BIGGESTJOHN

John Beary, 51M. If it's fun, I will like it.....

Overland Park, Kansas
Joined Feb 2013
4 Followers

Following 0 people

44 Loved Places

Listings

  • Tracks Denver Five Points, Denver
  • Charlie's Denver Capitol Hill, Denver
  • Compound Washington Park, Denver
  • Denver Wrangler Five Points, Denver
  • Twist South Beach, Miami Beach
  • Boyztown Denver Southwest, Denver

Cities

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Twist Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A good ol' drunk time.
    I love this place. Full of hotties and good vibes. I recommend.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Compound Over a year ago
    Hates it

    the dogpound....
    This place always seems to have an unfriendly undercurrent. It's chopped up, parking is bad, I have NEVER had fun here......it's exactly what I DO NOT LIKE. In my opinion, and to each their own, it attracts a bizarre crowd.....not trendy, more dysfunctional. I generally find myself talking people out of going here when I am out as a group. Restrooms are filthy. Lockers on the wall for whatever reason.......I have NEVER seen anyone use one. It's a place I prefer leaving from....always. I guess on a plus side, I remember they use to open at 6am and the diehards would return....that's it.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed 16th Street Pedestrian Mall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I love the free shuttle, something for everyone.
    On the east end, you have the Sheraton, Yardhouse, Earl's, a United Artists multiplexx, on the west end (wrong end) you have Larimer Square with it's ever changing restaurants/bars. There is a great Lucky Strike Lanes with food and drink/always good fun. Lotsa peeps days and early evenings, good hotels, good restaurants.......it's fun and nice. Plenty of police so no matter what time of day, you always have the men in blue around. It's a good time for visitors. The shopping leaves something to be desired, mainly discount retailers but really amazing values on men's colognes......I often pick up Cartier, Ferragamo and Bulgari @ Ross and TJ Maxx..who knew?

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed The Saucy Noodle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good ol' Italian restaurant
    Great space, reminds me of italian restaurants of a bygone era. Incredible food, reasonably priced, great pizzas......in the Bonnie Brae neighborhood, a charming section of Denver.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Denver Wrangler Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Woohoo! Always a fun time....
    It's laid back, bunch of men, sitting around getting drunk. Some hot, some not, but all friendly. Beer bust on Sundays rocks. It's absolutely the best time for a Sunday afternoon in Denver.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Missie B's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Toss back to pre Stonewall days...very unhappy people frequent here.
    This bar really is an emphasis of the sad state of gay life in Kansas City. It has a bizarre crowd who are either extremely flamboyant or extremely closeted. I have been here many times and it's never been fun. It's a lot of individuals with severe alcoholism or they simply don't take care of themselves. Kansas CIty had really great gay bars, they're closed now. The bar is dirty, the music is old, the dance floors are both tiny, even the drag shows are bad.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Bistro 303 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Probably my favorite drink hangout in Kansas City!
    This place is relaxed, clean, gets a et crowd, great drinks, attentive staff, good location and reasonably priced. More of an early evening spot to hang or meet new people. Great place.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Balsano's Gelato Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to get delicious gelato or coffee.
    This is a charming little restaurant in Kansas City's Power and Light District. Great place for dessert or a quick coffee. Owners Tom and Tom are usually inside making delicious and fresh gelato. They often rotate the flavors so mention which one is your favorite! A must when visiting Kansas City. Conveniently located near the Kaufman Center for the Arts, Sprint Center and Main Street Theatre.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed JW Marriot Denver (Cherry Creek) Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Well it's close to Hermes and Neiman Marcus.....
    This is one of the those places you scratch your head and just wonder why? The rooms are horrible. I cannot think of anything positive to say about this hotel. I guess the reasoning behind it was to have a "brand" hotel in the upscale, yet odd Cherry Creek shopping district......an area that has an Hermes, Cartier, Tiffany & Co within blocks of a pot dispensary and head shop. You have to wonder who is managing Cherry Creek North? The lobby is not impressive. This is kind of like Martha Stewart in K-Mart. You know....you still have higher expectations but then when you see it, you are miserably depressed. The rooms are white/blue and unimaginative, much like the exterior of the hotel. I guess you can say it is consistently.....bad.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Hotel Teatro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's a boutique hotel .....
    Don't get me wrong, it's a very great hotel......like so many upscale hotels, the rooms have everything that you might expect. They aren't particularly large, but they are well appointed. Personally, I don't feel this hotel has much personality......it's bland. I have been to many, many "boutique" type hotels in Chicago, New Orleans, Charleston, etc and this would not be high on my list of hotels. It's like a closet-case boutique hotel. On a positive note.....attentive staff, amazing Kevin Taylor restaurant on premise....very good linens. I would definitely stay here over the Ritz Carlton, but I would prefer the Four Seasons for the money. It falls in between, but is by far the smallest of the three mentioned. So if you are looking for something a little more intimate that is still luxurious, this is a good choice and I believe less expensive than either the Ritz or Four Seasons. Excellent location for theatre, way better than the Ritz across downtown that is located directly across from the Bus Station!

