SilverV

Silver V, 57M. A fun 50 yrs old. Very social and always love to meet/mingle with new people. Love music. Dancing and listening to Disco music is a guilty pleasure. Just spent my 7th time in New Orleans - 1st time for New Years 2011 (6 times for Southern Decadence). It's always a blast and so easy to meet so many people. I venture out to Palm Springs, about once a month - it's so relaxing there.

Los Angeles, California
Joined Aug 2008
45 Followers 32 Following

46 Loved Places

Listings

  • Fubar West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Here Lounge West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Mother Lode West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Abbey West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • Oil Can Harry's Studio City, Studio City
  • The Bourbon Pub and Parade French Quarter, New Orleans

Cities

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Jager Haus German Bistro & Coffee Shop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    German Food is new to me - but this was good!
    Just came back from New Orleans over the New Year celebration week. Jager-Haus is near our hotel, so we decided to give it a try (finally) for dinner. It was quite yummy. I was wondering what to order as I'm not familiar with everything. There was enough variety to find something for everyone. Desserts were delicious also. Thank you Yarda and staff. It was a very nice, relaxing dinner. Will try the breakfast next time. This time we were always up too late. (Yes - yes, drinking). Ha Ha! Can't wait to come back. It's not the standard New Orleans food, but it was a nice change of pace.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed The Bourbon Pub and Parade Over a year ago
    Loves it

    LOVE THIS PLACE - but a few changes
    First off, I've only been here mostly over Southern Decadence, so I don't want to say something unfair towards a regular weekend. Southern Decadence is always a blast at the Pub - here's what I noticed this time. Music downstairs was different. Downstairs, not as much regular, campy music or funny vid clips. The charge one night was $30 at one point. What! Ok, if you had a weekend pass, great. I saw people getting out of line when they saw the price. All in all, I had a terrific time, nice bartenders and dancers and the patrons are just terrific. Can't wait to come back. I was with our regular (annual) traveling group.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Mother Lode Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Well, well, well - where do I start.....
    I've been venturing to Motherlode, well, I think for about 15 years. It is always great to know you can always come here and feel at home. It gets real busy on holiday or event weekends. (For those of you who remember, it was like that every Sunday for Beer Bust- oh, those were the days) Motherlode is still a fun, friendly, no attitude place with great drinks and specials. Check it out, have a drink and mingle. No one bites--unless you let them.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Pinocchio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Weekend Breakfast
    Came here with a friend for the first time recently. Was able to eat on the patio, although we were packed in pretty tight. But it turned out to be a fun thing. People next to us were real friendly and brought enjoyment to our meal. Everyone is friendly here and the food was quite good. I had pancakes and my friend had a typical breakfast. We shared, so we got to try a couple dishes. Would come back. Weekend for breakfast/brunch can be busy, so possibly expect a wait. Very Popular.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Rick's Desert Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Related to the other Rick's - Cuban and more
    We finally decided to try Rick's Desert Grill (dinner only), since we knew it was the same owners as Rick's Restaurant just up the street (breakfast/lunch) @ Vista Chino Rd. The choices were plenty. I had a Pork dish which was quite yummy. It came with potatoe's, veggies and black beans. My friend got the Turkey dinner which looked quite yummy also. We both had plenty of left-overs. They have happy hour 3-5:30 every night with discounted food choices. Give it a try. I'm full thinking about it.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Taqueria Tlaquepaque Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Where a lot of locals go-good food
    Heard about this restaurant from a Palm Springs resident. It's on the same block as Tool Shed. Found it pretty easy. Not fancy but really good food - not pricey. I had the chicken enchiladas. The chicken was charbroiled which made the dish. Typical chips/salsa and rice/beans with the combo plates. Many things to choose from which will bring me back. Give it a try. It's family-owned. I'm assuming it gets a lot of gay traffic (?) since it's real close to Tool Shed. There was a group of 4 guys next to me in the next booth. It's not as well known as the other mexican restaurants in town, but just as good. Actually, maybe better (and cheaper).

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Angeli's on Decatur Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Where Brad and Angie take the kids.
    As much as we love the terrific Cajun/Creole food in the city, we needed a break and was craving a pizza. Angeli's was still open late enough for our schedule that day. We split a Caesar Salad and Pepperoni Pizza. Quite Yummy! Perfectly hit the spot. Shh! Yes, Brad and Angie do have a place just around the corner.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Good Friends Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always a fun time
    I can literally say, that each time I visit New Orleans, one of my memorable nights happens upstairs here. Well, let's just say (this time), the 3 brazilians were quite yummy. Most people are generally friendly here. And yes, as the other reviewer said "The Separator" - I was introduced to it this past weekend-refreshing. Oh, If you don't want to hang out, just make sure you do a walk through downstairs and upstairs. You don't want to miss anything.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed RawHide 2010 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Um - Well.......
    Let's just say I've been there. Just go and experience it. It's quite a place. Very friendly staff and "patrons" Go play some pool!!!

