jjkeyes

Jeffrey Jeffrey, 38M. I'm the New York Editor of GayCities.com, a writer and photographer that loves nothing more than on hopping on a plane and exploring the world. In addition to GayCities I also freelance and write about travel and entertainment. I recently completed Columbia University's MFA Playwriting Program and have an expansive background in media and journalism. Most recently I co-authored the upcoming novella Killer Chef with James Patterson for Little, Brown and Company and Hachette Books (now available on Barnes & Noble & Amazon)

New York, New York
Joined Feb 2009
287 Followers 237 Following

1053 Loved Places

Listings

  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • Hunters Wilton Manors, Wilton Manors
  • Scandals Saloon Wilton Manors, Wilton Manors
  • Georgie's Alibi Monkey Bar Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale

Cities

Events

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Boxers NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best sports bar in town!
    Boxers is the best sports bar in town - huge screens playing EVERY game, great pizza, fun crowd, and hot bartenders. Boxers is more than just a sports bar, though, its truly a neighborhood bar bursting with soul.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Flaming Saddles Salon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun new Hells Kitchen bar
    Flaming Saddles is a really fun spot. Drinks are reasonably priced and the bandit bartenders are a blast. Put on your cowboy hat and get over to Ninth Avenue!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Spice Market Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Outstanding
    Spice Market is the perfect spot for a date, engagement party, or special occasion. The staff is handsome and the food dependable.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Leslie-Lohman Museum of Gay and Lesbian Art Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Gay Art Gallery
    Love this place! Leslie/Lohman is always worth a visit.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Ardesia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pretzels & Wine?
    Who would have thought pretzels & wine go so well together? Ardesia is a fabulous new addition in Hells Kitchen. Enjoy a little happy hour vino after work. You deserve it. The staff is super friendly, the space gorgeous, inspiring, top notch, highly recommended.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Vasa Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Outstanding
    I can't stop thinking about this museum, it's incredible. A trip to the Vasa Museum is a rare glimpse into a period of history that will leave you day dreaming for years.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed National Museum of Iceland Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Organized and inspiring
    The National Museum of Iceland is completely organized and really tells the story of this unique and special country. The top floor exhibit is a complete blast from the (recent) past and not to be missed. Great museum!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed The Frick Collection Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Grounding
    If you ever need to take a break and disappear for an hour or two, I recommend checking in to the Frick Collection. Walk in Henry Clay's footsteps and take in extraordinary artwork.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Room Service NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Adorable
    This place will certainly catch your eye. Hells Kitchen is never short on Thai restaurants but RoomService is a stand out.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Morimoto Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love it
    Morimoto is incredible. We listened to the sassy waitress' recommendations and couldn't have been more delighted with our night out. I had the angry chicken and literally died and went to foodie heaven.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Gild Hall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fabulous hotel
    Perfect location for those juggling a little Wall Street and a lot of fun. Gild Hall is a beautiful hotel, part of the Thompson line, close to the Seaport, Financial District, and the hustle and bustle of Wall Street. Love this hotel.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Balthazar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best coffee in the city
    Okay, everything about Balthazar is amazing but I have a confession to make, I sometimes make a trek down to Soho because I'm craving their coffee. Check it out.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Radisson SAS 1919 Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The cosmopolitan option
    I love the 1919. Everything about this hotel is slick, it's my absolute favorite hotel in Reykjavik. The staff is friendly and attentive and the space inspiring. Be sure to have breakfast downstairs, the food is outstanding! Cocktails in the bar before (or after) you go out are a must. We will definitely be back.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Hotel Glymur Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stunning Hotel
    Glymur is such an amazing spot. Between the glaciers, the land, and the Northern Lights, there is the most incredible energy that hovers above Hotel Glymur. Hansina is a remarkable hostess. Have a glass of wine, retire to the hot tubs, and watch the nightly light show above you before getting the perfect rest. We give the Glymur our highest recommendation!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Christopher Street Pier Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Eye candy and relaxation
    Spend your day off sunning in the grass of this gorgeous pier. You won't believe the oodles of eye candy around you. A great place for a picnic, nap in the sun, quiet reading spot, or good old fashioned people watching.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Point Foundation Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Outstanding organization
    Everyone in the GLBT community should keep the Point Foundation on their radar and support this fabulous organization. Get involved!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed LaCage NiteClub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always a good time
    La-Cage is a must if you're in from out of town. Tons of fun.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GUERNICA
    You must go! I could stand in front of the GUERNICA all day long!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Apple Retail Store West 14th Street Over a year ago
    Loves it