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed M Uptown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's gay Applebee's!
    The patio is a good summer hangout. This Mary's is considerably better than some of the others I have been in. It's a better atmosphere and the food is much better. The drinks leave something to be desired, expensive and weak. Best to order a draft or waste money on some concoction with a stupid name that is twice as much as it should be. Staff is great when they aren't hungover. I dig it. It's fun.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Steuben's Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Food like Mom SHOULD HAVE COOKED.
    This place has great home cooking....you know, Mac & Cheese, Meatloaf, Fried Chicken, Pork Chops, and Memphis ribs. The food everyone loves but feels guilty eating. It's so damn good though you won't mind. This place is great and PACKED. Prepare for a short wait. They have oldstyle drinks on the menu like Manhattans, Old Fashioned and my favorite a Moscow Mule in an ice cold copper mug. Nothing says love like meatloaf and vodka. Reasonably priced, cool people, great staff, close to downtown, killer food. It ranks up there with an orgasm. Anyone who knows me, knows I wouldn't toss that out there lightly. Open late and takeout available.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Avenue Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great for a nicer dinner.
    I have always loved this restaurant. They have a great and reasonably happy hour which is surprising in a "white tablecloth" restaurant. This is a great upscale restaurant. Absolutely amazing martinis. Great place to relax with friends or go on a first date. Highly recommended. Great steaks, oysters, fish and pork chops. Not outrageously priced, but a little more than average. It's what you would expect from an upscale restaurant. Not pretentious either. I have gone directly in the Wrangler after having dinner here. Open late and conveniently in the uptown part of Denver, blocks from Downtown.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed D'Corazon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yummy mexican and strong Margs!
    This is one of the few LoDo restaurants I would recommend. It's absolutely cheap and the margs are STARTLINGLY strong. Careful. They do limit it to four and they taste weak. They're not. Try the soft Chili Rellenos. They are amazing. You can't go wrong here. It's right off the 16t Street shuttle Market Street drop off. Great spot to get a little "happy" prior to a game at Coors Field or an event at Pepsi Center.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Charlie's Denver Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This is where they coined the term "WHITE MEN CAN'T DANCE"
    The men that do country are great.....it's on the "club" dance side it gets sketchy. The bar is full of cowboys and lesbians which always makes for an interesting mix. Thursday night is generally Charlie's night.....although it's becoming more diluted by other bars. It's definitely cheap........there are always drink specials but the bartenders generally won't mention them so keep that in mind. Beer by the pitcher is available. What can be said of Charlie's is that there is a pair of mirror covered boots hanging and spinning from the ceiling. If that appeals to you......hey. this is YOUR bar.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Tamayo Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Absolutely a must skip.
    Yawn.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Table Six Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An off the map favorite
    I say off the map because it's at 6th and Corona. This is absolutely one of the best restaurants in Denver. If you are coming to Denver, plan a dinner here. It would not be an uncommon experience to have someone send a very expensive bottle of wine your way while you are waiting for your table. Great crowd, mixed because it's in a neighborhood location, but still savvy. The food is impeccable and it will promise to be one of the best meals you have had in a long time. This is small, so plan ahead. Great and knowledgeable staff. Always attentive. It's hip, but the focus is definitely on the food. I absolutely guarantee you will enjoy your experience. HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommended.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed DeLuxe Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent spot for a date or a dinner party.
    This is one of my favorite restaurant is in Denver. They have amazing food, a great staff, it's reasonably priced (not cheap though) and always fun. This is an intimate restaurant (i.e small) but I never have felt crowded in, it's simply enjoyable. They have great drinks and the food is always, always delicious. Make reservations or arrive earlier. I just wish I had time to go more often. It's located off Broadway, five minutes from downtown. Parking is usually on the street so be aware. Good place to eat prior to seeing a film at the nearby historic Mayan theater and close to the Compound, Boyztown, etc.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Vesta Dipping Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    LOVE
    I prefer their sister restaurant, Steuben's on 17th.....I would opt for it.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Fruition Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Best if you're dieting
    It's okay. Smallish plates, pricey......probably won't be back.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed The Corner Office Restaurant + Martini Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    okay if you're an Insurance Salesman
    Really, I am not a fan.....horrible service. Best for wannabe financial advisors trying to impress their friends with their new corporate card.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Bastiens Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Don't fall for the hype....
    It's OKAY....just not great and it's pricey. The steaks are not the best and for the price, there are very many other options. It's like having your mom cook for you (if she burns steaks)...very mediocre. There are better options for the money. Some of the non-beef items are much better. The fried chicken is pretty good, I would opt for that........

