bullseye

Chris Bull, 51M. love the grit and glory of urban gay life. love this site :-)

San Francisco, California
Joined Dec 2008
269 Followers 804 Following

371 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Lookout Bar The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • Pilsner Inn The Castro, San Francisco
  • El Rio The Mission, San Francisco

Cities

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Foreign Cinema Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great food, amazing space
    brunch here is amazing, with a menu that rivals dinner, and home made pastries to die for. on a sunny sunday morning, get there early for a space in the outdoor courtyard. couldn't be nicer. if you have to wait for a table, the bar has first rate cocktails and plenty of seating.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Squat and Gobble Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great castro spot
    food here is decent but what you really get is an amazing castro people watching spot to enjoy a meal and a beer with friends in the large outside cafe area. it overlooks the intersection of noe and market, and folks bound in and out of the upstairs bar lookout. you may even want to follow some of them in :-)

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Precita Park Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great view of park
    the food here is solid; the point more is to grab a sandwich and coffee and enjoy precita park, right across the street, which is the hot new hipster gathering spot, a small, hidden gem alternative to dolores park cafe, which has become completely overrun.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Favorite PS resort
    This is the cutest little resort and spa, with cabanas and gardens built around two pools. Sweet guests, efficient and fun hosts, and a totally relaxed, non pretentious atmosphere. Love the social happy hours. One of the best deals in Palm Springs.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Absinthe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great food
    Bustling Hayes valley eatery. Try the steak!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Four Barrel Coffee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great hangout; great coffee
    great hipster mission hangout, and some the best hand made, hand roasted coffee in the city, bar none.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The GEM Hotel-Chelsea Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great hotel in heart of Chelsea
    The minute I walked into the spacious, unpretentious lobby I was in love. Friendly staff, and the rooms are small enough to be walk in closets but so well appointed and laid out that you could snuggle in for a whole weekend and be perfectly content. Of course you'll want to get out because you are just blocks away from the best bars, shops, and places to eat in the gay center of NYC.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Hyatt at Fisherman's Wharf Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great location for the wharf
    really nice, comfortable hotel. perfect location as you are walking distance from the bay and all the tourist locations.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The Raven Over a year ago
    Loves it

    a little bit of everything
    from drag to dancers, never a dull moment

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    a kind of paradise
    the pool is to die for

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Bourgeois Pig Over a year ago
    Loves it

    not a drag
    love the shows!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Axel Hotel Berlin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    luxury stay in gay environment
    i recommend it to anyone visiting berlin, and wanting a great experience!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Chicory Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    love it!
    the pastries are delectable

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Polo Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great old building
    interiors are lush, crowd is fun

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The Standard Downtown L.A. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    modern opulent style
    like the hollywood location, this is one of the hippest hotels in a city of very hip hotels. great design, and the celebrity watching is always fun

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The Standard Hollywood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    swanky place
    careful or you might just run into a celebrity here in the beautifully remodeled, architecturally detailed, first class hotel

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Copenhagen Mermates Over a year ago
    Loves it

    hot, hot, hot
    oh, they can swim too :-)

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Odin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    cool fashions
    found a great nice collective jacket here on sale, and was helped out by a really nice salesperson who had great knowledge of the small, independent brands that are unique here

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Rosie's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Relaxed vibe
    Comfort food, including great burgers in a consistently fun atmosphere. Have a burger and a beer, and just chat with friends while enjoying the colorful crowd.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Steamworks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    sex emporium
    this bathhouse is set in a huge old warehouse, right off 101. it is well kept, and there are a range of guys from all over the bay area and as far as sacramento who come here to enjoy the diversity, the hot tub, steam room, and, well, you know what. since sf does not have a bathhouse, only sex clubs, many people make the trip across the bridge to steamworks

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Moby Dick Over a year ago
    Loves it

    relaxed gayborhood vibe
    set on a busy street corner right below castro, this friendly bar features huge exotic fish tank over the bar, and busy pool table in the back. gets a little crowded on weekends, and the drinks are not generally great, but this is always a wonderful place to hang with friends and meet some new ones. love it when the party spills out onto the sidewalk on warm summer evenings

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed W San Francisco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    swanky cool place
    check out the lobby bar and the second floor lounge. they are great places to meet a friend for a drink, both in terms of location right next to parks and museaums downtown, and also because of the great interior design space

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Harvey's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Historic intersection, middling food
    order something simple, including a draft beer, sit in a window, and watch the procession of queer humanity saunter by. every day is pride at this all-american crossroad

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Hot Cookie Over a year ago
    Loves it

    too tempting
    after a few drinks on my way home from the bars with friends, it is always way too tempting to stop in to hot cookie for a fabulous sweet concoction--and several hundred extra calories! had the pecan chocolate chip most recently, and it was wonderful--crunch and creamy at the same time. always fun to find yourself for a second post (or between) bar party in the tiny space that is hot cookie.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Albona Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great italian fare
    we love this place partly cause it is right around the corner from the gaycities office in north beach and partly because of the really interesting little cafe space and the hearty italian food. so if you want true italian food off the beaten tourist track in north beach, check out albona.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Cafe Flore Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great setting
    you stand in line for upscale diner food, but this is one of the best places in the castro for hanging out in the very cool shed like cafe and the outdoor patio, perched in one of the best locations in the city, the corner of market and noe. great people watching, and on a sunny day sipping iced coffee on the patio or sidewalk tables it is nothing short of heavenly.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Sidetrack Over a year ago
    Loves it

    never a dull moment
    with this multi-roomed pleasure palace, you'll find every time of guy and every type of fun. check out the drag shows..

