YourPalPete

44M.

Studio City, California
Joined Jul 2008
25 Followers 21 Following

115 Loved Places

Listings

  • Boardwalk Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Abbey West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Campus The Village/Le Village, Montreal
  • Stock Bar The Village/Le Village, Montreal

Cities

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed All Worlds Resort 4 months ago
    Hates it

    Skip It - - A Big Disappointment
    This review is difficult for me, since All Worlds used to be among my top picks. But not anymore. It gets down to this for me: I just do not have a good time here anymore!!! It was only a couple of years ago that All Worlds was affiliated with the company that produced All Worlds Videos. Back in those days, it was not unusual to see some of the actors in those films strutting around the grounds. Sometimes they would even do filming here. Not anymore. The new (and somewhat unfriendly) owners have done some well-needed landscaping and painting. But at the same time, they have sanitized the place and taken away all of the heart and spirit of All Worlds. There are way too many security cameras that monitor your outdoor activities! No more sling, no more glory holes, no more outdoor hammock! With so many other exciting all male resorts in Palm Springs, I can no longer recommend All Worlds.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hilton Waikoloa Village Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Big Island Mega-Resort
    This mega-resort on the Kohala Coast of The Big Island is spread out on more than 60 acres of ocean-front property and has over 1,200 rooms. Transportation to your room from the open-air hotel lobby is provided by monorails or canal boats. You can browse a small art gallery featuring Hawaiian artists. There are several dining options, all of which are fairly expensive. The three swimming pools have the usual mega-resort artificial waterfalls and water slides. In addition, there is a man-made salt water lagoon, complete with a sandy beach, for swimming and snorkeling. For an additional fee, you can participate in a dolphin encounter right on the property. This resort provides an interesting and fun fantasy resort experience, as opposed to an authentic Hawaiian experience.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Salt Lake City Marriott City Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Nice Centrally Located Hotel
    The Marriott City Center is located in the business district of Salt Lake City, and seems to have an atmosphere that caters to businessmen. The lobby has a slightly business-like/stuffy feel to it. The employees were friendly and extremely accommodating. Our room was a reasonable size, and the bathroom was surprisingly large with very nice amenities. Valet and self-parking facitilies are available.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed USS Missouri Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Site of the Japanese Surrender in World War II
    On September 2, 1945, in Tokyo Bay, the Japanese signed their unconditional surrender to the Allied Forces, thus finally ending World War II. The surrender ceremony was conducted by Gen. Douglas MacArthur on board the USS Missouri. The battleship continued in service for another 40 years, after which it sailed into its retirement home in Pearl Harbor. The starting point for the tours of the USS Missouri is next to the USS Arizona Memorial. Shuttle service is provided to Ford Island to begin the tour. I recommend that you choose the guided tour, since it is conducted by retired military personnel who are able point out the exact location of the surrender ceremony and provide other interesting insights.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Haleakala National Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Maui's Dormant Volcano
    Haleakala is a dormant volcano, as opposed to extinct or active (such as Kilauea on the Big Island). It hasn't erupted for hundreds of years, but volcanologists predict that it will erupt again... some day. The day I visited was unusually cloud-free, which made my trip even more spectacular than I expected. Some visitors choose to time their visits to enjoy the sunrise or the sunset. I drove up Haleakala Highway in late morning, and the drive itself was memorable, as I drove through the various climatic zones from the valley floor up to the 10,000 foot summit. The park headquarters and main visitor's center are located around the 7,000 foot elevation. The entrance fee is $10 per vehicle. Remember that temperatures at these elevations are much lower than they are at the beach, so bring a jacket. Note how the vegetation changes as you continue your drive to the summit. Stop at some of the overlooks on the way up if you have time. There is a smaller visitor's center at the upper elevation. This is where you will get some breathtaking views of the crater, with rocks in hues of pastels to oranges to purples. And if you're lucky like I was, you'll have a clear day so you can see all the way to the valley floor and the ocean below. This was a great trip!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Waimea Bay Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Oahu's Most Famous North Shore Beach
    During the summer, the large sandy beach is packed with tourists, and the bay is calm and safe for swimming. The fairly large parking lot is filled with rental cars carrying visitors to this beautiful north shore beach. If you go in the winter, the surf is a powerhouse and the bay is often not recommended for swimming. But that's when you'll see the parking lot packed with locals, and pickup trucks overflowing onto the highway. It's exciting to watch the best surfers riding the huge waves here. If you're going to only one North Shore Oahu beach, this should be your pick.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Big Island of Hawaii's Kilauea Volcano
    Kilauea Volcano has been called a friendly volcano because of the manner of its eruptions, which are mild rather than explosive. Your biggest risk in a visit is probably air quality, which can be checked in advance on the park website. Kilauea is a shield volcano, which means that it has gentle-sloping sides, so it may not look the way you expect. This is in contrast to the more familiar cone volcano such as Mount St. Helens. I recommend that you begin your visit at the Kilauea Visitor Center to see the informative displays and a movie about volcanoes. Then you can continue your drive and actually see the caldera, which has a black asphalt look to it. You can do a quick drive through the park in a couple of hours, or follow some of the interesting hiking trails if you have the time. The park is open 24 hours a day, and you are more likely to see the glowing lava if you can stay after sunset. Volcano House, a hotel on the park grounds, has a restaurant with interesting views. The park entrance fee is $10 per vehicle.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Punchbowl Cemetery
