VickieCollins

Vickie Collins, 64MTF. I am a crossdresser who lives in Nashville, Tn and loves to travel and meet new people. Since I joined here, I have been to New Orleans twice and Philaphia once. Of the two there is no question that New Orleans is "my city". I am still thinking about moving to NO, but would have to get more life than the bars to do so. I am sure there are lots of th ings fro people to do there..such as shows (either drag or other types), maybe by the krewes etc. Any suggestions would be welcome.

Nashville, Tennessee
Joined May 2010
24 Followers 16 Following

37 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Double Play French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Golden Lantern French Quarter, New Orleans
  • The Phoenix Bar Marigny, New Orleans
  • Tavern on Camac Washington Square West, Philadelphia
  • Woody's Washington Square West, Philadelphia

Cities

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Mag's 940 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    great club
    This year, I was able to spend more time at this club and found it to be a very welcoming, friendly club. I saw 2 drag shows, both benefits and both shows were excellent and fun!! The clientele is very friendly.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed GrandPre's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    friendly bar
    ***there have been some major changes in the last year, in fact it was closed, waiting to reopen under new management. I am not so keen on the "new" club situation but time will tell**** Both the clientelle and the staff are for the most part friendly. The drag queens are a delight socially. I joined a couple of them on a side trip to another bar...in their car, just like old friends. I feel at home here. (this bar is now closed, scheduled to re-open under new management, but time will tell)

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Golden Lantern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    very friendly neighborhood bar
    Very nice, loved the bartender (think his name was Josh), friendly fun people. Just a nice place to hang out and have a drink.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed The Phoenix Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    wonderfully friendly
    I was a bit nervous about going to this bar, as the "leather" part of it's rep made me think perhaps the presense of a crossdresser was not a welcome event. Boy was I wrong!!! This bar had the nicest bartenders...Hank and Wayne, and 2 others who's names I have forgetter were very friendly..made me feel right at home. Two thumbs up!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Marigny Brasserie Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very nice place
    My last visit, in December of 2011, I had the fried chicken...count 'em FOUR pieces of fried chicken. I ended up taking two of them back to the hotel for later...I think the next day. The food was good, plentiful, reasonable, and the waitstaff was friendly. Kinda made me feel at home....and did I say yet that the waiters are CUTE?? I know not really necessarily a part of the purpose, but it helps MY appetite..(wink)

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Tavern on Camac Over a year ago
    Hates it

    a laid back club
    Tavern on Camac is a laid back atmosphere, altought not necessarily a place to get to know people more likely a place to go as a group. But they do have a variety of things going on from a piano player to dancing. Unfortunately, it is just about the best that Philly has to offer. Altough there seems to be a diverse crowd they all seem to know each other...or be in groups at any rate. However, unlike most of the other bars I went to, I did at least find one friendly bartender who was winning to talk to me about dinning possibilities etc.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Venture Inn Over a year ago
    Hates it

    My favorite bar in Philly
    This is my favorite bar in Philly, but that is probably because I lucked out and met a hot guy there, and it was good as weekend, vacation romances go. In addition, I met a couple other people who were fairly friendly. Other than that, Venture Inn, like the rest of the gay scene in Philly seems to bascially ignore people who are visiting...at least that was my experience.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Reading Terminal Market Over a year ago
    Loves it

    nice place to see lots of people and to eat
    very crowded with all sorts of people just about any day of the week apparently...I was there twice during my 4 day visit to the city. One heck of a grocery store with plenty of eateries thrown in. Ate there, and found the food fast and good.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Knock Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Elegant but friendly
    The food is excellent and comes in good quantity. Very tasty. The service is friendly and without attiude which is often found in the more "elegant" restaurants. I liked it probably best of the restaurants in Philly that I went to.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Woody's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Sorry NOT a good experience
    I went to this place twice, on hopes that the first experience was a flunk. The first time I paid 4.00 for a bottle of water, and was ignored..the second time I got a drink and was then ignored. Not even a smile from the bartender. I know it is one of the "big bars" in Philly but I cant give this club a good review....sorry.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed The Calypso Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite Calypso
    Yes, The Calypso Cafe is a chain here in Nashville. All of them feature the same wonderful food...black bean Nachos, roasted chicken, and all sorts of vegatables. It is a Carribean type restaurant, and this one, on Thompson is one of the oldest, and has always been my favorite..

