JhonieAppleseed37

44M. "21" reviews. The magic number. A good place to stop. I like to think, I helped out the gay community. In my own little way. And one day, somone will look at them,,,,,,and wonder,,,,,,

Joined Jun 2008
20 Followers 5 Following

18 Loved Places

Listings

  • Ramrod Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Neighbours Capitol Hill, Seattle
  • Downtown Olly's Downtown, Indianapolis
  • English Ivy's Restaurant & Corner Bar Downtown, Indianapolis
  • Metro NightClub and Restaurant Downtown, Indianapolis
  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Mesh on Mass Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The SI, "small intament" is Scholar's. See my profile reviews list.
    My review of "both"? Gay Bar??? Not sure! RE--OPENED! RE--OPENED: AS Mesh on Mass. Nice place...but it reminds me of Scholars Inn the way Eli reminds me of Peyton... Just to be clear, this is where the metaphor ends. Love the Colts...didn't really love Scholars. What I loved most were half-priced martini Thursdays...a tradition which Mesh has been more than happy to carry forward. Martinis seem pretty good -- probably a 7 out of 10 for creativity and quality. Beer was overpriced, even for Mass Ave. The atmosphere was nice -- not quite as creative as Scholars Inn 1.0, certainly better than the ugly red Scholars 2.0. As upscale goes, however, I like the creativity of The Ball and Biscuit much more. All in all, I think it's worth another shot. Not that I think the world needs more pretentious, upscale places, but as long as Scholars was leaving and we didn't have to give up a good pub, I suppose it has it's place. It's also always nice to support local business, which earns it it's fourth star. CLOSED------ 04/25/2010 ----CLOSED Is this a gay bar? No one really knows, but the Thursday night that I was here, it sure seemed like it. Martini's are half price on Thursdays, and if my friend didn't have to work the next day I think we would have been in trouble cause those things were good. Like really good. The exterior doesn't really match the interior since it looks like you're going into a pub/hotel ... the second you get inside it feels like you're in some swanky SOMA lounge complete with soft high back chairs and plexiglass benches that sparkle with all kinds of colorful light. The more I think about it, yeah, this is a gay bar :) ... I'll probably be back on a future trip to Indy.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Hilton Garden Inn Indianapolis Downtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    f the Conrad is booked up. And the Hilton Downtown is booked up.
    And the Omni is booked up. After you're done kicking your own shins for waiting until Friday afternoon. And cussed out whatever shenanigan conference is going on in Indy. whoa. it's an above average garden inn. - friendly staff - awesome location - awesome beds - good sized, but not huge rooms - amenities: small pool, hot tub, good fitness room, nice biz center, free wifi, free printing. i have two minor complaints - bathroom door is oddly placed right next to the bed. - ac doesn't turn off. the fan just kept running until I got fed up and turned the whole thing off and then it was warmish when I woke up. overall, I'd stay here again and I'd recommend it.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Bazbeaux Pizza - Downtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unique pizzas. Local/regional beer.
    Bazbeaux is the hip fusion of fresh and creative pizza, earning it a place in my top 3 pizza places ever!! Since day 1, I couldn't get over how fresh and tasty the pizza was -- the toppings, the dough, the cheese, you name it. No matter which of the pre-selected specialty pizzas I've ordered or how badly I think my weird-ass topping choice du jour was, Bazbeaux never ceases to amaze. Also, their topping offering is second-to-none. The only bad news, if it applies to you: no draft beer, and I've had service range from awesome caretakers to hipsters who are too cool to be servers (and yet, there they were). Ultimately, I'm there for the food, and Bazbeaux has yet to disappoint. One thing to note (at least the Mass Ave location), the wait on Fri-Sat can get rather lengthy, especially with a 5+ party. But, there's a reason they all wait...

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed English Ivy's Restaurant & Corner Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth the visit.
    I was here with an out of town friend last weekend. Had the raspberry chicken and ate like a pig. Baked potato, sweet rolls, great vegetable medley, salad. I was stuffed The meal was priced really well. The server was very polite, the only issue we had was my friend had ordered the prime rib special and they had run out, but she had debated the two specials to begin with & was not disappointed in her shrimp. I would go back in a heart beat. Loved it!!!

