Stravinsky

61M. Out and proud, Starting a product placement business specifically integrating bold modern products with xxx rated entertainment. planneddesign.com Based in San Diego with Worldwide reach.

San Diego, California
Joined Mar 2007
9 Followers 1 Following

Following 1 person

22 Loved Places

Listings

  • Hole in the Wall Saloon SOMA, San Francisco
  • Powerhouse SOMA, San Francisco
  • Urban Mo's Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Rich's San Diego Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Martinis Above Fourth Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Babycakes Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Formerly
    I go here for the coffee and super casual feel, and they allow smoking on the patio just like in the old days of sober clubs. Even though I don't smoke anymore, I like urbane acceptance of alternate lifestyles, which is what smoking is isn't it? Every time I've had a dessert I've been disappointed. They have been dry to the taste and even touch and look. Maybe I'll try the cream filled cupcakes (natch) that Richard here recommends. The one plate I had was after they first opened, a couple years ago, and it was chewy and way expensive. Maybe they've gotten it right by now.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Sanfilippo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Same chef, 30 years
    LOOK FOR THEIR NEW LOCATION NEXT TO EXTRAORDINARY DESSERTS... And I've been going there for 30 years. I don't do pasta out, usually, but sometimes I just need their ziti with meatballs. I've taken to having pizza night there with friends. Monday is 25% off pizza.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Martinis Above Fourth Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Keep your sunglasses on to dull the garishly ugly dining room.
    I found the food to be way better than I might have expected. I had a sublimely dressed salad, a not too greasy escargot, and excellent pork chop with a strawberry roux. I would have gone the whole hog of five stars if not for the gay man's nightmare of a dining room. Short of gutting the place and starting all over again, darlings, get rid of the banquet room chairs, add some living trees, paint the columns lighter and it might be ok.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Bronx Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cash only
    That fact, cash only, may help you check your attitude at the door. Good pizza served fast and simple. Can get crowded, plan accordingly and be friendly. I like their what do they call it, whitestone, or something, pizza. Anything over 2 peeps might as well order a full pizza fresh from the oven. Call ahead or wait.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Urban Mo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Everything it claims to be.
    A great burger joint, that does well on all the other things a great burger joint would have. Like onion rings. Chicken strips. It seems popular for the booze too, but I don't drink. The help is friendly and willing to help. This gets the full five stars because of how it fills, exactly, the niche it reaches for.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Rich's San Diego Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Sorry excuse for a dance bar for San Diego UPDATED
    We deserve better. Ok, we still deserve better because we didn't get it with Universal, which is pretty, but dumb. See my review.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed CCBC Resort Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Biggest bath house in the world.
    And cheap by the day. I happen to like a sex charged atmosphere once in a while, compared to the anti-sex world we live in most of the time. So, why not? The nature walk is pretty, hmm, funny ok? I do want to shake the hand of the man who came up with it though.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Streetbar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I'm not bitter...
    If there ever ARE any cute young guys there, they are already taken by one of the older guys. What I want to know is, where do they meet each other in the first place? THAT's where *I* want to go. Ok? ok.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed La Te Da Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ok, I have to tell this story.
    I've been there since this happened, not for dinner though. I don't hold it against them. I have friends who live there and usually go to their favorite places. Anyway. I was in Key West on a cruise that had started in New Orleans. There were about 11 of us for dinner, including my mother who came down from Ft. Lauderdale with a friend to see us. Ok, the town was packed with cruisers, the pool at LaTeDa had a platform over it to make more dining space, we sat and ordered and drank. And drank. 45 minutes. An hour. Then more than an hour had passed, no food, no updates from the server. A lawyer in the group put forth the "implied warranty" doctrine in service areas, so we threw a hundred bucks on the table for the drinks and got up en masse to leave. As we rounded the patio, our waiter comes out with a big tray, stunned to see us parading out. Someone in our group said "You eat it" to him. We crammed into a couple cabs and went to Harry's and had a blast. That cruise ship ended up burning to the water line at sea a couple years later. Only the crew was on it. "What a dump!"

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Powerhouse, everything the name implies.
    Do you go to a place like this looking to dance? It's like getting off the bus on another planet, one with sex in the air and you either do or don't float with it. Not all sex is between pretty Aberzombies you know.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Hole in the Wall Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Did you expect the f'ing Ritz w/this name?
    This is my favorite bar in the city. The greatest mix of net nerds and naked bears. One cigar munching monster (naked) was staring me down and said "What are YOU looking at?" I said "You, handsome." Peace reigned.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Arrivederci Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, decent prices.
    I've been going here for years. The owner is always around to correct your italian. My fave dish is the chicken lasagna, I have one friend who swears by the duck salad.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Cheers Over a year ago
    Hates it

    I never even SUSPECTED this is a gay bar.
    I've never seem them advertise in the rags. I've never seen them in the parade. Maybe I'll have to go and give a proper review after that.

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Top of the Park Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Stick with Friday Night happy hours.
    Food is pretty bad, dining room is dingy and reminds me of an old Elks Lodge or something. Good view though!

  • Stravinsky
    Stravinsky reviewed Baja Betty's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nothing bad on the menu
    Great friendly staff reflects great friendly owners. I'm pleased to support them. Appetizers can often serve as meals and dinner for two w/out drinks can be as low as $15.