Texasfruit

Dale A, 48M. Just a single guy that's a curious traveler that really digs into research prior to taking any trip. Been to many wonderful and cool places and willing to share tips on World Travel. Read some of my reviews to get an idea of what I like/don't like. Lived in Melbourne, Australia for a bit too!

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Joined Aug 2007
111 Followers 96 Following

82 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Midnight Sun The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco
  • Lone Star Saloon SOMA, San Francisco
  • Powerhouse SOMA, San Francisco

Cities

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Tulsa Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's a local watering hole!
    Ok, don't go here expecting a young 20's crowd! This place is for Men that are more into their 30's/40's where there is no attitude or pretense! No fashion statements going on in here, just strong drinks and good fun! The bartenders are the best in town and if you tip them well you'll be getting doubles all nite long! There is a small dance floor here, and a stripper pole if that's your thing! Open patio is great for hot summer nights, and sometimes they have a rocking Sunday afternoon session out there too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Crew Bar + Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A good bar to be in!
    Was here for a Blackhawks game and the atmosphere was electric! While the Hawks lost, the patrons really added to the experience! Flat screens throughout played all the hockey, womens tennis, and Sportcenter you could watch, the table service was AMAZING (Thanks Josh!!), and his recommendations for food was spot on! Drafts were $3.50, mixed drinks $6.50, and really tasty 'pub style' food = another visit! Well done!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Railway Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun place on a sunny Sunday!
    Railway is a good place to catch a cold beverage, meet up with mates, watch the DJ, and cruise some of the locals. It's a younger crowd (under 30), but its still a good spot. Huge outdoor patio for days with good weather!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Sircuit Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sircuit
    This is a fun bar to play pool in, listening to some hot tunes, cold beers, and some H O T men too! Usually gets busy later in the evening, but you never know what's gonna show up! If you are in town to visit, this is a MUST see!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Laird Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Can be good fun, but not always....
    I go here often enough and it's very hit or miss. Some nights it's filled with friendly bears and leathermen, and other nights it's me, the bartenders, and a few other patrons. Check their website before going as there are some dress code nights that can be FUN! Overall, if you're a tourist looking for friendly guys, cold beers, and really good service, it never hurts to give this place a try!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Beresford Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing Space!!
    Huge modern bar, great outdoor space, and a PACKED house on Sunday afternoons make me yearn for a quick return to Sydney. Drinks were fairly quick for such a busy place, but it's the space of this place that will bring me back! Music was good, I found friendly people too! It's a MUST if you're going to be around on a Sunday!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Stonewall Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Was fun for me!
    The place was full the nights I was there, and there was even some bad drag to go with it! Was a fun place, friend people inside, but the drinks were a bit slow (it happens when it's crowded tho). Overall, it's worth a look if you're in town. I only found out AFTER I left Sydney it's got 3 floors, so I'll be back to check them out too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Midnight Shift Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Every night is 80's night
    'Cause it's full of people that old. Not too impressed with this place. It's big, and the 12 people in the place just don't fill it up. The drag show usually keeps me interested, but I was up to the bar in minutes just to get away. The drinks were fast, because there wasn't a crowd, but that's about the best I can say. Go here if you want to get away from the busier bars, maybe?

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Family Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    If you're up for a dance....
    This is the place late at night for a dance, good music and a full dance floor. However, it's not for the older crowd (35+) as it was filled with twinks and their girlfriends. The music was top 40, and it was a completely mixed crowd. Bartenders were quick, happy hour had good prices, but an empty place at happy hour.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Urge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cool Space.....
    Was there Nov. 12, and while it's a small space, the bartenders were quick with a cold drink! The guys that go there are easy to chat with, so I made friends quickly! Not much of a patio, or dance area, but this had little draw-back in my book.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed B-Side Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Food!
    Have been here several times and each time the food is excellent! Crisp hashbrowns, tasty grits, really, really good food! Now, if only the service would catch up! A good spot to see a few of the locals, fill up your belly with some good food, and start your day off right! Enjoy!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Henri's Just One More Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Place!
    Was here for Halloween '10, the place is cozy (small) so get there early if you want a table or extra space. Good music

