clejock1982

40.

Joined Nov 2010
1 Followers

Following 0 people

15 Loved Places

Listings

  • Cocktails Cleveland Detroit Shoreway, Cleveland
  • Leather Stallion Saloon St. Clair/Superior, Cleveland
  • The Hawk Edgewater, Cleveland
  • Twist Social Club Edgewater, Cleveland

Events

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Cocktails Akron 2.0 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not worth the sacrifice...
    in time, money, and sense of personal safety. It's in a bad part of town. Some of the customers are obviously rough trade. It's difficult to get to easily, because of one-way streets. All in all, it's nothing special and I wouldn't waste my time.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Angel Falls Coffee Company Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Cool for A-Town
    This place may be what passes for sophisticated in the AK-Rowdy, but it serves off-tasting coffee in a sterile bland atmosphere. The chairs and tables are uncomfortable and awkward. The men's room is ultra queeny (ugh!), and the crowd tends toward pretentious and "Oh, I'm so educated and better than the rest of this city." I'd rather go to Starbucks, and I'm not the biggest fan of Starbucks.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Akron Steam and Sauna Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Cruddy
    A feast for the senses- if your senses crave the filthiest, cruddiest atmosphere. The men- no joke- were hairy-backed, sweaty, greasy looking lumps of man fat. NO YOUNGER GUYS at all. The whole bathouse needs to be drenched in Clorox bleach and disinfectant. The sauna gives you a bad feeling. I would rather lick the street than take a dip in the hot tub. Seriously, don't ever go here. It is gross out city!

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Tear-Ez Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I'm trying to be nice
    I was a regular here a few years back. It looks sort of depressing today. A new paint job, but little has changed for the better. The restroom smells rank. The few customers in the place are unfriendly. The gay bar next door closed, so maybe that took some patrons away. Some of the bartenders are nice, but others have stuck up attitudes. They play canned music- for some reason the jukebox is never on. The small space should encourage a cozy intimate feeling, but all it does is heighten the general feeling of tired old men. This place does truly need a serious make over. I gave it 3 stars to be charitable, considering I have fond memories and the owners are nice guys.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed FLEX Spas Cleveland Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Foul stench of old man stank
    That's a provocative title, but it's true. I've haven't been here for months, but that's my best recollection. It stunk, like a comination of stale man stink, poopers, and b o. Not my idea of a good time.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Twist Social Club Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No fun here
    The closest to the Big City you'll find in C Town. Attempts at stylish, trendoid sophistication, Cleveland style. A tad pretentious. A lot unfriendly. Not a very pleasant place to spend an evening. Good for a drink to get warmed up while planning your night out. The bartenders tend to be stand-offish. The customers are often aloof. However, I disagree that the bar is "racist." I've often seen non-white patrons here. Yeah, mostly thin guys here, but this place doesn't market itself as a bear bar- that would be the Hawk or Man's World. I give this bar 2 stars not because it's bad- only because it's not much fun and somewhat on the arrogant side, unless you are a pretty young thing.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Aura Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This is not the Warehouse District, people!
    The heading says "Historic Warehouse District." This is not true. Its by the Flex Baths in a less than nice part of the downtown fringe. Yes, the name "Mean Bull" implies a rough trade kinda place, but such a bar this is not. Strictly run of the mill, ordinary gays. Not worth the long trip to the edge of civilization, in my opinion.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Leather Stallion Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Weekday no mans land
    Went here on a week day evening. Four men in the bar. Three had shaved heads and goatees- how original! Boring. Don't park too far down St Clair. It can be scary. I heard that the bar was sold but I'm not sure if this is true. Guys say that the Stallion only makes money in the summer. If thats true, then why does it stay open? Our bars need owners who want to put some time and money into their businesses. We deserve better for a city this size.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed Cocktails Cleveland Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Another enigma
    I'm tired of reading so many negative bar reviews, but here's another. I don't feel safe in this neighborhood, especially late at night. On Saturdays, drag queens reign (why, isn't this leather?). Every time I've been here, only about 5 people are in the bar. The downstairs leather dungeon is closed. The strippers are glorified twinks. Cocktails is not worth your visit.

  • clejock1982
    clejock1982 reviewed The Hawk Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Time to grow up
    When I came out, the Hawk was one of the first bars I went to. It was a more or less fun place. Guys were easy to talk to. Once in while you could even find a trick. Yes there were a few unsavory types, but most were average or harmless. I've been to the Hawk a few times over the last couple of months and I have to agree with some of the reviews below,which is why I'm writing this in the first place. So many bars have closed recently, that I can't believe the Hawk is still in business! I can honestly say that I no longer feel comfortable there and I wish more guys would stand up and say enough is enough. Haven't gay men in Cleveland earned the privilege of having a clean and fun bar to go to, without bad attitude? The Hawks' customers are mostly obese, old, and gross- that's the truth, not a mean joke. I've heard guys talk about the Hawk being a place where you can meat regular guys or real men, but who are they talking about? A bear is one thing but a nasty fat guy is another. Few younger guys go there, except for queens in search of chubbies. I agree with the reviewer below about the drunks. Yeah it's a bar, but some of the men, and I use that term loosely, are way over the limit. That level of drunkeness ruins the atmosphere for everybody. Once you reach your late 20s, being stupid drunk is no longer humorous or cute. It's pathetic. Real men don't like drama. The Hawk is not a place for real men. Time to close that place down.