empire1guy

51M.

Glendale, Arizona
Joined Jun 2010
3 Followers

Following 0 people

24 Loved Places

Listings

  • Bout Time II North Austin, Austin
  • Club Cafe Back Bay, Boston
  • Charlie's Phoenix Central Phoenix, Phoenix
  • Front Porch Piano Bar Ogunquit
  • MaineStreet Ogunquit
  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Bout Time II Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Quiet and a bit creepy
    I visited this place about 6 pm for happy hour and it was pretty quiet. The bartender was very friendly. All was well until the old dude, who map have been the owner or manager, arrived and starts strutting around with one of those big black flashlights (the kind cops use to crack skulls) in his back pocket. Everyone kind of gave him lots of room. He was a fav of a lesbian couple who seemed to be his groupies. It was too weird for me, so I left. Not sure why he would have to carry s club in a bar that couldn't have had more than a dozen people in it. Weird.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Arizona Sunburst Inn Bed & Breakfast Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Getaway
    Friendly people, great pool, nice rooms, comfortable and clean. What could be better. Already planning my return visit!

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Mr. Henry's Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Neighborhood Place
    Small, friendly and comfortable you will feel at home here. Bartender Tim was a great host and the drinks and food were perfect. This place is gay friendly, but it's a mixed crowd. If you are looking for someplace to relax and feel welcome, this is it. Close to Eastern Market Metro it's perfect if you are on the Hill.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Betty's Bath Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Spa Experience
    If you are looking for gay action this is not the place, but if you are looking for a relaxing outdoor hot tub and a first class massage then you will be quite happy. Clean, well maintained and friendly staff made this a great experience for me. You should know that the hot tub is coed so you may be soaking with women, but the men's locker is private and robes and slippers are provided as well as locks for the lockers. Relax, enjoy and just smile at the ladies.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed South Street Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great late or early spot!
    This is an old fashioned no frills diner with a grill behind the counter. After drinking burgers or bacon and eggs, this place has that real diner atmosphere. It is rather small, so be prepared to wait a bit, unless you visit very early, before midnight or after 4 am.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Summer Shack Boston Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Casual, but great food
    This is like a trip to the beach. Very casual with brown paper table covers. The seafood is first class and can be messy, but oh so fun to eat. We enjoyed a great selecton of oysters from the raw bar followed by lobsters all around. Adding the clambake feature gets you a real New England feast. Its not a particularly gay place, but it is worth the trip.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Tremont 647 & Sister Sorel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, nice patio
    We enjoyed this restaurant very much. It is quite intimate, but the food was great. We dined on the patio along Tremont Street which is about as much the heart of the gay hood as you can get in Boston. We had sliders, the cheese filed tater tots were yummy and so was the grilled asparagus. Our main courses were scallops and a spit roasted chic hen. Both were delicious. This seems more of a neighborhood place and after dining here I can see why people keep coming back.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Club Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Monday Fun!
    Myself and two friends visited on a Monday night and it was fun. Four or more drag queens conducting bingo and a very friendly crowd. We had several drinks and I was a finalist in Grinder Bingo. Lol. Very fun. Nice guys everywhere.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Trattoria di Monica Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Food!
    There are a lot of restaurants in Little Italy, but this is a great spot. I dined with two friends and they accommodated us without a reservation. This is a very small place so don't expect big and glitzy. This is intimate and the food is clearly not mass produced. If you want to visit North Church and the one if by land, two if by sea, place...this place is just a short walk away. Enjoy!!!

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed MaineStreet Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Don't Bother, just another gay dive
    This is the gay dive bar you came on vacation to get away from. It has a front porch, but its on the main street of town with traffic only a few feet away. Dark, and typical of just about every gay bar you've ever been in. Go, but don't expect a lot. I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Front Porch Piano Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Experience
    This second floor piano bar is lots of fun. It is well decorated and you will need to come early. It was packed on the two nights we were there. It's a mixed crowd, but mostly gay and very gay friendly. Service was great, servers cute and the singing, lots of fun. A really unexpectedly nice experience in a resort town.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Ogunquit Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    On the Beach Fun!
    Spent 5 days in Ogunquit their year and it was great. We were on the beach every day. Head to the beach and as you enter turn left. Keep walking past the volley ball net and soon you will enter the less populated gay section. Lots of room and no screaming children. The sand is perfect and the water fun to play in. Bring chairs and an umbrella to enjoy the fun. Guys tend to be friendly and the views are great. If you don't have chairs or umbrella there is a small store just before the beach entrance where you can rent. Enjoy!

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Chelsea Ristorante Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great dinner spot
    Four of us ate there and were pleased. Food was very good and service was excellent. It's very Italian and the wood fired oven is being used quite well. This isn't really a tourist spot so it's likely you will be safe from gawking baby carriage pushing hordes.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Charlie's Phoenix Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Strange Sunday Afternoon
    Went here on a Sunday afternoon and found everyting from a volleyball competition to some of the weirdest dressed go go dancers I have ever seen. I guess the outfits made up for thelack of looks and or talent. If you hate smoke skip this place. It unfortunately is frequented by gays, who for all their festidiousness, persist in the dirty habit of smoking up a storm.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A must visit in DC
    This is the kind of place that you can strike up a conversation with the people sitting next to you. A very friendly crowd with great food and drinks and absolutely no attitude. I always visit Annies when I am in DC alone or with friends. If you are solo they make you feel at home. Food is always wonderful, served hot and in great portions. Don't miss it.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Cathode Ray Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Oh Yes!!
    This is a basic gag bar, but the outdoor patio in summer is really fun. It's very friendly and casual. The fact that a cute bartender gave md his number on a 5 I got back in change may influence the view of this place, but it's worth a visit. Be sure and hang out on the patio and watch the eye candy passing bye.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Fugazi Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Upscale? YGTBKM!
    This place is ok, but if this is upscale gay, then I guess I must be royalty. Dark wood paneling a few chairs and tables and a long wooden bar are not upscale in my book. You have to fight to get a bartenders attention and the drinks are average at best. So when I hear this is Buffalos upscale gay bar. You Got To Be Kiddkng Me.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Anchor Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I don't like this
    Not clean, not convenient and you can find as good or better wings in many places. Skip it.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Hula's Modern Tiki Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Tiki Tiki Fun
    This is a fun place that never disapoints. The bergers are super duper! It's worth the effort to go here if you don't live downtown. The decor is fun and tiki like and there is plenty of outdoor seating in better weather. Just a fun place to meet and eat very well.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Sauce Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not so Sauce
    This is acceptable for some quick food, but service is lacking. The best dishes are the chicken ceaser pizza and the mac and cheese. The wine is passable, but it's not a place j would go for a glass of wine. Give it a try, but don't expect it to wow. It's all mass produced food and good for the type of place is, but it's not real or Italian in any way.

  • empire1guy
    empire1guy reviewed Le Cartier B&B Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place Wonderful Location
    This gets five stars from me. Our host, Richard was kind and most attentive to making our stay enjoyable. His advice made the trip even better. This B