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Barracks Over a year ago
    Hates it

    oh my!
    Was here for the Sunday Beer Bust during Leather Pride weekend. Place was packed w/ hairy 40-somethings

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Hunters Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    good spot for tourists!
    Was there several times over a 5 day trip Nov 12-16. Was not packed, but busy enough for good eye-candy. Bertenders were quick, drinks were strong, and music was top 40/club trax. I had success meeting locals

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Dru's Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    fun Place
    I was here this weekend, was a great neighborhood bar! Very friendly

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Quest Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Ugh, really?
    Was here Easter weekend, and this place was harder to get into than Ft. Knox! ID's, application forms at the door, long lines, slow, slow, slow. However, once inside the music was great! Service was slow, but the place was packed!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Flying Biscuit Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food!
    Good food, but not the best I've ever had. Omelette was a bit bland, but the biscuit was pretty damn delish. Also, midtown location is good for cruising the local guys, definately check this place out!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed FLEX Spas (Flexbaths) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It was a bit slow . .
    Here on a Thursday, from 4 pm on and it was slow (15 people?)! I didn't get the feeling it was overly clean by seeing a condom and cock ring in the shower area either. Not many nooks/crannies to hide from prying eyes either. Heck, one 70 yr old was pretty bold @ what he wanted! Try it later maybe, or on the weekend for better results.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Spendy....
    It was $3 to park, and $10 to enter so for $13 up front it wasn't worth it. Drinks are $1 more here than anywhere else, and while the strippers ARE hot, they walk around and constantly ask you to buy them a drink or go back into the VIP room. bartenders were quick and the music & show are good, but bring a big wallet!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Mixx Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Smoke Free!!
    Only bar in Atlanta that's smoke free. Thursday night was a bear event, and free pizza! the patrons were nice and friendly, the service was good too! Would definately be back to this place, but the music was on a loop and repeated frequently.....

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Burkhart's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's a Pub!
    Was under the impression this was a bar, but it's a Pub - so food and tables. Quick service and decent music to go with it. Was a good time for a few drinks until the next place, not really an all night hang out place.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Atlanta Eagle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Thursday ain't it!
    Was here 4-1-10 and the place was empty. Granted, there was a recent scare w/ the whole police raid thing, but less than 20 people total? I think it's got to have a big weekend crowd.....

