Jerry Hughes, 64M. Partnered 35yrs to same wonderful man. In pic I am the white man, he the Polynesian one. We've raised 8 wonderful dogs, 5 now passed. We own our home in the Southbay area of LA, still have a date night once a week and many times go dancing at same club we first met. We love making new friends with genuine people. We love to travel and spend time with our babies and family and friends. My partner and I have traveled to most of Europe, Egypt, Croatia, Turkey, Greece, Samoa, Panama, Jamaica, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico. Recently we just returned from trip to Spain.

Los Angeles, California
Joined Apr 2007
45 Followers 42 Following

204 Loved Places

Listings

  • Fusion Waikiki Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Honolulu (Waikiki), Honolulu
  • Piranha Boutique Nightclub Paradise Fruit Loop, Las Vegas
  • Arena (Delicious Wednesdays & Boys Night Saturday) Hollywood, Hollywood
  • Circus Disco Hollywood, Hollywood

Cities

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Arclight Hollywood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Movie going
    The movie experience is far superior here, bigger seats, reserved seats, sound quality unsurpassed make it a great experience. They have a membership program that gives you certain perks.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Hilton Atlanta Airport Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Convenient to Airport
    Close to ATL, lots of restaurants nearby as well as a couple decent ones inside the hotel, shuttle to airport making it easy to catch subway to downtown and Buckhead. Hotel rooms are nicely decorated, pretty mainstream. It was great location for me since it was walking distance t my companies HDQ's.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Centre Georges Pompidou Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very unique building architecturally
    From the outside this museum stands out architecturally, you either hate it or love it. Myself, I have always liked anything that doesn't fit the norm.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Galleries Lafayette Haussman Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Grand Dame of Dept Stores
    This is really more than a department store. Its like going shopping at some of the greatest designer stores but finding them all in one place. You feel like a million bucks the moment you set foot in this place. Its exquisite. The stain glass ceiling is really magnificent.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed North Carolina Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    State Zoo
    This is probably one of the largest zoos in world, its located just outside of Asheboro, NC, mid North Carolina about 25 miles south of Greensboro. It is a natural habitat zoo so animals have larger enclosures to roam, no enclosure constructed of steel or concrete. Zoo sits on 1500 acre tract with over 500 acres developed. The zoo is home to over 1100 specimens and represent over 200 species. One of the best zoos I have visited and especially great since they don't cage their animals.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Peabody Memphis Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Look for the ducks
    This is Memphis' Top hotel, located downtown, definitely take the elevator to top of hotel and see their wonderful Plaza on top. They also keep the ducks up there when they are swimming in lobby in fountain. Atop the hotel is a great place to have a luncheon, wedding reception or a great party.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Charles Vergos Rendezvous Charcoal Ribs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Really great Dry Rub Ribs
    Being a North Carolina native I always like to stack up the BBQ from different regions of US and the ribs at Rendezvous are definitely worthy of their reputation, my favorite is the pork shoulder rather than the ribs. I am not a fan of dry rubs for most part, these are definitely delicious. But... Carolina BBQ still rocks in my opinion.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed St Stephens Cathedral Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of Europe's finest Cathedrals.
    Sits off Ring in inner Vienna, a really beautiful Cathedral. There is also access to top (343 steps) of Cathedral where you can get some great views of the city. Dates back to 1147 and sits on site of two earlier churches.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Vienna Marriott Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Center of City
    This was our choice during our vibist mainly because of relationship with Marriott over years and points we had accrued, however I must say it was a most beautiful hotel and the location was excellent. We walked everywhere, close to St Stephens Cathedral, Opera House, subway. It sits right on the Ring that circles inner Vienna.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Eagle Bar Vienna Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A real leather bar
    We weren't sure how authentic this place would be as a leather bar, real man's bar. It lived up to this title. While we didn't fit in dress wise we managed to have a good time. It just felt more comfortable than the other clubs in Vienna. It was easily accessible, not far from subway and walkable if staying in center Venna.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Belvedere Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A grand place in Venna
    Both upper and lower are grand, filled with some wonderful art. It's another opulent palace, grand in size. When walking out to edge of upper section the view over the lower section and gardens is so beautiful. The royal families during this era lived so outlandishly. The architecture is really reflective of a lot of the buildings in Venna. Another place that should be High on your visit list.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Schonbrunn Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This place is opulent.
    While the poor struggled, the monarchy lived extravagantly, it's obvious from the gold lined ceilings, walls, the large space, the rich decor. These folks lived in style of the most wealthy. It beautiful, the grounds are equally beautiful, well maintained. It's a place that definitely can't be missed while in Vienna

