indistinct

49M.

Quincy, Massachusetts
Joined Aug 2012

Following 0 people

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • Machine Fenway, Boston
  • Paradise Cambridge, Cambridge
  • The Alley Downtown/North End, Boston
  • Club Cafe Back Bay, Boston
  • Eagle South End, Boston
  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed Machine Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I think Machine is the part of the downstairs area that you have to pay to get into. First of all, no gay bar or club in the Boston area these days should be charging a cover. Honestly though, Machine is kind of a mystery to me. The bartenders throughout Ramrod/Machine are great, but I've never had a compelling reason to pay a $10 cover for the Machine area, just so I can pay more for expensive drinks and watch a bunch of kids I have nothing in common with. Anyone over age 30 probably won't feel compelled to enter.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed dbar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I've been in here a few times. Not a place to go alone. Hot bartenders, clean, attractive space, and I'm glad Dorchester has a gay place, but honestly, nothing exciting has ever happened here.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed Ramrod Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Lately this place has completely died. Very sad. Would like to see it pick up again, since it's a decent space and the bartenders are the friendliest in town. There is one extremely hot new bartender upstairs, a Brazilian guy I think with an incredible ass. He's worth just showing up for. Don't believe the line about a leather code. There's just not enough people going here to support any restrictions. There used to be a very popular karaoke on Thursdays, but it's just deserted now.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed Paradise Over a year ago
    Loves it

    As far as gay clubs go, this is the best the Boston area can manage. The beer selection upstairs is decent and the guys aren't entirely unfriendly, although I wouldn't expect much conversation if you go alone, unless you're very outgoing/buzzed. Downstairs, it's a big dark mess with a pretty fun dance floor, which is extremely rare in this area. Lately, this is where some of the sexier guys have been showing up on Saturdays. On the downside, the place is generally dirty and the dancers upstairs are pathetic.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Last-resort bar for drinking and talking only. Terrible beer selection. I wouldn't go here expecting a hookup or a future date. On the upside, it's got interesting decor a lot of character, and the main bartender is very funny.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed Club Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Expensive but decent drinks. Mediocre, overdressed, less than approachable crowd. An attractive space though. They definitely should not charge a cover.

  • indistinct
    indistinct reviewed The Alley Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Windowless and mediocre as a space. Nice location in Government Center, although the parking should be free if the bar owner does indeed own the parking garage. Coming here is rarely worth a $7 parking cover for those who drive. (And if you delay in exiting after paying the fee, you will be charged much more at the gate.) ... Strong drinks, funny bartenders. Attracts mostly friendly people who know a lot about each other. Lots of regulars. On a good night (i.e. Fridays around 6 p.m.), the crowd runs the entire gamut of attractiveness, with some of the hottest guys in town thrown in. Many are friendly. On a bad night, which is too often, you will be disappointed unless you are a regular. It's about as friendly as New England gay bars get, which compared with other places is just sort of friendly.