discodolly

66M. Avid square dancer, aging but dedicated disco fan, musical theater geek.

Spokane, Washington
Joined Jan 2008
1 Followers

Following 0 people

25 Loved Places

Listings

  • Last Call The Castro, San Francisco
  • Twin Peaks Tavern The Castro, San Francisco
  • Powerhouse SOMA, San Francisco
  • Sidetrack Boystown, Chicago
  • Second Story Bar River North, Chicago
  • Jackhammer Rogers Park, Chicago

Cities

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Quality Inn & Suites/Hotel 250 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Handy to Silver Lake
    Built almost literally into the side of a hill, this hotel is near the junction of Temple, Silver Lake, and Beverly Blvd. Rooms are a good size (especially if only one bed) and the beds are good. Sink is in the main roon; shower and toilet separate. All rooms have refrigerators; some have microwaves. Parking is FREE! About three blocks from Slammer, Faultline is walkable and the Eagle is a short drive up to Santa Monica. If you want to be in the area, this is a good choice especially if you can snag a room for under $90.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Overdone?
    OK, the bar is gorgeous, huge, even. The staff is gorgeous... to the point of intimidating. But $10 for a hi-ball? Really? And what's with the bartender at the main bar not having change for a buck? If I were younger, richer and with a group.... I'd probably love this place.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Last Call Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Even a real juke box!
    Wandered in on a Thursday afternoon and immediately felt at home in this small, friendly bar reminiscent of my old hangout in Seattle. The crowd was chatty and the day bartender, Kevin, was delightful. Quite possibly my new favorite bar in the Castro.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Eagle LA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place
    Have only ever been to Eagle on a Sunday and Monday nights...quieter than Faultline; conversation is not a chore. Great bartenders and friendly crowd. Monday was surprisingly festive w/cheap pitchers. Always enjoy being at the Eagle whether in leathers or not.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Hollywood Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convenient for Silver Lake
    Walking distance to Faultline and Eagle bars...short drive to Slammer. Standard rooms are on the small side but comfortable and the bed is good. On-site, gated parking is extra, but breakfast is included w/room. For a little extra, opt for a jr suite. Comedy club in basement.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Twin Peaks Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    There's no place like home!
    OK, so I'm not a spring chicken any longer. I loved this bar as a 20-something and I still love it now that I'm not. Good drinks, the music isn't overpowering (which means that conversation is truly possible), and the scenery through the windows is among the best in the world.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Carriage Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convenience and comfort
    Well-placed for access to the SOMA bars as well as central Market Street and the Civic Center. The room was very comfortable and they are each named in honor of a local literati. Parking is extra and rates do not include breakfast, but its a good choice if you want to stay in the area.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite SOMA bar
    Not being 30 and hunky, I appreciate that Powerhouse attracts all kinds of guys. I go there every time I visit the City and have yet to encounter a rude bartender or patron (a few drunks, yes). "Back room" is really a mis-nomer as it is the smoking area and can get very crowded...and festive.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Hilton Garden Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Downtown convenience
    Just south of Franklin Square on 14th Street and across from the 14th St. entrance to the McPherson Metro station. Short walk to MetroCenter station. Relatively new construction; room was nicely sized and well appointed. Convention Center due east (also the DC Eagle); 14th takes you through Federal Triangle to American History Museum on the Mall.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Tool Shed Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It is what you make it
    I enjoy Tool Shed and find it very convenient when staying in the Warm Sands area. Ranges from very busy and heavy leather/gear to quiet and casual. Staff is great and the music on the weekend was also good.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed QUADZ Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loads o' fun!
    Wandered in on Monday night and discovered it was Showtunes time! I was in heaven! Nice bar and the staff was friendly and efficient. Not a huge crowd, but everyone seemed to be having a good time. Would definitely go back.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Jackhammer Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great space!
    A large, well designed space with friendly staff and good videos. I've been when it's quiet and again when it's busy. Basement bar is hot fun on a cold weekend night!

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Second Story Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Tiny but fun.
    A tiny space above an Armenian restaurant. It's a convenient spot to grab a drink (or two) after shopping on the Mag Mile. I find the crowd friendly and a mix of ages and types.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed DC Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly, and then some
    I love hitting the Eagle when I'm in DC. I always find the staff to be friendly and the patrons, too; and I don't always do well meeting people. Be prepared to show ID. Upstairs or main floor, this is a great bar.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Allegro Chicago Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale Convenience
    Have stayed here a couple of times; very comfortable and attractive rooms, though the bathrooms are a little small. Very convenient to the downtown theaters - it's in one. Also close to "El" and subway stations in north Loop. Just re-opened following major renovation.

  • discodolly
    discodolly reviewed Touche Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun and friendly
    Been there a couple of times on a visit to Chicago and had a great time. Found the staff and the patrons to be friendly and of all ages. Bit of a hike from the El and/or the other bars in Andersonville.