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Vienna State Opera Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Our 1st Opera was here.
    What a grand Opera House to experience our very 1st Opera. It was Pucinni's "La Fanciulla del West". Not his most famous, yet romantic. This is a most beautiful venue. We scored these tickets a day before, had 1st balcony, center. While the Stadt Opera is large it afords a great view from any seat. I went out immediately to a music store ad bought the tape and brushed up so I could better follow Opera. I highly recommend taking in the Opera while in Venna.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Mejii Shrine Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mejii Shrine
    Mejii is a Shinto Shrine, it is surrounded by a literal forest, absolutely beautiful peaceful place in middle of Tokyo, closest subway stop is off JR Yamanote LIne at Harajuku stop. Mejii is considered a sacred area so please observe rules while visiting and a forewarning no photos of the actual shrine, there is a guard who will scold you plus there is a sign posted advising not to take pics. I guess I was a little late in seeing sign. If you visit web site which I didn't find until our return there is a page dedicated to etiquette while visiting.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Tokyo Stay Nishi Shinjuku Over a year ago
    Loves it

    What hotel has a Washer and Dryer ...this one
    We stayed here, incredibly convenient, right next to Nishi Shinjuku Gocome Subway station, a quick 5-10 min walk to Shinjuku Business district and a quick 3 stops to Gay Tokyo.This hotel was very comfortable, great price, breakfast daily. Best park was across street was a 7-11 that had some of the best bentos we ate at extremely great prices. One of the great perks of this hotel was having a washer/dryer right in our room, also a microwave, refrigerator. The only downside was TV Channels were lacking in English, but who cares when you are not in your room most of the day and night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always a good time
    Always a great time here.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Arty Farty Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Went midweek, Larger than outside let's on to size.
    Was actually surprised at size inside. During daytime there is nothing to identify club, at night name is identified. Take entryway to left, walk upstairs and take an immediate right. Club greats you with a large bar (for Tokyo) and beyond is a cozy tiered seating area surrounding a dance floor. Still club would be way packed if just 50 people came inside. Staff very friendly and they do have a menu with drinks in pics and in English with prices published. Overall impressed with layout, set up, music. Just wished it had been a weekend so we could give a better review.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Encounters Restaurant and Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place for a stopover at LAX
    Took some coworkers in from ATL last night and must say it's a great place to wind down, relax and have a great meal or drink with a spectacular view, especially at night 3 floors up. This restaurant is a landmark at LAX and within easy walking distance of terminals. If you have a long layover its definitely worth the visit. We live here and it took peeps coming in from out of town for us to visit once again. The remodel was very nice. Suggestion, check out the website for some hints, one we read was to valet, trust me its cheaper than self parking at LAX, they want an arm and leg to self park.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Colosseum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Roman ruins in center city
    Near the Coliseum and well worth walking through are the ruins of Forum Romanum. You will find many temples, basilicas and Arches. Its like stepping back in time. Its a fairly large ruin. There does not appear to be a dedicated web site that I can find but many sites such as loneley planet and trip advisor have many reviews and information regarding the ruins. Closest Metro is Colesseo. Piece of advice watch your belongings on the subways and your pockets. Watch for children holding newspapers opened directly in front of you. Sign you are about to be robbed.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Trevi Fountain Over a year ago
    Loves it

