bobby54

Robert Ryan, 63M. I'm semi retired after working in the restaurant bizz for 20 some odd years. My husband and I share an apartment in the Village with two dogs and a cat. We love to travel, and we try to get to Europe at least once a year. Our dream is to retire someday in the south of France and open a small restaurant w/ American regional food.

New York, New York
Joined Feb 2014
9 Followers

Following 0 people

95 Loved Places

Listings

  • Midnight Sun The Castro, San Francisco
  • Swinging Richards Midtown, Atlanta
  • Lucky Horseshoe Lounge Boystown, Chicago
  • Sidetrack Boystown, Chicago
  • Hydrate Boystown, Chicago
  • Abbey West Hollywood, West Hollywood

Cities

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Intermezzo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place
    I've loved this Chelsea staple from the day it first opened 20 years ago! The food is great, the service is always friendly and prompt, and the overall ambience is sleek and modern w/o being cold.Whether you're visiting New York for the first time or you're a Chelsea native this is the place you want to go.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Remington's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot N' Tasty
    This place is great if hot boys taking off their clothes is your thing. The staff is friendly(disproving that Canadian boys are frozen fruits), the drinks are strong, and oh yeah have I mentioned the really hot boys taking off their clothes? So what if I have it bears repeating!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Lucky Horseshoe Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot Hot Hot
    If you're into hot boys taking their clothes off, then this is the place is for you. Oh and BTW the drinks are pretty great too!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Sidetrack Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome!
    I love this place! I always make sure to stop by whenever I'm in CHITOWN.Whether you're in the mood for cocktails at happy hour,or dancing at night it's the place to be! Check this place out you won't be sorry!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Defrosted boys
    I recently went to Minny on business and this place was recommended by a friend. My colleagues and I got there at happy hour and decided to stay. It was great fun with lots of cute boys, and great tunes. If you find yourself in Minny you should check it out .

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Stock Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot Stuff!
    If watching hot boys take their clothes off, then this is the place! Great place for hooking up with friends or strangers!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Townhouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A nice bar with an unfortunate crowd of hustlers who are both subtle and blatant in their approach. While I realize that a boy has to make a living somehow, they should stick to grinder and leave this otherwise pleasant piano bar alone!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed G-A-Y (at Heaven) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Heavenly
    My partner, my best friends and I always go here at least once when we're in the UK. The music is great, the staff is friendly and the boys young and not so young are always great to look at . Check this place out you won't be sorry!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Monster Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Faded Glory
    This place has certainly seen better days.You should also beware of the low rent rent boys who hand out downstairs. Go to The Stonewall Inn you'll have a better time with a better class of clientele.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Palms on Oxford Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place To Start Gay Pub Crawl
    My friends and I started our night here, and we and a blast. Fun crowd with lots of cute boys(my best friend hooked up w/a guy who was into older men).We went back several times while we were in Sydney. Give it a try you'll thank me later!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Imperial Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lots Of Fun
    My friends and I stumbled into this place by accident at happy hour,and it turned out to be a happy accident. Three floors with a fun crowd and a great staff. The drinks were strong and the boys smoking' hot. Needless to say a good time and two staff members was had by all.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Sofitel Wentworth Sydney Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Stylish
    I stayed here with two of my best friends, and we loved it. The rooms are nicely done with WiFi and all of the comforts you could ask for. The location was close to both the gay section and the Harbor. The staff was quite friendly and helpful, and the prices were reasonable.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Pieces Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not The 90's Pieces
    A lot has changed and it's all for the good. The place looks so much better due to much needed renovations. The staff is better looking and nicer..the shows are fun, and the boys are cuter!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Bar Louie Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not Really A Gay Bar
    This place really sucks.. over priced drinks served by surly unfriendly staff,and not gay friendly I repeat not gay friendly!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Island House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Naked Truth
    I love this place.. my partner & I have been staying here for the last ten years. The staff is very friendly and welcoming..the rooms are nicely furnished and oh so comfortable,and best of all you are surrounded by happy naked gay men. I recently learned that it is for sale because the co-owner recently lost his partner of twenty six years and at 70 he wants to retire. I hope that the new owners keep up the high standards of the current owner.. Here's to you Island House & I hope you last another 26 years!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed FRIENDS Over a year ago
    Hates it