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed In Fine Spirits Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfortable place, mixed crowd, great staff!
    Went here late on 11/20/2009, ordered a chees try only to be told kitchen was closed (midnight). Manager opened for us tho and it was worth it! Cheeses are delish and the selection of craft beer was impressive! Great place for a nosh, or a quiet conversation! Will be back here!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Marty's Martini Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    3 IS too much!
    Was here 11/19/2009 n had 3 Manhattens. WHEW!! The drinks are great, but strong so be careful! Super small space where 15 people FILL this bar. Staff is great tho, n drinks come quick n easy! If you dont mind crowds, try this place on a Saturday night, definately worth it!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Atmosphere (@mosphere) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Get a table for the best view!!
    Went there on 11/20/2009, was my first time too. Place filled up early, @ 9:30-10. Go-go's were cute but not over the top hot. The table we were sitting at was eye level to the 'goods' that were being shook in my face -yay! Good music but an older crowd - FOR SURE! May be younger later. Drinks were fast n cold tho!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Crocker Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good neighborhood bar
    Was here in Oct '09, great place to start the night. Parking is easy here, so avoid the $10 lots. Drinks are strong and quick, and the bartender even gave me a shot (free). Music was great, but LOUD for the space. Local guys just hangin out with no pretense, good time!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed JR's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It's all right.
    Was here in Oct '09, and while it's not overly shiny or new, JR's holds to the standard of JR's everywhere. Good drinks, good service, and a diverse group of willing guys. Back patio area, strippers, pool table - this is a good place to hang, but not great.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Hotel Indigo at the Galleria Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wow! Who knew?
    Botique hotel by the Galleria, great prices to stay here! King leisure room was huge, with all the amenities of a 3.5 star hotel! Can't beat the location, or the price! No charge for parking, room service available, excellent staff! I'll stay here again!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Stirrup Nashville Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice place, nice people!
    I liked this place! Filled with 35+ folks that are just out for a good time, you won't find attitude here. Back patio that is nice, if a bit narrow. Head to the BBQ area for a bit of touchy-feely, if you care to. This one is a must for the older/cruiser crowd! Fast service and STRONG drinks, too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Trax Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great place to meet the locals.
    Ok, the neighborhood isn't so great, but the drinks are strong and quick to get to you! Great pool table area, and an interesting back patio that gets happening late at night (cruisey)! Not for the faint of heart, but is a fun place for a change of pace!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Tribe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very upscale, but felt like a local establishment.
    Was here on Friday/Saturday/Sunday nights - the music was good on Friday/Saturday, with Show Tunes on Sunday. I much preferred the music here to Play, but no dance floor. Great place to meet people and hang out. Had a back lounge area with leather chairs and such. Great staff, quick w/a drink too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Play Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Dance if you're gonna dance!
    Was here on a Friday and Saturday night. Saturday was MUCH better, shirtless guys, pretty people - but I preferred the music on Friday night. The staff was quick to get drinks, and the music was popping - full dance floor both nights. While not NYC, it's the place to dance in Nashville!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Harvey's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    THE best place to people watch!
    Great windows to sit and people watch. The beers weren't that cheap, and the first waiter had PLENTY of attitude! Still, the windows gave great views to the pedestrians out front, so it's a great place to people watch. Didn't eat here, so cannot comment on the food.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed 440 Castro Over a year ago
    Hates it

    First bar hit during the Castro visit.
    Ok, hit this bar early on a Saturday night and it was getting full already. Not many young things here, but a few bear daddies to look at. Not the most pretty people here, but the beers were cheap and the set up is all about cruising. Stand at the top of the stairs to get a good look at the front bar! UPDATE: Was here on 10/18 and 10/20. Place was packed with people. Very friendly, quick service, but again, not much to look at. It's a great place to start the night, tho!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Farina Focaccia & Cucina Italiana Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Italian food, just off the Castro
    Friends took us here, and it's a great place! Clean, quite, nicely decorated. The Staff was very attentive, but not pushy - and WAY gay friendly! HOT manager on our visit! The food was done well - gnochhi, ravioli, salmon, tortellini - all were tasty dishes. I though the prices were a bit high ($18 for ravioli), but the dining experience made up for it! Highly recommend trying this place for a splurge!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Dallas Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Levis, Leather, and fun!
    Have been here more often than not, less attitude than the other bars in Dallas! Granted, not all the people there are models, but most are friendly enough to chat with. The upstairs store is filled with some great stuff, but it's not cheap! Plus, that new building in the parking lot offers a lot more than "new space", if you get my drift!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Finishline Over a year ago
    Loves it

    HUGE dance floor!
    Come here to dance, as the floor is packed all night long! Good cruisy bar, with a few good pool tables in the back too. Drinks flow fast from the bar, and the people are decent to look at too! Lots of normal, laid back, easy to meet people here!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Phoenix Rising OKC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    OKC has a leather club......
    Was there a spell back, the crowd seemed a bit older than most other places. The bartenders were quick with service, and actually got us a round. Clean bathrooms, good music, but the place was not filled as we were there @ 10:30. Maybe it gets busy later in the evening? It did have an outdoor patio too