    Punchbowl Cemetery is located in the crater of an extinct volcano rising above downtown Honolulu. The dramatic setting itself is worth the trip. There is also a vista point that offers breathtaking views of the greater Honolulu area. But more that this, Punchbowl is a history lesson. Since the cemetery was opened in 1949, about 34,000 veterans of World War I, World War II, the Korean War and the Vietnam War have been interred here. Walk through the memorial section that contains tributes and descriptions of various battles that were fought in the Pacific Theater. Or just stand on the marble steps that lead to the memorial and look around--it's a beautiful serene setting.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Banzai Pipeline (Ehukai Beach Park) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Home of the Banzai Pipeline
    This beach is difficult to find, and it is not the most popular north shore Oahu beach for tourists. But it IS the home of the most famous surf in Hawaii--the Banzai Pipeline. This beach is a favorite of the local surfers and it's often packed with them. During the winter months, the big surf here is amazing. I've seen spectacular tubes in excess of 30 feet. This is for the experts only. One winter I saw a surfing competition here. Another winter I saw lifeguards train on this beach. (Would it be appropriate to say how hot that experience was? Dozens of muscular young guys in their orange Speedos! I was trying to think of a reason to have my life saved!) During the summer months, the surf is suitable for novices, and the beach is a nice place to soak up the sun.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Bishop Museum Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Museum Dedicated to Polynesian Culture
    Dedicated to Polynesian culture and artifacts, the Bishop Museum is the largest museum in Hawaii. There are displays of Hawaiian quilts, as well as displays of Hawaiian artifacts, carvings and costumes. The Hawaiian Hall focuses on old Hawaiian gods and legends. Another section of the museum has exhibits relating to Hawaii's environment. If you're interested in Hawaiian artifacts and a glimpse into Polynesian cultural, this museum is worth a visit.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful Bay with Easy Snorkeling
    Hanauma Bay has been established as a nature preserve to ensure the survival of its marine ecosystem. Snorkeling in the beautiful horseshoe-shaped bay is a memorable experience, with hundreds of species of colorful tropical fish right before your eyes. Just put your face down in the water and there they are! The park has limited amounts of parking, and I found that it was preferable to schedule my visit for 9 AM, or else in the afternoon. Note that the preserve is closed to visitors on Tuesdays. On my last visit, there was a $1.00 parking charge and a $7.50 admission fee. This is one of Oahu's most beautiful natural offerings, and well worth a visit.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed USS Bowfin Submarine Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Interesting Submarine Tour and Memorial
    The USS Bowfin Submarine is moored adjacent to USS Arizona Memorial visitor's center. For a modest admission fee, you can take a self-guided tour of the submarine and get a first-hand look at the crew's living conditions, including their tightly packed bunks. There is also an outdoor waterfront memorial that pays tribute to the 52 submarines and 3,500 young submariners who were lost in World War II.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Honolulu Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Really Cool Little Zoo
    This cool little zoo is located at the eastern end of Waikiki in Kapiolani Park. It's a five minute walk from Queen's Surf Beach and Hula's. I thought the most interesting section of the zoo was the African Savanna with its giraffes, zebras, rhinos and chimps. And of course my personal favorites, the elephants, were great too. In addition there is a kid's area with domestic animals such as cows, goats and sheep. This is the smallest zoo I've ever visited, and one that I very easily covered in less than two hours.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed USS Arizona Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Memorial of "A Day That Will Live in Infamy"
    This memorial is the modern looking white structure that sits on top of the hull of the battleship USS Arizona that was sunk in Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. That action, of course, led our nation into World War II. The visitor center has a museum section that contains interesting information and photographs. The most moving portion of a visit is viewing the memorial itself, which is accessible by a short ride on a U. S. Navy boat. You can get free tickets for the boat ride at a designated departure time in the visitor's center. Before you board the boat, you will see a short film depicting the attack and describing the events of that day. When you get to the memorial itself, you will see a shrine dedicated to the 1,177 innocent young sailors who lost their lives on the USS Arizona that day. A note on getting to the memorial: if you drive, be sure to take the exit from the H-1 Freeway designated as USS Arizona, and not the Pearl Harbor exit (which will take you to the Naval Station).

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Guggenheim Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Distinctive 5th Avenue Building
    This distinctive Upper East Side building was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, and that fact in itself is a reason to visit. The look of the building is familiar to many of us... a stacked cylinder that is wider at the top than at the bottom. When I first visited The Guggenheim, my interest was in seeing this Frank Lloyd Wright design masterpiece, rather than the artwork inside. Since I am not a huge fan of contemporary art, I assumed that the paintings would be of secondary interest to me. I was wrong. There is an interesting variety of art displayed in The Guggenheim, and in an ingenious way. A large skylight provides natural light for the interior atrium of the building. Visitors wind their way up or down the the easy-to-walk spiral to enjoy Impressionist, Post-Impressionist and Modern paintings and sculptures. This is a very interesting manageable-sized museum.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Johannes Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Little Gem of a Restaurant
    This little gem of a restaurant sits conveniently at the corner of Indian Canyon Drive and Arenas Road, right near many of Palm Springs' popular gay bars. You may have walked right by its unassuming exterior. If you go during the month of October 2009, the restaurant is celebrating its 10-year anniversary with some outstanding lunch and dinner specials. Johannes consists of two intimate-sized dining rooms. In addition, there is a bar area with a couple of high-top tables, and six seats providing a fascinating view into their busy galley kitchen. Our group of four chose the bar, where we were served from a menu of numerous delicious bargain-priced tapas. Then we chose from another small menu of chef Johannes Bacher's signature Austrian Wiener Schnitzel. The Schnitzels were offered with either veal or chicken, along with your choice of 6 or 8 sauces. The two small dining rooms offer fuller menus of interesting sounding European/Asian inspired entrees. Johannes is a very nice upscale dining experience. The dining room tends to the pricey side, whereas the bar is an unbelievable bargain.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed 1 1st Street SE Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Most Recognizable Building in D. C.