    OK
    We stopped by here and it was OK, but nothing really special. The staff were very nice, the drinks were strong and the crowd was mixed. I wouldn't say we had a bad time here..it just wasn't all that.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed SAINTS BAR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place For A Pint
    My friends and I stopped by here on a bright spring night and had a really great time. The bartenders were very friendly, the crowd festive and mixed ages from 30-50, and the mood was festive. If you're planning on visiting Prague you should definitely give this place a try.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Kiki's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place For A Pint
    My best friend and I stopped by here when we were in Manchester & we had a great time. The bartender was quite chatty & gave us some really good recommendations on various bars and restaurants and introduced us to a number of regulars. It was a great way to get to know the city and the gay village. Give it a try you won't be disappointed!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed SCORE Over a year ago
    Hates it

    SO-SO
    My partner&I went there recently and we weren't impressed. The drinks were expensive even by NYC standards($14 for a martini) the bartender was gruff and kinda surly, and the crowd was kinda obnoxious. My advice give it a pass.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Brass Rail Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Place For A Dance And A Nosh
    This place was pretty cool with a nice dance floor& some really good comfort food. We had fun here on a thursday night!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Rich's San Diego Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good And Hot
    My partner and I were there two months ago and we had a blast. The dance floor is big, the boys are cute and the drinks were strong. I highly recommend it if dancing and cruising are your thing. We were with a group of friends who are locals so the doormen knew my friends and let us cut the line.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed L'Amazonial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place To People Watch
    I had a very good brunch here on a sunny Sunday afternoon. The food was quite good, the service was friendly and prompt& the ambiance was delightful. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for good food in a relaxing setting.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Hates it

    scuzy!
    My partner & I decided to give it a try& it was really bad. Sleazy gay for pay strippers + watered down drinks = one big ip off! Do yourself a favor & give this place a pass.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Melrose Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Chili Fries
    The best antidote to head off a hangover. There's nothing like chili fries coupled with a juicy burger to heal what will ail you in the morning. Well at least the food here will help soften the blow.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Halsted's Bar and Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Place For A Pint
    Fun place to grab a beer and a burger. The food is good, the crowd varied & the locals are very welcoming. Mid west hospitality at its best! If you're in Chicago give it a try.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Fiesta Cantina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    ¡Hay Que Caliente!
    The place to go for Mexican. The men are muy guapo and the place is always jumping. Give this place a try: you won't be sorry!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place For dance & A quick Bite
    I was so glad to see that Micky's was back and better than ever! The revamped classic looks really great. As always the boys are hot , the music is great and now there are other tasty treats on offer! If you're in L.A. this is definitely worth checking out.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Still Goin' Strong
    I have loved this place forever! Great place to meet up with friends or strangers! The drinks are strong, the men are hot and the music is always pumping!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Legay Choc Boulangerie Ptisserie Over a year ago
    Loves it

    What's Not To Like?
    Penis shaped cookies gotta love em'!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Open Café Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Views
    We really liked this place, great food & great place to people watch. Even my best friends depressed French boyfriend had a good time!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Blackbird Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Over crowded& over priced
    The drinks were way over priced $18 for a Martini! Seriously? Didn't care for the over crowded space either. If you're in the neighborhood passing by please do!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Midnight Sun Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Tired 80's Throwback
    This place was sorta fun back in the day, but now it's really showing its age.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Lobster Pot Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awesome!
    Great place to have lobster, but you have to start with clam chowder. I go here each time I'm in P-town, and I'm never disappointed neither will you. Try this place out & you'll be hooked!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Brass Key Guesthouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Five Stars
    I really loved this place, the room was very comfortable, the service absolutely great& the staff extremely friendly and helpful. It was well worth the price. If you're looking for a great place to stay in P-Town this is it!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Spiritus Pizza Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Ok
    I don't get the appeal of this place. The pizza is so so, the place is tiny,and the after bar crowd is obnoxious.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Bayside Betsy's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pretty Good
    The food was pretty good, service ok, the views were the best thing about this place.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Post Office Cafe & Cabaret Over a year ago
    Hates it

