hypnoticmix

Joel Ingram, 47M. I love to travel and always open to new friends for travel companions. I'll be in San Diego Hillcrest March 24 5days. Lets Party!!!

Berkeley, California
Joined Oct 2010
36 Followers 1 Following

37 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Edge The Castro, San Francisco
  • Club BNB Oakland, Oakland
  • White Horse Inn Oakland, Oakland
  • Here Lounge West Hollywood, West Hollywood

Cities

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed IL Fornaio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    WOW!
    Coronado holds a culinary gem and its name is IL Fornaio. Our Italian waiter was a caricature sent by the Gods speaking with classic Italian hand gestures that were as authentic as the exquisite polenta on my plate. The place is huge, a Palace of restaurants with sweeping views of S.D. sky line and private rooms for parties also a full bar and outdoor patio seating. Food, Service, Presentation all Excellent. The complimentary hot fresh rosemary rolls and sourdough sliced bread were heaven. For four mouth watering meals, Bellini, 2 Italian bears (that's beers not bears) LMAO, mineral water, 1 large orange juice (fresh) and two deserts the bill came to $115. The meal and the experience worth every last cent in my opinion. To get here you can drive over the bridge of course or take the Ferry from the San Diego water front which pretty much drops you off right next door.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Comfort Inn & Suites Zoo/SeaWorld Area Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hotel Circle
    First of all don't pay attention to my rating. This is strictly about public transit in the immediate area. I just wanted to emphasize any place you stay on Hotel Circle you should have a car. Public Trans. on this Hotel Circle for some reason is atrocious. On a Saturday night we wanted to hop the bus over to the Hillcrest area about 10pm. It was already too late according to MTS transit. We ended up spending more on cab fare than we had wanted.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Kings Inn Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hotel Circle
    First of all don't pay attention to my rating. I just wanted to emphasize any place you stay on Hotel Circle you should have a car. Public Trans. on this Hotel Circle for some reason is atrocious. On a Saturday night we wanted to hop the bus over to the Hillcrest area about 10pm. It was already too late according to MTS transit. We ended up spending more on cab fare than we had wanted.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Rich's San Diego Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun, Popular, But ;-)>
    I like Rich's. The space is modern, large glass wall in front looking in upon a spacious dance floor and bar with dim lighting. Large sidewalk patio for you smokers to strike a pose and look cheek against the glass. In the back is a larger dance floor. I know this place has a reputation for uptight cranky doormen and impersonal staff but my experience was I was treated nicely. I went with the intent of engaging the staff to test them and they passed with me. I'll go a few more times and put them through the customer service passes, lol. The crowd ranged from young to 30 something. Personal high maintenance seems to be the common theme with this crowd but my advise to the crowd would be okay honey you look good now relax and stop worrying abouut who's noticing you, lol. Looking good and trying to rub it in is tacky but looking good and just lettin it be what it is, is sexy. When the munchies come on you'll find outside a great Hot Dog stand. I will be back to Rich's and give it another roll of the dice.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Flicks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great First Stop
    First time @ Flicks & First time hanging out in S.D. I went both Friday and Saturday night mid evening. Great social crowd definitely a healthy supply of hotties. Drinks at least those two nights were carefully measured but adequate. People were in general exceptionally friendly.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed The Hookup Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Back Street Bar
    The Hookup is a fantastic nieghborhood bar. Great for that after work beer and pool game. Excellent juke box cellection, karaoke on Wednesdays and a kitchen that serves from 3pm to 10pm. The Hookup is also half a block away from The Alibi East a hot Gay Latin Dance Club with two dance floors. It was not uncommon to see people walking back and forth between both bars and having a blast at both places in one evening. If you're down for great conversation and friendly people this is the place. The Hookup was always my starter bar. I'd come here earlier in the evening and have drinks with some of my older friends then hop over to the dance club and get crazy with the boys.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Alibi East Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Party On The County Line!!!