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Corner Pocket Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Fun night last Decadence
    We wandered through here Decadence 2009 with several friends. Upstairs we met a fun group of guys. Let's just say we integrated very well. Dancers were very fun and friendly. We ended up there for about 2 hours. It was a blast.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Fubar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Thursday night BFD
    Thanks to ScottCalvin and other reviewers here for prompting me to write this. I was at BFD last night (5-20-10). I had forgotten how fun this night is and what they get away with (in a good way). Too bad it's on a school/work night. Doesn't seem to bother most. I wished I could have stayed later to see who won the "contest" but had to get home. Lesson learned, take a nap after work and show up there around 11 p.m. when the fun begins. Don't forget that if you "flash" the bartender in back, you get a free shot.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Cafe du Monde Over a year ago
    Loves it

    YUMMY!
    Ok, if you've been to New Orleans, you already know about Cafe Du Monde. If you haven't, you will next time you get to New Orleans. It's an institute of the French Quarter. The menu is simple - 3 beignets to a plate (cheap and freshly made). Most people get the Cafe' Au Lait. Other drinks are available also. That's it. But that's all you need. I remember we had an hour or so before we had to leave (bummed of course) and we thought, he let's go get some beignets - it brought one last smile on our face before we left. Can't wait to return.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Trio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    TRIO - One of our regular stops
    We have dined at TRIO probably half a dozen times now. You will probably need a reservation on a Friday or Saturday night - it gets packed. The roasted chicken dish is my favorite, while the Pork Chop or the Pot Roast are a close second. We always try to get a table with Travis. He's our favorite waiter. We will continue to eat at TRIO when we venture out to the desert. Yum!

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Oil Can Harry's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Saturday Night FUN
    I've been coming to Oil Can's so long now, I don't remember how many years. Saturday night is a real fun night. Come to dance or just listen to your favorite disco classics. I love to dance and get a great sweaty workout here. Many friends venture here on Saturday nights, so there's always someone to hang with. During the week is Country Dance night. I don't know the country dancing, but it's fun to watch. Come experience the fun time at OCH.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Avanti Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New Place in Town
    I've had the pleasure of staying here twice over the Summer and enjoyed it. It's a fairly new gay resort, and some things are still being updated. The rooms range from a standard queen room to a full sized suite with full kitchen and separate bedroom. All rooms have Refigerators, microwaves, flat screen TV's and hardwood floors. Oh, and most rooms have a private patio. They are now serving a few items for a lite breakfast before starting your day. I stayed when it was still new, so there wasn't a lot of guests yet. If you go, tell the Manager, Gene, that Silver sent you.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed The Living Desert Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I'M HERE EVERY FEW MONTHS
    One of my favorite things to do when visiting Palm Springs is The Living Desert. Besides seeing the cactus/plants and animals indigenous to the desert, you will see many animals from other parts of the world. I enjoy walking with a map much more that the guided tram tour. Go early and keep bottled water with you on those hot days. For a treat, visit here the end of November through December for the Wild Lights. Oh, a tip, you can get discounted or free admissions if you go the membership route. Or this tidbit, get in free - http://museums.bankofamerica.com/

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Twin Palms Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A LONGTIME FAVORITE
    We have been coming to Red Tomato for many, many years. It's a little bit out of town in the Cathedral City area. It's well worth the drive. So many different choices, it's always difficult to decide what to eat here. A lot of history at this place. Just ask the owner when he comes around and greets you at your table. I miss the partner restaurant that closed a few years ago, The Red Pepper (mexican restaurant). Too bad, that was a favorite also. Come to The Red Tomato - you'll love it.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Wang's in the Desert Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A MUST WHEN VISITING PALM SPRINGS
    Wang's is always on our list of places to venture to on each visit. On Friday or Saturday nights it's best make reservations. The food is wonderful, the crowd is fun in the bar area before dinner. The service is always great. Asian food is not my favorite type of food, but it's so good here, I will keep coming back.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Pere Antoine Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Usually our first meal when we visit New Orleans
    On Royal St @ St. Ann. We always end up having our first meal at Pere Antoine's when visiting New Orleans, we know immediately we will get our first taste of the yummy food this city has to offer. I always get the sampler platter. Gumbo, Red Beans and Rice, Creole Shrimp, Jambalaya and Bread Pudding to top it off. It's so wonderful. I'm full just thinking about it. Give it a try. The staff was very friendly also.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed The Gumbo Shop Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Another favorite in the French Quarter
    I've eaten at the Gumbo Shop several times over the years. It's always been a personal favorite. My first time there, we were able to sit in the courtyard, which just enhanced the experience. One of the best things we did was to each order something different and pass it around for all to taste. Everything was so wonderfu. I can't wait to return.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Stanley Over a year ago
    Loves it

