Myrazen

Myra Long, 41F. I'm a naturopathic doctor.

Portland, Oregon
Joined Jan 2010
2 Followers

Following 0 people

15 Loved Places

Listings

  • C.C. Slaughter's Downtown, Portland
  • Doug Fir Southeast, Portland
  • Embers Avenue Downtown, Portland
  • Hobo's Downtown, Portland
  • Crush Southeast, Portland
  • Toro Bravo Northeast, Portland

Cities

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Hobo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    More Mature
    Nice place for a quiet drink and decent food. Went here for Valentine's Day with my honey one year and it was nice. Nothing stood out as fantastic, but it isn't loud and has a romantic charm to it. Sometimes, its nice to be able to actually hear your companion rather than trying to scream at them over crappy well drinks.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed C.C. Slaughter's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This Place Can Be Great
    No cover, cheap drinks, and the dance floor can really be a great place with great energy. I enjoy the crowd, the boys, the occasional girls, and the occasional curious straights. Its a blast during Pride and the block parties are pretty fun. But sometimes the crowd gets bitchy, the music is off, and if I happen to be in the company of straight friends, some patrons are aggressive about heteros at the club. Why can't we all just get along?

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Embers Avenue Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Ugh.
    Been here about 5 times over the past 8 years. Each time, it sucked just as much as the last time. If I happen to be here, its because its a friend's birthday and I suck it up and went for them.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Cricket Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Greasy hipster, anyone?
    It helps I live 4 blocks from the place and I love most everything on their menu. Their liquid breakfasts are tasty and I think they put crack in their biscuits and gravy. But sometimes the waitstaff could care less that you've been waiting half an hour for them to bus a table. The place is small, the wait can be long, the crowd is colorful with all their expensive tattoos, and the food hits the spot.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Saucebox Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Trendy Asian
    Stumbling distance from the bars on SW Stark, I've spent a few birthdays here surround by friends, eating fusion Asian food, and drinking creative cocktails. I don't think I've ever had a bad experience here and the scene is nice and trendy, but not necessarily "gay."

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Crush Over a year ago
    Loves it

    They're changing for the better
    This place used to not really appeal to me until about a year ago. A few times the dance floor was fun, the cocktails were fantastic, and the themed nights made for a mixed clientele. Lately, they've been hosting the Crave parties which are packed full of hot baby dykes, but they still cater to the boys too. My hetero friends can join me too and not feel as though they're not welcome. However, on the busy busy nights, ti would help if they had more bar staff. It can be very frustrating getting a cocktail.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Tin Shed Garden Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Alberta's queer shed
    Here's the stereotype: lots of lesbians with their dogs enjoying really great breakfast and coffee. It's straight-friendly too, but lesbian owned and seemingly in the middle of where all the Alberta lesbians live. I love their grits and their meals, vegetarian or not, are delicious.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Presents of Mind Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unique gifts
    Local goods, progressive neighborhood, cute jewelry, cool shirts, nice bags, and a really friendly staff. This little shop is a staple on Hawthorne.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Doug Fir Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place
    Not only does Doug Fir have great shows, but the upstairs restaurant and bar offers up some great food and drinks. The outdoor patio is the place to be, and the crowd is a typical 20-30 something mix of Portland's finest (hipsters, yippies, etc). Not a specifically gay location, but just like so many other places in Portland, the queers are everywhere.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Cup and Saucer Over a year ago
    Loves it

    There's one on Hawthorne too
    My partner and I revel in the "Portland Breaky." In such a foodie town, breakfast is just as great a meal to go out for the goods. In the Hawthorne district, we often walk to Cup & Saucer and enjoy any of their scrambles or specials. Been around for a long time and also Lez owned.

  • Myrazen
    Myrazen reviewed Toro Bravo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Tapas!
    A great place for unique Spanish tapas, a lovely selection of cocktails, and when you're finished eating, you can catch a show next door at the Wonder Ballroom.