MammyGraham

Randy Nott, 41M. I can have fun anywhere, including podunk towns in the middle of Bibleachia. Most people just don't get that. Whatevuh. The thing that I don't get is how people can have hobbies. After I've done something once, I'm pretty much over it and ready to see and do the next thing I haven't experienced yet.

Dallas, Texas
Joined Nov 2007
13 Followers 2 Following

70 Loved Places

Listings

  • Denver Wrangler Five Points, Denver
  • El Convento Rico Little Italy / Palmerston, Toronto

Cities

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Chiquita's Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Exactly how a gay bar should be
    This place is full of Mexican-chic, kitschy fabulousness. There was a dj that was playing every music genre imaginable, which kept things interesting. The El Paso gay scene surprised me - it's actually a lot more fun than bigger cities that are more popular with the gays.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed B-Bob's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Stand 'n model
    This is the fancy schmancy gay bar in Mobilehome. $5 cover is a total rip off. They do have some ok draft beers, and there's a completely empty dance floor upstairs. Schnazzy lookin bar, but pretty boring. Twinky and cliquey.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Gabriel's Downtown Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Membership required
    Apparently this bar is open 24/7, which is only allowed for private clubs, so you have to shell out the $5 and fill out a membership card. Other than that annoyance, it's an alright bar.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Spot of Tea Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good location, crap food
    Nice setting in the historic district, across from the cathedral. But the food sucked big time.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Common Roots Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Living roomy
    Good place to go if you wanna drink some coffee in an old gay man's house.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Bryant Lake Bowl Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hipster Central
    Great place to go on a date. You can have a good dinner, good draft craft beers, then bowl on their old school lanes.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Desenrocada del Muerto Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Supposedly the oldest gay beach in the world
    Don\'t know how you could definitively say which is the oldest gay beach in the world, but this is a very nice beach worth checking out nonetheless. Most of the guys go au naturel, but some wearing bathing suits, if you\'re a little shy.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Cafe Mystique Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Two thumbs up
    Had a great breakfast here - nice amosphere, view of the crazy charachters walking up and down Castro, good food, very reasonable prices, attentive service, definitely worth checking out.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Opie Taylor's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Grub
    Tasty burgers and a good location right on the courthouse square. But there is absolutely nothing gay about this place, not even the servers. And servers are always gay.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Strong Hearts Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    hip pee
    Lots of hippie types at this cafe, which isn't too uncommon as far as coffeehouses go. It's like in the ground floor of an apartment, which is kinda weird. The hippies may have nasty hair, but they sure know how to cook up some tofu scrambles. The coffee was a no-go though. Don't know what they put into their brew, but it doesn't even taste like coffee.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Club Gallery Over a year ago
    Hates it

