Rand Thornsley, 63M. Love to travel, will be in Scotland, England and Wales 1/27-2/7/15.

Camas, Washington
Joined Aug 2012
10 Followers 5 Following

Following 5 people

25 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Bourbon Pub and Parade French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Flicks Hillcrest, San Diego
  • Sweetwater Saloon Downtown, Long Beach
  • G-A-Y Manchester Gay Village, Manchester
  • Delmonica's Bar Merchant City, Glasgow

Cities

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Hotel Villa Roca 7 months ago
    Loves it

    best of everything
    This lovely resort caters mostly to men in a gun, relaxed atmosphere. Nice comfortable rooms, free breakfast, clothing optional pool and hot tub available 24/7

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Rascals 9 months ago
    Hates it

    Disappointing
    Visited a few years back shortly after they open and thought it was wonderful. Now it's overpriced and the staff aren't very friendly.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Que Pasa? Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Highly recomended
    This was a great choice, it comes highly recomended and there is a nice menu of Euro-Style entrees. Friendly staff, good service.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed La Vie Lounge Aruba Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Does it exisit?
    We asked around about this place, we were told both that it was closed and that it was no longer a gay hangout. Never could find it so not sure. The locals don't have anything good to say about it.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Matthew's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    too much smoke
    Being from the US were not used to smoking in the bars, but usually it's not terribly bothersome but a Jimmy's the place reeks of stale smoke. Fortunately they have a nice outside patio for fresh air. The place never got busy the three nights we visited. Met some cool guys from the states, the locals seem to stick to themselves.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Velvet Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lovely facility and good food
    In the basement of the Velvet Hotel, this place is not only beautiful but has a significant menu and dishes up some great food and prices we found very reasonable for such a classic joint. Service was a bit slow though.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed G-A-Y Manchester Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Stayed away, bad karma
    We were told this place wasn't very friendly toward tourists, they have a sign on the door saying that it is a "selective" entrance and if the staff doesn't recognize most of the people in your party they won't admit you. Sounds like a discriminating way to run a business.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed The Dhabba Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Obviously a favorite in Glasgow
    On a Tuesday night there was a lot of men having dinner at this place. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and the food top notch. Wide selection of Indian specialties to choose from and pleasant service.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed The Waterloo Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Characters, many characters
    The music is so loud the speakers are rattling, the drag queen host breaks into the music constantly. The bar was crowded and we found that this place has it's own electic crowd. It reminded me of the movie KING OF HEARTS where they left the gates open to the insane asylum and the patients all escaped, and I think they all went to the Waterloo.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Delmonica's Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun atmosphere, good music
    This was the first pub we hit in Glasgow and we fell in love with the atmosphere, great selection of music and good service at the bar. Mixed crowd, trends younger but we were made very welcome.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed TheUnderground Glasgow Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun locals pub with Karaoke
    Not really a fan of Karaoke bars but stopped in here with friends and liked the crowd and atmosphere and most of the people could actually sing. Trends younger, but there was a mix of all ages. Good selection of beers.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Merchant Pride Over a year ago
    Hates it

    when's it open
    Was closed on Tuesday night

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Corinthian Over a year ago
    Loves it

    can't go wrong here
    Excellent dining choice in a classic building.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed The Tropicale Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Popular for a reason
    The ambiance, service and food are all great here. Definitely recommend a reservation on the weekend. The menu has a lot of variety, nice selection of wines and priced competitively.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Vault Martini Over a year ago
    Loves it

    like it
    A lot of hot guys here on Thursday Night, but it appears mostly couples

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed La Dolce Vita Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Classy place with wonderful staff
    I booked here on MLK weekend after the other resorts I usually book were already full. When I arrived, they took care of my luggage and had my room ready within a hour. Gave me a complete tour of the resort which is larger than I expected. Two pools and hot tubs, plenty of room and very comfortable loungers. The clientel is friendly and diverse. As for the room, quite large with a very comfortable king bed, even better than my own at home. Nice soft bedding. In the future this could be my first choice for Palm Springs.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Plattesteen Over a year ago
    Hates it

    very average
    Food is basic, waiter was cute. Atmosphere ok

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Circuit Nightclub 2.0 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    new name, still gun
    Now called M7 Lounge; good music, attractive crowd even at 11 pm on Saturday.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Hearty / Hearty Boys Catering Over a year ago
    Loves it

    you don't want to miss out on this
    Inventive menu, attentive service, warm atmosphere and wonderful food. The cilantro garlic baby backs are to die for. Snap pea and watermelon feta salad also excellent. Highly recommended

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed The Bourbon Pub and Parade Over a year ago
    Hates it

    most popular, why?
    I just don't get why this place is so popular, very pricey drinks ($21) for two call drinks and they didn't even have popular brands like Stoli and Jameson. Mis-poured mix on top of that. We spent most of SD at the other bars where we could get what we wanted and at prices more competitive.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Hamburger Mary's Long Beach nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    How about a good cleaning and new bar staff
    Had lunch here on Friday, the sun was out and sat on the patio. The salad was good, the margarita just so-so. Service was decent. Noticed the place was a little unkept though. Went back that night for the "Soaked" show. Got there and the drag show was dragging on. The female bartender got me a beer and I hung around, then moved down to the other end of the bar by the stage. The male bartender on that end totally ignored me but had plenty of time to take care of his pals. I don't know when the "Soaked" show started, I left because it didn't seem like it was going to get any better here.

  • RandT
    RandT reviewed Sweetwater Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great by day, but after dark something else
    Stopped in on Friday afternoon for a beer, sat at the bar and a cute friendly bartender served me promptly. A nice mix of guys, some just drinking a few playing pool. Went back that night around 11 and the place was full of young straight women crowding around the bar and there wasn't hardly a guy to be seen. Once I got to the bar, the woman bartender ignored me so I left. Don't any of the straight women in LB have husbands to go home to? It seems they like hanging at the gay bars.