Maverick

53M.

Atlanta, Georgia
Joined May 2008
2 Followers

Following 0 people

13 Loved Places

Listings

  • Burkhart's Midtown, Atlanta
  • Heretic Midtown, Atlanta
  • Swinging Richards Midtown, Atlanta
  • Bourbon Street Pub Duval Street, Key West
  • Saloon1 Duval Street, Key West
  • Island House Old Town, Key West
  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Bourbon Orleans Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Thing Is the Location
    My partner and I have stayed here for the past two SDs. The first year the room was on the small side, but the second year it was very spacious. Size of rooms vary greatly. The best part is the location - you can't beat it for convenience. The rooms are well furnished and clean and I recommend it. But make no mistahe - this hotel may be "gay friendly" but only to a certain extent. At night and assistant manager wanders the halls to make sure nothing is going on, and the poll is loked up tight at night and bright spotlights are turned on to make sure no one sneaks in somehow. Gave me the feeling od being on lockdown at night. Of course with so much to do we weren't in the room much so it was a minor irritant at best. Staff is very friendly as I would expect as a guest at any hotel.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Island House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth a Visit
    My partner and I drpped in in February for lunch and had a great time. The menu is extensive, the food is excellent, and the staff is super friendly and do their job very well. The view overlooking the clothing optional pool doesn't hurt either! Can't wait to go back - thanks guys.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Mangia-Mangia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Never a Disappointment Here
    The food is great and reasonably priced, the service is very attentive without being intrusive, and the staff is colorful and fun. Don't miss this great place on your next trip.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Saloon1 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A Huge Disappointment
    Previous visits to this bar always promised a good crowd and a good time. Things have definitely changed! The place is basically empty except for Friday and Saturday nights (from my recent stay in February). Tried in on Friday night whne they were having contests for the best body parts and thought that would help kick in the crwod. Not really, unfortunately. There were more people there, but the contests were pretty lame with little participation from the people there. And, worst of all, just as things did promise to start kicking in a woman cmes wandering through with her "boyfriend" and made it a point to examine any area where any guyys were trying to have a "good time". So sad that the last bar in Key west that was men only is not naymore. Be prepared for female companionship. If that's your thing, this is the place to be!

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Bourbon Street Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Place To Be
    The only bar my partner spent any time in - the others seemed to stay pretty empty. Decent crowd, but way too many staright women and their boyfriends. But straight dancers will attract striaght women. The staff was very friendly and super attentive, the drinks reasonably priced and sufficiently strong. Thanks to Bob, Sen and AJ for making us feel at home. We'll definitely be back.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Save your money
    Of all the placess I visited in Atlanta, I was looking forward to seeing this club the most - and it left me cold. It's all about money - lots and lots of it. They even charge you to park to go to the club. A steep admission charge, no $20 table dance and T-shirt combination available as the website said, expensive drinks (but strong), and dancers that, in many sets, didn't even take off their pants, let alone their undewear! Touching is strongly discouraged but tipping is expected - and the only place you can put the tip is in a band around the dancer's upper arm. I went on a Saturday and it was crowded - with women! There was easily as many women there as men, and the dancers were obviously playing to the women. I had trouble getting in and out of the men's room for all the women hanging around the door talking to the "restroom attendant". The dancers were hot but appeared bored. It's all about money here - and it's not worth it. The only thing that saved the night was out hot server Bryan. He was a honey!

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Cowtippers Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loved It!
    Visited on a Saturday night for dinner. Loved the outdoor patio dining. Great atmosphere, great food, very reasonable prices, professional and attentive staff - it was one of the highlights of the visit to Atlanta. Should be a must for Atlanta visitors and residents alike.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Burkhart's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Wasn't Impressed
    I'm not a big fan of drag shows, but the web site advertised that Monday was Karaoke night so I thought that would be fun. I should have known better. There was still a drag show - that started late, went on indefinitely, and wasn't very good on top of everything. The karaoke didn't start until 1:35 in the morning and only had a few participants by that time. The crowd seemed to be all regulars who kept to themselves. The bartender was friendly, but was slowly but surely closing his bar hours in advance of closing. It was like even he couldn't wait to get out of there. I'm afraid that will be my first and last visit.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Heretic Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Blast
    We hit The Heretic on a Friday night and loved it. Attractive crowd, friendly bartenders, great DJ, and a very hot dance floor. My next trip to Atlanta I'll definitely visit here again.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Little Azio Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not So Hot
    I'd definitely give this one a miss. Went for dinner. We were the only ones there - staff was disinterested, food barely passable, and music blasting. I couldn't wait to get out.

  • Maverick
    Maverick reviewed Joe's on Juniper Over a year ago
    Loves it

    No visit to Atlanta would be complete without a visit to Joe's. Great food, great atmosphere just an all around memorable experience, especialy if Bryen or Lauren is your server. Don't miss it!