markroy53

Mark McMahon, 65M. 58 year old displaced/mislplaced new yorker living in rio and enjoying every minute of it.

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Joined Nov 2008
57 Followers 48 Following

19 Loved Places

Listings

  • The GEM Hotel-Chelsea Chelsea, New York
  • 44 & X Hell's Kitchen, New York
  • Confiteria Colombo Centro, Rio de Janeiro
  • Bazzar Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro

Cities

Events

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed The GEM Hotel-Chelsea Over a year ago
    Loves it

    my favorite
    My fav hideaway when I visit manhattan. Very well locates, friendly and helpful staff. In the heart of Chelsea walking distance to everything.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Body Tech Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The best gyms in rio
    the a body tech franchise really does have the best gyms in rio. there are three in ipanema, two in leblon, one in gavea, one in botafogo, they r everywhere. i go to the one on barao de torre in ipanema. the equipment is good, but the housekeeping could be a bit better.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Sorza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    wonderful, yummy, great
    had lunch there today. the fixed price lunch with appetizer, main course and desert came to around $30.00. it was wonderful. the baby arugula salad with sun dried tomatoes, pine nuts and shaved parmesan cheese was out of this world. i had gnocchi with a gorgonzola sauce and creme brullee for desert. well worth the cost. the space is lovely also, very tastefully done.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Pastis Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Try the Chicken Paillard
    had lunch there this week and as always after god only knows how many years it was packed. the staff was attentive and the chicken paillard was very good.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Lasagna Ristorante Chelsea Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Their signature plate is a must - for two
    very crowded and noisy at times, but their lasagne is good and filling. Comfort food with a capital C. their other dishes r good, but not spectacular.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed 44 & X Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My olde neighborhood haunt
    lived in hell's kitchen for years and i remember when this restaurant was a gas station!!!!! they do a wonderful job with some good comfort food. have had many nights of fantastic food and people watching here.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Parilla Miranda Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lovely place, great food and good looking people
    it has been several years since we were last here, but when we were we made it almost a daily habit during our chrismtas vacation in ba. fantastic food, a very good wait staff and some nice architecture. worth the trip if u r not in palermo hollywood.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Zona Sul Supermarkets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Best Pizza in Town
    whodaknown!!!!!!!!!! the best pizza in rio can be had at the zona sul supermarket chains. it is a very thin crusted pizza with wonderful fresh ingredients. my favorite is "margarhita", made with fresh tomatoes and basil. their selection is large, and they even have sweet pizzas, for the brave of heart. they also have "spaghetterias" in some of their supermarkets. u can get ur bottle of wine from the wine rack, and sit down, watch the people and enjoy a very nice, inexpensive meal

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Confiteria Colombo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Takes me back to when the royal family ruled.
    fantastic belgium crystal mirrors, wonderful tile floors, it makes u feel as if u were in the early 1800's. then there are their pastries, both sweet and salty, and a wonderful menu that is simple but good. the best thing about the place is its atmosphere and reliving a true part of rio de janeiro's history

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Salpicado Over a year ago
    Loves it

    When u find it, u will never forget it. . .
    if u r looking for a fantastic little spot for a prix-fixe lunch salpicado is the place to go. it is located in the quartier ipanema building on the corner of visconde de piraja and maria quiteria. they r only open for lunch and have some of the freshest food and wonderful included deserts i have ever had. go on wednesday and their desert is "sonho de bombom", which literally translated in english is "chocolate candy dream". ivenette is the owner, manager and her wait staff is friendly, helpful and not bad looking either!!!. the price is around US$13.00 and worthe every penny.

  • markroy53
    markroy53 reviewed Bazzar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    If u like bread . . .
    Bazzar is one of my favorite neighborhood restaurants. The architecture is beautiful, and they have a bread selection that is the best. Their food is extremely fresh, well prepared and tastefully presented. Although it is a large open space u do not need to shout to be heard. The owner is a woman who also has "little bazzars" in the travessa bookstores in ipanema an leblon. They make some wonderful sauces and mustards that u can buy and take with u. Well worth the visit.