    3 coins in a Fountain
    Everyone visits Trevi when in Rome, as you can see its a lot cleaner now then when we visited. It is crowded so getting a photograph shy of people is hard. Like most places of this nature in Rome visit not only in day but a night, it takes on another facet.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Vatican Museums Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Don't miss while in Rome
    Wish they had the internet first time we went, do visit the website GC has listed here it has an abundance of great info. We didn't do any guided tours and next time I think we will. We explored the museums on our own, a tour guide I think would be most helpful and allow you at same time to know what you are looking at, the historical value.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Spanish Steps Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful view from atop.
    Even now when I write my review I still recall how I would tell people we went to "Steps of the seven sisters" Haha... I could never get the name right. Its another place where masses gather, sit on the steps take in some sun, the sights below. Its a great photograph moment, one of the cities best.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed St. Peter's Basilica Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Massive, really beautiful
    We have had the pleasure of Visiting St Peters twice over the years and it is massive. You really need two days to absorb all of it. he views from atop of surrounding Rome are spectacular. The Basilica from within is as you would expect, ornate. The Catholic church really shows how wealthy and extravagant they were.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Los Compadres Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Incredible Mole, great food
    This place has a killer Mole, so incredibly good. Everything we as a party ordered was delicious, hot. They make their own corn tortillas fresh, they are wonderful. Highly recommend eating here next time you are in Long Beach. Those that live there I'm sure are aware of this local gem. The one we visited and I'm reviewing is Anaheim location. There is another location on 1144 Pine Avenue.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Chrysler Museum of Art Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful Museum in Norfolk
    Visited here with family and really enjoyed walking through the exhibits. Some of the sculptures were beautiful and one in particular was the sculpture (Bust) of Jesus.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed London Buses Route 9 (Heritage) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Useful when you don't want to walk
    We used this service when visiting with my parents and it came in handy for my father who had much difficulty walking long periods. It gave them a good view of the city and took us by a majority of the places we wanted to visit.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Maggiano's Little Italy Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent Italian at the Grove
    Sits between The Grove and Farmers Market and behind CBS Studios. This was some of the best Italian food I have eaten in a long while. The Lobster Spaghetti was so rich and loaded with Lobster. Food here is served family style so sharing a few entrees is probably smart if you are in a large group. Its off Beverly and Fairfax just North of Wilshire, South of Melrose. The recent episode of Modern Family week of Nov 17th was shot there.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Crest Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Thank God there is a bar for every type
    The first time visiting this bar with a friend who lives in the area was on a Tuesday night. That would be Bingo night. Have to say kudos to the bar for providing free food this night and apparently every event if you go by what it says on their web page. This place came across as a bar for those that don't fit in at your "typical" Gay bar. The front part has a more party atmosphere for drinking and and back area where outside patio is was more earthy. I came away feeling thankful that this bar was there to serve a different crowd.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Hyatt Place North ATL Airport Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice property near Airport
    Small property near Airport with very nicely decorated rooms, all like miniature suites. Complimentary continental breakfast comes with room, property offers free wifi. Free shuttle to and from airport which is great for catching Marta.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Georgia Aquarium Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worlds largest Aquarium
    Located downtown, the aquarium is home to over 100,000 fish and animals including 4 whale sharks, 2 Beluga whales. Lots of exhibits some featuring lobsters, jelly fish, pirannahs, sea otters, penguins, sea horses, sharks, stingrays. The largest tank according to staff is 280 ft by 120 ft and 30 ft deep.Check out hours on web site, they vary from day to day and they stay open later on weekends and during summer months.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Oil Can Harry's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An icon in the valley
    Use to frequent here in the 80's and it was quite fun place, didn't like the low ceilings but music was quite good, crowds were pretty down to earth. Glad it has survived when it's so common for gay bars to come and go.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Eagle LA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Long time establishment
    We are not frequent visitors but time we did go it was when they had after hours and I have to say it was quite packed, guys were way down to earth , hot and extremely friendly. Music was loud and very good.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Mother Lode Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice neighborhood bar
    One of the longer lasting bars in WeHo, friendly place. Not as pretentious as some other local bars but then I guess that's all relative.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Huntington Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stunning
    What a stunning place, the chinese and japanese hardens literally transported me to another world. The childrens garden was whimsical and really a place to capture childrens attention. The place is massive in scale and really a good days challenge. Mom is not wheelchair bound but needs a walker, have to say she was a trooper, made it thru about 3/4's of it b4 we called it a day, if she had needed a wheelchair it would not have been easy to maneuver entire place. Much of the gardens require you to get off the paved pathways to experience the beauty so it would have been a challenge. A must visit for any those coming to LA area.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Museum of Tolerance Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A great LA treasure
    Took my family a couple years ago and they were as impressed as I was. Have to say coming from a military family and being brought up to accept everyone and yet being from NC and seeing outward racism, coming to this museum brought back some of the things I witnessed as a child. This museum hopefully helps people to understand how racism in any form is wrong.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Santa Monica Pier Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A great place to visit in LA
    One of the many piers in LA, this one is also a great place to spend a day after sunning beneath on the beach at SM, you will see many people fishing at the end, don't know if I would be inclined to eat one of the fish they caught, nevertheless it's a great spot to view the shoreline of this great city.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Iolani Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Only Royal Palace in the US
    Iolani Palace was a royal palace where the Hawaiian Monarchy lived and reigned until overthrown by the US Government. King Kalakau had it built it was completed in 1892 and the last reigning monarch who lived there was Queen Lili'Uokalani who was placed under house arrest and forced to turned over the Islands to US control as battleships were staged off shore pointed at the island. This palace is magnificent, beautiful, many of the objects belonging to the place were sold or auctioned after the takeover and have since reclaimed, however there are many still to be found or located. Out of respect you are asked to where appropriate attire when visiting, where booties to protect the wood floors. I would recommend the guided tour or audio since there is so much history to learn from what was once a great monarchy. Recently a movie was released name Princess Ka'iulani, in the movie you will see many scenes with the palace.