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Tramps Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The name says it all.....REALLY!
    At the corner of 39th and Barnes, this place is a throw-back to the old days. Long pours on liquor, smokey rooms, CRUISY patio, interesting clientel. Even if you're not a tramp, you need to step in and be jettisoned back to yesteryear! Service is fast, juke box plays the Gay Hits & Country, strongest drinks in town!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Habana Inn Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hotel or Bath House, you decide.
    The Copa and Finish Line bars are located within the hotel itself. There is a vending machine filled with the essentials: condoms, lube, poppers, and snacks. It gets SUPER cruisy after hours, with people with windows open basically offering up thier wares for the night. I think there are actually some people that live here too!? It's way cruisy, and lots of people stay there and pick up, too! Bars, accessories, and bodies = bath house! Have fun!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Copa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Tropical Theme - Lively dance floor!
    Have been here many times, and the music is usually banging out some good beats to shake to. The crowd is busy all night, and the bartenders are quick to service - usually. You can usually find a hot guy or two to focus on, and the dancers do an adequate job too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Newsroom Over a year ago
    Loves it

    American Food - GREAT patio and people watching!
    Went here 5-24-08 with a large group (14) Service was fast and effcient, with awesome drinks coming out too! Calimari was quite tasty with some sort of pineapple-horseradish sauce that was TO DIE FOR! Food was prepared nicely, crowd was small for a Saturday night, but people watching was incredible! The bathrooms don't have a sign stating Mens/Womens, you have to look at the newsprint on the walls - felt like a unisex bathroom, where you could look into the other one. Cool? Creepy? You decide. Otherwise, a great place!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Skip the front bar!
    Was here on May 23rd and the place was busy. Front bartender was more concerned with chatting with friends and getting drinks for them than anything else, so skip him and go to ANY of the other ones that work for their $$. Younger crowd that had some attitude, but worth a visit (a short one) if you're taking a trip here. HUGE bar with lots of space! I heard there was a naked shower show on Sunday, but didn't get there!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed eagle BOLT bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Showtunes AND Leather?
    Was here on Sunday, May 25th, for the beer bust and had a really good time! It was odd that one room had on showtunes, but it was a lighter atmosphere than the rest of the place. FRIENDLY people and some nice ones to look at, not an overly young crowd either. Liked the outdoor patio! Would go back and try it on another night!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Charlie's Phoenix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Dance Floor, and nice outdoor Patio!
    Was here for Gay World Series in August, and had a good time! The dance floor was always hopping, full of guys (probably the 100+ teams that were in town), and met some really nice people. The staff was friendly, service was fairly quick (got quicker with a nice tip!), and the patio is a great place to get away from the music and smoke! Overall, an enjoyable experience here!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Oilcan Harry's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    THE Standard in Austin.
    When in Austin, this is THE bar to stop in and see. Bartenders are quick and cute, reasonable prices, good mix of people. They have also put some $$ into a remodel. The people here are friendly and it's a nice spot to end your night!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Heat Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Younger, trendy crowd.
    Came here after the Pegasus so already had a good buzz going. They do have a nice patio, and a great bartender back there too! The crowd was younger, trendier, and I felt a bit out of place. Wasn't near as friendly as Pegasus, but had more eye-candy to look at. The music the DJ was spinning was difficult to dance to as well.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Pegasus Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Kareoke on a Saturday nite?!
    Was here for most of the evening and sat outside on the patio. It was a nice spot to get away, until the place filled up! Kareoke going on all nite - some good, some bad - but still had fun! Drinks were reasonable, bar was crowded - overall, a good spot to see and be seen in SA!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Moby Dick Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A total mix of young/old!
    Moby's must be the staple of the Castro. Had an easy feel to it where you could come in all dressed up or dressed down and fit right in! The drinks were cheap, but not so many friendly folks here. It's like a neighborhood bar, and if you're not part of the neighborhood people sit back and stare. Good eye candy here of all ages!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Midnight Sun Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun and more Fun here!