    YUMMY! Can't wait to return
    I had read about and was eager to try Stanley for several months before heading to the French Qtr, Sept. 2009. We ended up at Stanley twice for breakfast and twice for their homemade ice cream. YUMMY! Traditional New Orleans fare, but with some unique twists on a few menu items. They are open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and serve breakfast all day. They are on St. Ann St. with a direct view of Jackson Square. The staff is very friendly and the place is very clean. Can't wait to go back. Check out the menu on their website.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Chateau LeMoyne French Quarter Over a year ago
    Loves it

    We keep returning to this hotel.
    We have made it a pact to always stay at the Chateau LeMoyne. Besides the great rates, the comfortable beds, the wonderful pool and the nice courtyards, the staff here is terrific. They were most cooperative and helpful before Hurricane Gustav hit last year. It's located a couple blocks in from Canal Street and one block over from Bourbon Street. Will be staying here again for Decadence 2009.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Micky's (West Hollywood) Now Open
    It's been a long wait for Micky's to re-open after the fire. Official re-opening was Friday, April 17, 2009. I've been a regular patron for many years back. Sunday night (DECADE) has always been my favorite night there. Great music and dancing. Fun to hang with friends there. Went on 4/19/09 and had a blast, although there were a couple things they need to work on (still after all this time). If there was any A/C in the dance floor area, you couldn't tell - uncomfortably hot. And there should be no drinking on the dance floor - broken glass and slippery floor from spilled drinks is not a good thing. The place has been packed each night since the opening and so far, looks like they will continue to do well.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Bongo Johnny's Patio Bar & Grille Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I think I'm a regular now....
    Review update: I just returned from Palm Springs Pride weekend and ate at Bongo Johnny's again. It's exciting when the staff at a restaurant remember you and even know your drink before you sit down. If it's not too hot, eat on the patio. It's a great people watching spot and you will most likely run into someone you know if you live in So. Cal. Prior review: I frequent Palm Springs about once a month and eat at Bongo Johnny's at least once each visit. Breakfast - Sandwiches, burgers or salads for lunch - full entree's for dinner (Yummy - that's why I keep me coming back). The staff is very friendly and accomodating here (indoor or patio seating). Oh, when you go, tell Travis (waiter) that Silver sent you. With all the yummy meals served here, I'll take Travis for dessert anytime. LOL. Enjoy.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Toucans Tiki Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun on Sunday night
    Review update: I just returned from PS - Pride weekend. True to form from my review (below), I had the best time. I met a nice couple from San Francisco area. New friends that I know I will keep in contact with. I will guide them to Gaycities.com. Prior review: Sunday night at Toucans has 2 shows of Tommy Rose and the Playgirls (Drag Revue). It's a fun way to end the weekend. Plus DJ Galaxy plays great music that gets me dancing before, between and after the shows. Enjoy.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Our Sunday ritual
    Each Sunday we start off our early evening at the Abbey. It's the meeting place where all converge before we head off to the other bars, making the rounds. Expensive- yes. Find the right bartender and you're OK. Rude? Well, it's hard to make friends unless someone introduces you to someone else. No one cares to make an effort. We're usually in a group and we talk to anyone walking by or alone. We'd like to think we're a fun group. Been going to the Abbey since it was a coffee shop back in the day (across the street). The breeders (way too many as mentioned in the other reviews) - well, as the night goes on, the fun subsides, so we go to the other bars in the viscinity. Fun until 7:30-8 pm on Sunday night.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Mother's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Another tradition while in NOLA
    Nothing fancy here - no table service. Get in line, walk up and order. Stick to the menu (no special orders here). Red Beans/Rice, Gumbo, Bread Pudding. YUMMY. When are you going back? - take me with you.

  • SilverV
    SilverV reviewed Clover Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Last Meal on the eve of Gustav
    Early Saturday evening (Aug 30, 2008) we were wandering around the French Qtr. trying to find a place to eat (by this time a lot of the restaurants closed because of the soon to hit Gustav). We thought, well Clover Grill has to be open. We waited about 15 min. Well, let me tell you, once I smelled the bacon, I had to have breakfast. For dinner, breakfast was terrific. I'm thankful to Clover Grill for being open and how wonderful they were to those who stayed, up until the last day before Hurricane Gustav arrived. Greasy - well OK! But it was yummy.