TravellerPaul

52M.

Vancouver, Canada
Joined Feb 2018

Following 0 people

10 Loved Places

Listings

  • Fountainhead Pub Davie Village, Vancouver
  • Club Church Kerkstraat, Amsterdam
  • Playa Los Muertos Playa los Muertos, Puerto Vallarta
  • F212 Steam Vancouver Vancouver
  • Steam1 New Westminster

Events

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Playa Los Muertos 6 days ago
    Hates it

    Great place if you enjoy sitting on a beach surrounded by fellow gays drinking and having a laugh. But if you want to play in the ocean or swim, forget it: dangerous undertow, and typical grey / brown unappealing coloured Pacific ocean here. Travel to another beach where the waters are somewhat protected, or even just walk down the beach, south, and find a safer place to enter the water.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Magnum Sauna 3 months ago
    Loves it

    Great place. Nice staff. Various areas for all kinds of experiences: relax, socialize, or go for sex encounters among the mix of public and private spaces. Impressed to see very little drug use on my 3 days in a row visits. Guys are not as hot as what I saw on the streets, but a great mix of all kinds come here. More safe sex here than other cities. I like my guys more assertive and sleazy so I found it hard to get past the conservative disposition of most of the Hungarians. Otherwise a great cross-section of Internationals come here. This place also has a connection to Coxx Bar / Cafe, which has its own sleazy vibe downstairs.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Hamburger Mary's Diner 7 months ago
    Hates it

    CLOSED down recently as it never really got off the ground. Bad reno and bland decor. Couple of huge annoying TV screens. The original retro decor and late-night hours made it a hit. Makes you wonder how such a central location can be so poorly executed to fail.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Fountainhead Pub 7 months ago
    Loves it

    This is a restaurant IMO, not a pub. Food is decent, typical watery Vancouver BC drinks. Too much TV lighting, and sports content. Not really gay as it's a local hangout for everyone. Plastic wrapped patio, ugh. I rarely visit but it always appears busy.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Club Church 7 months ago
    Loves it

    I did very little homework before visiting Amsterdam for the, long-overdue, first time. Club Church was right around the corner from my hotel! The first evening was a mostly-naked 'underwear' event. I ventured around the average-sized, festive, crowded place and discovered the action going on upstairs in the open back room. Lots. Of. Fun. Exhausted and spent, I went home. 2 nights later there was another spirited event under way. The upstairs was absent of the crazy, sexy vibe I experienced prior. Then, I spied the downstairs dark room that I missed the previous visit. Loads. Of. Fun. I did plenty of things in Netherlands, but my visits to Club Church are truly memorable.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Steam1 7 months ago
    Hates it

    Steam 1 is in the lovely suburb of New Westminster, convenient to parking options and the transit line. On my first visit a couple of years ago I was surprised at how small it was, but functional enough. I realize now that I just lucked out on a decently located room, and met up with the only 2 hot guys in the crowd. Good steam room. A small work out area. My second visit was at the end of the day when the City celebrated Pride. There was a line up all the way down the entrance stairs. I had a quick toke of weed and just beat the cue by seconds. Inside I was deflated: blaring TV with a bunch of guys standing around hypnotized to its media. Buzz kill. My private room had a computer desk right outside it where guys would be literally outside your door net-surfing. Buzz kill. I asked to switch rooms and was 'upgraded' to one across from the blaring TV audio area, which was also piped into my room's audio. Buzz Kill. The staff cheerfully refunded my money. They now feature co-ed at times. Check ahead. I prefer an all-male scene. Convenient for those East of Vancouver, but not on my hit list any longer.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Steamworks Vancouver 7 months ago
    Loves it

    Steamworks is downtown, close to transit and a car parkade at Tinseltown Mall across the street. Vancouver's only legitimate option IMO. Staff are way nicer than previous; they've had some real assholes and idiots. It still needs some work: some permanently inoperable showers, smells like piss or meth too much in some areas, decline in cleaning supplies ( spartan water and paper towel supply). No hair dryer. Bring your own lube. Good set up on 2 floors. Sometimes the TV upstairs is too loud and kills the cruising buzz. The steam room is sizeable and gives a good steam. Variety of functional private rooms. Heat distribution varies, so inquire. Decent sauna. A couple of legitimate dark room area comprised of walls and walls with holes. Has a hot tub. Pretty decent gym / work out set up too. Always predictable sex / club music. 2 private downstairs toilets have convenient nozzles for douching equipment. Population varies of course, but always a cross-section of what you want, and don't want. :)

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed F212 Steam Vancouver 7 months ago
    Hates it

    This tragic facility exists in prime Gay Village territory, amongst all that makes the Davie / English Bay area so popular. Here's the problem: the beds are really high up, and really narrow. What's the point of going after knowing that? It is crucial. Unbecoming layout where you cruise in a figure 8, always passing thru the lit up reception and TV area. Buzz kill. In their little steam room you make 'friends' more easily as it is pretty intimate. Decent hot tub. They have a very nominal workout area. No douching facility. Music is unpredictable. Staff can be nice or nasty. I live close by but have to make the trek to Steamworks for a worthwhile experience. Call me when you renovate...I'm waiting.

  • TravellerPaul
    TravellerPaul reviewed Sauna G.I. Joe 7 months ago
    Loves it

    I visited Montreal for a week and went here. Alot. Huge variety of men, lots of stairs / floors, great music, sexy atmosphere. Keeping it in perspective, I was 'fresh meat', and got laid. Alot. They supply lube and condoms. I douched ahead of time as I saw no nozzles / douching stations anywhere. Every bathhouse should facilitate this and make it convenient. Clean please! I also tried 2 other places but they paled in comparison. Use of drugs was obvious but that's everywhere. Cigarette smoking in rooms is forbidden but the rule was broken and it was really awful at times. Bring your earplugs to chill out.