    The west face of the U. S. Capitol is one of the most recognizable sights in Washington, and perhaps around the world. Construction on a smaller version of the building was completed in the early 1800s, but British troops set fire to it during the War of 1812. Reconstruction was completed in 1819, but the building continued to expand for another 50 years. Senate and House galleries are open to the public when Congress is in session, and this is a very interesting thing to do. Gallery tickets can be requested from your Senators or your Representative. To me, the most beautiful features of the Capitol Building are the rotunda and statuary hall. Entrance tickets are free and available on a first-come, first served basis. Be aware that there is a security screening similar to airport security, and large bags and backpacks are prohibited. This is one of the most interesting sites in Washington, and I highly recommend it.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed National Mall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Heart of Our Nation's Capital
    The National Mall doesn't really qualify as an institution in the structural sense, in that it is not a building. But it IS an institution, figuratively, since it is the heart of the nation's capital. As we prepare for our National Equality March in Washington, D.C., in October 2009, we need to recognize the beauty and importance of The Mall to all of us. It is the mostly grassy area bordered approximately by Constitution Avenue on the North, 1st Street on the East, Independence Avenue on the South, and 14th Street on the West. Stand in The Mall and look East and see the impressive U. S. Capitol, and look West and see the Washington Monument. I've seen 4th of July fireworks sitting on the grass here; I've had picnics with friends here, and I've heard free summer concerts here. The Mall is for ALL of us, and how appropriate that we will be here marching for what we believe!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed La Piazzetta Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Food and Great Location
    If you happen to be strolling over Sainte Catherine Street on your way to Campus or Stock Bar, you can't miss this charming little Italian restaurant. The location is in the Gay Village where all the action is. La Piazzetta has an excellent selection of interesting salads, pizzas and focaccias. And if you happen to be there on a chilly Montreal day, try one of their delicious soups. The servers are pleasant and charming, and the prices are reasonable. I've eaten here several times and I'll definitely return.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Sacre-Coeur Basilica Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Spectacular View from Montmartre
    Sacre-Coeur Basilica is perched on top of the hill in Montmartre, the famous Parisian nightclub district. You can take a funicular to the top of the hill and walk around to enjoy the panorama. The church is fairly new by Parisian standards--it was completed in 1914. The structure has distinct Roman and Byzantine influences, unusual for Parisian buildings. If you go inside, note the elaborate mosaic behind the altar. But if you go for no other reason, go for the view! Take a few minutes and just sit on the steps and enjoy the beautiful sights of Paris.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Notre Dame de Paris Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Gothic Masterpiece
    Construction began on this Gothic cathedral in 1163 and continued for nearly 200 years. If you have any interest in history or architecture (or religion, for that matter), then Notre Dame is a must-see. When the Gothic-style thinner walls became too high, the famous flying buttresses were added for support. Inside the cathedral, the sculptures and stained glass are beautiful and definitely worth seeing. I was part of a tour group when I visited Notre Dame, and I found their guidance very helpful.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Place de la Concorde Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Historic Plaza
    During a very troubled time in France's past, this plaza was the scene where the French nobility were entertained by the execution of convicted criminals under their infamous guillotine. During the French Revolution, King Louis XV and Marie Antoinette were executed on this site as well. The plaza had various other names over the years, but was renamed Place de la Concorde as a gesture toward harmony and reconciliation. The focal point of the plaza is now the granite Luxor Obelisk, more than 3,000 years old. I recommend that you take a look at the plaza and the obelisk, and then look west toward the Arc de Triomphe. The 2 mile walk through the length of the Champs-Elysees to the Arc is beautiful and impressive.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Arc de Triomphe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    World's Most Famous Arch
    This world-famous arch stands high at the western end of the Champs-Elysees. The monument has various beautiful allegorial sculptures on its face. Access to the Arc de Triomphe is by way of pedestrian tunnels under the street. There is a viewing platform at the top, accessible by stairs or elevator, that affords an impressive panoramic view of Paris. You can look down the length of the beautiful tree-lined Champs-Elysees to its eastern end at Place de la Concorde.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Eiffel Tower Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Iconic Parisian Landmark
    When I think of Paris, I think of the Eiffel Tower. What would a trip to this beautiful city be without a visit to the Eiffel Tower? When it was completed in 1889, it was the world's tallest structure (replacing the Washington Monument with that designation). This is definitely worth a visit, but I have to warn you that the lines to get all the way to the top were horrendous on both of my visits. So I've never been all the way up. You can walk up the stairs to the first and second levels, or use the elevators. The Eiffel Tower is an iron structure that I found interesting but not particularly attractive on close inspection. But with night lighting, it is transformed into a beautiful sight.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Louvre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perhaps the Most Famous Museum in the World
    I've visited the Louvre twice, and I have to be honest and say that I was overwhelmed both times. It's the largest museum I've ever been in. This is the home of the Venus de Milo and the Mona Lisa, among many, many other masterpieces. The Louvre has been open since 1793, and it attracts millions of visitors every year. To avoid the long entrance lines, you can purchase a Paris museum pass in advance. What I did on one of my visits was choose a tour from a Parisian tour company--it included a brief visit to several of the museum's famous works, as well as a fascinating tour of an underground area with a medieval moat dating back to the 12th century. While the Louvre is not my favorite Parisian museum, it's so famous that I just couldn't miss it.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Musee d'Orsay Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Favorite Museum
    This museum is perfect for people like me who are lovers of Impressionism. Musee d'Orsay is located on the Left Bank, and was formerly Gare d'Orsay, a train station built in the Beaux-Arts style around 1900. The train station became outdated, and the building eventually evolved into a museum dedicated mostly to late 19th century French art. If you enjoy artists like Monet, Manet, Degas, Renoir and Cezanne, this museum is a must-see. You can avoid the very long entrance lines by purchasing a Paris museum pass. Be sure to get the Musee d'Orsay map when you enter so that you don't wander aimlessly through the museum--instead go directly to your favorite artists. I can also recommend the cafe, located on the upper level, for a delicious fixed-price French lunch.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Agua Caliente Casino, Resort and Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent Hotel, But Far from Things
    Aqua Caliente has the nicest rooms of any of the many desert properties that I've tried. The disadvantage is the location. It's located in Rancho Mirage adjacent to the I-10 freeway at the Ramon Road exit. The drive into downtown Palm Springs takes about 20 minutes. But back to the facilities... the hotel is very new and the rooms are beautiful. My room was large and the furnishings were modern. There were 2 flat screen TVs--a large one in the sleeping area and a small one in the bathroom. The bathroom had a separate spa tub and shower. I didn't use the casino, so I can't comment on that, other than you definitely notice that they allow smoking in California's Indian casinos. If you're looking for a hotel with really nice rooms and don't mind the drive, this is an excellent choice.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Westin Seattle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Attractive Hotel with Great Views
    The weather was beautiful and sunny when my partner and I stayed here. We had a room with a spectacular view of the Puget Sound. I remember how the sun shimmered across the water just before sunset--a beautiful sight. The room and bathroom were nice, with the usual upscale Westin amenities such as their signature Heavenly Bed and Heavenly Bath.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Most Visited Smithsonian Museum
    This is the most visited of all of the various Smithsonian museums. There are a thousands of air and space artifacts on display including the Wright Brothers Spirit of St. Louis, the Apollo 11 command module, and a sample of moon rock. The Air and Space Museum is located right on The Mall, and admission is free.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Van Gogh Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    World's Largest Collection of Van Goghs