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Rachael's Cafe Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great for a small town.
    A new, two year old? cafe that just recently opened in Bloomington almost across the street from the post office. The first person did a great job reviewing it, so I'll just throw in my two-cents. The decorations are fabulous, there's a ton of original art, it's colorful, and it's unique. Perhaps they have a wait staff during busy hours, but they didn't when I got there at 2:15 on a weekday. Instead, I just walked up to the counter, got the recommendations from Rachel herself (a blond-wigged transvestite, just to warn you), watched her put it together on a plate and sat down with my food. I had a wonderfully crispy, crunch and complex chicken salad accompanied by a great pita and awesome homemade salad dressing. The dressing is somewhere between a hummus and spicy Thai peanut sauce, it's got a kick, and it's delicious. It seems like they have two or three specials every day--whatever they feel like making that morning or the night before. They also offer create-your-own sandwiches, muffins, brownies, scones, and other coffeeshop-esque food items. All in all, it's a very nice place to sit and relax, very friendly, moderately priced, and very yummy. I shall return. CONS? Well, fair and balanced review: First: They need more outlets and/or extension cords available for laptops. I mean, great free WiFi, but what's the point if students and other patrons have to run on battery power until their batteries die? The times I can't get an outlet, I know I don't stay quite as long (and subsequently don't buy more coffee/food/beer) as I would otherwise.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Metro NightClub and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun Bar!
    A very tradional alternative/gay bar! Had dinner here on Friday night. The fare is typical bar food with some interesting twists. The drinks were nice and strong, so that was a good start. We ordered an appetizer samplers with fried pickles, crab balls, and loaded french fries. All delicious! Well prepared! I ordered the Mass Ave chicken with a baked potato. It was decent. My friend had the steak - why he ordered that I will never know! It looked like a piece of burned beef. Everything was fairly inexpensive, compared to other places in the area. FYI - this place is an "alternative" club. It is listed on a "gay" web site. So don't go if you're not openminded.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Gregs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    (a.k.a. OP's, Gregs Place, Our Place)
    The reviewer "ftwversbottom" Has written four reviews, All on the same day, trashing about four places. This is the gay bar that appeals to most of the LGBT community in Indy. My favorite part is Fridays before midnight (starting at 10PM or 11 -- not sure) when they have Country Line Dancing. It's a blast to watch as well as participate -- there's always a nice lady or gentleman to teach you if you don't know how. After midnight, Pop and Electronica takes back over. Also available are pool tables, dart boards, dance floor, smoking patio, and two bars -- one you can sit down at, and one near the dance floor. Weeknights, the place is (usually)??? dead??? -- a good place to play pool with your friends if you don't mind the soft-core gay porn playing in the background.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Omni Severin Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Paying for the location?
    The old design of the Omni gives the hotel character. At the same time, the old design is also responsible for small bathrooms and someone cramped quarters. The tub and shower seemed old just because it is doesn't mean that they should look worn. New fixtures could give a new and cleaner look to these rooms. The staff was pleasant and check in and check out were really simple and fast. I'd probably stay there again as long as the price was right. Otherwise I might go with an updated hotel.”

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Hoaglin To Go Cafe & Market Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Why eat at an Arby's?
    I\'ve only been here for breakfast a few times - but I\'m a fan. Their omelets are great, actually they are big enough for two people to share and still leave stuffed. They have omelet specials and have had some pretty creating combinations - all of which have been delicious (most recently a salsa and bean omelet). Their egg dishes come with cheese potatoes or roasted potatoes - both of which are very good. I have to say I\'m not crazy about their bagels (tasted more like normal bread than a bagel) but I\'m happy sticking with the omelets. The coffee is great, too. It is always easy to find a table on weekend mornings - unlike some of the other breakfast joints in town.\r\n\r\n The brunch food? Pretty off the charts really. The French onion soup was amazing. Initially I was taken aback to see it come out with no cheese on top, a sin in French onion-ry that is unacceptable, but to my delight it was just put in the bottom of the bowl, but the flavor was so good I forgave the transgression. My sandwich was completely unmaneuverable, the chicken and veggies were stacked to high that I could not even begin to get my mouth around it. I settled for the cut and fork method and enjoyed the curried chicken salad. The curry flavor was mild and delightful, the only thing that could improve on the sandwich would be more red onion.\r\n\r\nSmall Nit-Pick...The soup spoons are entirely too small and make eating soup a tragically messy experience, I felt like such a slob. But to my amusement, a lady at another table mentioned the same thing to the server. (Though I\'m sure the comment was lost forever and will never get to management.)\r\n\r\nLike I said, I\'ll go back, but I won\'t be in a hurry, it\'s kinda out of my way anyway.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Ramrod Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lesbian Bar?
    Isn't the name, "Ramrod" sort of a lesbian name for a bar? When guys write that it is "hot" isn't that a word that guys use to describe a womans place?

