hounie2000

David Yu, 39M. Enjoy reading, skiing, and hanging out with my soccer teammates

San Francisco, California
Joined Nov 2009
108 Followers 83 Following

143 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Martuni's The Castro, San Francisco
  • Lookout Bar The Castro, San Francisco
  • Midnight Sun The Castro, San Francisco

Cities

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Museo Frida Kahlo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Frida y Diego
    Cool place to learn about two of the giants of modern Mexican art.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Tom's Leather Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    You will pretty much get wasted
    The cover was 130 pesos and they give you 6 beers. You're all but guaranteed to have a good time here.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Pan Pacific Mountainside Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey but the best
    If money weren't an issue, I'd stay at the Pan. I was never willing to shell out the $$$$ for this place, but I've stayed here with my parents. It's just such a nice hotel and makes you feel you're truly in a winter wonderland.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Bearfoot Bistro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Oysters FTW
    Bearfoot has been a location for one of the Gay Ski Week's apre-skis for as long as I can remember, and I always enjoy my time here. It gets very crowded, and there's always a cute guy shucking fresh oysters for your enjoyment. This year, I even got a pork belly appetizer that is super yummy. I'll definitely keep coming back.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Precita Park Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Disagree with the editorial review
    I actually think the food here is quite good. I ordered the short-rib sandwich and it was very yummy. However, I also ordered a smoothie and that was quite mediocre. Great ambience with plenty of sunlight coming in.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed The Sports Center at Chelsea Piers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New York Rambler's Indoor Classic takes place here
    When I worked for a law firm in NYC, my firm's soccer team played here. It's such a great facility. The soccer fields are setup in a way that makes the gym very "social." You can easily see a game that's going on. I also come here annually for the Rambler's tournament, which is an intense but fun day of soccer. I wish my hometown San Francisco had a facility like this.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed The Sutton Place Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Clean, nice, and in a great location
    This hotel is awesome. They hire really cute bellboys and the hotel is super clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet has good food. It's also super close to Davie Street, the gay neighborhood.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Numbers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun games
    This club is HUGE!! They also have a lot of game-show games which give the club a pretty fun energy. Of course, having drunk friends who enter the best ass contest really helps.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Gingin Books Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GinGin oasis
    晶晶書庫 is the first well-known LGBT bookstore in Taipei. The location of this bookstore is very appropriate. It's close to a lot of universities, as well as many other bookstores, including a feminist bookstore and an aboriginal bookstore. I'm glad to see that it has thrived. It no doubt plays a part in Taiwan's LGBT movement.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Park Güell Over a year ago
    Loves it

    see Barcelona from up high
    Nice park with a great view of Barcelona. Gaudi's house is also here. Basketball court needs some work though.....

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Funky Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love Love Love Saturday Cha-Cha
    I used to go to this place every Saturday to eagerly await the 1 am Cha-Cha hour. What happens is that they start playing the most fun, energetic, upbeat Taiwanese pop music as a bunch of cute Taiwanese boys smile, sing and cha-cha. The crowd here is friendly. I even went on a couple dates with the DJ here when I was 18. Good times.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Mike's Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Super fattie sandwiches that have got to be good
    I always get the 'Hungry Hippo,' which has ham, turkey, bacon, and jalapeno poppers. Of course it's good!

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Uniqlo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Better than Uniqlo in Japan
    Uniqlo stores in Japan aren't that exciting. They have pretty much the standard shirts, denim, socks, etc. The Uniqlo in NYC has a lot more cool t-shirts with great designs. NYC Uniqlo manages to take a lot of my money.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Mollie Stone's Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    No more walking to Safeway!!
    Fresh produce, cleanly stacked isles, sandwiches and occasional free food - what more can a guy want? Not having to trek all the way to Market and Church for Safeway is a huge added bonus. I can wear my PJs to grocery shop without suffering too many judgmental queer eyes.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Ippudo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    世界一番ラメンやです!!
    That means the best ramen restaurant in the world. This is without a doubt my favorite place, and I've been to plenty of ramen places in the world, including all over Japan. There's also an Ippudo in Tokyo that is just as good.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Garibaldi Lift Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best place for Apres Ski
    No identity crisis here - I like apres at the GLC, right after I finish skiing, not some crappy conference center with loud clubbing music playing.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Philz Coffee Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love Philz
    Clear and simple - great coffee.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Herbivore Over a year ago
    Hates it

    There are better vegetarian restaurants out there
    Go to Golden Era or Shangri La for good vegan food if you're craving vegan / vegetarian food. Herbivore is quite bland and even though I had a coupon, I still felt like it wasn't worth my money. I do believe they use good ingredients, but that's about it.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Yamo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    yummy and cheap
    And that's how I like it

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Thai House Express Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food and waiters with pizzazz
    I really like the food here, especially moo tod, and the waiters are fabulous. It's definitely my favorite restaurant in the Castro.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed San Francisco Gay Basketball Association Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome group of boys
    I played a couple seasons in this league and I was lucky to play with a bunch of adorable / skilled guys one season. We were #1 during the season but ended up losing to another team in the finals. However, it was still an amazing experience and I love the teammates I played with.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Empire Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of my first gay clubs
    This club is pretty cool as I remember. Good music, good dance floor, cute guys who are not all neurotic Yale students. ;-) I remember seeing a video of this club when I was traveling overseas, and I was screaming "I've been there!" Don't miss it if you're in New Haven. I do believe it's happening on Saturday nights.

  • hounie2000
    hounie2000 reviewed Freedj Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun club
    They play lots of top 40s music in the basement, where there is a small dance floor. The guys here are cute. Definitely a place I'd go back to.