    The Van Gogh Museum is a manageable size museum even for people who don't like art museums. I found it enlightening to stroll through and note the various categories of Van Gogh's work, including drawings, landscapes, portraits and still lifes. I was previously unaware of how Impressionistic his early landscapes were. The degree of Van Gogh's psychosis also becomes apparent as you observe the changes is his works as he gets older. This is a fascinating museum, and I highly recommend it.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Rijksmuseum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    You Have to See the Rembrandts
    The building itself has a very interesting and distinctive 17th century architectural style. Rijksmuseum is a fairly large museum with an extensive collection of Dutch paintings. I have to admit that the paintings are not really from my favorite era of art. But I was astounded when I saw some of the Rembrandts that I remembered from my old Art History courses. When I saw The Night Watch, my jaw dropped at the size of it. On display are many paintings from the Dutch golden age, and if you have an appreciation of that period, this museum is a must-see. And if not (like me), take an hour and just look at some of the Rembrandts and Vermeers. It's worth your time, especially if you find yourself in the Museum Quarter of Amsterdam.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Anne Frank House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Chilling Experience
    The museum consists of two sections. The first is the new museum with displays of various photographs and letters. The second is the old part of the house with the secret annex. In order to get to the secret annex, you need to climb a very steep wooden staircase that was apparently characteristic of old canal houses. This latter portion of the tour is very chilling. A total of 8 people hid in these cramped quarters 24 hour a day, until they were betrayed, arrested and sent to Westerbork. My recollection is that the tour itself took about an hour, exclusive of time waiting in line to enter. This is not to be missed!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Homomonument Over a year ago
    Loves it

    No Gay Person Can Miss This
    This simple symbolic monument comprises three trangles of pink granite that in turn form a larger triangle that steps down into Keizersgracht (the Keizers canal), near Westerkerk. Most of us know the symbolism of the pink triangle: gay men who were exiled to concentration camps during World War II were issued branding marks in the form of pink triangles that identified them as gay. The full symbolism of the design of the Homomonument can be found on the website. The monument commemorates all gay men and women who have been or are still being persecuted. I found it very moving to take a few minutes and reflect here on those gay people who preceded me and made sacrifices so that I have a happier life today. This is a must-see for all gay visitors to Amsterdam.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Really Beautiful Property
    I have to thank the reviewer below for writing about this hotel, and reminding me how much I enjoyed my visit there as well. This is a very large property, and an impressive upscale hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are very nicely furnished, with all the expected Hyatt Regency amenities. The Grand Cypress has a number of dining options, including the beautiful light-filled Cascade dining room, which is both informal and elegant. The property's extensive biking and jogging paths offer exercise options to those of us who prefer to exercise outdoors. Be sure to take a walk around the grounds of the Grand Cypress at night and enjoy the beautiful night-time lighting.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Library of Congress Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Don't Go to Read . . . Go to Look at the Ceilings
    If you happen to be in the area of the U. S. Capitol and have a few extra minutes on your hands, this is a great place to visit. This is the largest library in the world, but I'm not recommending that you go to read anything. The Library of Congress actually comprises three buildings--John Adams Building, James Madison Building and Thomas Jefferson Building. I have only been inside the Jefferson Building. The impressive architecture is Italian Renaissance. Inside are beautiful vaulted ceilings, sculptures, paintings and a Great Hall that has a truly memorable stained glass ceiling. This quick visit will take about 30 minutes of your time, and it is well worth it.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed InterContinental Paris - Le Grand Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Historic Parisian Luxury Hotel
    Le Grand is a very impressive hotel in a city of impressive hotels. The rich decor was inspired by flamboyant Napolean III. Our room and bathroom were luxurious and beautifully appointed, and reasonably large by European standards. The hotel is located in the 9th district, across the street from the gorgeous Opera Garnier, and is a 15 minute walk from the Louvre. Our package price included breakfast at the world-famous Cafe de la Paix, on the first floor of the hotel, overlooking Boulevard des Capucines. This is an excellent choice for an elegant Parisian experience.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Smithsonian National Zoological Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An Impressive Variety of Animals
    After some management controversy a few years ago, The National Zoo seems to be back on track as one of our nation's premier zoos. There is a huge variety of animals, including lions, tigers, pandas, gorillas and elephants. I love animals, and I like to visit zoos around the country. This is among my favorites. Admission to the zoo is free, but parking is limited and somewhat expensive. It may be a better option to take the Metro Red Line, exit at Woodley Park-Zoo, and then walk to the zoo entrance.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Pulitzer Amsterdam Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale Hotel on a Picturesque Canal
    This unique hotel is a collection of 25 restored 17th and 18th century canal houses. Interior glass-enclosed walkways bring light into the hotel's central public spaces, and provide views of their gardens. My partner and I have stayed here three times and each room was different, all with a special Dutch ambience. The location on Prinsengracht (the Prinsen canal) is both picturesque and convenient. Walk out the front door, turn right and walk just a few minutes to two of Amsterdam's most important cultural sites: the Homomonument and the Anne Frank House. Westerkerk, where Rembrandt is buried, is also nearby. If you are looking for a hotel that offers real Dutch charm, this would be an excellent choice.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Gouverneur Hotel Montreal Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convenient Location and Excellent Value
    This is not a gay hotel, but it is VERY gay friendly. Given its location in Montreal's Gay Village, many of the guests are gay. The rooms are nicely furnished and the hotel is very clean. Employees are polite and friendly. The hotel's restaurant is convenient for breakfast (or whatever), but it isn't very exciting. Room prices are excellent. The huge draw for my partner and me was the location. We could walk out the back door and be at Campus or Stock Bar in minutes. Or we could walk out to one of the hip, reasonably priced restaurants on Rue Ste. Catherine. We would definitely return to the Gouverneur.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Thomas Jefferson Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful Structure in a Serene Location
    The Jefferson Memorial is not as prominently located as many of the other monuments and memorials in D.C., and I think that fact actually enhances its beauty. It is located in West Potomac Park on the Tidal Basin. During the Spring, the famous cherry blossoms frame the Memorial. To me, the building is an architectural gem. The neoclassical structure was modeled after the Pantheon in Rome. If you don't get a chance to go inside to see the bronze statue of Thomas Jefferson, be sure to drive through Potomac Park and enjoy the serene setting.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed FDR Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful Memorial with Stunning Symbolism
    This is a VERY impressive memorial, composed of four outdoor "rooms" depicting Roosevelt's four terms in office. Water is used very effectively and imaginatively as a metaphor for the complexity of the issues that FDR faced during his presidency... from the crash of the Great Depression to the chaos of World War II. The FDR Memorial ranks right up at the top of D.C. memorials for imagination of design, and I highly recommend a visit.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Moving Tribute to Veterans of a Controversial War
    It is a very emotional experience to visit this memorial, and I remember hearing the quiet sobs of other visitors. The design is austere and ingenious, with a depression in the earth representing a scar in our history. The black granite contains the names of the more than 58,200 Americans who were killed or missing. A visit to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial is a very emotional experience, and one that should not be missed.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Washington Monument Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Tallest Structure in D. C.
