kgb_boi

Rodney Moore, 39M.

Montreal, Canada
Joined Jul 2010
4 Followers 5 Following

Following 5 people

107 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • Last Call The Castro, San Francisco
  • The Mint Karaoke Lounge The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • Edge The Castro, San Francisco

Cities

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Cafe Coco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Essential for late night and early morning.
    While working in Nashville, a friend of mine came to visit from Chicago. He was on his way back from New Orleans and Thanksgiving with family down there, back to Chicago. He had very little time to visit, since he was on his way back to work the next day. I put him up in the hotel I was at, and let him rest until about 10pm. Where to go for food coffee, bagels and stuff you can eat while on the road? Well, we drive from Franklin to Nashville, it takes us a while to find this place, even with the Judy Garland(aka Garmin), but we arrive. We thought it might be closed. Thank the God of our own choice it was NOT. Not only was it open, it had a nice crowd. So from 11:45 to 1:30am, we were able to grab grub, inject enough coffee into him to drive all the way to Chicago so he could do a half day's work. Gay friendly, Jew friendly, nice people who like to talk to others and have a good conversation. The food wasn't perfect, but it was good, especially open at midnight. Their attempt at "French-Canadian fries" was somewhat off. They needed to use curd cheese and the dish is called "poutine" and it's Québécois as opposed to "French-Canadian" but nevertheless that, plus humus, plus chicken fingers fed two people. Of course my friend, being the good Joo that he is, couldn't go without a tuna melt sandwich and a veggie burger bagel for the road.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Batter'd & Fried Boston Seafood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Two things done great.
    I lived in New Orleans and Boston, so I know damned good seafood. I was skeptical about this place, and combining New England style fried seafood and Sushi in the same restaurant seemed a bit too culinarily unorthodox. But I am obliged to say, that this place delivered beyond my expectations. There were items which were missing, but given that Nashville is pretty far from the waters off the coast of New England, it's understandable. But it's the quality of what they had which stunned me. Even picky Bostonians would like this place, but the Sushi was damned good as well. To say the least this is NOT a Captain D's!!