    favorite apple store
    It's tempting to have an Apple Store so close to the HighLine.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Cabrini Wines Inc. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best wine shop in Manhattan
    I can't believe what a great selection they have. Their staff is really knowledgeable and always has amazing recommendations. Near the front they usually have this great six pack of wines, I picked up the Spanish wine pack recently and was blown away by the quality of the wines. It's a really amazing deal, and a good opportunity to try some new bottles.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Fat Witch Bakery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    the witching hour
    Okay, i'm a nerd. go at the end of the day and you can stock up on fat witches at 50% off. yum. Their cherry brownie is to die for.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Strand Book Store Over a year ago
    Loves it

    strand-elicious
    They might not have everything you need but they'll definitely have something for you. The Strand used to be kind of disorganized but they've really stepped it up in the past few years. If you're a book nerd like I am you should definitely check it out. Things are always on the cheap side. Oh! And you can sell or trade in old books, especially hard covered books.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Tiffany & Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Skip breakfast
    Skip breakfast and go to Tiffanys. Avoid going on the weekends because it's so full. Go early on a weekday and shop in peace. Their staff is always so helpful. Go beyond the first floor, upstairs there's so much more.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed bliss soho Over a year ago
    Loves it

    always great
    Spa treatments at Bliss are always amazing. The Triple Oxygen Treatment will make you feel like a king. I usually plan on making a day of it and going for the massage and facial. Schedule some time between the two so you can relax in their lounge and read a magazine (or two).

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Second Stage Theatre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    CHAD DEITY
    I second that note about Chad Deity. Second Stages' 2010 season is hot. I hear the boys from Chad Deity made an appearance at Gym Bar the other night. I wonder what they have up their sleeve this summer!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Ars Nova Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Gay Agenda
    I'm going tonight. So excited. The last thing I saw there was Dixie's Tupperware Party and I had tons of fun.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed TKTS Times Square Over a year ago
    Loves it

    cheap ticket alert!
    TKTS is the place to go if you're looking for a Broadway deal. There is a separate line (typically no wait) if you're not in a very Sondheim mood and would rather see a play. Look for the big red steps in Times Square!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Millesgården Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stunning
    The Millesgarden is unbelievable. Go!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Kiehl's New York Flagship Store Over a year ago
    Loves it

    the good & the bad
    Good news is, Kiel's is amazing. The bad news is, I should just sign over my paycheck to their flagship store because I can't get enough.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Guggenheim Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fabulous
    Everything about the Guggenheim is fabulous. Their current Haunted: Contemporary Photography/Video/Performance exhibit is really outstanding. Definitely worth a trip uptown.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Neue Galerie Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Otto Dix, fantastic.
    I discovered the Neue Galerie around this time last year and cannot believe I hadn't gone before. Their current Otto Dix exhibit is extraordinary. Be sure to have a snack and espresso at Cafe Sabarsky on your way out. This is the real New York.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Posman Books Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perfect place for a quick gift
    Pop in if you need a card, book, or something quick for a birthday or special occasion. Located in the Chelsea market

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Cowgirl Hall of Fame Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best night out
    Bad day? Have a margarita. Cowgirl Hall of Fame is one of the best places to go for a "gurls night out". Looking for a party venue? Look no further. The room in the back is enormous and the staff more than accommodating.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Mälar Paviljongen Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An outdoor treat
    I can't imagine a better place for outdoor dining and people watching. Mälar Paviljongen is the place to be in the summer. Get there early and stay all night.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed F12 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cream of the Crop
    F12 is one of the best restaurants in the world. Danyel Couet is a genius. I cannot stop thinking about the meal I had here. When you go to Stockholm, you must reserve an evening for F12. Dine downstairs, then head upstairs to the Terrace for dancing, signature cocktails, and outstanding DJs.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Bangkok Heights Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Give it a try
    The heights has needed a thai place for years-im so glad they finally arrived. Thai dishes and sushi are both great, we've done take out and eaten there, happy both times. Excellent service, give it a try.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Community Food & Juice Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The true Columbian brunch
    Blueberry Pancakes...need we say anything else? Community is the best place for brunch if you're in the Columbia area.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Cafe Luxembourg Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perfect
    Cafe Luxembourg is one of my favorite places in New York. It's a great spot to have a little snack and catch up with an old friend.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Kefi Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Outstanding!
    I had dinner here with some friends the other night and everything was outstanding. The upstairs is great but downstairs is a total surprise, you feel like you're stepping into an upscale authentic Greek tavern. The wait staff is jaw-droppingly gorgeous and the food crave-able. Make a reservation or you'll surely make it through three of their signature Quince Margaritas before making it to your table. ..but we don't mind.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Cafe Cluny Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quiet lunch
    We had a quiet lunch at Cafe Cluny the other day. Great spot for an intimate afternoon snack or a quick bite after work. The staff was friendly and upbeat. The Wasabi Tuna Burger is fantastic.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Patricia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    "You've got to go"
    The Patricia is the end all be all in Stockholm. Party like a real Swede on the dance floor and come up for air to mingle and meet the handsome boys on both sides of the boat. Be sure to take your disco nap so you can climb up to the roof and watch the sun rise with all of your new friends. Just remember...even though the sun has risen the night is still young.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Grand Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Greta Garbo eat your heart out.
    The bellhop opened the door and I gasped at what I saw...the perfect hotel. Everything is just right at the Grand Hotel: a room with a view in a hotel that seems to jump right out of the Golden Age and has literally broken the mold.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Hilton Stockholm Slussen Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great if you're going to the Patricia!
    This hotel is so close to the Patricia, it's a great place to stay if you plan on staying out late at the weekly gay party. Something different seems to be going on every night at the Hilton Slussen.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Rosewood London Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love this hotel.
    You've got to check out the Renaissance Chancery Court. Sample modern French dishes in the hotel's gorgeous Pearl Restaurant & Bar and book a heavenly massage in the Spa to work out all of those kinks from strolling through Covent Garden and the West End. Be sure to stroll down the glamorous marble staircase (you're bound to recognize these steps, they're the setting for all kinds of movies, commercials, ads and more).

