66M. Gay New Yorker

New York, New York
Joined Jan 2010
13 Followers 6 Following

44 Loved Places

Listings

  • Ty's West Village, New York
  • GYM SPORTSBAR Chelsea, New York
  • Evolve East Side, New York

Cities

  • Fab Museum
    Hard to believe there is only one gay- focused NYC museum, but tis true. But what a one it is! Leslie-Lohman is an extraordinary place, it's breadth of art utterly breathtaking, As a gay man, I am always in awe of the art within these walls. On top of which, it's free!

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Christopher Street Pier Over a year ago
    Loves it

    C/Street Pier
    While the C/Street Pier had been gentrified and become a mainstream tourist destination, the gay vibe still reigns. Tourists are disappointed if we don't snuggle and kiss. And that view ...

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Jones Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    five stars!!!
    Forgot to add.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Glorious Judith jamison
    The first time I went to the Ailey, back in the 70s, I still remember as if it were yesterday, the impact that the awe-inspiring Judith Jamison had on me. When she came swirling out on stage, I was stunned. This was the most beautiful person I'd ever seen. And the most physically commanding presence of anyone, ever. Such a talent, whom we shall not likely see again. Ms. Jamison took over the stage and simply captured me for the rest of the evening; hell, for the rest of my life. The pinnacle of NYC dance. Sheer magic. Utterly sublime!

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed The High Line Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delightful Place
    It is utterly extraordinary what has been done to the abandoned rail line running on the far west Side, the Hudson River in view. It has been turned into an urban park, an oasis, really. There are times where you believe you are no longer in NYC, but out in the country. My BF and I idled along, pausing to take in one spectacular view after another. The foliage and plant life which flanks the stone path is rich, green, spectacular. This being NYC, our open displays of affection received nary a second glance from locals and tourists. In the winter, if it's snowing, I imagine the views are wonderful

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Boxers NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Full Of Energy
    Yet another bar for the sports fan who happens to be gay here in NYC. And it's welcome, indeed. Not as competition for Gym, rather as a partner. The atmosphere is different than Gym, not better, not more fun, simply different. Important thing is that sports is the centerpiece, and Boxers NYC delivers. Loads of TVs, great bar food, comfortable, and lots of like-minded guys having a great time watching baseball, football, tennis, etc.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed GYM SPORTSBAR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Terrific place
    Updating my review, which is still a rave. Alerting anyone who gets it on over the World Cup to head for Gym on the weekend. Great spot to watch the matches, to say nothing of the gorgeous men in shorts running up and down the field. Not sure why the carping about GYM. As a sports fan, I love watching the Yankees or the Jets among kindred spirits. Convivial atmosphere, gracious bartenders, cold beer. I've been to GYM three times in the past six weeks, and have enjoyed myself immensely each time. Regret not having had a camera to snag some of the spirit of the place. Next time will bring a camera and, with permission, try and get some pix. If you're a sports fan, please check it out for yourself.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed 44 & X Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent
    Arrived at around 7:15, still crowded with the pre-theater crowd. My date wanted to split, but I convinced him to hang tight for a few minutes. And sure enough, tables opened up and we spent a quiet and relaxed two hours over excellent food. With terrific service. Very, very Gay friendly.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Club Evolution Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hugh and Spot-on
    Large dance club, heavy Latino flavor. Quite crowded on the night I was here, with a Gong Show-like talent contest. Audience loved it, howling at the contestants. Nice eclectic Gay mix, running the age and ethnic gamut. Some adorable pre-op Trannies, looking like hot Black and Latino pop performers. Another terrific Gay edition to Queens.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Metropolitan Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth it
    Unlike the previous reviewer, I had a wonderful time here. Barstaff was friendly, inviting, and the customers were relaxed, informal, and I found myself welcomed as if a regular. Good juke box, and games were non-stop at the pool table. Couple of guys were even on their laptops, online. If you're in Brooklyn, near Williamsburg, I'd give Metropolitan a shot.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Bum Bum Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fine Gay Spot In Woodside
    Far be it from a Manhattanite to cross the river into Queens, but if you're Gay, you're missing out. The Bum Bum (say: Boom Boom) Bar, which has an uninviting white tile outside wall, is anything but once inside. Heavy on a Latin flavor -- with some gorgeous TSs there on the Friday night I hung out. I mean, gorgeous! A sexy Drag show on Friday nights. I'll surely be back. Great bar area, friendly and cute bartenders.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Friend's Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly Persuasion at Friend's tavern
    Felt at home immediately I walked in. An easy-on-the-eyes bartender greeted me as if he'd known me forever. Has an odd shape, not very wide, but the place is long, very deep. There's a happy hour, four hours. Some lovely Latin guys were hanging out, and I couldn't take my eyes off them. Nice place, indeed. No attitude, no hassles, well worth a trip to Queens from Manhattan.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Sip N' Twirl Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hang into the wee hours
    Sip N' Twirl (formerly the Island Club) is a Gay mainstay, and with good reason. There's a happy hour, 8 - 10, every night, a delightful deck with a wonderful breeze and cool djs, and hot bartenders to go with the hot go-go boys. Plus, it isn't long before dawn when it closes, beaches are nearby ... Highly recommended! It's at 36 Fire Island Boulevard.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Stonewall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stonewall is Back!!!
    Spent a delightful Monday afternoon here, the Mets home opener (which they won). Weather outside (fifties!) was hardly conducive to baseball, but inside, temp was perfect. Bar crowded, game on, good feeling. Wonderful sitting at the Stonewall once again. Friendly, relaxed, unaffected. Place has been really spiffed up, the polish on the woodwork almost glistening. Been back several times, night and day. Also, want to alert readers to a remarkable group, the Stonewall Vets, all veterans of the Stonewall Rebellion in 1969. Please visit their site, these people are involved in the entire GLBT arena. http://www.stonewallvets.org/