    Small space with some decent 80's tunes playing on a Saturday night. The place was full, so sitting down was a tough act. Found a spot, ran into some practicing drag queens and the photoshoot ensued! Had fun here!! The drinks were cheap ($4/beer) and the people we met were friendly enough. Good mix of young/old here. Several diffent videos playing for the music so lots of folks focused on the flat screen TV's and not the people in the crowd.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice place, easy to find, full of men!
    Saturday night this place was happening! Good music spinning but a small dancefloor. Big space with lots of places to sit and watch people. A little bit young for me, but the place was full of eye candy with more walking in by the minute.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a Dark Room - it's well lit.
    Went here on a Friday night and the place was full of guys. Drinks weren't so great, but the outdoor patio was full of people. There was one guy getting a BJ, but nothing else really. If you're going for the Dark Room, it's the outdoor patio and it's well lit. So, put on a good show as EVERYONE can see you. It was ok for what is was: Cheap drinks, some eye candy, decent music but I wouldn't go just for the action on the back patio.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed The Stud Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Are the people hiding somewhere?
    Went here on a Friday nite just at midnight. 12 people in the entire place, with one guy ROLLING around the dance floor. Classy. The guy at the door charged two of us a cover ($5/ea) and when we paid with a $20, he didn't want to give us our change back. Avoid this place as there are better ones.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Lone Star Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sunday afternoon is hopping!
    Went here on a Friday nite - EMPTY! Sunday afternoon - FULL! It was a fun place, with lots of bear types. There was some good eye candy here, and the people were friendly! It's a good place to hang out, grab a drink, and make new friends!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Manhandler Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Dark bar with lots of Old Trolls!
    Ok, from the street it looked closed. Went in and the beer was cold and service was fast. The Back Patio is little more than a barn with pebble gravel, but there is a lot of action back there. Yeah, once you get some action, you're more likely to stay there, otherwise I wouldn't put it up on the top of my list.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Sidetrack Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very nice bar!
    This place is HUGE! It's clean, it's modern, it has tons of space to house all the pretty boys you can handle. Although the people here aren't near as friendly as elsewhere, it's a stand-and-model bar worth checking out. Service to get a drink was always fast, too!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Roscoe's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's THE staple of Gay Bars in Chicago!
    As a visitor, you HAVE to go here. It's sort of like a pilgrimmage to a Gay Mecca!? It's got cold beer and some good eye candy to go with it. Could use a little updating as it's laid out with lots of narrow corridors and old built in seating/standing areas. Overall, a great place to start your night in Chicago.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Charlie's Chicago Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Small place with a broken toilet!
    Was here for about an hour, and while the beer was cold and the people were friendly, there wasn't much space on/off the dance floor and the bathroom was DISGUSTING. It may have just happened, but eww!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Cellblock Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Leather Gear Welcome Here!
    I went to the Block years back, but had a great time while there. Drink prices are the same as anywhere else, plus there is a separate room for those guys that come decked out in leather gear. If you play that way, this is your place, as the backroom had several items to get strapped to and have a good time. Don't come too early, as people don't show until late - after midnight.

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed 1851 Club Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Definately Away from it all!
    It's been ages since I've been here, but was just there this last weekend (8-31-2007) and the place was hopping! Drag show every Fri/Sat, and the drinks weren't too expensive ($3/beer I think) so it made the night just fly by! The crowd was a mix of locals that seemed to know each other, and the one bartender was worth taking a second, or third look! I'll go back, soon!

  • Texasfruit
    Texasfruit reviewed Best Friends Club Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fort Worth's Premiere Lesbian Bar
    I've been to this bar on several occasions, and each time it was an evening to remember. From the moment I walked in, I was pushed/shoved and stepped on by the women that obviously don't want gay men in their place. Fine, I can get that. Headed to the back bar where there is a male bartender where I had a chance at getting a drink. Music is country, and it's really a good atmosphere if you find a spot where you're not in any womens way. Takes a long time to get a drink once the place gets busy, but what bar doesn't have that down side?