  • Great resting place for our brave
    Took Mom here today, we are a military family. The setting is incredibly beautiful and a serene place, very well cared for. Inside the office there are kiosks to check for the resting place of a particular soldiers burial place. There is another office where staff can assist you further if you need additional help. At the end of the morial where you first enter is a monument and down below it a seating area for services. Pete is very right that the views up here of Honolulu and diamond head are spectacular.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Centennial Olympic Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Centennial Olympic Park
    This park was developed for the 1996 Olympics and remains for the enjoyment of Atlanta. When I visited the children were cooling off from the heat and by later afternoon the clouds and thunder rolled in, It amazed me that kids were still frolicking as the thunder and lightning were hovering above. Pretty Park, 21 acres to stroll, relax among the downtown skyline. It is surrounded by the Georgia World Conference Center, CNN Headquarters.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Grammy Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pretty cool Museum for Downtown LA, part of LA LIVE
    Visited today for very 1st time, pretty cool place. Museum is 4 floors, 1st floor really is just for entering but the next 3 levels are filled with Grammy Memorabilia and how music from the different genres started and artifact representing them. There is an exhibit dedicated to Michael Jackson. You will find lots of exhibits with clothing from stars present and past. There are sound booths where you can learn the mastering of mixing, sound and music and how its developed. One small sound room is dedicated to the evolvement of music and how we listened to it from the phonograph to the surround sound of today. That was one of my favorites. There is a Clive Davis theatre that holds a good 100+ people where you can also have private parties. There is a large exhibit dedicated to the 60's era from the Doors, to Janis Joplin to Hendrix. They even have letters written by many stars, those by Joplin were pretty cool to read, letters she wrote to her family about how life is better when you live a simpler life and the tribulations that come with fame. Her Yearbook is there , my God she was so normal looking then. Parking is not cheap, its close by. Museum is connected to LA Live, 1st 2 hrs is $5.00 but every 1/2 hr increment after that is an additional $5 not to exceed $25.00 for day.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Caesars Palace Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Saw Bette and Elton here
    Haven't actually stayed at hotel but we've been to see Bette Midler and Elton John and have eaten at a few of the restaurants, gambled as well here many a time. Its a really nice property and one of the first in the strip to bring upscale to Vegas. Nice hotel property.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Palace Station Hotel & Casino Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Another favorite with Island people
    This hotel along with the California hotel are big favorites with the Island people (Hawaii). My partners family always shuttles reunions between the two, have to say you get the Island feel when staying here, they have restaurants that serve some of the dishes one would be accustomed to getting at a Hawaii diner.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Restaurant d'Divine Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Read for hours cause?????
    Damn we missed out on both attempts to visit this place while in Barcelona. Each time we attempted they were closed. We either were too early or too late. They have different hours for different sets of days of the week. Perhaps on next trip. It is located on the busy avenue Carrer de Balmes and quite visible to naked eye. Next Time..