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed New York Theatre Workshop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I can't get enough
    You can never go wrong with an evening at NYTW. Funky location, gorgeous interior, clever and intelligent productions by people like Alan Ball, Caryl Churchill, & Paul Rudnick and innovative directors like Ivo van Hove, Anne Bogart, & Stephen Daldry. NYTW reaches out to the GLBT community not only with Rent but also because of plays like the Five Lesbian Brothers' production of Oedipus at Palm Springs, Amy Freed's The Beard of Avon, Valhalla, and the adaptation of Michael Cunningham's Flesh and Blood. NYTW is here for everyone: to challenge and encourage the fire within each of us.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Tea and Sympathy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best hangover cure.
    Crumpets and tea, bangers and mash, puddings, and delicious finger sandwiches? Sounds like a hangover cure to me. Stay up late, sleep in, and head down to Tea & Sympathy for a little nosh to kick your hangover to the curb.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Top Shop/Top Man Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love it.
    Finally finally finally! I've had to hop to the other side of the pond for years in order to get my fix. Thank you Kate Moss for bringing the goods over here. The mens stuff is all downstairs with a great selection of fashionable clothes and accessories.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Primary Stages Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love it
    I just saw the new Cusi Cram show tonight (A Lifetime Burning, featuring Jennifer Westfeldt of Kissing Jessica Stein) and it ROCKED. PSST has some really great classes coming up also: http://www.primarystages.org/school-of-theater From top notch shows to nurturing young artists, this company is really on the ball!

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Copenhagen Admiral Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    arr matey
    This place is the real deal. From the massive ship models to the incredible wooden beams crossing through the rooms, The Copenhagen Admiral Hotel will make you feel like you are staying in a place like no other. The staff in the restaurant is beyond friendly and the view from each room is unique and breathtaking.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Tivoli Gardens Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unreal
    Walt Disney was so inspired by Tivoli he decided to build Walt Disney World. If you go you'll see why.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Oscar Bar Café Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Begin and end your night here
    This is the best place in Copenhagen to start your evening and go back to when things slow down elsewhere. The tables out front are perfect for people watching and the crowd spills out onto the street quickly. The bartenders take forever to get to you but it's okay, there's plenty of eye candy to keep you occupied while you wait.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Jailhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Above and Beyond
    Everyone at Jailhouse goes above and beyond the call of duty to ensure guests have a good time. Dinner upstairs is delicious and the company downstairs at the bar is tons of fun.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Hotel Mercurio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Best
    Hotel Mercurio is such a wonderful PV option. My boyfriend and I called it the "Melrose Place" of Mexico with it's cute court pool and comfortable lodgings. The staff is friendly and beyond informative, the courtyard bar is a fun place to grab a drink before you go out, and the rooms are clean and well maintained.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed ME by Melia Madrid Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Look No Further
    I felt like J Lo when I walked into the lobby of the ME by Melia Madrid. Killer lobby, amazing staff, ridiculously posh rooms and a rooftop bar you better on the guest list for (you don't want to miss the view...or their signature black mojito)

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed The Royal Vauxhall Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    So much fun
    I love the drag shows at The Royal Vauxhall Tavern. This is the best place to get a few beers and laugh with your friends while hilarious performers stir up trouble.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Fire Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Most fun on the South Bank
    This is a must stop in London. You won't regret it.

  • jjkeyes
    jjkeyes reviewed Pio Pio Salon Upper West Side Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing
    This is one of the best restaurants in New York, hands down. If you haven't had Peruvian food you are going to CRAVE it after dinner at Pio Pio.