baasecha1

Charlie B., 39M.

Chicago, Illinois
Joined Dec 2009
14 Followers 5 Following

35 Loved Places

Listings

  • Berlin Boystown, Chicago
  • Roscoe's Boystown, Chicago
  • Atmosphere (@mosphere) Andersonville, Chicago
  • Big Chicks Uptown, Chicago
  • Jackhammer Rogers Park, Chicago
  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas

Cities

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Grand Hyatt Kauai Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A great place for a honeymoon!
    I just went there for my honeymoon and had an amazing trip! They treated us great giving us a free cabana rental, dessert with our dinner there and other perks. The staff, grounds, rooms and who experience is just wonderful. Gay honeymooners...if you are heading to Kauai...this is the place to go!

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Pan Pacific Vancouver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A wonderful spot
    Stayed here last year on a second visit to Vancouver. I had booked a crazy good deal online and still got put in an upgraded room just because they had the space free. It was really amazing, great views, spot to explore the city and friendly staff. I would for sure return!

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Joy's Noodles & Rice Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not the best Thai, but a favorite...
    Is this the best of the many many Thai places in Chicago? No. But, it is in Boystown, is BYO, has food that is consistent and was some of my first Thai when I moved here. Prices are low, too.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Big Chicks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of my favorites
    I was just reminded yesterday how much I love Big Chicks. I went there for the free, yes free, Sunday BBQ. You buy some drinks, give Dave who makes the food a tip when you get your plate, and enjoy Sunday afternoon. I have been coming here for almost 7 years now and always have fun. Other great reasons to go: a down-to-earth crowd, dollar burgers on Monday, fun theme nights, good drinks, friendly staff and Michelle the amazing owner. This place is truly a gem!

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Vynl Hells Kitchen Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A step above the typical "gay diner"
    Every gayborhood has these spots. Diner food where you can fill your belly before you start drinking for the night. Everyone has a bit of a different feel, but this seems to be a necessity in gay areas for some reason or another. Vynl is a step up from a lot of those with drinks, and over the top decor, and some unique food options, like the shrimp with taquitos and sweet potatoe puree I had when I was there.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Arrivederci Restaurant Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good decent fresh pasta
    I enjoyed my dinner here a couple years back. Good, fresh pasta, lots of choices (for my picky friend who was with me), and good service. Plus, always fun to show up as an out of towner and see a gaggle of gays. Good if you are in the gay hood, but not something to go out of your way to get to.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Barcelona Tapas Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Tapas with a view
    We ended our PV trip with a dinner here. All of the tapas were really good, really solid tapas. And the restaurant sit back a ways from the beach but offers great views of the city and ocean, due to the seemingly hundreds of steps you take to ge to the restaurant. The place was packed, offered really good food and was a nice send-off. But, I can get tapas back home just this good in Chicago any time.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Daiquiri Dick's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Amazing views, decent food
    Our group went here our first night in PV, and it started the trip off ont he right note. We were right on the beach, got to watch the sunset and have some drinks before we explored gay life in PV. We all had fun, but I couldn't tell you what anyone ate or drink, it wasn't too memorable.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed El Arrayan Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth straying off the beaten path
    This lesbian owned and uber gay-friendly spot is a must on your PV list! Authentic Mexican eats, in a hip setting. Yes, cricket tacos are weird, but most other items are far less scary. Chilles Rellano were amazing there. But, what really sticks with me are some of the yummiest and most unique drinks around, using raicilla, a local liquor.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed La Palapa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amaze your man...
    I surprised my bf with the romantic beachside dinner they do here. It was 7 courses, with wine pairings at a private table on the beach. A beautiful setting, beautiful meal and an unforgettable experience. If you are goign with your significant other, do this...it wasn't that expensive either for how lavish it all was.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed River Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A bad brunch
    Yes, the location is cute. But the charms of this place ended there. I went there for brunch and had overcooked eggs, underseasonsed potatoes and just a really bland meal. One of the let-downs of my PV trip.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed South Park Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love this cute little spot!
    When I visit a city for the second time I never visit the same restaurant twice, I want to explore other options. But, for South Park, I broke that rule. This place is the cutest! The prices are great. The food is always crazy good. I can't rave about this spot enough. Both of my visits in the past were perfect. The three course prix fixe dinner is the best deal ever!