    At 555 feet high, the Washington Monument is the tallest structure in Washington, D. C. By today's skyscraper standards, this structure is not that big, but when it first opened in 1888, it was the world's tallest structure! I have visited it several times, and there were lengthy entrance lines each time, so be prepared for a wait.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Lincoln Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Awe-Inspiring
    In a city filled with awe-inspiring memorials and monuments, the Lincoln Memorial is the most awe-inspiring to me. It's the combination of the unexpected size of Lincoln's statue along with the simplicity of design. The fight for civil rights and human rights in general began with Abraham Lincoln. If you have time to visit only one memorial (which would be a shame!), by all means make it the Lincoln Memorial.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Hard Rock Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Nice Hotel in a Great Location
    This is a very nice mainstream hotel in a wonderful location in downtown Palm Springs. You can conveniently walk to all the bars and restaurants in the downtown area. The decor of the hotel is sleek and modern. Rooms are nicely furnished complete with a flat-screen TV. Hotel Zoso is one of the many hotels in the area that have adopted the practice of add-on fees such as a resort fee and a utility fee. In addition, there is a $20 valet fee, although there is free parking readily available at a nearby city garage, or on nearby streets. All in all, this is a very nice hotel, and I would definitely return.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Grand Hyatt San Francisco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Hotel in a Great Location
    I didn't give the Grand Hyatt a 5-star rating because there really isn't anything grand about this hotel. The lobby is fairly ordinary and so are the rooms. The huge plus here is the location. Although this is obviously not a gay hotel, I found the employees to be very gay-friendy, which should not be surprising in San Francisco. Note that the hotel parking charge is $50 per night, but you can park in the nearby Union Square garage for much less than that. I'm not sure I would return to the Grand Hyatt, but I think that's mostly because there are so many other wonderful choices in this beautiful city.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Marriott Resort & Casino Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Nice Hotel Right on the Beach
    This is a nice, large full-service hotel right on Condado Beach. Rooms are tastefully furnished, and the views on the ocean side of the hotel are beautiful. If you walk to the beach on Calle Vendig (on the west side of the hotel), you can slip right into the gay bar of the Atlantic Beach Hotel. There's lots of hot meat on the beach right there too!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Atlantic Beach Hotel and Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wide Variety of Guys in the Bar
    There is a wide variety of guys in the bar at night, including locals, tourists and hustlers. The beach right outside is a real happening place during the daytime. All in all, it's a fun bar and worth a visit.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Metropolitan Museum of Art Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the Most Amazing Museums in the World
    This is an amazing museum--a beautiful building in a beautiful setting with awesome collections. Before you go, try to plan what art you would most like to see, otherwise you will be totally overwhelmed. I recommend the 19th Century European paintings on the second floor, but whatever you prefer, try to find the appropriate sections that interest you. If you can't find them, don't be afraid to ask for help.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Black's Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's a Hike, But It's Worth It!
    This is one great beach! I was not able to see the Black's Beach Bares, the clothing-optional volleyball players, but the mental image of them is really hot! A note on getting there: I entered Black's Beach by way of the Torrey Pines Gliderport and then hiked down the cliff. If you take this route, be sure to wear hiking boots for your safety. Pack your flip-flops or sandals or sneakers in your beach bag, but don't try going down the cliff wearing them. Once you get to the beach, the eye candy is everywhere! You're gonna love it!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Diamond Head Lighthouse Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun! But Go at Low Tide!
    This is a fairly small beach area, and it pretty much disappears at high tide, so try to time your visit for low tide. It's fun, but there are not a lot of people here. Nude sunbathing is illegal in Hawaii, and I've heard that the police patrol here from time to time. So be prepared to cover up fast, just in case. Another way to get to this small beach is to park in the parking area on Diamond Head Road, then hike down to the beach near the lighthouse, turn right and look for naked men!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Little Beach (Makena State Park) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Voyeur? Exhibitionist? This Place is for YOU!
    Little Beach is the local name for the part of Makena Beach that is clothing-optional. After you park and walk to the beach, you will find yourself on Big Beach, which is the mainstream portion, and a beautiful beach in itself. Then walk to the right and hike over the lava formation to find yourself at Little Beach, which is the clothing-optional (and HOTTER!) area of the same beach. Since Makena Beach can be a little bit hard to find, it's handy to be able to consult their website (yes, a nude beach with a website!) to be sure you know where you're going. The website, LittleBeachMaui.com, provides directions as well as beach etiquette hints! I like to spend an afternoon on Little Beach every time I go to Maui, or my trip just doesn't seem complete!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Basix Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delicious Food in a Casual Sidewalk Cafe
    This little cafe has a covered patio right on Santa Monica Boulevard, perfect for people watching as you dine. There is an extensive menu of health-conscious items ranging from salads and sandwiches to pizzas, pastas and full entrees. One of my favorite items is the Basix turkey meatloaf. Their hand-made thin-crust pizzas are delicious as well.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hard Rock Cafe London Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The First Hard Rock Cafe
    OK, the food isn't extraordinary. It's burgers, steak, chicken, salads, mac & cheese--all the usual stuff that you find at a Hard Rock Cafe. But THIS Hard Rock Cafe was the first one! There's lots of memorabilia all over the walls, and there's an adjacent Rock Shop to buy souvenirs. The decor is London pub and this place has atmosphere plus!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The BEST on a Warm Summer Day
    Great place for drinks and food. This is really THE WeHo place to see hot sights on a warm summer day. Come just to watch hot guys showing off their bodies. Sit on the patio in the front if there is space and watch the man parade. Service is slow, but who cares?

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Santa Monica Pier Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Fun Festive Place
    This is a really fun place to go on a summer evening. There are restaurants if you're hungry. And souvenir shops, of course. The views up and down the coast are excellent. The pier is getting ready to celebrate its 100th anniversary. A real oldie but goodie. And it's free!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hotel Le Soleil Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Charming Boutique Hotel
    Hotel Le Soleil is a charming boutique-style hotel with European ambience. The rooms and bathrooms are beautiful and well-appointed. The staff was gay-friendly, polite and helpful. My partner and I chose this hotel for an overnight stay before a cruise, since Vancouver's Canada Place cruise terminal is within walking distance.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Brennan's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Southern Charming . . . and EXPENSIVE!
    My partner and I had breakfast at Brennan's a couple of years ago. This restaurant has real New Orleans charm and ambience. Service was excellent, if somewhat formal. The food was delicious, but breakfast may have been the most we ever paid anywhere for breakfast! I would recommend Brennan's as a great New Orleans experience, but I don't think we would go back... it was just too expensive for us.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Hotel on Picturesque Kaanapali Beach
    First off, I have to say that Hyatts are my favorite of the chain hotels. And this is a beautiful property. It has a prime West Maui location on Kaanapali Beach. The rooms and the bath amenities are luxurious. One of my favorite things to do here in the evening is walk down to the beach and turn right, heading north along the beach-walk among all the tiki torches, strolling from one beautiful property to the next. There are plenty of dining choices on this property, but they do tend to be on the expensive side.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Inn of the Turquoise Bear Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I Was Expecting a Gay B & B
    I guess it was my mistake, but I was expecting Inn of the Turquoise Bear to be a gay B & B. While it is gay owned and operated, the clientele was not predominantly gay when I stayed there. My room was large and comfortable, and seemed to be in the genuine Santa Fe style. But I thought it was expensive. If I had known that it was not an exclusively gay B & B, I might have selected accommodations right in downtown Santa Fe (at a similar price), rather than where this is located. Yes, it IS within walking distance of downtown, but it isn't downtown.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed National Gallery of Art Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A National Jewel
    The National Gallery is truly a national jewel. What an impressive collection of paintings and sculptures! My favorite section is the one devoted to French Impressionism, but no matter what your preference, there will be a collection here to please you. It's easy to be overwhelmed by a museum this size, so I recommend setting aside a couple of hours and visiting just the section that interests you most.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Tivoli Gardens Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Much Better at Night!
