ElegantMess

49M. Badly addicted. To travel. Like to try new places and mix with the locals to find out where's hot or not.

London, United Kingdom
Joined Jun 2012
3 Followers

Following 0 people

10 Loved Places

Listings

  • Männerzone Aussersihl, Zurich
  • Frenz-Frenzy Doyama-cho, Osaka
  • Hercules Kamppi, Helsinki
  • Hotel GLO Center, Helsinki
  • Vogue Sauna Vallila, Helsinki
  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Frenz-Frenzy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mad decor but really great
    Had a sodden night here having discovered Shochu in Kyushu earlier.Huge selection of domestic and foreign drinks. Your host is fantastic and a wealth of knowledge to boot. A way into meeting the locals too as Frenz-Frenzy has a loyal following of Osakans. Highly recommended.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Männerzone Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loved it.
    Bar guys wearing overalls. Hot! I arrived around 10 pm and was empty. Then it got really really busy within the next hour. Fun and friendly locals with an industrial vibe to the place. Shop is closed in the evening so do your browsing during the day. Nice mix of leather men and bears with some confused tourists thrown into the mix.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Moustache Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Eye candy but nothing more
    Maybe I don't fit the demographic but had a so-so time here. As said in the other review it is really glam sice the refurb. Not a big place but pack a lot into the space. Staff are helpful but the clientele doesn't really match the image I had of a bath-house called 'Moustache'. Primarily young guys with a bit of an attitude. Probably give it a miss next time.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Cavalier Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Classy bears hangout.
    Directed to Cavalier by locals in the know and who guessed at my preferences. Relatively new with great decor. The owners Hans and Pekka were gracious hosts and also have tasty snacks for hungry boys.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Hercules Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Should be renamed Her. cules
    Waited and waited until it should have been busy. When I went in I was stunned to find more women than men there. wasn't exactly packed either; at best 20 people in. Still charged a cover for a ghost ship of a venue. Back bar was closed. Disappointing.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Vogue Sauna Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Happy Finnish.
    Ok, so I'm generally not a slut but I had a great time here. Found it hard to find. Best is to take the 7b tram to Sturenkatu, walk up the hill staying on the left side of the street. It's above a hostel, next door to a supermarket. Found the owner to be a great host with plenty of info on where to go and when. The punters are older- 30 to 50ish (fine by me) and really friendly *wink*. Went twice and would certainly go again when in town.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed Hotel GLO Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip and handy.
    I'm putting a full writeup on Tripadvisor soon, but rather liked this hotel. Well designed and laid out room. Bed was super comfy. Downside was the bath/shower combo; almost impossible to not flood the room! Most of the scene and sights were no more than 10 minutes away. Pricy, but you ARE in Finland.

  • ElegantMess
    ElegantMess reviewed X-Baar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not happening.
    Went twice. On Sunday I was the only customer with the exception of two lesbians who sat at the bar, drank nothing then left. The next day there was 4 people! Who left after ten minutes. Think most of the guys hang out in Club 69, do their business then go home. Small place with a dancefloor I never saw used. Tucked away behind a fast food stand. Probably won't bother with going again.