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Phil's Bar & Grille Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Looks can be deceiving
    This bar looks just like that when you walk in; a dark bar with plenty of locals. But, look closer, this place is busy for a reason, they offer the basic bar bites, but elevated and some new things you haven't tried before. You are in Michigan, so try the perch or the white fish if they have it. I head there every time and my guests are always surprised how good the place is. Another tip: Sit in the front window, and people watch. The window looks like a mirror from the outside and you can watch people check themselves out in front of it. So fun!

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Red Iguana Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Holy Mole!
    Don't get it twisted...Salt Lake has more than just mormons and bland church potluck food. After three years the mole enchiladas I had at Red Iguana are still fresh in my memory. They have lots of options to choose from and really authentic, unique flavors in their sauces. This was three years back, but they have been doing something right.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Hank's Oyster Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fresh and Fun
    Hank's Oyster bar is great! I am not even an oyster fan, but the other menu offerings are regional treats and fresh fried seafood finds. I love the lobster roll. The place doesn't take reservations and is tiny, but that is part of the fun. A great Dupont spot to fill your belly before you hit 17th St. bars.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An institution
    I used to live in DC and would often visit here, and try to hit it up every time I come back to DC. The food might not be THE best, but the place has been around forever, brings the gay community together, is always fun, and stays open after the bars close. And for a diner, the food is usually pretty darn good.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A really fun gay club
    I was here for the weekend from Chicago on a Friday night, and it was tons of fun. It has a clubby feel, but its own unique decor and vibe, pretty good flow of the place and nice bartenders and people overall. Yes, it's a club so people are going to be trying to look their best and give a little tude, but that's why you go to a club...right? Happy I checked it out.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Frontera Grille/Tompolobampo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of Chicago's best
    This place is close to downtown, but one of the gems in the city. I have been to both sides of the restaurant, and enjoyed both. Topolobampo is fine dining and something you won't soon forget. I have only had the forture of eating here once, but Rick Bayless, the chef, is credited with bringing fine Mexican dining to the masses in Chicago. The great thing about this place is that most nights you actually see Bayless working there.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Jin Ju Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip Korean in Andersonville
    Your typical Korean joint is a hole in the wall where you leave smelling like a bbq and rushed through service. Jin Ju is hip, cool, and alwasy really yummy. From sojutinis to bi bim bap, you can't go wrong here. I always get the bulgogi and always love it.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Las Mananitas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Solid Mexican fare...
    This is the go-to place in Boystown for Mexican food. On any night you can see a gaggle of gays celebrating birthdays, drinking Margaritas to start the night right, and enjoying the classic Mexican food. I really love Mexican food, and recognize this isn't the best or the most authentic, but it is consistent and good and fun for a group. But, beware, if you are hitting up the bars after you can end up smelling like fried chips and beans for hours after. I have stood in a bar many times and had someone pass me who I knew had just Las Mananitas.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Wood Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hit or miss
    I have been a few times where I really really liked the place, but more times than not I feel let down. When someone brings you ice cold baked brie and you tell the server, they should actually like they care, not tell me they can throw it in the microwave. I have had a couple servers who had attitude and didn't give a damn about pleasing the customers. The space is cute and has basic bistro bites, but has let me down too many times to return.

  • baasecha1
    baasecha1 reviewed Anteprima Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A decent Italian option
    I have hit up Anteprima about three times so far. I live around the corner and I really really want to love the place. But, it hasn't completely won me over just yet. I love the simple rustic Italian food idea. But sometimes the dishes seem a bit too simple for the price. The way to go is with the weekday 3-courses for 29 bucks deal that I have had before. That makes this a four star option. But, if you are paying full price you might walk away feeling a little let down. The decor is great, the vibe is noisy most nights, service is decent, and the back patio is really great on a nice warm day. But, for me to keep coming back to a place, I need to either be wowed by the food or wowed by the value.