    I tried Tivoli Gardens in the daytime with my partner, and it was fun... like a low-key old-fashioned amusement park. We returned that same night with friends and found the place much more interesting. It's really the night-time lighting that creates all the charm. There are lots of places to grab fast food, European-style. This is a very nice thing to do on a pleasant evening in Copenhagen.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Ziegfield's/Secrets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Skip the Drag Shows and Go for the Naked Men!
    I wasn't interested in seeing the drag shows, but those naked dancers were HOT HOT HOT! Dancer after dancer after dancer has a hot body. If you like strip shows (and I love them!) go to Secrets!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Equator Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Atmosphere and Great Resort
    When I think of that Key West "feel", I think of Equator. This is authentic Key West guest house architecture. I've stayed here twice and really love the place. I have to agree with the other reviewers who rave about the breakfast. One other thing... I had to postpone my last trip because of a last-minute illness, and they allowed me to do it without penalty. They won my never-ending loyalty for that! I will definitely return to Equator next time I'm in Key West.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Mirage Hotel and Casino Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Nice Hotel in a Very Good Location
    This hotel was built in 1989, and by Las Vegas standards, that's almost ancient! It's one of my favorites, though. The location is excellent--in a great spot on The Strip in the middle of all the action. The mirror-like front of The Mirage was very innovative when it was built, and now it's a classic look that you see mimicked everywhere. The rooms are very nice. If there weren't so many new resort options in Las Vegas, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Forum Shops Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Upscale Shops
    I'm not much of a shopper, but The Forum Shops impressed even me. The only souvenir that I ever purchased in my many trips to Las Vegas was a beautiful wooden rabbit carving that I bought in one of the upscale stores in The Forum Shops. If you enjoy shopping for high-end merchandise, you will love these stores, which are adjacent to Caesars Palace.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed MGM Grand Hotel & Casino Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Very Large Very Ordinary Hotel
    This is a huge hotel (even by Las Vegas standards). The rooms are large and the furnishings are pretty ordinary. The location is not the best, at the south end of The Strip. This is a nice enough hotel, but it just doesn't have any pzazz. MGM Grand would be an acceptable hotel choice if you find a really low room rate.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Mandalay Bay Hotel and Casino Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Las Vegas Favorite
    I've stayed in quite a few Las Vegas hotels over the years, and this one remains my favorite. The rooms are large and luxurious, and the hotel itself is beautiful. For some reason, there are always a bunch of hot guys at the pool, which is a huge plus! One slight negative is Mandalay Bay's location so far south on The Strip. Overall, this is a great hotel!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Bellagio Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Lousy Stay at a Beautiful Hotel
    First, I have to say that my 2-star rating shocks me! I was expecting to give this property 4 or 5 stars. After my partner and I drove the four hours from Los Angeles to Las Vegas, we were faced with a 30-minute wait in line to check into our room. The lobby was filled with understandably irritated travelers. Perhaps this is a Las Vegas standard, but it isn't something that should be found at a luxurious hotel like Bellagio. Finally getting our turn at check-in, we were told that our non-smoking room was not available, and that a non-smoking room might not be available that day at all. We accepted the smoking room, but when we arrived in the room, the smoking odor was overwhelming. Housekeeping agreed to "fog" the room, which helped somewhat, but not a lot. OK, now for the pluses... the room was very tastefully furnished and the bathroom was beautiful, complete with a separate spa tub and shower. It was fun to be able to operate the draperies electrically using the button on the wall next to the bed. The fountain shows in the front of the hotel were impressive and fun to watch. I will still choose another hotel for my next visit to Las Vegas.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hamburger Mary's Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Diner-Style Mary's
    This is a 50s diner-style Hamburger Mary's, unlike many of their other locations. The menu is the usual thing, with lots of specialty burgers. I particularly enjoyed eating al fresco on a beautiful afternoon in Vancouver.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Go for the GoGo Boys
    This is a really happening bar in a really hot location on Santa Monica Boulevard in West Hollywood. Drinks are on the expensive side. The bartenders are HOT and the GoGo Boys are HOTTER!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Art Institute & The Modern Wing Over a year ago
    Loves it

    What a Wonderful Museum!
    When I was a kid, my aunt used to take me to the Art Institute to expose me to some culture. It was above my head then, but now that I am an adult I am very grateful for that early influence. This is a beautiful museum with an impressive array of spectacular artwork. The Art Institute is really a world-class museum!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Le Méridien Barcelona Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Hotel in the Party Area of Barcelona
    This is a very nice European-style hotel with rooms on the small side. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Le Meridien is located on Las Ramblas, the party center of Barcelona. I happen to awake at 4:00 AM once, looked out the window, and saw hundreds of partying people strolling Las Ramblas. Barcelona is a late-night city!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Right Across from Waikiki Beach
    The Hyatt Regency Waikiki is conveniently located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach. The hotel lobby is located on the second floor, which is confusing for first-time visitors. I've stayed here a few times, and the comforts are what you would expect from a Hyatt Regency. The hotel consists of two towers. The views are better from the Diamond Head tower, but if you have an ocean view room, the views are all spectacular.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed San Diego Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the BEST Zoos!