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Couva Calypso Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Another of a local chain
    I have never eaten at this particular Calypso Cafe, however, I have eaten at two or three of the others located around Nashville. Specifically the one in East Nashville and the one on Thompson lane. Both of them have a funky fun appeal and excellently prepared Carribean food. I cant imagine that any of them (and there are about 10) are anything but accepting and cordial but since I seem to be having trouible getting the other two (that I HAVE visited) posted as seperate restaurants, I would just suggest that if you are in Nashville and in the mood for funky fun Carribbean food, that you look up Calypso either in the phone book or on the web at the link above to determine which one is closest to you.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Calypso Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Calypso comes to East Nashville
    This Calypso is in my neighborhood which makes it convenient to me, incidently East Nashville is one of the more GLBT inclusive communities in the city. Same wonderful food (Black Beans, Black Bean Nachos, other vegatables and roached chicken), same funky atmosphere.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Tribe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    more disappointed
    I used to say that this place came to Nashville saying "the alternative bar for the alternative crowd with no attitude" and that they were alternative and as to the staff managed the no attitude. However, they do not have controll of the customer's attitudes. I am disappointed in this club because the last couple times I was there, the staff didnt even seem all that friendly. Reds was already my favorite part of this complex and with the closure of it, my interest in this establishment is definitely waaay way down. They do have a good sound and video system however for those that value that, and if you are with a group, you can have a fun time.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed St. Peter Guest House Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No, No!!!
    I stayed here in 2008, and found the male staff to be almost universally surly and unpleasant even being rude to a friend trying to connect with me. --and I mean just by phone to arrange to meet to go out and party...NOT a sexual hook up. The women that worked there were nice and friendly, but one never knew when they would be on duty. Not a positive experience for me....the electricity went out, the staff was surly, and I swore I would NEVER stay here again.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Stirrup Nashville Over a year ago
    Loves it

    has great possibilities
    This bar tends to get crowded..and I mean really really crowded, and when it does, I am not comfortable particularly. However, the staff is friendly, the crowd is not usually hostile, and it is a generally nice place to get a drink. They have special "group nights" when groups can provide food and/or beer and make it a group outing. That is a nice community touch. I also like the patio, and have found myself engaging in conversation with people that it surprised me to be able to converse with, being somewhat shy around new people. Certainly a place to try more than once.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Trax Over a year ago
    Hates it

    growing on me
    I used to feel uncomfortable in this place. However, recently I have started going here again, and realize that, at least during the day, the bartenders are nice and friendly. I will probably always pick my times, namely saturday afternoon NOT saturday night, but still not as bad as I used to think...so give it another chance if you havent tried recently.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Best Western Landmark French Quarter Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to stay
    Altought it is off the beaten path, on one edge of the French Quarter, and the elevator is tiny, the room and the staff make up for it. The bed was a king size and there were two bedside tables and a desk.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Dauphine Orleans Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place
    .......to stay, at least it was in 2003 or 2008 when I was there. Since then I have been involved in parking in the garage. The staff never fails to be very gracious and accommadating. Very GLBT friendly. Also addressing me by the correct pronoun when dressed.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Cafe Coco Over a year ago
    Hates it

    ok, not great
    I have only eaten here once...not exactly a congenial crowd for me...maybe due to my age. But still the food is good. Might try it again.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Suzy Wong's House of Yum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food
    This is Asian, and that is my favorite kind of food overall. However, it has some touches that are only found here. Very nice atmosphere, and good food.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Batter'd & Fried Boston Seafood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food
    What more needs to be said....I have even gotten where I like the sushi. Good place to eat.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Brennan's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun every blue moon
    As a T-girl, I strongly recommend trying this place at least once. It was re-inforce your "getting your girl on" in a very affirming way. The staff treats you like a queen. It is more than a tad expensive at about 60.00 a person but I recommend it if only as a one time thing.

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed Clover Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    love the breakfast all day
    The food is good...just simply "home cooking", nothing fancy, but its great to be able to get some breakfast any time you need in. And with the drinking in the city going all 24 hours, you just never know when that might be. :)

  • VickieCollins
    VickieCollins reviewed The Double Play Over a year ago
    Loves it

    love this bar
    While I know that working boys and t-girls hang out in and around this establishment, I have never had any of them force themselves on me. And I have also found that the staff is very forthcoming about who can be trusted and who cant not be. The staff is your friend here. Bearing that in mnd, this is a very nice, fun bar with friendly people, and sometimes you can even meet someone that might become a romantic partner...(wink)