  • Opera, Orchestral, Theatre, Choral and Dance
    The music center is located in downtown LA and is comprised of the Dorothy Chandler Pavillion, Disney Hall, Mark Taper Forum and Ahmanson Theatre. All are world class venues and home to world class companies. Even if you don't live in LA I strongly encourage you to witness an event while visiting. If you do live here then you should have gone once.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Muscle Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quirky, different and a fun place to people watch
    Muscle beach has been a draw for many years at Venice Beach, dare if you will to play among the "Big Boys". It would be a waste to not venture up and down the boardwalk and see all the items for sell, the normal and not so normal folks you'll encounter. Weekends can get quite crowded and parking can be a challenge to find.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Durango Steakhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    More of an American /Mexican twist
    Really stumbled on this place by accident. Was downtown visiting sites when I got caught in one of guise famous souther afternoon thunderstorms, on trying to make my way to Peachtree Center metro stop I saw this place, decided to dry off. The top sirloin was cooked to perfection, Chipolte Shrimp was delicious. The best was the peach cobbler. Yum. I chose cuisine as Mexican, however it's Mexican with an American touch.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Renaissance Concourse Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Overlooks ATL Airport
    Great location to be close to airport, shuttles run every 20 minutes, also will drop you off at many of the surrounding restaurants and sister properties nearby. Rooms were nice, comfortable. My one reccommendation is if you have an early rise don't have them put you on runway side. Rooms are not adequately sound proofed. Hotel is pretty nice however, great interior space. The rooms are all on outside of property so the inside is open from ground floor to ceiling. When riding elevators you get a grand view of whole interior.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Zoo Atlanta Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Home to more than 1000 animals
    Zoo Atlanta is located in Grant park just southeast of downtown ATL, its one of only 4 zoos in USA that house the Giant Panda Bear, also one of the highlights is the gorilla exhibit.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Wailana Coffee House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the best Waikiki has to offer
    This place has been around forever and offers good food at a cheap price. They are one of the places I practically lived at for 3 square meals when I first lived in Hawaii and I was a struggling young man. Now as a mature man, I still frequent here on trips if I want a good meal that leaves your tummy satisfied and your wallet in tack. It sits across from Hilton Hawaiian Village on the corner of Ala Moana Blvd and Ena Rd. Its a very friendly place, good service. Its not for the crowd is expecting some fancy place, its a normal looking coffee shop serving the normal every day crowd. You will get what you expect here, a comforting meal, a warm welcome. I love this place. Since they don't have a web site I have provided a link to yelp...http://www.yelp.com/biz/wailana-coffee-house-honolulu

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Library A Coffee House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Coffee and a good book
    The name of the establishment pretty much speaks for itself, this place offers great coffee, pastries, cozy areas to sit and read a book, relax. Its an inviting place for gays to be in, its not cramped, very warm feeling about the place. Almost makes you feel like your at home and just sitting back in your most comfortable chair and curled up with a great book kind-o-feeling. They are open most days from 6a-12am

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed L'Opera Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great setting downtown Long Beach
    This wonderful Italian downtown restaurant is in an older bank building, its warm, elegant and the food was just divine. It has large glass windows, great color tones. A beautiful place, great service. The main entrees are decent in price from 10-15 USD, the deserts in the 8USD range. You can Valet Park in front or pick self parking across the street.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Broadway Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good neighborhood bar
    This is a true neighborhood bar, depending on what night you come, the crowds can be thin or large and rowdy. Its a fun place, the people are friendly and always willing to chat you up. This is a place where you leave you attitude at the door if you want to have fun, its unpretentious, down to earth people who don't take themselves to seriously. Ernie is a great friend from the Circus Disco days and it was a surporise the first time we ran into him here as a bartender, he is a great guy and will make you feel at home. Karaoke is a big thing here, lots of people participate. They throw great Halloween parties here. There is a parking lot behind, good thing cause parking in Long Beach can be a bitch.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Star of Siam Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Thai food
    We have eaten here numerous times, usually associated with a night out in Long Beach. They have excellent dishes. The service is good, the portions are good. In addition to inside seating they do have a patio section in the rear of the restaurant. The location is good, since it is within walking distance of many of the Gay bars on Broadway. The ocean is an easy 5-10 minute walk and Bixby Park is across street.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Border Grill Downtown LA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hip Latin restaurant downtown
    If you remember the chefs on TV named Mary Sue Miliken and her partner Susan Feniger, they are the creators of this fine restaurant. Its located on the busy street in the business district of downtown LA. We had a group that attend a concert at the Staples and dined here, the food was very good, I personally tried paella for the first time here and it was excellent. The prices for entrees run in the mid 20's to low 30's. It was an excellent dining experience. As a side note take the shuttle that is provided for free if you are taking in a concert or show.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Microsoft Theater Over a year ago
    Loves it