    I can't believe that I'm the first to review the world-famous San Diego Zoo! What a great place! This is one of the country's best. What do I mention first? The giant pandas? The elephants? The lions and tigers? You name the animal and they have it here. If you like zoos, you can't miss this one. There is also an affiliated facility called the San Diego Wild Animal Park (in Escondido, north of San Diego) which is wonderful too.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed InterContinental London Park Lane Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Upscale Hotel in a Wonderful Location
    I've stayed at the London Inter Continental several times and I would book it for my next visit. This is an elegant upscale hotel in an excellent location on Park Lane at Hyde Park Corner. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and the bathrooms are very modern. The Hyde Park Corner tube stop on the Piccadilly line (right outside the front door) will speed you to your sightseeing destination. Hyde Park is across the street in one direction and Green Park is across the street in another direction. The Inter Continental is within walking distance of Buckingham Palace through beautiful Green Park. Sightseeing tours are available right around the corner on Piccadilly. Many fine restaurants are also within walking distance. And if you're looking for inexpensive food and a fun atmosphere, the original Hard Rock Cafe is right around the corner.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed John's Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Simple Diner-Style Food
    John's is not a gay restaurant, but they are very gay friendly. If you're looking for an inexpensive breakfast, lunch or dinner, this place is great. You walk up to the counter, place your order, pay, and they deliver to food to your booth. Omelets and sandwiches are very good. Salads are OK, but a little too heavy on the lettuce for me. The location on Palm Canyon Drive is convenient if you happen to be staying at Camp Palm Springs.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Radisson SAS Royal Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Nice Hotel and Very Good Location
    The description says that this is an exclusive luxury hotel, but I think that might be going too far. I would describe it as an upscale (but not exclusive) hotel right in the heart of Copenhagen. The interior design and architecture of The Royal are what I remember most. If you really want to see what Danish Modern design was supposed to be, try this hotel. The rooms are unusually large for a European hotel, with generous use of teak and sleek modern design, without being cold. The bathroom was large and beautifully done as well.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed House Without a Key Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Favorite Thing to Do in Waikiki
    House Without a Key is a small, informal open-air restaurant and bar located in the prestigious Halekulani Hotel on Waikiki Beach. They serve breakfast, lunch, cocktails and appetizers. The huge draw for me is the entertainment at sunset. I like to go immediately before sunset and order a cocktail and a sandwich. (This is the ONLY inexpensive thing you can do at the Halekulani Hotel!) No need to dress up. Casual attire is fine. Every evening, they feature Hawaiian music and hula dancers. For me, this is the epitome of a perfect evening in Waikiki--sitting in the open air, seeing the sun setting over the Pacific Ocean, listening to the relaxing Hawaiian music and watching the graceful hula dancers. This is my absolute favorite thing to do in Waikiki, and I do it on every visit!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Waikiki Beach Resort
    This resort is located directly across the street from Waikiki Beach, and has a prime location at the eastern end of Waikiki. The hotel consists of two towers. I recommend that you choose the tower closer to Waikiki Beach, and ask for a room with an ocean view or partial ocean view. I've stayed here 3 times, and I think the hotel is very good, but doesn't rank up there as excellent. There is a section of their parking garage that is self-park, which I prefer. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Hula's Bar, the only gay bar in Waikiki.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Palm Springs Art Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Interesting Small Art Museum
    This is a very small art museum, and certainly doesn't compete with the great ones. But it is a very nice little museum in its own right. I've visited several times. Earlier this year, the museum had a special exhibition of Wayne Thibault paintings that were very interesting. There was also a special exhibition of Robert Mapplethorpe photographs. For some reason, I'm always captivated by the huge white dog sculpture in the lobby. If you are an art lover, check the museum website for any special exhibitions that might be of interest to you. This is a wonderful place to spend a couple of quiet hours, and perhaps get a bite to eat in their little cafe.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Aerial Tramway Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Nervous the Whole Time!
    The Palm Springs Aerial Tramway has rotating tramcars that give passengers 360 degree views going up and coming back down Mt. San Jacinto. The temperature at the top might be 40 degrees cooler than the temperature on the valley floor, so you might need a jacket if you plan to spend time at the top. The views of the Coachella Valley are very impressive. So why was I nervous? A few years ago, one of the tramcars got stranded about halfway up the mountain, and the passengers were in that hanging car for several hours. Finally an employee, who happened to be a passenger, figured out how to free the tangled cable. Um... I would have been really upset by the experience, since I have some fear of heights. But everything ended well on my trip. The views were great. I'm not sure I would do it again though.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed French Quarter Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very Popular Gay Hangout
    This restaurant is located in the French Market Place on ultra-gay Santa Monica Boulevard in West Hollywood. I'm not sure what the hours are here, but it seems like the French Quarter is always open. Saturday nights are VERY busy and lots of fun. The clientele is almost exclusively gay. A small adjacent parking lot has space for a limited number of cars. Lunch/dinner food is stuff like burgers, salads, chicken dishes... nothing extraordinary, but always very tasty and dependable. And not expensive either.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My Favorite San Juan Hotel
    I haven't been here since last year, but I've stayed here SO many times in the past. It's my favorite hotel in San Juan. The location is wonderful, right on the Condado, and the hotel itself is very nice. Walk out the door, head to the left and enjoy the walk past some beautiful old Art Deco buildings reminiscent of Miami Beach. There are a couple of gay bars within walking distance, which is very convenient. Lots of restaurants are nearby as well. Next time I'm in San Juan, this will once again be my hotel of choice.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Living Desert Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fascinating Zoo and Botanical Garden
    If you are as fascinated by the flora and fauna of the desert as I am, then take a few hours out of your morning and visit The Living Desert. I recommend morning because of temperatures. Also, I suggest bringing some bottled water along to keep hydrated during warmer months. Of course, the park also sells beverages at the various stands and cafes. There is an extensive collection of animals and plants, and this is a good place to learn about desert life. I particularly enjoyed the giraffes, but there are a lot of other animals on the grounds as well.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Huntington Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful and Charming
    The Huntington is a lot of things. It's a library, an art museum and a beautiful botanical garden. You can spend hours here, strolling through the gardens and just taking in the lovely quiet ambience of the place. Take a look inside the charming Rose Garden Tea Room, even if you don't treat yourself to the traditional English tea, complete with scones and finger sandwiches and cheeses and petits-fours. The art museum section is small, but has a couple of famous Gainsborough paintings that are worth a look. I've been here 3 times, and my favorite thing to do is just walk through the beautiful gardens--the visit is worth it just for that!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Queen Mary Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Beautiful Ship from a Different Era
    Many of us are accustomed to the huge sleek white cruise ships of today that take us on whirlwind vacations to warm destinations. Well, the Queen Mary is a gorgeous ship from a different era. It was built to withstand trans-Atlantic voyages, so the architecture of the ship is much different from the mega-ships of today. I highly recommend a visit to the Queen Mary, and, by all means, take the guided tour--it's well worth the additional cost.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed The Getty Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Just OK for me
    I feel almost controversial giving an art museum only 3 stars. But The Getty just doesn't rise to the level of a world-class art museum in my mind. First, I find the location (set on top of a mountain) as aloof and elitist. Second, I find the architecture of the buildings to be cold and almost sterile. And third, the art itself is pretty much limited to classical pieces (not my favorite). Sorry, but I just wasn't wowed by The Getty.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed El Paseo Shopping District Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Upscale Shopping in Palm Desert
    I agree with the reviewer who questioned the wisdom of building an outdoor mall in the desert. So El Paseo is fairly dead (and really hot!) in the summer. But during the other 9 months, it's a great place to stroll around or visit the many upscale shops and restaurants. Shop or just enjoy the ambience of the place.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Will Rogers Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Check Out the Meat!