    So So
    The food in this place is not so great. The service is lax at best. If you're looking for a good place to have lunch skip it.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed 910 Beach Avenue Apartment Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convient
    Very reasonably priced with comfortable space. It's also located just blocks from gay bars, restaurants etc. It's a great deal if you're looking for an alternative to hotels.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Church on Church Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot
    I had a great time there, lots of hot men , great tunes and a fun crows.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed InterContinental Toronto Centre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Fine
    It was a wonderful experience. The room was elegantly appointed with a beautiful view of the lake, and the staff was quite friendly and helpful. I'll definitely be back.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Cafe California Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Food Good Time
    I loved this place. The food was very good, the service prompt and friendly, and the decor was stylish without being over bearing.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Sofitel Roma Villa Borghese Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Views
    I really liked this place, our room was very comfortable, the staff was very helpful, and the view from the roof was really beautiful!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Haymarket Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey But Worth It
    My husband & I loved this place. Our room was very stylishly decorated with a great view. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location can't be beat, we were in the center of everything.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Wolseley Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Class Act
    I loved this place. The interior is gorgeous, the food is wonderful, the service top notch , and Tea is fun.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Bistrotheque Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Place To Enjoy Good Food
    My husband & I really enjoyed this place. The food was really great, the service friendly and the crowd wasn't hard to look at either!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Balans Soho Society (Soho) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nice Place For A Quick Bite.
    While it's a nice place to grab a quick bite, the food is really nothing special. If you're a first time visitor to gay London this is a pretty good jumping off point, but don't expect too much as far as the food is concerned.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed The Royal Vauxhall Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool Pub
    I love this place. Fun crowd, great music and some nice looking sleek older dudes.A definite must for 20 somethings - 50 somethings.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed XXL (at Pulse) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bring On The Bears
    My husband & I had a blast here. Great tunes+ older guys = one great time!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed G-A-Y Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool Place
    I loved this place, the atmosphere is high energy, the decor is contemporary& the boys are cute. It was great to just hang and meet up w/ friends.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Les Pietons Over a year ago
    Loves it

    cool place
    I liked this place, the food was good, the drinks strong & the atmosphere fun. I only wish that I could find an authentic gay friendly Mexican bar/ restaurant in Paris. I love tacos, enchiladas & burritos. I also adore mariachi music.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Banana Café Over a year ago
    Hates it

    times have changed
    I remember stopping in here around spring of 1999,& it was really humming. I was sad to see the place looking sort of tired & run down.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Les Marronniers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    this must be the place
    Cool place with lots of cute guys, good tunes & friendly staff. My boyfriend & I loved it.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Cox Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    whole lotta beards
    It was ok, too many bears for me to handle. I like my men like I like my coffee blonde & sweet.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Raidd Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun place to people watch
    It was fun to watch the crowd -there certainly was a lot to watch. I had fun , but after an hour or so it got to be too much. Definitely worth checking out especially if you're single.

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Le Gai Moulin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    nice place for a nosh
    I enjoyed stopping in one early evening by my self to unwind from a hectic day of shopping and hanging out with friends. The decor was understated and simple,the food was delicious& the service was prompt and friendly. If you're looking for a nice relaxing place to have dinner Le Gai Moulin is it!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Quetzal Over a year ago
    Loves it

    where the boys are
    I had so much fun at this place. We got there at 5 7 stayed til closing. I loved sitting outside & watching the passing parade of sweet young things, older poppys & suits. The drinks were great(luvs my Absolut martinis) they were poured to perfection. The music was a great mix of dance classics, current stuff and old school r&b. So when you're in Paris check it out my people!

  • bobby54
    bobby54 reviewed Caron de Beaumarchais Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    cosy little place
    I loved this place ! The room was quite comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful(I don't speak French). The design is contemporary and stylish. I met and have since become friends with 2 guys who were from Italy. Overall, I highly recommend staying here whether you're in Paris for a weekend or a week.