    This place has been around for decades and it's popular so I'm at a loss for why I'm the one bringing it up here now. Alibi East was my Friday Night Special back in the 90's. $2 at the door, $2 domestic, Latin boys too numerous to count & fine as the day is long and open till 4am Fridays & Saturdays. Things change though. The bar has been remodeled & modernized, it now has two dance floors, the cover charge is $5, domestic beer is $2.50 and after hours is only on Friday & only till 3am. But the Latin boys are still numerous and fine. If you're Anglo/white and you feel self concsious around a large group of Latinos drinking and looking at you probably not a good idea to go. I only say this because I know white people who tell me this is why they don't go to the Latin bar here where I live now near Oakland. I think it's absurd my self but what ever floats your boat. Anyhoo it's a fun bar go check it out. Pomona is in East Los Angeles County off the 10 & 60 fwys. A 45min. drive from Hollywood. 30min. from Anehiem, 20min. from Pasadena and 30min. from San Bernardino & Riverside.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Coral Sands Motel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    5 nights in Coral Sands
    First of all the major points. Don't let the lobby fool you. The room is remodeled and clean. I imagine they'll get to the lobby sooner or later. Customer service/Maid service is excellent. The cleaning lady is the sweetest little thing. Center court yard is really cute and well maintained. Lots of out door seating and a picnic table, candles at night and pipped music in the court yard. The pool is large and deep and the hot tube is on and ready 24/7. Apparently some of the local gays do use this place as a motel/bath house so yes you will notice some cruising. But noticing and feeding into the energy are two very diffenet things. If it's not your cup of tea just ignore and they'll get the msg real quick. No one bothered me once I sent the signal I'm not here for that. No reason we can't co-exist though. You do you and I'll do me ;-)> Every one who stayed here was nice and there was never any noise issue late at night. I like this place because it's in a great location whether you have a car or not. I flew into LAX took the Fly Away shuttle to Union Station and hopped on the Red Line to Western Ave/Hollywood Blvd. and walked half a block to the motel. It's also situated right next door to a grocery store, a few fast food locations and Thai Town. If you like Thai food Mmm M! Central Hollywood is to subway stops away and dwn twn L.A. is a hop skip away. When I wanted to go to West Hollywood I simply walked 10min. dwn Western to Santa Monica Blvd. and hopped on the 4 did the reverse coming back. Although they have free parking f.y.i. 5days with out a car was simply not an issue. If you're gonna get hung up on other men doing their thing that has nothing to do with you then probably not a good idea to stay here. But if you don't mind or perhaps you care to join check it out.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed BS West Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Mixed feelings about this place
    Let's just get this out of the way BS is popular so they're doing something right or people just don't have any sense. Maybe it's different on nights that arent so busy but each time I went it was a full crowd. Very long line unless you get there early. Extremely pretentious and cliquish. I could just feel my self rub up against all the walls people had up in this place. WTF relax and allow your self to be open to strangers for a moment anyways. Also if you're a dancer at heart child don't even bother coming here on a busy night because there won't even be enough room for you to do the two step much less stand in one spot with out being pushed from one side to the other. I never understood why people pay good money to stand in a corner and be shoved all over the place then go home but hey it's your money. The only good thing I can say about BS is go when its not so busy and the staff was friendly.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Charlie's Phoenix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yeehaa!
    What I love about Charlies is that it very effectively serves two communities; country western and the mainstream club scene. I use to go once a week on Friday or Saturday and they would play country western up until about 12:45 then switch over to mainstream until they close at 4am so take your pick and enjoy. Its usually pretty crowded and mildly cliquish but the crowd is still approachable and for the most part friendly. Yes the huge out door area does attract many who smoke so if cigarettes bother you but you wanna get outside for some fresh air and cool off go out the front door and you won't have to deal with all the smokers, simple enough. The music after the switch over is a mixture of house/hip hop/top 40 remix and at least for me yes the d.j. did take requests. The staff is friendly and I have no idea if hes still there but there was this bar back who was cute as a button lookin like Jake Gyllenhaal from Broke Back Mountain in his western atire hahaa. Another not sure if its still there but when I went there was a taco truck out side every weekend that served what had to be the tastyest tacos/burritos after a bar Ive ever eatin Mmm M!

