Drew2214

Drew Bilcik, 52M.

Jersey City, New Jersey
Joined Feb 2008
6 Followers

Following 0 people

11 Loved Places

Listings

  • Therapy Hell's Kitchen, New York
  • Sitges Villa Crespo, Buenos Aires
  • Glam Recoleta, Buenos Aires
  • Amerika Villa Crespo, Buenos Aires
  • Lugar Gay San Telmo, Buenos Aires
  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Recoleta Cemetery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Recoleta Cemetery is a must see
    Recoleta cemetery is a must see for any tourist. If you go on a Saturday, there is a nice art and craft market outside the cemetery. The cemetery is a labyrinth of mausoleums and can be overwhelming. We found a tour guide at the entrance that only charged us 45 pesos each for a private tour. It was worth every penny.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Malba Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love MALBA
    I'm not much a museum person, but I absolutely loved MALBA. First of all, the building is new and modern with plenty of natural light coming in. It's also just the right size and not overwhelming. It's a nice mix of art and the special exhibit that day, the work of artist Carlos Cruz-Diez, was fascinating. I would highly recommend a visit to this museum.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Lugar Gay Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not a Fan of Lugar Gay
    We chose to stay at Lugar Gay based on reviews we read and the staff that we heard was so helpful with dinner, bar, tourist recommendations. I was extremely disappointed when we showed up. First of all, there is this ridiculously long, steep staircase that you must climb (with your luggage) just to get to the main floor of the B&B. I stayed in one of the air-conditioned rooms with ensuite bathroom. While it was adequate, there was always a musty smell in the room. The property is clothing optional and for such a small B&B (there are 8 rooms) there were plenty of naked men lying out on the small deck. Pictures of naked men and penis shaped artifacts were everywhere, and at times it felt more like a bathhouse and less like a bed & breakfast. If this is what you are looking for, than book a room. It wasn't my thing. The 2 decks got plenty of sun, but we found that most of the furniture on the decks was broken, or on the verge of ripping. We were disappointed with the staff as well. Not all of the staff spoke English as it said on the website, and they were not as helpful with bar/club/restaurant recommendations as we would have liked. Overall, this was not the kind of accomadations we were looking for. I would not stay there again. To be fair, there were plenty of guys staying there that loved the place. it just wasn't for me.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Parilla Miranda Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Dinner and People Watching
    We loved this restaurant. We went on a Friday night and reserved a table outside. The food was excellent and the meal was well-priced at 300 pesos for 2 people. Are steaks were delicous. The crowd was interesting and hip. One of our favorite restaurants in BA.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Pride Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute Cafe for Lunch
    We went to Pride Cafe for lunch on a Sunday. It is in San Telmo, and 1 block over from the Sunday San Telmo Street Market, so it was a great escape from the crowds on the street. The staff was very friendly and the sandwiches we had were delicious. The decor is pretty basic, but on a nice day the outdoor seating makes for great people watching.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Sitges Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice Video Bar
    We went to Stiges on a Friday night around 1:30am. They charged a 50 peso cover and then it was open bar for the night. Inside there are lots of tables and chairs to sit and watch videos while drinking. It was cute. it was mostly gay men, but a fair number of lesbians as well. It's only 3 block from Amerika, so we started our night there and then walked over to Amerika.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Glam Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Glam is the place to be on Thursday Night
    Glam is a cute, danceclub with 2 dancefloors. The front dancefloor is more top 40 music. The back dancefloor was retro 80's and 90's music. The crowd was mostly gay men. It got crowded by 3AM. I would recommend getting there around 2AM. A 25 peso cover charge got you 2 drinks. You have to buy drink tickets from a cashier in the back of the space and then go to a bar to get your drink. The club itself had exposed brick walls and some nice wood fixtures. From what I was told it was the best spot to be on a Thursday night.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Amerika Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's always a party at Amerika
    We were in Buenos Aires in January 2012 and went to Amerika twice. This is what a club should be. The energy was bouncing off the walls. It's suppose to be a gay club but there are a lot of straight people too. Plus a far amount of transexuals. It made for one big, fun melting pot. On Friday night the music is mostly latin recording artists, Saturday is more mainstream American and European artists. Be prepared for bubbles, balloons and rain on the dancefloor as well as sexy male and tranny go-go dancers. One of the upstair balconies has a 2nd dance floor that plays different music. There is also the "tunnel" a back room area for those so inclined. Don't even think about going before 2AM. The cover was 80 pesos (less than 20 dollars USA). Once inside beer and soda was free and cocktails were 5 pesos. Even if you don't like to dance, you can go up to one of the balconies and just watch the crowd. It was pure entertainment.

  • Drew2214
    Drew2214 reviewed Therapy Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great place when not too crowded...
    Therapy is a beautiful bar that feels more like a ski challet in Vail than a Manhattan bar. They have a fireplace, skylight and great drinks. Once it gets a little crowded the bar is very hard to navigate and becomes very uncomfortable.