    More of a lesbian bar
    Female bartenders and advertisements on the walls with ladies on them indicated this is more of a lesbian bar, though there were a few dudes there for karoake night on a Sunday.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed 23rd St Station Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice view
    It's an alright bar. Best thing about it, probably, is the view of the ocean since it's on Seawall Blvd. Not a pretty crowd, and not much goin' on, but good to get a drink when you've had enough of the nasty Galveston beaches.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Main Club Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hard to say...
    Was there during a week night, so of course it's gonna be dead in a city of this size. Their website isn't kept up to date; they advertised having porn on for the night we went, but when we arrived, no porn. Apparently, a straight couple just "happened" to wander into the place and were offended by the porn, and reported it to the police, who politely requested that they stop. Whatevuh.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed The Cultured Pearl Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yum, Yum, Yummy
    Great place to go if you like seafood. I'm not a big a fan of sushi, which features pretty prominently on their menu, but they have a wide variety of other not so pretentious food too. Definitely a little on the pricey side, but the quality and presenation of the meal is worth it.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Molly Moggs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The real deal
    This is the best bar to go to in London if you want to experience the truly local scene. Very small space that gets packed, but it's very jovial and the drag show is fantastic. The good old fashioned kind that's campy and the queens actually sing with their own voices and don't lip sync.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Polo Club Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Rip-off
    $10 cover and overpriced drinks for a run-down bar? The "dance bar" doubles as the drag stage. The only redeeming thing about this place is that it is reasonably well attended; but don't come here expecting to find a good time.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Knock Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great beer selection
    This is primarily a restaurant, with a small bar at the front. The food is very good. Good place to go on a date cuz it's upscale yet casual, and is right in the thick o' things, so there are plenty of options for after dinner.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Gym Sportsbar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Obnoxious
    Very little bar, so it can be tricky to snag a seat. And forget about enjoying your drink. Lesbians screaming at the television when some women's basketball players score, Then, not wanting to be outdone by the lesbians, the faggots start yelling at the screen with football on it, even though nothing happened. Very annoying.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good location
    This isn't a luxory hotel by any means, but it is clean and comfortable. The best thing is that it's within walking distance of the bars and the inner harbor and most of Baltimore's tourist attractions. The price is good for the location too.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Flux bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    (yawn)
    It's surprising that a city as huge as BA has such few gay bars. And this place charges by the drink, rather than being open bar which seems to be very common in this city. Unfortunately, the bar itself is pretty sketchy, like being in someone's basement. No decor, not much of a crowd, and everyone sits on couches so there's no co-mingly going on here. Pretty boring overall. But you can get a gay map of BA here, so you can leave this place and go somewhere that doesn't suck.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Smarty Pants Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Exactly how a dive bar should be
    This is a small, unassuming place that could easily be written off, but you will not be able to leave this place after just one drink. Bartenders are cool, the small crowd is full of fun and enery and totally get into their awful karaoke - which is exactly how karoake is supposed to be. Very laid back, fun people, easy to strike up a conversation...gem of a dive bar.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed MJ's On Jefferson Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Looked nice
    First off, do not come Dayton. I don't think I've ever been to a city where it was so difficult to find a restaurant. They simply don't exist in Dayton. Weird. Anyway, I was at this bar on a Sun. afternoon, and it was tooootally dead. The bar itself looked pretty decent though, pretty large, so I'd be willing to give it another shot on a weekend night.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed The Club Columbus Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good for a suntan
    The only reason I came here was to get a tan on my ass. So obviously, it was during the daytime, and was pretty laid back. Guys were friendly and kinda fun to chat with. Though I did get propositioned for sex, I wouldn't think you'd go to a bath house during the daytime for serious cruising. I'm sure it's even busier at night.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Hidden Door Over a year ago
    Hates it

    What the hell else are you gonna do in Corpus
    Ok, I got hit on here, so it gets a star for ego boost. But everyone there was hideous, so maybe that doesn't really count as an ego boost. Oh, what the hell, it was worth killing some time there considering there's absolutely nothing else to do in this tejano city.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Mable Peabody Beauty Parlor and Chainsaw Repair Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best in the Metroplex outside of Dallas
    Now if you're an out-of-towner, I would not suggest you drive all the way out to Denton for its sole gay bar. But if you live in Dallas and want to try something new, this place is worth checking out. I was there on a Fri. night and it had a good-sized crowd, without being overly crowded. And they had awful karaoke, but I mean that in a good way. Very entertaining, some terrible singers who gave it their all, and no American Idol wannabe types. Mable's beats any of the bars in Ft. Worth by a landslide. And it also wins grand prize for most original gay bar name ever.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Barcode Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Ho-hum
    Just an ordinary bar - small place, they serve food (didn't try, so I can't comment), overall nice bar atmosphere, but just boring if you go alone. More of a place to converse with friends.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Godfrey's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Whore-able
    The place has been completely taken over by the straights. I would maybe classify it as gay-friendly, but it's not really a gay club anymore. And it's very old and kinda run-down.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Omaha Mining Company Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Could be worse
    Actually, the bar itself isn't bad and they have draft beer. Granted, I went in the early evening and there were only a few other people in the bar at the time, but it's definitely not the seediest bar I've ever been to - not by a long shot. However, someone at another bar in town said the upstairs and downstairs is where it's really bad. Didn't get to see those parts.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed The Bar Complex Over a year ago
    Hates it