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Border Grill Downtown LA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent
    I only went here once for a Co. Christmas party but that experience left an impression on me that has me dreaming about a second time. F.Y.I. the mojito is out of this world.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed IHOP Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Tasty Post Bar Food and Great Last Chance
    As far as run of the mill restaurant food goes the place is good. It's also a great last chance to find a cutie for the night. The eye flirtation that goes on here is off the charts sometimes.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed French Quarter Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Breakfast YAY! Dinner NAY!
    I have been coming here off and on for about eighteen years and I always find that breakfast/brunch here is good but dinner food at least in my opinion is not so great. Basically if you're looking for a tasty place for breakfast that has great outdoor seating for people watching to start your day come here.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed The Holloway Inn Motel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The Holloway
    I've stayed here a couple of times as a guest and once as that guy the other guy picked up for the night. The place looked clean and well kept each time. It's conveniently located at Santa Monica Blvd. and La Cieniga in West Hollywood so location is the trophy here. There is an IHOP right next door and the main WeHo strip is just a stroll away. There is parking as well. There are two things that suck here though; a fee for Wi/fi and the onsite manager. He just couldn't be more disinterested in his job to provide good service to paying customers. You ask him a question and he's either in lala land or grumpy. The staff however is the saving grace they are polite and helpful. The last time I was there I tell ya I was about to bet money that the head board slappin the wall next door would bust through. I hope they fixed that by now.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Club 1220 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Would be perfect except...
    Turn down the damn lights on the dance floor! Anyone who knows me knows I'm a dancin fool but the only thing that keeps me away from a dance floor is glaring bright lights. Every time I give this place a chance it's the same.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Club BNB Over a year ago
    Loves it

    B&B
    I have been popping into the Bench and Bar since 96 and all of their venues since then. Recently I've been on Saturday to RimShot and if you're a true deep Hip/Hop fan you will love it. I appreciate HipHop but having to dance to it all night with no variation is not my cup of tea but that's just me. Friday is Latin Explosion a mix of Latin Pop/Banda and English hits. On both nights the gogo dancers are usually hot and worth a tip. This club is known for it's weekend nights and shows but the word needs to be spread about their newer ventures. Thursday is Yoruba Dance Sessions. A true dancers night. If you like Afro-Caribbean rhythms and House and a little Hip/Hop tossed in this is the time and place to lay it on the floor. The crowd is always small but I tell ya even if it's only ten people those ten people are dancing harder than the two hundred and fifty on the floor any given Friday. It becomes a magical experience of connectivity. If you're a dancer at heart you'll know what I mean. Who ever hired the bartenders here knew how to descriminate, lol, they're all hot. The drink prices can be a little steep but over all it's a great place.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed White Horse Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hi Gil !!!
    LOL...Gil is the manager of the White Horse so I have to be nice or he wont' let me in anymore. The Horse can be a really fun club, if ya'll would show up! There's cute bartenders (at night) lol, friendly service, two pool tables, an out door patio, a large dance floor and more often then not great music. It's the gayborhood bar for the local gays. I walk there from my place. It's a great alternative for those who need a break from the Castro scene and want something a little more real. Every evening is Happy Hour and the usual old timers will be found pickling their livers along with some new comers. There are also different crowds that hang out here so don't be dismayed by one persons experience because it could have very well had to do with the day and time they went. Tuesdays nights is a blast if you like karaoke. They have it on Monday too but the host on Monday is lacking unfortunately. Wednesday nights is DragKing show I hear it's fun but have never had any interest in going my self, Thursdays is College Night but with a 21&over restriction that kinda makes this night down the street from a large University a moot point. Friday and Saturday nights are usually fun with great music. The crowd ebs and flows sometimes it's crowded sometimes not just depends. Check it out and enjoy.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Hop Kiln Winery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Woo Honey I love me some Hop Kiln
    First of all when you drive up on this place it is about as picturesque as any post card you'll receive from anywhere. The wines are usually a decent variety and great taste. They do have tours if I'm not mistaken. The reason I said Woo Honey I love me some Hop Kiln is because they not only sell wine but they sell a variety of mustard's, sauces, nuts, cookies, cooking oils and various other food items of which they offer open sampling. If you're hungry you can have a glass of wine or two and sample your way through lunch to your hearts content. They won't even look at you sideways, lol.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed The Woods Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautifuly kept., Sexy Friendly Crowd and Some are Naked ;-)>
    When I brought a mixed group of friends from work here I had no idea it was clothing optional. The ladies and I were out on the porch of our cottage and here comes this Hot Hot Hot man walking by with a big smile on his face. We just looked at each other and said Hot Damn! Our weekend was really enjoyable. The staff was very helpful and attentive.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed R3 Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love this place as my first stop of the night.
    It's always nice to begin my night here and meet new friends. I enjoy karaoke as well but for some reason the kj comes off at least to me to have a bit of an attitude but that's just my opinion. I know he's popular. The Show nights are usually fun and good talent to be found.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Rainbow Cattle Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Times
    What's ironic is the music here is usually better than the music at the Dance club across the street. To bad the powers that be past up the chance to buy that place next door. Then they could have a dance floor too. The crowd is always friendly, social and very flirty on the busy nights.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Firewood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Maybe I'm a little bias
    Because I worked here when they first opened buuut it's really tasty affordable food. The rotisserie chicken, wood oven pizza is off the hook. I can also bare witness to the fact that at 5am each morning there is a very diligent tortellini stuffer/roller in the back stuffin and rollin little tortellini's for the day fresh. You can't beat fresh pasty, so go give it a try.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Orphan Andy's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delicious Over Priced Late Night Food
    I've been a regular at Orphan since 93. It's great conveniant after bar food. Maybe it's just the late night crew but the waiters tend to be in a mood for some reason or they just don't look happy, lol There use to be a lady that worked there for years she was great. I miss her. Maybe it's the rent that erks the food price but I've definitley had better for less in other S.F. neighborhoods.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Beck's Motor Lodge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    All I can say is.....
    I've had some of the most mind blowing you know what in this over priced moter lodge and thank God I wasn't paying ;-)> It has one thing going for it, location, and yes it's very cruisy.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed 440 Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place to Socialize Meet Someone New
    Every time I walk into this place I feel like I'm naked by the time I reach the back, lol. It's a fun horny crowd good natured and usually friendly.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Eros Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Eros is Fun
    I've been there 3x and had a really great time. If you're looking for a prvt room bath house there's one in Berkeley called Steam Works. They have ads all over the Castro and they're listed in most of the local Gay rags. Either way prvt room or not they're both great.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Baker Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Don't forget LandsEnd!
    Baker Beach is cool but if you want a more exclusively gay experience beach side then trek your way over to LandsEnd the next beach over towards the Golden Gate bridge. A lot more guys and a lot more certifiably gay eye candy. Last time I went this bronzed sculpture of a man was leaning back on a rock lookin fine as the day is long and speaking of long Woo Lawdy! LOL I love nude beaches ;-)>

