GuyDads

59M. Two gay dads, their six mostly grown kids, and life on the town. Plus a dose of social action and gay activism.

Palo Alto, California
Joined May 2008
1 Followers

Following 0 people

15 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands Midtown, Sacramento
  • Pineapple Point Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Highlands Resort Guerneville, Guerneville
  • San Vicente Bungalows West Hollywood, West Hollywood
  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed All Worlds Resort 4 months ago
    Loves it

    Fun time on Warm Springs
    The rooms are comfortable and clean, the amenities are very good (4 pools, 3 hot tubs, dry and steam sauna, nature area, all clothing optional), the staff is helpful, and the adult randiness was playful and plentiful. The place is comprised of several small resorts that were joined into a larger compound. Don’t go for the cheapest rooms. They are noisier and not as nicely furnished. The mid-priced rooms are very nice. We would go back again.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed R 3 hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice resort
    We spent an enjoyable Sunday evening in February there. The Russian River Sisters were holding an Oscars party and fundraiser at the bar. A fabulous time was had by all. Our room was comfortable and clean. We would visit and stay there again.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed New Conservatory Theatre Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Gay Theatre in SF
    Don't leave town without seeing one of their shows. Theatre Rhino may have been the first and oldest gay theatre, but NCTC has been producing better quality theatre for years. They do an amazing job on a very small budget.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed Beach Blanket Babylon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A BBB must see
    Looking for something different and unique to do that is San Francisco? Don't miss BBB. We take out of town friends and family to this all the time. Chicago has Second City. Washington DC has Capitol Steps and SF has the world's longest running musical review. It is a show filled with hilarious pop and political spoofs.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed The Opal Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convenient and centrally located
    We've stayed here 1/2 dozen times. Great location to Civic Center and close to theatre district. You can even walk to Union Sq or to Castro. Besides Mel's Diner there is a free continental breakfast in the lobby. The rooms are not pretty and kind of old and dated but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are quiet-no street noise. But if you are in SF you shouldn't be spending the days or evenings sitting around in the room. Get out and see the beautiful city.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed Highlands Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Rural and woodsy
    The resort offers private cabins with bath, kitchenette, and sitting area. They are clean and well maintained. The amenities are good (clothing-optional pool, hot tub, homemade breakfast muffins) but no wifi and spotty cell coverage. It is located on a hill above Guerneville, about a 5 minute walk down a steep hill. The place was nice but it is unlikely we would be back. The whole area was more of a rural experience then we like. But if you are a bear in the woods, go for it.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed Pineapple Point Over a year ago
    Loves it

    First class gay resort
    This place is amazing. The quality of service is first class. The staff does not miss a thing in trying to make your stay comfortable and memorable. Beautiful rooms, lush grounds, nice guests. The place is located a couple miles from the beach. But we didn’t mind because we just hung out around the pool. A couple minutes away is the beautiful Las Olas Boulevard that has many wonderful restaurants and shops. A mile in the other direction is the gayborhood, Wilton Manors. We have already made reservations to return next December for a longer stay.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed San Vicente Bungalows Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great gayborhood location
    We have been to this place twice. Not because it is beautiful or has great service, but because of its location. It is the only resort in the West Hollywood area and a couple of blocks from the gay district on Santa Monica Boulevard. The nicest words to describe accommodations are that they are “pretty clean” and sparse. It has a clothing optional pool, hot tub and steam sauna. Would we go again? Maybe. But it is definitely a walk on the more seedy and divey side of resorts.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite club to visit
    Everytime we visit Sacramento we dance until closing at Badlands. The club is spread out over three floors. It has four bars, a patio area and a balcony that overlooks the dance floor and the outside street. The crowd was diverse and friendly. The music and videos were good. Beautiful club that makes the ones in SF look worn and dumpy.

  • GuyDads
    GuyDads reviewed Inn & Spa at Parkside Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful Bed and Breakfast
    It is one of the most beautiful B&Bs we have stayed in. We have stayed twice. Last time we heard from the staff that the gay couple that owns it is in the process of selling it. We will be interested to see what happens. Although the B&B advertises in various gay print and online sites, there is nothing particularly gay about the place. Other than a few GLBT friendly DVDs available to borrow there in nothing around the place to suggest it was gay owned. No gay marketing materials, newspapers, brochures, art work or rainbows are displayed.