend with my Mormon family.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Hunters Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Inconsistant
    We've visited Hunters twice, about a year apart, same time of year, both times over a weekend. The first time was quite fun, with a diverse crowd and good music. The second time the place was largely empty, save for a bachelorette party for a straight girl and the DJ stank. The venue is nice: large and well maintained with a good-sized dancefloor sepatate from the main bar. Drinks seemed reasonable (not a drinker, so cant rate the quality) and the go-gos were nice, though a couple of them could have used a gym membership.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    WeHo Mainstay
    Ovet the past 20 years, the Abbey has grown from a neighborhood coffee shop to one of the gay standards in LA. Incredibly crowded most nights, I prefer to enjoy the venue for weekend brunch or early evening dinner with friends. Drink prices are a common complaint, though I've also been told the cocktails there are VERY good (I dont drink, so I cant weigh in on this). The lack of a dancefloor is unfortunate, as their DJs are often better than some of the local dance clubs' and their go-go boys (when they have them) are unimpressive and redundant to the space--with the amount of eye candy here, go-go boys are largely unnecesary.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Santiago Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Our favorite PS hotel
    Great place. Not too skeezy, but not flat-lining on the sexual energy, a perfect balance. Site is well maintained with a very nicely landscaped courtyard/pool area. Breakfast was good, but nothing spectacular and rooms are immaculate. Coming back late after a night dancing, my husband and I shucked off our clothes on the way back to our room and dove into the pool for a relaxing 3AM skinny dip. It was amazing!

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed Basix Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of my favorite WeHo eateries
    Food is great, desserts are great. Some of the besy thin crust pizza around! Staff is very personable and range from OK-looking to just plain hot. Inexpensive (for LA) parking at Aaron Bros, one block down Santa Monica or street parking on Kings.

  • monaural
    monaural reviewed The Huntley Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Penthouse
    Review of The Penthouse restaurant at the top of the Huntley Hotel: food is OK, but 365 degree view of santa monica and ocean is amazing! Also has the distinction of having the most impressive view from a men's room stall that i have ever seen. Just sayin...