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Tribe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    4.5 Stars
    Last time I was in Nasvhille, I and a friend had gone to Play, which is right next door to this bar. My experience and lack of a positive experience at Play somewhat shaddowed my experience at Tribe. I and my friend from work, went from attitude driven Play to a different experience completely at Tribe. The bartenders, were cute, but didn't seem TOO friendly. They were busy though and their drinks were fucking awesome. The crowd was SUPER nice. Even though the guys at Play were cuter, the guys at Tribe were far nicer.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Play Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Wasn't impressed
    I believe something VERY strongly, if you don't have something nice to say, don't say anything at all. But there are times when you need to speak the truth to people. First off, I love Nashville, always have. But Nashville is NOT Miami, it's NOT New York City, Toronto, San Francisco or even Montreal. That means this center of the universe attitude that some of the people in Nashville have, needs to be taken down two or three or even four notches. The club Play is an example of Nashville thinking too much of itself. Of course some of the bartenders are cute and the crowd is as well, but the attitude is not appropriate. I read some of the comments below and to be honest, there were too many straight girls, too many gay boys playing up the attitude, anyone who wasn't a gay white twink or a gaggle of girls hagging for one, seemed out of place. I was made to feel out of place. The only two upsides were that 1. They had pretty good music and 2. When you could get a bartender away from cruising a twink or gossiping with a nelly girl, the drinks were pretty good.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Jager Haus German Bistro & Coffee Shop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Les allemands la Nouvelle-Orlans
    Germans, Austrians and Swiss have always been present in the history of New Orleans. Ever since the days of the French explorers and the Spanish rule, German speaking people from Europe blended into the Cajun and Crole blend of the city. Once the Americans took over in 1804, Germans kept coming. There's even a region in Southeastern Louisiana called "Des Allemands" Or "of the Germans" in English. Suprisingly, with a large German-American population, this is the one and only German restaurant in New Orleans. It is worth a visit. In a city with overpriced places, where it seems as if you get the same thing in every restaurant, this German bistro is a welcome difference.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Commander's Palace Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Never got why people rave about this place.
    I lived in New Orleans for more than 6 years, I worked in the Quarter, and often dealt with foodies as my regular guests at the Hotel. Truth be known the food and service at Commander's Palace are damned good. But let's be honest, it's possible to get some of the very same food at just about any hole in the wall eatery in New Orleans. Yes it is VERY stuffy, requiring a dress code to dine, is idiocy, especially in a city which has 90% plus humidity more than 8 months out of the year. New Orleans likes to hold onto those elements of it's past grandeur, but the essence of New Orleans crole cuisine, and especially cajun cuisine, is that it is made by the regular people, it's NOT haute cuisine. Commander's Palace is a bit over the top, too pricey, too pretentious, too stuffy, too dressy and way too full of itself.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Oz Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Oz could be better
    Oz has too much attitude. Both Oz and Bourbon Pub share a street corner, rue Bourbon and rue Saint-Anne. During major events and weekends this are is packed with guys. And the crowd and the vibe change, from day to day, hour to hour. Oz attracts a young, stylish crowd. It is a gay bar, but it gets so many straights, that it has to have a sign outside explaining that it is indeed a gay bar and that people should act accordingly. The bartenders are hot enough or as nice as they could be. Most of the dancers are straight, and seem to have a bit of an attitude.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Quest Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hit or miss
    Four stars is generous. But I believe in the power of redemption. My first experience with this place was one which was purely negative. My lover at the time was in Bulgaria, with his family and I was working late, getting off at 12 in the morning. I wanted to go to a gay bar, have a drink or 3, unwind and then maybe walk home(I lived not far from this place). First, I accepted that since this was Alabama, paying a cover and all that crap. Getting into the first area, I was wanting a drink, the bartender wasn't busy, he was busy talking shit and gossiping. I had my money out, and was wanting a cocktail. The idiot bartender never served me. I wasn't there to hook up, just to unwind after a long night's work. This wasn't a super busy night. Nevertheless I left, didn't get my money back, even though I tried and never went back. If you're cock hungry enough or a glutton for bad service, maybe this place will do in a pinch. A few months later, some friends dragged me out to this place. And my experience was completely different. This time the place was busy, and packed with guys from University of Alabama at Birmingham(which I attended along with my lover). The vibe was different, the place was busy, packed and lively. Hell, there were even a few places in the club, which could have passed as backrooms, with a little action. The music was OK, if not good. My initial experience was NOT pleasant, but my second and third experiences at this club improved my opinion. However, it has been a while since I was there.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed South Street Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Club kids, cops, commuters, Chinatown employees, late night dinners, travellers, truckers, taxi cab drivers
    My first meal when I arrived in Boston, was at this VERY unpretentious place. I had arrived after travelling from Indiana to Boston, evacuating from New Orleans to go to school at UMass Boston. The food hit the spot, and the waiter tried not to even accept payment. Fine dining it is NOT. It was LOUD, the food is what diner food should be, and yes there are loud conversations from the philosophical mumblings of Ivy Leaguers to the domestic spats of Southie white trash. But this is where the high brow and low brow meet, especially late at night when everyone is hungry and noone is having foie gras.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Ristorante Fiore Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Impossible to have a bad meal here.
    It is almost impossible to get a bad meal in Little Italy(Aka North End) because the real estate is so expensive(such is Boston) and noone can afford to sell bad food. My north end tradition is this, start around 3pm or 4pm. 1. Have drinks at one place. 2. Have dinner at another, after asking about each place. Look at the menu of the place you're drinking at. BUT come back again for tthat place. 3. After dinner instead of having desert there, go to Mike's Pastry and pick up an assortment of REAL well done Italian pastries and get a Mocha while there. Ristorante fiore is among my favorites. It is a big pricey but you will have more than enough. Bring friends.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed JAM Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Super cute guys AND nice
    Mormon guys are a weakness for me. I like guys who are not only guy-next-door cute, but polite and nice. This place was awesome. I have never been a twink, but the gaggle of twinks here were nice and welcoming sort. If only we could export cute well mannered Mormon lads EVERYWHERE, the world would be so much nicer.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Sun Trapp Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Older but very nice crowd
    I may not be into older guys. But I have always been friends with older gents. I also love country music. This place was among the nicest places for a quick drink and a good conversation.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed TLV Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Different kinds of guys, good music, but some attitude.
    Five stars for the music and ambiance. Expect some attitude, especially if you're not a young hot twink, but with that said, there were different types of guys. And a few were very nice, while others were a little arrogant.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Hilton Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    In the heart of everything
    Within a mile or two of this hotel is enough bars, beaches, shops, restaurants and of course SUPER smoking hot Israeli men. Israel is an awesome place, Tel Aviv is off the hook and this hotel is right in the middle of everything that you can possibly do.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Quartermaster Deli Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quarter Master and Verti Mart
    Both of these places have the best food for the price, they both deliver and the food is unpretentious. I used to work in a hotel in the Quarter, and would host foodies from around the region, country and world. After their work was done, visiting, XYZ restaurants(Bayona, Antoines, Galatoires, Brennans) they would order the unpretentious food from both Verti Mart and Quarter Master. The edginess and bluntness of those that work there, isn't meant to be rude, per se, more of a no-nonsense kind of approach. Locals, tourists, foodies and those looking to grub eat here. You can also buy liquor, beer, wine, cigarettes and your newspapers here. At BOTH places.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Le Zinc Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cuisine franaise sans l'attitude et le prix
    Pour nous-on qui connait la cuisine franaise, de trouver un endroit comme ceci est trs rare. Excellent cuisine franaise sans la pretention, l'attitude, le prix et les petits montants qu'on souvent imagine de fine cuisine.

  • kgb_boi
    kgb_boi reviewed Remington's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Smoking hot without the attitude.
    I remember this place back in the 1990s, when I was younger. Despite the smoking hot guys, they all were nice. The bartenders were allways nice. I live in Montral now, and I and my boyfriend have two completely different tastes. He's into bears/chubs and I am into twinks/jocks/qubcois types. This is the ONLY bar, we both like and can enjoy.