BBwannabe

50M.

Baltimore, Maryland
Joined Mar 2009
11 Followers 5 Following

Following 5 people

35 Loved Places

Listings

  • Boardwalk Wilton Manors, Fort Lauderdale
  • Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas
  • Freezone Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas

Cities

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed SCORE Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Old Review...Update Pending
    I finally got to Score at their new digs on Washington Rd. on 11/18/17. There was a mixed crowd and some drag queens too. The hunky bartenders are still there, and the music is still good. The cover was $7, and I paid $10 for a rum and coke, but it was a stiff one (the drink, not the bartender.) There is a long bar along one wall and a small one in the back, and a DJ booth. A runway runs along the right side of the room with some VIP seating. A big disco ball hangs from the ceiling. The gogo boys were mostly muscle pups and some will keep coming back for tips--no lap dances here. Yes, I will go back.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Bacchus Waikiki 1 month ago
    Loves it

    It Gets a Little Bacchanalian...
    Bacchus Waikiki is an upstairs joint with a bar on one side and high-top tables and stools on the other. This place is kind of small with 4 video screens, but there is no cover. It's bigger than Tapa's Lanai Bar, though. When I was there c. 11:00 pm on 10/5/17, there was a mixed group of people and I paid $5 for a rum and coke. Stick around long enough for the booze to flow and a buff guy will take his shirt off. I will probably go back!

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Tapa's Lanai Bar 1 month ago
    Hates it

    Cheap, nice breezes but no scenery
    Tapa's is an upstairs lanai bar where you can be thankful for the tropical breezes, esp. if you're drunk. :) It is adjacent to a restaurant that I want to try one day. There is an area just off the bar with tables and chairs, high top tables and stools, also 2 video screens. I was there 'round midnight on 10/5/17 and there was a mixed crowd--I say 'crowd' but it was pretty quiet for a Thurs. The lanai overlooks an alley but I didn't get a whiff of anything stinky. I paid $4.50 for a rum and coke. The bartender was nice, but security guy yelled at me for trying to leave by the restaurant door. Not sure if I would go back or not.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Hula's Bar & Lei Stand 8 months ago
    Loves it

    Komo Mai e Noho e Inu Ka Wai (Come in, Sit, Rest, Drink)
    Hula's Bar & Cafe has a long oval bar decorated with bamboo, and an outrigger canoe on the ceiling. Seating & tables are on both sides of the bar. A long wall of windows on the left gives a great view of the zoo and park, esp. since the bar is on the 2nd floor. It's near the gay area of Waikiki Beach. Seating and a small elevated dance floor are to the right of the bar, and the DJ booth is in the back. I was there on 4/2/16 and the place was fairly packed with a mixed crowd, and hot bartenders too! I paid $7.00 for a rum & coke. The bartender asked what kind of rum I liked--a first. (Actually he was the only one to say anything to me, but I was only there an hour since I had to get up early in the AM.) I would definitely go back next time I'm on Oahu.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Boiler Room 8 months ago
    Hates it

