Traveler1022

56M.

Gambrills, Maryland
Joined Jun 2008

Following 0 people

22 Loved Places

Listings

  • BJ Roosters Midtown, Atlanta
  • Burkhart's Midtown, Atlanta
  • Heretic Midtown, Atlanta
  • Swinging Richards Midtown, Atlanta
  • Denver Wrangler Five Points, Denver

Cities

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed BJ Roosters Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Nice Mix
    We've been to their new location a few times now and always have a good time. There is a nice mix of dancers, something for most everyone. Several will come over to talk each time we visit. Yes, they do always list their prices for "extra attention." But, if/when you decline, they're still friendly. The staff never seems as mercenary as it does at Swinging Richards or Bliss.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Felix's on The Square Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Very Cliquish
    My husband and I are new to Atlanta and looking for a regular place to go. We spent a long very smokey evening at Felix's where no one but the bartenders spoke to us. Everyone else stuck to their cliques and avoided us. Karaoke began several hours beyond the announced start time and was dominated by several people who arrived just in time to participate. The drinks were weak. (I usually get a buzz by the time I finish one drink. After several drinks at Felix's, I was still clear headed.) Will we go back? Probably not ... certainly not without our own clique in tow.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Saloon1 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    No Longer "Men Only"
    I visited Saloon One several times during February 2012. This included a Friday night where there was a contest for the “best” of various body parts among participants. This should have been fun, but was not. (Almost no one entered the contests!) This “men’s only bar” also allowed a woman in and she wandered around disrupting what could have been plenty of action. I knew she did not sneak in since the bar employees and contest MC chatted with her. I had stopped by Saloon One several previous nights after leaving other bars, but it was always very quiet. When I had been in town a few years ago, there was always a crowd at Saloon One and I had a great time every night. I guess the popularity of this bar has already peaked.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Denver Wrangler Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfortable Neighborhood Bar
    I have been to Wranglers a few times, always in the early evening. It has a nice local atmosphere and most everyone knows everyone else. Not that this was a problem, they were all friendly and happy to meet someone new. I enjoyed my visits and intend to drop by the next time I am in Denver.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed North Shores (Gordon Pond Wildlife Area) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Best Gay Beach in Delaware
    AKA “Whiskey Beach” This is always the perfect place to go for a relaxing day at the beach. It’s away from the boardwalk and usual touristy atmosphere. To get there from Rehoboth Beach, follow Ocean Drive north along the ocean. It leads right into the State Park. There is a reasonable entrance fee (currently $4 to $8 a carload). Or free, if you walk or bicycle in. The gay beach is north of the jetty, so park as far north as possible, walk across the dune line toward the sea, then bearing to the left. Typically, the majority of the lesbians will be settled nearest the jetty. Although, the entire beach area can be mixed --- gay men, lesbians and families (both gay and straight). Generally, the farther north you walk, the fewer families and women you will see. Although, if you reach the towers (left over from WWII), you will likely encounter surf fishermen. There are no lifeguards in this area of the beach (north of the jetty). There is a sparse beach patrol that will casually check to make sure you don’t have any alcohol or glass bottles. A decade or so ago, you would frequently see nude sunbathers along the dunes here. But, no longer. Make sure you bring plenty to drink. There are limited amenities, some porta-johns and an umbrella rental shack with very basic food (of the hot dog and chips variety).

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Annie's Paramount Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A DC Landmark
    The restaurant has been here for decades and always has great food. Especially, the steaks and seafood. Everytime I visit Annie's I am treated like family. The restaurant is also within walking distance to many of the most popular Washington, DC bars. The downtown location does not seem to have a web page, but their Maryland location does --- http://www.annies.biz/

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed JR's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Crowded & Cliquish
    I try to avoid this place, but sometimes it’s a convenient place to stop in for a quick drink. The building is long and narrow, which means as soon as it gets busy, you can’t move. Somehow, even though I am a local, JR’s has always made me feel like I don’t belong. Too many of the guys seem to think the rest of us are there to admire them.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Green Lantern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always A Friendly Atmosphere
    A comfortable neighborhood bar. There’s never any attitude. Underwear night (Saturdays) can be fun. If only the bartenders would strip down to their underwear too! (They do on occasion.)

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Little Azio Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Unimpressed
    We’d heard nice things about this restaurant. But, weren’t impressed. Our pasta dishes were bland. I suspect this is more of a pizza hangout than an Italian restaurant.

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Joe's on Juniper Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Must To Visit.
    We stopped for a quick dinner our first evening in Atlanta. The wait staff was slow and seemed preoccupied with how they had each spent their day. But, when the food arrived, it made up for everything. A few days later, we stopped for lunch. This was a different group of waiters, and they were animated and engaging. Our waiter, Bryen realized we were new in town and sat down for a few minutes to share his thoughts about the city. A few days later, we made another visit for dinner and again were impressed by the staff and food that night. The outside dining was perfect for the warm weather. It has a neighborly, laid back feel that allowed us to relax and enjoy our meals. We will definitely go back!

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Cowtippers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perfect!
    Great food, great service, great prices, a perfect meal! Outside patio dining on a warm evening with a staff that attended to our every need. Who can ask for more? I can’t wait to go back!

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A Disappointment
    We were hoping for a sexy strip show similar to what we had been to many times in Washington, DC and other cities. What we got was major tease and little else, at a high cost. Parking $3, entry fee $10, there is a rest room attendant expecting a tip (he’s perched on a stool blocking the sink). Several guys repeatedly approach customers selling shots and lap dances for $10 or more. You’re not allowed to touch the dancers. They remain clothed too much of the time and not one of them ever got an erection. The web page says the club never allows bachelorette parties, it is for gay men only. Yet there were a lot of women there, and many of the dancers seemed to focus on them. Other than the fees I mentioned so far, you can also buy admission to a “private area” in the back for another $10 where you then have the option to rent a dancer for a more intimate encounter at prices starting around $50 and up for 15 minutes or more. I realize this is a business. But, I needed to feel special and not that I was only there to hand over my wallet. Will I go back? Absolutely not!

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Heretic Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Perfect Evening
    This was a perfect night out! Several bars, each with friendly bartenders. The music was current and the dance floor crowded with hot men. The atmosphere was inviting, we could feel the sexual energy in the air as soon as we walked in. Will we go there again? Absolutely! Again and again!

  • Traveler1022
    Traveler1022 reviewed Burkhart's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    OK, But Needs Work
    After reading the glowing reviews here, We were looking forward to our visit. We should have realized from Burhart’s (outdated) web page that the place might focus on drag. The other customers all seemed to know each other, so we “tourists” felt out of place. Our bartender (Stephen) was very friendly, so we mostly chatted with him. While we waited for the announced karaoke to start (the web page says “sign up 10:30 pm”) we began to see more and more drag. Then, a drag show began and it went on and on until nearly closing. By the time the karaoke started, we were ready to leave. I suspect this place is a lot more entertaining when there isn’t a drag show. There is a large back patio (too cool that night to enjoy), and several bar areas. Will we go back? Possibly, but only with a contingency plan.