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love/Hate
    The first great thing about Badlands is the VIDEOS! C'mon who doesn't like to watch videos of their favorite songs while they boogie. That I love about Badlands and the staff has always been friendly. One thing I hate though. You can't put a drink down without the barback tryin to pick it up. I have to keep one eye on my drink and one eye on having fun. It took practice but I think I'm getting there. LOL

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Edge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great starter Bar for a night in the Castro
    The Edge IMO has the tallest glasses and sweet Jesus do they pour strong. If I'm out for a night in the Castro I start here have a couple a strong ones and I'm set. Definitely a $ savor. The crowd is always friendly and there's usually a few fine ones about.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Here Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Here Here
    All I can say is if you go to Here you'd better bring your A game and don't show a shred of antimidation. These men look fierce but they just want to play ;-)>

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I Love The Abbey
    Having watched this place grow from a humble little cafe with a pool table in the back to what it is today. All I can say is bravo. I had fears that it would turn into an unbelievably pretentious atmosphere where the in's were in and the out's were out. But so far every visit I have been pleased to see a good mix of people having a wonderful time. I will return again and again.

  • hypnoticmix
    hypnoticmix reviewed Ramada WeHo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Location is Excellent
    My stay here in a King suite was very comfy although the interior decorator in me couldn't help but feel that the huge suite was sparsely furnished. Maybe a couple arm chairs and a table in the gaping void would have been a nice touch, lol. Really the only complaint I have about this place is the parking fee for guests in my opinion it's outrageous. If you're a guest it should be cheaper.