    Skip it Unless You're a Local.
    I was here on 5/22/16 at 1:00am. The Boiler Room consists of a bar along one wall with several tables in the floor space, a small lounge area in one recessed corner by the bathrooms (ick), and a pool table (unused at the time.) I paid $8.50 for a Bacardi and Coke. Pros: rainbow flags hanging from the ceiling, and exposed brick walls. Cons: a mixed crowd of locals who kept to themselves. I will not be back.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Come with me to the Castro
    Castro is in Inwood at the north tip of Manhattan, near the intersection of Nagle and Dyckman (pronounced Dick-Man!) street. It's another of those long narrow NYC bars with a small dance floor, although people acted like it's all dance floor. Castro has 4 video screens and a longish bar with gogo guys dancing on it--muscular and chunky type dancers. The bartenders were def. hot! When I was there in the wee hours of 5/10/15, it was crowded and there were mostly black and hispanic dancers and patrons. Sweet hookah smoke added to the atmosphere. The cover was $10 and I paid $7.50 for a rum and coke. Yes, I would go back.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Southern Nights Tampa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Chic Club with Great Go-Go Guys
    G-Bar is really a big club with three bars (two on either side of an exposed brick wall with arches), a small dance floor and 14 video screens. Several VIP booths are on the right (looking in from the street.) Big balls (disco) and small red-lamped chandeliers hang from the ceiling, and a settee is up front so you can rest your tired feet while scoping out the patrons. Also of note are the thick pillars covered with zebra print fabric. When I was there in the wee hours of 2/22/15, there was a mixed crowd and I paid $5 for a rum and coke. The go-go boys were hot, beefy or chiseled types and were polite and friendly. I would definitely go back.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Hunters Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The savanna very dry this year...try again in wet season?
    Hunters video bar has 11 video screens and a rectangular bar with hi-top tables and barstools. There is a patio out front with tables and chairs. I was there with my cousin on 7/23/14--I could have hooked up with a couple of old queens otherwise. :-) There was only one go-go boy, James, but he was cute and friendly with a nice body. Not many people were in there despite there being an underwear contest with 6 competitors. I guess that was 'cause it was a Wed. and had been a very hot day. Thus, I gave them an extra star for the benefit of the doubt. Drinks were not expensive--I paid $6 for a rum and coke--and the staff was quite friendly. I would probably go back, just not on a hot weekday.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Cruze Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Big Modern Bar in the Strip District...But No Strippers
    Cruze is a big modern-looking bar in Pittsburgh' Strip District. The bar consists of three big rooms and a porch. One room has a large dance floor area with a bar behind it, another room is a lounge area, and there is a front (entry) room with a bar and another lounge area. Cruze has a No Smoking policy, except for on the porch. Access to the bar is by a ramp. When I was there in the wee hours of a Sun. morning the July before last, I paid $4.50 for a rum and coke, and the bar was not crowded. I would go again, even though they close at 2:00 AM and there are no go-go boys.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Nowhere Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Inexpensive-ish Bar but Small and Crowded
    Nowhere is a long, narrowish bar just east of NYU that has a local hangout flavor (and several video screens.) I was there on 5/17/14 and paid $6.00 for a rum and coke. There was no cover charge (yay!), but there weren't many places to sit, either. The place was *packed*, with a mixed crowd. There was only *one* go-go boy twink on the stage in the rear, so I finished my drink and left. I didn't find Nowhere super interesting, but it's a cheap (for NYC) night on the town, the management is polite, and it's somewhere you could mingle with the locals, I guess.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed The Monster Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Monster of a Bar :-)
    The Monster bar is across Sheridan Square from the Stonewall Inn. Monster has an oval bar (complete with beefy bartenders!) and open lounge area with a piano bar upstairs. Downstairs is a big dance floor area with a long bar along one wall. A stage for the go-go boys and a DJ booth are at one end of the room. Monster has all kinds-- bears, drag queens, women (real ones), and muscle guys but mostly men. When I was there in the wee hours of 5/18/14 I paid $7.00 for a rum and coke, and the cover charge was ~$9. Two buff dancer guys were on the go-go stage. The only real problem with this bar is it only has one (unisex) bathroom. I think Monster would be a good substitute for the now-closed Splash Bar. Yes, I would go back.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Toucans Tiki Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Hopping Tropical-Themed Bar and Club
    Toucans is a tropical, tiki-themed bar and club just north of downtown Palm Springs. There is a seating area with tables, a go-go stage, and a small dance floor on the left side and a pentagonal bar taking up most of the right side of the building. A banquette with tables is in front of the bar area, and a narrow patio for smoking (with access to the bar via pass-throughs) is to the right of the building. I was here with my cousin on 7/31/12. It was quite busy for a Tues. night. (Yeah I wonder what it's like on the weekends?) There was a mixed crowd but quite a few hot guys, and some friendly ones too! There was no cover, and I paid like $6 for a rum and coke. The drinks were pretty strong, so you get your money's worth there. :-) On the negative side, the smoking patio closed at 1:20am, and they kicked everyone out by 1:45am. :-( But I would def. go back anyway. Maybe next time....

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The New "It" Gay Bar in Vegas! :)
    This club across from Gypsy (now apparently a hip-hop club) is like two clubs in one. A "top-40 music" club is in the front with traditional pub-like decor and a large rectangular bar with video screens above. There is a small dance floor and lounge area, and banqette seating is along one wall. In the rear (beyond a big fish tank) is a glitzy futuristic-disco type club playing techno / house music. A long bar is along one wall and a small lounge is in the back beyond the dance floor. Above this area is a circular loft which is the VIP area, with lots of booths and a small bar (with top shelf prices--bring your money!) To the right of the building is an outside patio area ending in the courtyard-like reception area in the front. I was there in the wee hours of 7/29/12 and there was a mixed crowd. The bartenders were friendly and def. not bad looking. The go-go guys were nice and were a variety of types from twinks to muscular or stocky jocks. (One was actually a competitve amateur bodybuilder!) The cover was $20 and I paid $6 for a rum and coke. When the door man saw I was from Maryland he gave me a free VIP upgrade! I will definitely be back next time I'm in Vegas!