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Tracks Denver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    the biggest and baddest
    Great space.......it's like an old time dance bar. This reminds me loosely of the bars from the 90's that were huge and dance focused. The dance floor is just kind of stuck there (the main one) but it's always fun, strong drinks and they're reasonably priced. It's in the middle of nowhere though...the Eagle is nearby if you get sweaty and need to cool off...it's never busy. Tracks IS the Saturday Night bar in Denver. There are always good looking people there. Very mixed and not so gay focused and getting more so every year.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Boyztown Denver Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good for laughs.....
    It's a little bizarre.......it's a lotta of guys that really shouldn't be strippers, that can't dance and hang all over ol' guys.. I always have fun there though.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed The Brown Palace Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Just make sure you are actually in the Brown.....
    it's connected by bridge to the Econolodge or Days Inn or something. Great lobby, good pomp (high tea is a must!) excellent choice of restaurants.....it's kind of like visiting your rich aunt's house.....smallish rooms, reasonably price for what you get though. Excellent service. Good choices in all price options for food or booze.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed The Curtis Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent place for theater, food and a good romp!
    Nice update, very swanky, rooms are smallish but good. If I recall there is a good seafood restaurant on the first floor. A HUGE plus for Denver. I would recommend this place highly if you're doing a show.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Grand Hyatt Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The wrong HYATT.
    Stay at the new one off Curtis....;.yes this one had a $40 million remodel, but it's still boring. Nothing nearby......except the Ritz Carlton and the bus station..

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Loews Denver Hotel Over a year ago
    Hates it

    It's GLENDALE......run
    It may have a Denver address, but it's really Glendale. Nothing around it whatsoever, good italian restaurant....great service for dogs, comfy beds....needs an update. Not a big fan. It is quiet and close to CC shopping.....somewhat. Best for older couples with pets.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Sheraton Denver Downtown Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great value, nice rooms, good remodel, attentive staff.
    I like this place. It's cheap (for what you get) good location...16th Street Mall and close to the bars in uptown and on Main. Not far from Tracks, but you'll need a cab. There is always a drunk, horny guy coming out of Yardhouse as well, you have to watch out for them. They're aggressive and handsy.. The hotel rooms are nicely appointed, prefer the suites......they're usually in corner and best enjoyed on a high floor. Nice gym. It's on the RIGHT side of downtown too. Close to the theatre district but away from the tired restaurants and stores of Larimer (the wrong end of downtown). It'/s best to be close to uptown. Places in Larimer won't be the same next time you visit anyway......

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Econolodge Downtown Over a year ago
    Hates it

    filthy and full of narcotics......
    if you want to "party".....this place is full of messes. It has a nice parking lot though.....oh and free breakfast.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Ramada Inn Downtown Denver Over a year ago
    Hates it

    uuugghhh......
    I can't imagine anyone admiring this place. Unfortunately, I have had a few encounters here. It never amounts to a second date. Horrible beds, seriously in need of a remodel. If you are interested in excitement though, there is always a police sting nearby your room. You never know who is watching here.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Racines Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good munchies, nice space, great parking, reasonably price.
    I have never had a bad meal here. It's dependable and the staff is great.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed Benny's Restaurante y Tequila Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good food, good margs, cheap.
    Not as gay as it used to be, but what is........still a good place for a quick bite.

  • BIGGESTJOHN
    BIGGESTJOHN reviewed X Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best bar in Denver
    Good place to grab something to eat in the evening, good food, reasonably priced. Staff is excellent, friendly and personable. This is a business that continually reinvests in itself. Fun place to hang, good crowd, centrally located and very good music.