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    it's a fun bar. but be forwarned that during happy hours you have to fight through the throngs to get to the bar before you can be carrying that 2-1 special back to that tiny area you have created to hang with your friends. the crowds manage to be both the good thing and the bad thing about badlands.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Cobalt / 30 Degrees Over a year ago
    Loves it

    i like cobalt cause you can meet in the loungy area downstairs and have a quiet drink with a friend. then, depending on the mood, you can either head upstairs for the dance crown (warming: close quarters and very loud) or downstairs for dinner. or, well, home.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Hamburger Mary's Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    RELAXING & FUN
    it's always nice to enjoy a good burger and fries in a gay location surrounded by your own folk. this is a great, reasonably price night on the town.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Maxfield Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fashion heaven
    i was here last year, when i picked up a beautiful comme des garcon's long black jacket. whoever picks their fashions has great taste, because it makes you wanna take the whole store home with you. it's pricey, but the economic downturn has hurt high-end clothiers, so be sure to wait for deals. that jacket i bought last year? i found a similar one this year--half price! darn!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Bossa Nova Over a year ago
    Loves it

    check out the outdoor patio
    when you are not sure where to eat in weho, bossa nova is the default perfect place. the food is always tasty and inexpensive, and on a warm evening the outdoor seating is a great place to watch the gay boys up and down and around santa monica blvd. when you are done, head across the street to the abbey for more boy watching and some delicious (if expensive) cocktails.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    there's something about annie
    don't expect great food at annie's. a great steak, friends, and salad with lots of rich dressing is the standard faire. but what you will get is a wonderful, extremely gay experience. the place is packed with gays and lesbians of all sorts, especially on weekend nights. great place to head after a stroll through dupont circle and checking out the boys that line the bars of 17th street. the breakfast french toast is highly caloric but really good, and everyone's always seems to be having a great time at annie's.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Dolores Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    sunny sumptuousness
    i love to travel, but sometimes i find it hard to leave san francisco. there are so many adventures you can have right here, practically for free. one of them involves dolores park. this is what i suggest. after a saturday night of clubbing you meet friend for a restorative lunch that involves bloody marys and lots of protein. then gather your towel, water bottles and sun screen and some goodies and head to dolores park. reserve a space on the gay hill with your buddies. after cruising the guys, lay back and fall asleep amid the beauty. when you wake up after the power nap, have a snack and make some new friends. then, after a stop to change, head to the castro for all the sunday afternoon fun. it's a great time there cause that's everyone's last chance to make new friends--or, in some cases, to get laid before you return to the monday grind. sound like fun? sometimes you just have to say, it's good to be gay!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    wow
    a new york institution, from recovery to activism to youth to socializing, this place has everything you need to create a thriving gay life in ny. history literally encased in a cool west village building. check it out

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Catch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    location, location, location
    just got back from dinner drinks at catch with a friend. it was a balmy 70 degrees in the castro, so we were looking for a place to eat outside. it has a nice outdoor cafe seating area, covered but open to the market street eye candy. i had the salmon blt, which was delicious. my friend had the ribeye, which he loved, and we shared a bottle of good wine. the tab was a bit rich for what was a competent but not incredible mean, but we were paying for the castro ambience and the open air seating, which was really lovely...

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Kathy Osterman Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    interesting
    i didn't know this either. sounds like fun. i'll check it out next time i'm in this great city (preferably not in the winter)!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Chambers Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    sweet location
    pretty swanky hotel--very new york!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed The Archive Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Whole new shopping experience
    Okay, i have to admit than when i first popped into The Archive I was a Brooks Brothers, J Crew kinda dresser. Nothing fit quite right, all right angles and very baggy, and i looked just like everyone else in SF. This store literally changed my wardrobe. While I came out of the store with a smaller bank account, I found all kinds of cool treasures, many at quite reasonable prices. Particularly love my MA + leather jacket, Undercover vest and Nice collective cargo pants. If you get them at a downtime, say a weekday afternoon, you will feel like you are in the middle of your own fashion show, with David and Arthur the owner providing a personal tour of the latest.

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Governors on Fitzroy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This place is really cool, gre...
    This place is really cool, great management, nice people... had fun here!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Barracuda Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool hangout in the hood......
    Cool hangout in the hood...

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Truck Over a year ago
    Loves it

    boys in the 'hood
    this is the kind of bar we need more of in sf: a true 'hood bar, with a very diverse crowd. that way you don't have to drive way across town, polluting the earth, to get to the home of your trick!

  • bullseye
    bullseye reviewed Hole in the Wall Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    gay classic
    love the old time of this place, like i'd been transported back to the 70s. since i was only a teenager back then, it's fun to see what it might have been like had i the guts to come out a little earlier :-) nowadays i force my non-gay friends to stop in with me for a drink after work. after overcoming their shyness, they end of loving the totally unpretentious feeling and the attention they always end up getting from the rather, well, outgoing regulars