    As bad as it gets
    Maybe it was just an off weekend. A verrry off weekend. But this place had nothing but a handful of trolls and a small group of straights to watch the sad drag show. Very depressing for a Friday night. And to add insult to injury there was a $5 cover to experience this hot mess. Never again.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Michelle's Homestyle Cooking Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The complete opposite of gay
    OK, I don't have a problem with this place - food's okay and it's cheap. But seriously, this place is in the hood, and I don't mean the gayborhood. It's nowhere near any of the gayborhoods in Dallas, and I'm pretty sure if a same sex couple came in here holding hands, they would be murdered. People, this site is specifically intended for the gay crowd. If you want to write a review about a mainstream restaurant go to yelp.com and stop cluttering up this site with reviews that don't belong here. Gaycities needs to do some housecleaning to remove reviews on places like this.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Luther's Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Basically a Hamburger Mary's
    This place is actually better than what the other reviews make it sound to be. It's not just a greasy dive for hamburgers. This is a solid place that serves quality food. The atmosphere is similar to a Hamburger Mary's. And it's conveniently located across the strip mall of gay bars. Worth checking out.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Soulard Coffee Garden Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perfect place for breakfast
    This is a cozy cafe on a quiet street in the Soulard neighborhood. Very good breakfast for not much dough. It seemed to be very much a hidden gem, because I got the impression that the other folks there were local regulars. This place is worth seeking out.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Empire Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Too good for its own good
    This is an excellent choice for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. It has a lot of personality, which is not very easy to find in H-town. The outdoor seating is also great if it's not summer. Very good food at good prices with a chic yet comfortable atmosphere is the reason why the straights have ventured into Montrose to overrun this place.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Sparky's Pub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    SAT's version of JR's
    This bar just opened up and it's very nice. The only gay bar in San Antonio where the patrons aren't hideously ugly. And $1 pints of Shiner. This is the only place to go in town.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed JJ's Clubhouse & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Bar in STL
    This would be the best leather bar, best bear bar, and even best dance club in St. Louis. Very full, very festive, and even has a lot of good-looking guys, which is extremely rare to see at this type of bar.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Denver Wrangler Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Needs more people to fill it up.
    The bar has a nice, big open space. Went on a Friday night and was relatively dead, just like all the other bars in Denver. The only place in town that seems to get a crowd on a weekend night is Tracks. Supposedly this place gets packed on Sunday for their beer bust.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Lucky's Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Popular amongst the not so health conscious
    Personally, I don't like this place because it's a diner, and it serves the typcial greasy spoon stuff. However, it is popular amongst the fags, walking distance from the Strip, and if you like diner grub, then you'd probably like this place.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Lodge Kura Hulanda & Beach Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Phenomenal
    Definitely like no other hotel/resort I've ever stayed at before. The whole complex is like a little colonial village, which sounds kitschy, but it was actually very charming and tastefully done. Several good dining options on site, including al fresco. They have shuttle vans that'll take you to the beach. It's within walking distance of Old Town Willemstad, the capital. At night you can here what must have been a bagilion frogs chirping, but it wasn't an annoying sound at all, it was other-worldly and very pleasant. Painfully romantic, and I can't rave about this place enough.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed 140 Alex Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nicish bar
    This is Rochester's version of the "nice" gay bar. In an older building, like the JR's in some other cities. Draught beer got it an extra star. I would suggest starting the night here, then moving on to Muther's for some drag and dancing.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Avenue Pub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Had low expectations and was still disappointed.
    Boring dive bar with a hideous crowd. The only redeemer is that the drinks were cheap. If you're a homely local or an alcoholic, this place is probably your cup of tea.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Bachelor Forum Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Small City Leather Bar
    Rochester is the smallest city I've ever been to that has a leather bar. It's pretty much what you'd expect from a bear/leather bar - divey with an older crowd. No back patio or dark room, so things stay pretty mild.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed El Convento Rico Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Straight Latinos, Women, and Homos???
    Strange combination of about 75% straight Latinos and women, and about 25% gays. If it weren't for the drag performance, you would definitely thick is just like any other straight club. Not really my scene, but I managed to have some fun regardless.

  • MammyGraham
    MammyGraham reviewed Cobalt Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Dive
    Total whole in the wall, but a great place to go if you just want to kill an afternoon drinking beer and chatting with friendly, entertaining people.