    I agree with the other reviewer who said this wasn't his favorite beach in the L. A. area, but this is THE place to go to watch the boys! Will Rogers is the place to see the latest in Speedos and AussieBums. Put on your sunscreen and your sunglasses and go sightseeing! You'll love all the delicious bulges!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Bossa Nova Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Really Fun Little Place
    It's hard to describe what I really love about Bossa Nova. It's the exact opposite of formal. Rustic and worn, maybe, but in a good way? The sandwiches and pasta dishes are unusual and really delicious. The atmosphere is VERY casual. The waitstaff is friendly and kinda sexy. And the location is so convenient to all the hot stuff in West Hollywood. I'd definitely go back!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Ramada WeHo Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Very Good Location but Very Plain Hotel
    The location is very convenient on Santa Monica Boulevard, within walking distance of all of the great gay clubs and restaurants in West Hollywood. The rooms are really plain, in my opinion. I guess the decorator was going for 50s modern, but I think the look is fairly cold and uninviting. The location is really the big plus at this hotel, but I doubt that I would stay here again. The parking is NOT free. It's a whopping $27 a day!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Shame on the Moon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Great Experience
    My partner and I have been to Shame on the Moon three times and it has always been a pleasure. All three times I enjoyed beautifully seasoned pasta dishes, and my partner marvelled about his well-prepared seafood. The host or hostess welcomed us as if we were guests in their home. The waitstaff were charming, helpful and non-intrusive. Be sure to call for a reservation, because this restaurant fills up fast. For a special treat, ask to be seated in the Garden Room, which has a lovely romantic and intimate atmosphere.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Campus Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Whatever body type you like--something for you!
    There is a great variety of dancers at Campus. Definitely something for every taste. The night dancers tend to be beefier than the day dancers, if that helps you to pick the time that is appropriate for you. Campus has a ladies' night on Sunday (from 9 PM to 3 AM), so I prefer to stay away then. Note: before you agree to a private dance, be sure to talk to the dancer about what is permissible when you get in the back.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Stock Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Fun Sexy Place
    My partner and I have been to Stock Bar several times, and we always have a great time. Before you go for a private dance, be sure to ask the dancer what he is willing to do, so you aren't surprised when you get to the back. To be clear, this is a venue that is geared toward gay men. Most of the dancers are gay, but some may be straight. If that bothers you and you want to know, just ask them. The straight ones usually like to talk about their girlfriends.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Serious Food Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Fun Restaurant on Palm Canyon
    I've been here with my partner three times and we both LOVE the atmosphere! That's really the big draw. The menu is fairly extensive from their signature burgers to other sandwiches to salads and full entrees. And delicious looking desserts. The burgers are excellent. The salads were not bad, but not exciting. I can't comment on the other food, since we haven't tried it. But I would definitely recommend Hamburger Mary's for their famous burgers and for the great atmosphere!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Boardwalk Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This Place is Fun!
    Guys, before you decide to go, keep in mind that there is a cover charge (which includes a drink). Also keep in mind that some of the dancers are straight. I was able to tell in most cases if they were gay or straight, but when I was in doubt I just asked them. I prefer to tip the gay guys. Some of the dancers are hot and some are not. If they are persistent, don't be afraid to tell them that you're not interested--they are working for tips, and if you aren't interested, they don't want to waste their time. Overall, I think this is a fun place, and I will definitely return.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No Big Thrill Anymore
    I have to agree with the review right below me. Back in its old location, this placed rocked! I loved being outside under the stars on a warm Waikiki night. But something happened when they moved. Not only is there no outdoor area in the new location, but it just doesn't have the same fun, relaxed feel to it anymore. The strip shows are fine with me, but the crowd just doesn't seem very receptive to them. Hula's is worth a stop, but don't expect too much.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Queen's Surf Beach Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not Very Gay Anymore
    This is an OK beach if you are staying in Waikiki, but the gay scene is not very hot here anymore. Lots of families have discovered the beach and Kapiolani park behind it. I noticed a few gay men here the last few times I visited, but not enough to maintain its old reputation. Too bad.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Warm Sands Villas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly Management and All-around Pleasant Place
    I could not decide if I should give Warm Sands Villas 3 stars or 4. I opted for 4 stars mostly because of the charming management here. I have stayed here twice and every single employee treated me as if I were a guest in his home--charming and friendly and pleasant. The room I stayed in had kind of a casita feel to it. Most of the other visitors were mature men, and consequently the sexual heat level here is on the low side. The description indicates that you can enjoy the sun on the rooftop deck, but I never noticed a rooftop deck, so I am not sure about that. Overall, I had a good time, and I would recommend Warm Sands Villas to the more mature traveler who is looking for a calmer atmosphere.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed INNdulge Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love that 50s Modern Front
    The facade of InnDulge is hands-down the best look in the Warms Sands area of Palm Springs. I go out of my way to take a look every time I'm in the area. The owners are the best and friendliest of any of the gay resort operators in Palm Springs. (Some others operators need to take note!) Jean-Guy and John are always great hosts. The rooms are, in my opinion, somewhat ordinary, but always clean and neat. This resort is geared toward a more mature male traveler who is looking for a friendly atmosphere. The sexual heat level here is on the low side, which can be very appealing if you are looking for a nice calm environment.

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed CCBC Resort Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Outdoor Fun
    You can make yourself amazingly busy in the outdoor venues here. There is the nature trail, and then there's Danny's Dungeon (complete with a sling) and the sauna, and more. I would have given CCBC 5 stars for the hot time I had every time, but I took off a star because of the condition of the rooms. The furnishings are old and worn, and the rooms aren't as clean as they could be. But definitely go if you love outdoor action!!!

  • YourPalPete
    YourPalPete reviewed Kaiser Grille Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loved My Delicious Al Fresco Lunch
    This is my favorite place in Palm Springs for sidewalk dining. I've been here several times for lunch with my partner, but we have never had dinner here. The salads and sandwiches are unbeatable, made with delicious fresh ingredients. All of the waitstaff were excellent--polite, helpful and not intrusive. Besides salads and sandwiches, the lunch menu also includes some choices of thin-crust pizza, although we have never tried them. Ask to be seated outdoors and enjoy the view of the passersby on Palm Canyon Drive. I believe the owners of Kaiser Grille also own other restaurants, including the famous Hog Breath Inn in beautiful Carmel.