SteveDisque

61M. I'm serious about music, and sometimes very silly about everything else. Enjoy good times with people -- the quiet kind, as well as the boisterous kind.

New York, New York
Joined Jul 2011
4 Followers 1 Following

Following 1 person

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • Embassy Suites Center City Logan Square, Philadelphia
  • Statlers Gay Village, Toronto
  • Churchmouse & Firkin Toronto
  • Best Western Primrose Toronto
  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Embassy Suites Center City 9 months ago
    Loves it

    Excellent value
    I loved this hotel -- a better quality than I'm used to getting from online travel sites. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful (although the woman who checked me in misinformed me that local calls were free -- fortunately, I checked again before I made any!). The suite was spectacular. I've been in hotel suites before, but the entry hall/living room is spacious, with broad lines, and beautifully furnished (sectional coach, vaguely modern coffee table, wooden dining table/desk with a strip of outlets, plenty of lamps). The Pullman kitchen is equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, sink (of course), napkins, and coffeemaker with pods, though no utensils or pans. The queen-size (I think) bed is firm and supremely comfortable. The bathroom is a bathroom, but looks good. The supplied breakfast includes a full hot and cold buffet, plus an omelet chef. A very nice amenity is the daily cocktail hour for hotel guests (who get a pass) in the lobby: a free drink, plus all manner of munchies: pretzels, chips and salsa, sometimes cookies, sometimes pita and hummus -- you get the idea. The location is excellent, at the edge of the financial district as well as on the museum road. City Hall, Market East, and Midtown Village are all a short walk. Here are the small quibbles -- and they _are_ mostly small: --The good news is that there's free in-room Wi-Fi (which contradicts the website). The less good news is that it tends to be spotty -- my tablet kept notifying me it was reconnecting. It's mostly serviceable for simple tasks like e-mail, but rarely consistent enough for video or audio. --The way the breakfast is organized, you can't get back in later in the morning to get an extra cup of coffee or two, (Mind, I still like this breakfast better than most others I've had.) --There's no coat closet in the entry area, if you care about that sort of thing -- I don't. All told, I'd gladly stay here again at a comparable rate.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Adega Restaurant 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey, but worth it!
    Usually, for my first night in Toronto, I do something fast-foodish: small-time Chinese, for example, or a falafel platter someplace. This time, I was in the mood for a sit-down dinner so I could relax. I checked out the restaurants on Elm Street, and ended up choosing Adega, not least because it offered a $40 prix-fixe. It's actually a Portuguese-fusion place, which wasn't one of the choices above. The atmosphere is lovely: wood and brown-toned stucco, lit by what could have been track lights, had they been on a track. My opener was the "Romaine hearts" -- basically, a small Caesar salad with dried prosciutto, which was good. My entree was the pan-roasted salmon; the serving looked small, atop a bed of vegetables with two roast-potato halves, but was just the right size; the salmon was excellent. Finally, dessert and coffee: I chose the mixed-fruit sorbet, one scoop each of orange and strawberry, atop a few fruits; and first-class, strong brewed decaf. The service was attentive throughout the meal, despite the presence of several larger parties in the place; and the waiter gave me something like three coffee refills. It was lovely, and absolutely worth the money -- which wasn't as much as I thought; at the current exchange rate, it came out to about USD 32 with tip! Strongly recommended!

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Red Lantern 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Nice bar and grill
    My friend and I had never been there, though he lives right on the next block; from the name, he'd expected a Chinese place! It's a better-than-average bar and grill. I had a grilled chicken Caesar, which was good; I don't remember what my friend ate -- this is two weeks ago -- but it looked quite appetizing, with mac-and-cheese involved somehow, I think. Very open and relaxing space, and the service was good.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed JJ Bootleggers 1 year ago
    Loves it

    The best cheesesteak
    They were advertising a $4 cheesesteak special in the afternoons when I happened by, so I stopped in. Out of the various cheesesteaks I've had, this was easily the best: rich and a little gooey, yet not overly heavy. The Caesar salad on the side was a perfect complement.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Bassett's Ice Cream 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Still the best ice-cream
    It's actually just an ice-cream place in the Reading Market, but ice-cream wasn't one of the available categories. I made a point of stopping here on the morning of my departure. Even though I chose relatively bland flavors -- cinnamon, and French vanilla -- the ice-cream was first-class. I remember the fruit flavors as being excellent, but didn't have them now.

  • Very nice, with a few reservations
    I'd never stayed at this particular hotel, although the chain itself has a good reputation. The good things: the staff was uniformly friendly and helpful; the room was beautifully laid out and tastefully outfitted, with a rather large bathroom; the breakfast selection (which came with the room) was excellent. My reservations were about the sorts of niggling things that might matter less for other people, so I'm citing them: --The location -- _behind_ the Convention Center -- means an extra few blocks' walk (through an area where a few homeless people sleep) to get to Market Street, the gayborhood, or other nightlife and restaurants. OTOH, it's near Chinatown. --The 24/7 coffee service in the lobby is a wonderful perk (so to speak!), and it would have been even better if they had urns that kept the coffee consistently hot. As it stood, whether the coffee was hot or not was sort-of-a-crapshoot. --The lightbulbs in the room -- lamps, no overhead -- were strong enough for general lighting, but not quite strong enough to read by, either in the bed or in the comfortable armchair-and-ottoman set (which had its own stand-up lamp). When I reported this to the desk on my first full morning, however, I got excellent service: first the woman at the desk brought up regular 75-watt bulbs from the bodega next door; then, a half-hour later, a fellow from facilities came up with the newfangled-type bulbs, which were even better. --The cable-TV system was a bit wonky, prone to "freezing" on certain stations. (For those who like PBS, it's buried way up on channel 50.) But I really enjoyed my stay, and I'm looking forward to staying again.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Timothy's World Coffee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Still the best of the coffee bars
    We used to have Timothy's World Coffees in the U.S., until 2002, when the firm abruptly shut all its U.S. outlets on the same day. Since then, Timothy's is one place I look forward to visiting in Toronto. Several of the chain's other outlets have closed since last year, but the one on Church Street in the Village is still going strong. The pleasant surroundings -- a variety of chairs-and-tables and armchairs indoors, plus outdoor tables for people-watching -- encourage you to linger. The help is affable. And -- oh, yes -- the coffee is still excellent, far better IMO than the much-touted Starbucks.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Statlers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pleasant show bar
    Enjoyed my two brief visits here. One night, the pianist began singing and playing: he was good, but I'd have preferred the mike turned down a smidge. One small cavil: I ordered a Kahlua each night. One night, it cost $5.00, and the next, $6.25!

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Best Western Primrose Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good, and should be better
    They've renovated this place since I last stayed, and it's a lot spiffier than it was. The front desk staff are unfailingly helpful and courteous. The room is comfortable, with some design oddities: the modern large-basin sink, for example, doesn't leave as much counter space as an old-fashioned "inset" sink. The location is good for the Village -- right next door to Spa Excess, in fact.

  • SteveDisque
    SteveDisque reviewed Churchmouse & Firkin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good menu and friendly service
    I was here with local friends. The waiter was friendly. Service was excellent, and the food and selection were good.