beenthereseenthat

Jay Carey, 41M. Traveling the country, seeing what's out there.

New York, New York
Joined Sep 2009
88 Followers 40 Following

41 Loved Places

Listings

  • North End Boystown, Chicago
  • Roscoe's Boystown, Chicago
  • Sidetrack Boystown, Chicago
  • Leather Stallion Saloon St. Clair/Superior, Cleveland

Cities

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed North End Over a year ago
    Hates it

    worst bar in the country
    Rude bartenders, horrible management. My friend ran a tab and went to sign out and the bartender had lost his credit card. He did not offer an excuse, an apology, or even seem to care. The manager was even less helpful and basically said my friend was lucky he wasn't going to have to pay his tab. We will never step through the door again. And we will certainly encourage our friends to frequent friendlier establishments.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Brass Rail Over a year ago
    Hates it

    yes it's remolded but the patrons are the same...
    went once, never again...

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed JetSet Over a year ago
    Hates it

    NYC in Minneapolis
    With that said... so is the attitude. Fun space, pretty people, but also slow slow slow service and a bit off putting. Still had a great time here.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Gay 90s Over a year ago
    Loves it

    truly the biggest gay bar ever...
    a room for everyone and everything. It's an amazing space and really a great bar. I totally loved spending time here. definitely a must see!! Drag shows are pretty fantastic too!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed The Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun fun fun
    It's a great bar, lots of space and plenty of different things and people to see and do. Great bartenders and HEAVY pours. Probably the best bar in Minneapolis.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Just John Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Probably the best bar in St. Louis
    Great outdoor space. HOT HOT HOT Bartenders. Like insanely hot. Definitely go here and stay the night.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Boxers 'N Briefs Over a year ago
    Hates it

    DO NOT GO! STAY AWAY!
    Meth house. scariest place i have ever seen! and that was the people outside. Scary area, scary bar. NO NO NO! If i didn't have to put a star in here i wouldn't!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed JJ's Clubhouse & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Seedy and lots of fun!!
    Stop in, stay, visit the leather shop. grind on the dance floor with some leather men... it's seedy and lots of fun... just shower after and Scrub!!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Rascals Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    nice bartenders
    Appleton is awful... if you are stuck here as I was... this is the bar to go to. It's fine... great outdoor patio is it's warm. But... appleton... why?

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Leather Stallion Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    it's like someone's house...
    great outdoor patio for the summer. Inside... a little scary, but kind of seedy and fun.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Twist Over a year ago
    Hates it

    step up to the dance floor
    No really step up... it's like a foot higher than the rest of the bar. i can only imagine how many people have fallen off of here. Summertime has a nice outdoor patio. rude bartenders though. A friend had to wait like 25 mins to close his tab... and they WEREN'T busy... at all! stop in MAYBE for a cocktail, maybe not.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed The Hawk Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GREAT DIVE BAR!
    Great fun, nice people... definitely a fun spot.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed This Is It Over a year ago
    Loves it

    like you stepped into the 60's
    That's actually a good thing. Very cute space. Very retro. Good jukebox. Nice people. Enjoy!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Fluid Over a year ago
    Hates it

    kind of like a double wide
    It's a little dark and trashy... very strong drinks though and very nice bartenders. worth a pop in, but i wouldn't spend a night here.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Annex Over a year ago
    Hates it

    can you say double wide???
    No seriously it's in a double wide... Or at least it looks like one... It's gross, avoid it! Drinks are crazy cheap but it's musty and smokey and smells like vomit! Yuck!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Pegasus Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    meh...
    A lot of outdoor space which is cool... Maybe in December in SA! but it's was still like 100 degrees and packed with people... Not very cute people either and tons of girls. Karaoke outdoors is something I've never seen, kind of fun... Maybe grab a quick one here and move on...

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Sparky's Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best bar in SA!
    Went to some of the of SA bars... DON'T BOTHER! this is the only one you need to hit! Great atmosphere, great vibe! Check this one out!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Metro NightClub and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Strong drinks... Confused people
    Been here a couple times... Very strong cocktails... Smokey loungey feel... Not many cuties but nice people all around. Bar staff had no idea about a promotion that was advertiesed in the gay rag, but hey... Strong cocktails!!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Patio American Grill & Blue Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    2nd only to victors!
    Great food. Friendly staff and great place for people watching! Highly recommend penne a la vodka!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Victor's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best food in ptown!
    Victors is the best restaurant in ptown. Its kind of tappas style... Try the orange chile enchiladad!! AMAZING! I went 3 times while in town. Also go for drag brunch!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed The Stable Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great renovation
    I'm not a local buy i was told by a local how run down and gross this place used to be. Its great now!! Very nyc-ish feel without the prices or attitude. Friendly staff and strong drinks. Check it out!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed MiraBar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    3 floors of twinks
    Really really great space! But way too many children. If you can get by that its really a fantastic bar.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed The Alleycat Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute bar...
    Its cute, but not as cute as dark lady or stable!! Well worth a drop in. Stop by and say hi!

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Dish Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lesbian Chic!
    ok crazy good down home cooking. This is not on the typical gay diet. ( i am from NYC, we don't eat this) BUT this is charlotte, Y'all! And it's awesome! I had the Pork Chops (which i prefer a thick cut chop, these are thin) but the glaze on them was fantastic, one of the best mashed potatoes i have ever had, and a really thick, rich mac & Cheese. My partner had the blackened chicken with sweet potato mash and green beans, he LOVED them... Sweet potato mash was the sweetest, brown sugarish (is this a word?) mash ever! A cute little thing they do is every entree is served with a deviled egg and the most buttery, heaviest, most delicious biscuit ever! And as we heard from a local here, it's owned and run by a lesbian couple! Support this restaurant, not just because it's gay, but also because it's REALLY REALLY good.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Central Station Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Cinder Block Bar...
    So the tag for this bar is "Central Station, where everyone stops"... I would add to that , but doesn't stay long. A little scary and a little dark... Strong booze though.

  • beenthereseenthat
    beenthereseenthat reviewed Logan Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    trendy... cute
    Very good food, decently priced... cute staff.... STRONG drinks (what's with that in DC??? Not that I am complaining). Very eclectic menu and great atmosphere. Will definitely go again.