    LA's Times Square
    Located downtown LA across street from the Staples Center and the New 1000 room JW Marriott/Ritz Hotel, adjacent to the Convention Center. The Nokia is one of the pieces that are making up a 4 million square foot entertainment complex with shopping and restaurants. Its a smaller venue seats around 7100 people, hosts concerts, awards shows, final of American Idol. The area is quickly getting the reputation of becoming LA's Times Square.

  • One of the Must sees when in London
    This is truly one of the top draws in London and must sees, the structures sit along the Thames River, are massive in size. The Clock Tower (Big Ben) is the tallest of the structures. Overseas visitors are currently not allowed to visit the tower, only UK residents. The Parliament once a royal palace now houses the House of Commons and House of Lords, you can actually attend debates. Closest Metro stop is Westminster. If you want to arrange a tour, please copy and paste the following link. http://www.ticketmaster.co.uk/promo/sux34m?brand=parliament .

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Westminster Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    over 700 years old
    Where kings and queens have been crowned, where royal weddings and funerals have been held, this is the site of many a historical event. A crown jewel for sure in British history.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Waikiki Shell Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Multiple Venues for the arts
    Neal S Blaisdell Center is located near downtown on Ward Avenue between King and Kapiolani. The Arena seats around 7-8000 depending on event and the Concert Hall around 2100. The arena host events such as concerts, sporting events and the concert hall is home to the Symphony and Hawaii Opera. The Waikiki shell under the same management is located in Kapiolani Park at 2805 Monsarrat Avenue, is similar to The Hollywood Bowl, between stadium seating, the lawn, banquet tables, and the pool area, the bowl can accommodate around 9000. Its great for those balmy evening concerts. My first time seeing Donna Summer was at the Blaisdell Arena in 1979. Small arena compared to most major cities, but these days thats intimate and all with unobstructed views.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Bellagio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The fountain is spectacular.
    We haven't been guests at this hotel, however we have watched the fountain show which is truly spectacular. It is visible from any hotel on the strip that has a room on an upper floor with a strip view. The fountain is timed to the music and people gravitate to the area surrounding just to watch it. The hotel itself is one of the most beautiful on the strip.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Exquisite Hotel in Waikiki
    Built in 1901, the Moana was a star from the beginning, throughout its history and transformations the Moana has always been the Grand Hotel. When approaching it on Kalakau Ave you are greeted with beautiful columns, there is a front porch with rocking chairs, a magnificent lobby. On the 2nd floor is a historical area with many pictures and brochures from the by gone eras. The hotel also offers a Historical tour which lasts about an hour on MWF at 11 am. Don't miss the huge banyan tree that is about 75 ft high and spans out about 150 ft, one of the oldest Banyan trees in Hawaii.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Houston Galleria Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very upscale and beautiful shopping center
    A beautiful place to spend a day shopping or just window shopping, it's where all the best stores in Houston can be found.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Vincci Via 66 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Right on the Gran Via
    This property sits on the gran via with multiple metro stops nearby, plaza espanya, santo domingo, the closest. It's a modern hotel with a quirky decor, our room had a view of the city, breakfast is extra, the front desk staff was always friendly and more than willing to help with directions or suggestions. We were within walking distance of most of the gay establishments, cultural landmarks.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Harrods Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Grand Dame of department stores
    This is the ultimate shopping experience. Harrods is the soup to nuts store, anything that your heart desires or needs you can practically find here.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Selfridges Over a year ago
    Loves it