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Vogue Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Listed before any reviews?????
    Since this is a sort of Hetro type club. I thought it might be fun to review in an "undercover" type writting? "Male Now Female", "M N F"??? This is soooo hard for me to review, b/c for dance clubs and trashy people lookin' to hook up, long lines, overpriced mixed drinks, and all the things one really hates about the "night club" scene, this is a standard, disgusting joint. I want to slit my own wrists before getting in line at this place .... But, as mentioned in other reviews, if you can catch a concert here, WOWZA. It's fanfuckintastic. Soooo...I have to be fair and it give it three stars, but if I was just judging the the "club" ...it would get 1. If you aren't a clubber, avoid this place unless you are going to see a live show (which i would give a 4). They host MANY throughout the year with some great indie bands and it is always general admission, so early bird gets the great seats. Oh and it's pretty affordable! I've never paid more than $30 for a show here, which I think is an awesome treat. Otherwise, if you don't want to dance 'til you sweat in an inch of disgusting beer on the ground on a Wed. or Friday nights or spend your hard earned cash on a poorly made mixed drink (how does one mess up a vodka tonic?), you might want to avoid it. Yes, the beer is cheap - big deal - beer is nasty. It's dirty, sketchy and trashy...filled with a very young (sometimes, I wonder if they are all carrying fakes), voyeuristic crowd. But for those of you lookin' for a one night stand, you'll probably get lucky. Ick.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Neighbours Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Correct web site?
    About 10 years ago I went sking out there. Loved doing it for a few days, and other things on vacation. 80's night? Do they still have that, loud sound system? the one used one bought from somthing called a "monistary"? It would vibrate off the walls and you, in a large two story type building. It was scary going into the side? entry, (the only one). Walking out wuld sort of expose you to being mugged? Thank god I did not drink, would be afraid of being mugged! Also they do proudly serve soft drinks!

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Henry's on East Street Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great coffie & Tea stop!
    If you're headed to Starbucks definitely keep going and head straight to Henry's! It's located in the same spot where Vic's once was. The coffee is better, costs less, and the food portions are generous for the price. They have a pretty broad menu, but they'll make salads to order. The paninis are yummy, and there's homemade soups in the winter and fruit smoothies in summer. Can't forget to mention the staff, who are always great, always friendly -- no matter how early in the a.m.! As for atmosphere, it's how I'd love my living room to be -- open, very comfy yet modern living. Relaxing sums it up best (I've seen more than a few people 'resting their eyes' while their order was prepped!) Cream walls, oversized comfy overstuffed chairs, plenty of seating (and tables set with cloth tablecloths and organicly-styled centerpieces -- how's that for attention to detail!). Other pluses: wi-fi (plenty of lap-top totting patrons!) and a range of people with varied backgrounds and ages -- gay, straight, young and old.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Varsity Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good place for ????
    This is one of the best clubs in Indy. The music and atmosphere can not be beat. This is the place to go if you don't want to deal with the just turned 29 crowd. The older and more mature customers make this the best night club experience.

  • JhonieAppleseed37
    JhonieAppleseed37 reviewed Downtown Olly's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wrong name???
    The AOL city guide now calls it "Brothers". Olly's is the correct name. Sort of like going to your rich microsoft friends house to eat. Except he has all the toys.