Lee1961

60F. A native of N.O.'s. I've either lived in th Quarter and lived Uptown or visa versa. I moved to Alexander,La.,staying away from home for 8yrs. before Katrina I came home. And was shocked at the change. Charlenes being the ONLY lesbian bar in what I consider to be a predominately gay city.Charlene died shortly after Katrina and as far as I know there MIGHT be a lesbian bar i Metairie. Was hoping to find it here,but this sight needs updating badly. Alot of the bars listed no longer exist and the ones that listed are misrepresented. I will try to clear that up as N.O.'s was NEVER a safe place to go. After Katrina I'm ashamed to call it home. La. known for corruption in politics and law enforcement has hit a new low.N.O.'s is still charming. I used to love to walk past The Catherdal late night with fog all around and look up at the purple and indigo sky.The architecture is so beautiful.But don't believe what you here on the news.One out of four murders are reported and I'm being generous. As long as you take cabs even 4 blocks can make a huge difference.It's almost always been this way depending on where you walk.Now it's everywhere,I'm sad to say. I'll visit but doubt I'd ever move back.Most natives have moved out of state since Katrina,plenty moved before then.Keep an eye on your money,don't get too intoxicated as you're being watched and the police will side with the criminal 10-1.

Joined Oct 2008
2 Followers

Following 0 people

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • Bourbon Pub Parade French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Cafe Lafitte in Exile French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Crossing French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Golden Lantern French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Good Friends Bar French Quarter, New Orleans
  • Oz French Quarter, New Orleans

Events

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed St. Peter Guest House Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The room I had was furnished strangly. Armoire only,no closet. The bed had a headboard was part of a Mallard bed I own. The rest of it was pieced together with god knows what. You do have privacy.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Chateau Sonesta Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Soaring Ceilings
    One of my favorite hotels. Love the room service. The staff is very courtious. Has a gay friendly bar with strong drinks.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed RawHide2010 Over a year ago
    Hates it

    MOSTLY MEN
    The staff is very polite and the ervice good. Packed on weekends.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Cafe Lafitte in Exile Over a year ago
    Loves it

    MUST STOP
    I rememeber when they BARELY allowed women in this bar. After Katrina I walkedin to find a women bartender. Although it was dead I was THRILLED. I'm sure it's picked up by now. It used to be the busiest bar no matter what time. The music is good,love the balcony.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Bourbon Pub Parade Over a year ago
    Loves it

    HEARBEAT OF THE GAY BARS
    I used to come here almost daily. Used to go to T Dance every Sunday. Have'nt been here lately,which is a shame. The bars in this area(Lafittes,Oz,Good Friends and The Clover Grill) you can STILL SAFELY WALK TO) which is liberating.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Oz Over a year ago
    Loves it

    GREAT PLACE TO DANCE
    I rememeber when it was Le Bistro's. The first gay bar I ever entered. OZ is SO much better than Le Bistro's. Not as big as the The Parade,but the music is far better.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Good Friends Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Katina did't it.
    I remember when this bar opened and agree with the a previus review. Great atmosphere,all ages. Frozen Seperaters to die for.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed GrandPre's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    TAKE A CAB
    I really liked this place and will be back. I would 've given it more stars if I had been here more than twice. The owner is VERY gracious. the staff is friendly. Will be back. Be sure to take a cab as the neighbarhood in reknown for being bad. Don't let that stop you,take a cab.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Crossing Over a year ago
    Hates it

    IF YOU LIKE HUSTLERS
    If you like hustlers T hookers odering drinks before you've agreed to pay for them,being clipped.Drug dealers and hookers surround this dump preying on the intoxicated. I used to live across the street and stopped in often after work. It used to be called Gregory's and the Wild Side(more appropriete) The old owners must be twirling in their grave at what it's become.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Golden Lantern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent White Russians
    Mixed and friendly crowd and staff. Wish it stayed opan later. It's kinda off the beaten path,but worth the cab fare. The music is good. It's hardly the best looking club. It's very clean. Can't say enough good thibgs about it.

  • Lee1961
    Lee1961 reviewed Clover Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always Open
    Great place to go to sober up,or if you work nights. People are friendly. Good burgers or breakfast.