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Twist 3 weeks ago
    Loves it

    A rabbit warren of bars and dance floors :-)
    This place is a rabbit warren of bars and dance floors. Good for us rabbits! ;-) I have hooked up here 3 times. Drinks are pricey--I paid $8 for a rum and coke last time I was here in Nov. 2016. The dancer muscle guys in the back cabana are hot slabs of beefcake! (It is the only gay bar in Miami with male strippers now that Discotekka is closed, so it's crowded back there.) Just a little warning that lap dances run from $20 to $60. Someone elsewhere on this site commented that if you are on a budget, negotiate with the dancer boi ahead of time. Good advice.

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Freezone Over a year ago
    Loves it

    May Be the Friendliest Gay Bar in Las Vegas
    I was at Free Zone on July 31st, 2010. It was not too crowded despite it being a Sat. night, but it probably gets busier during the cooler months. Staff were very nice and friendly, especially the shot boys. :) I missed the go-go boys on Thurs. but if they are anything like the shot boys they must be pretty f'ing hot! Free Zone has a dance floor surrounded by tables on one side with a horseshoe-shaped bar and lounge area on the other side. Pool tables are on the far side of the dance floor, and booths are along two walls. I paid $5 for a rum and coke, if I remember right. I will definitely go back, especially if I want to get tanked again. :)

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Boardwalk Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Decent Prices and Consistently Hot Dancers
    Located just SW of Wilton Manors, Boardwalk has a large bar with a stage and several platforms for dancers--even a go-go cage! There's a lounge area off to one side, and a separate room for lap dances. Boardwalk has quite a few *hot* dancer guys, ranging from cute twinks to buff jocks & fitness model type guys (the S. Florida "look"), and a few bodybuilder types. I was here in Nov. '09 and Nov. '13, and the dancers are consistently hot, and the bartenders are hot too! I paid $8 for a rum and coke. Lap dances are $20 each. Advice for the budget-conscious: Limit yourself to a few dances and then leave, or get used to saying "No, thanks." Finally a few dancer shout-outs: Thanks to Orlando and Roland (big beefy Latino studs!) and Joshua (short but sweet muscle twink) for the fun time! I will be back!

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Ziegfield's/Secrets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ziegfield's/Secrets has Reopened Bigger and Better
    Secrets/Ziegfield's has reopened at a new location at the corner of Half and T Sts. SW. (Hallelujah!) This three-story complex has a mezzanine bar on the entry level, which has a grand view of the lower floor and Ziegfield's drag stage. To the right of the mezzanine bar, stairs lead up to the second floor where the naked dancer guys are. :p There is another huge bar on the lower floor and two bars (often with naked guys on them!) in Secrets upstairs. Each floor also has a medium-size dance floor. This venue has a lot more room than the old location. Did I mention the naked guys? My friend and I went there on a recent Friday. The cover charge was $10 and I paid $5.50 for a rum and Coke. Secrets must have the hottest, friendliest, most diverse dancer guys in DC! I always have a good time there, so I'll be back! :)

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Images Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Inexpensive Bar, But Rather Aloof Crowd
    Images has a *long* bar with seven flatscreen TVs and a pool table by the front window. They have go-go boys in their underwear Tues. and Fri. nights at 6:00 pm and 10:30 pm. I was there on Fri. 7/17/09, and it was not very crowded. The cover was $1.00 (yes, one dollar--that's not a typo!) The drinks were cheap (I paid $2.50 for a rum and coke) and the crowd seemed mixed with gays, lesbians, and a few straights. It seems like a nice place to relax with a drink at the bar or one of the tables. The only downside was that the patrons were quite aloof, and there were only a few dancer boys working there, cute though they were. My advice is to go with a friend or two, unless you like being left alone. :)

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Lucky's Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Get Lucky at Lucky's :)
    Lucky's (AKA the Real Luck Cafe) is a neighborhood gay bar and cafe with two floors and a back deck. Note that you need to enter through the back door (of the bar, that is!) off the deck. Upstairs is another bar with hot nude dancer boys (from 10 pm 'til 1 am) and a smallish dance floor. I was there on Sat. 7/18/09. The patrons were mostly guys, and there were quite a few cute ones. Drinks were cheap, and there was no cover charge. Downstairs there were only a few guys, despite it being a Saturday, but upstairs it was pretty crowded around the bar, with only a few people on the dance floor. A word of warning though: Don't touch the dancer boys or you may get thrown out!

  • BBwannabe
    BBwannabe reviewed Axis Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hopping Multi-Level Mixed-Crowd Club
    I was at Axis nightclub on Sat. night, 3/7/09. This is a multi-level club with two bars. There were quite a few hot guys there, some shirtless, a few quite buff, :p and it looked like a pretty mixed crowd with some women and a few straight-seeming guys. The dance floor was pretty crowded, but the music was great! They have a stage you can dance on that is also used for theater productions. I will def. be going back next time I am in Columbus.