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Suite Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Suite is delightful
    Suite has undergone a major transformation. I remember this place with the pool table, small booths, rickety chairs at the bar. The new Suite is remarkable. Was there Monday night, happy hour the entire evening. So clean, so friendly, everything tip-top. Will be returning, and be adding to this review. Highly recommended. A true Gay oasis up in the Columbia neighborhood.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed The Hangar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Old Saloons Never Disappoint
    Perhaps because I hit a bar because I want a couple--, well, okay, often more than a couple of beers, and not necessarily to hit up a guy, I look at a place like The Hangar from another prism of vision. It's exactly what it purports itself to be: a saloon, albeit a Gay saloon, but a saloon nonetheless. Friendly, welcoming, always a nice crowd at the bar, can argue, agree, whatever, on everything from politics to fashion. Nice back bar for the evening, when the crowd overflows. Elsewhere in NYC, the old-time saloon is giving way to boutiques and trendy wine bars, but places like The Hangar and others on Christopher Street, are keeping up the good fight. More power to them.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Ty's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    So Friendly, Down-To-earth
    If you're ever in the mood for a couple of drinks mid-afternoon, can't find a more agreeable Gay spot in the Village than Ty's. So welcoming, casual, and Daniel, the day bartender, is outgoing and great with the conversation. Crowd runs the gamut, from working stiff to white collar.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Boots and Saddle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    B&S: back to "Normal"
    First visit to B&S since it returned to its notable past -- that is, good old Gay bar. Felt right back at home here, and those at the bar on this crisp Spring afternoon were feeling just the same. Night entertainment will once again become Gay-focused. Sitting at the bar, watching the passing human parade through the window on Christopher Street, felt good indeed. Welcome back, B & S!!!

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Evolve Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Terrific Time!
    I've had a wonderful evening each time I've been to the O.W. Bar. If for no other reason than I'm a beer drinker, and O.W. has the great Australian beer -- Foster's -- on tap. It's so lively, with that great jukebox -- tens of thousands of tunes, every imaginable musical genre -- with a very diverse crowd. Though the crowd skews to those in their 20s and 30s, I at 57 have never felt out of place. There's a drag show, a game night, and now that the weather is nice, the patio is perfect for cruising or just having a Foster's outside. That this Chelsea-like place is on East 58th Street is even more remarkable. Go with a partner or go solo, you won't be solo for long. Highly recommended.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Townhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Over 50 Gay Guy's POV
    The reviews of Townhouse run the gamut, from total negative to nice, indeed. As a Gay man well into his fifties, my POV is far from the earlier review which stamped Townhouse as a place for rather 'vile' aging trolls. I've spent several delightful evenings here, both with a partner and solo. When alone, I wasn't there to 'troll' for the younger guys, merely to have a couple of drinks, listen to the piano, and relax. Which I did. Haven't noticed many older guys hitting on and making life miserable for the younger guys. It may happen, but I haven't seen it. I'd suggest giving Townhouse a chance, seeing for yourself..

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Pieces Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Later it's younger
    Pieces is almost schizoid. During the day, it's like a neighborhood hangout. Skews older, quiet men having a few drinks, quiet and relaxed atmosphere. But then, as the evening kicks in, a younger crowd takes over. Loud music, dancing -- strip down to your thong, have at it -- raucous and increasingly wild. Friendly bartenders, equally friendly crowd.

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed 9th Avenue Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Genuine Bar
    What a delight to walk into the Ninth Avenue Saloon, like going back in time. In the midst of trendy Hells Kitchen sits this wonderful, warmly welcoming old fashioned bar. Tavern. Gin mill. Saloon. The long bar itself is something from another era, beautiful mahogany, lovely mirrored glass behind the very well stocked bar. There are weekly Leather events, very popular indeed. Great crowds at night, ranging across the entire Gay spectrum. And unlike far too many Gay bars in NYC, Ninth Ave. Saloon opens at noon. A guy can amble in and grab a beer that early, what more can you ask?

  • deke52
    deke52 reviewed Henrietta Hudson Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Special night, had a ball
    This is weird, gay man on a Lesbian bar. But I went here recently, a Sunday night, where they had Female Jello Wrestling. I went with a woman (het), where I was vastly outnumbered by the women. Why not, it's a lesbian bar. Had a ball, the jello wrestling was not at all derogatory toward women. In fact, I'll admit outright that I'd've been pinnned in seconds flat by any of the women wrestlers. They had a ball, as did everyone. A hoot of a night. Maybe they'll do it again. If so, go. You'll have a wonderful time.