    First pearcing here
    Got our first pearcing here. This is a very large self standing department store that is suited to the average person, not as upscale as Harrods. Probably equivalent to Macy's in USA.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Hanauma Bay Nature Preserve Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful place
    In the 70's before the masses of tourists set on the bay you could park only the main highway walk down and sunbathe, walk around the edge of crater Nd visit what is called the blowhole. The blowhole is a lava tube where water shoots up like a geyser almost. Today its all controlled to protect the fragile nature of the bay. Glad they did this, it was necessary but I must confess I missed those days where it was like a place you stumbled upon and hardly anyone was there.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Queen's Surf Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not like years past.
    I first knew of this place when I moved to Hawaii in the mid 70's. It was at that time filled with gay men and friends of gays. Today it is almost too hard to tell. Back then it was an everyday event to sun, hit a bar on Kapahulu called the Blow Hole. For me Honolulu was more exciting for gays in the 70's & Early 80's . The whole scene was more lively, now everything like Queens surf has seemed to assimilated which may not be a bad thing but just seems washed out.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Versailles Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Palace in the Metro Paris Area
    A must when in Paris, you can take the metro to Versailles. This is truly a magnificent palace. once home to Louis XIV, Marie-Antoinette, construction was over many differnet periods of times. The hall of Mirrors is impressive. The gardens are very beautiful. Its estimated that the cost to build Versailles in todays dollars is around 2 Billion, somehow I don't think that comes close, when you look at the massive scale of it, the meticulous care given its hard to imagine its not massive in cost. Resorts in Vegas cost that much and Versailles is grander on a scale Vegas has never seen. This is all from a Lady who said let them eat cake.. See where all the money went? Definitely check out the web link, there is just too much information too post here, much of which you would want to read since it gives great details that will make your visit easier.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed LASC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Some cool stuff
    They do have some cool clothing some of which we have bought a few times over the years. Not sure that I feel like prior reviewer about being followed, I mean yeah they were around and did ask more than once if we needed help but I didn't feel watched.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Grove Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great shopping , pretty nice theaters too
    Amazing how LA supports so many massive shopping centers in near proximity to one another, one thing that makes this one different is that you aren't enclosed like other malls, its more like a downtown feel where you can walk in and out of each shop and not always be inside. Its especially beautiful during the Holidays. Worthy of a visit if you are visiting LA or even if you live here.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Beverly Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Massive and stunning from a distance
    I can remember when this mall first started taking shape and how massive it appeared when approaching it. Its this massive behemoth that is quite fun to spend a day browsing, shopping, eating and generally people watching. Its upscale and traditional at same time. Bloomingdales, Macy's are two of the anchors, its sits between Beverly Hills and WEHO. Pretty cool Shopping Center. Abundant Parking.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Los Angeles Airport Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Extremely close to LAX
    Unfortunately I cannot speak to the recent renovations, only to the fact that we were there prior and yet it still was a good hotel. It was another location that our company held its annual Holiday party and definitely we came away very pleased with the service. This hotel has been at LAX for sometime and we have used its services at least 4-5 times for events over the years and always been happy.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Forum Shops Over a year ago
    Loves it

    In between gambling and a show ....
    The shops are pretty nice, 160 of them, some decent restaurants mixed in while staying indoors to avoid the desert heat. We happen to eat at Trevi while in LAS with a friend who lives there, pretty good food, its one of the many restaurants. You will find Cheesecake Factory located here as well.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Grand Canal Shoppes Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Its the venetian....
    The Venetian is a great place to walk and keep cool, some good shops and places to stop along way to get a bite to eat while all indoors and enjoy the occasional gondola ride by a tourist.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed 24 Hour Fitness Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Needs remodeling
    Its an OK gym, better than no gym but it definitely needs a makeover, we drove since we had our car, what would be better is if a location was closer to strip in case one did not have a car. Equipment is getting dated and not as smooth as newer stuff.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Old Post Office Pavillion Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Now home to National Endowment for the Arts
    Original a Post Office, completed in 1899, now officially name Nancy Hanks Center, is no longer a Post Office. It houses the National Endowment for the Arts and Advisory Council on Historic Preservation. The National Park Rangers also provide tours of the Clock Tower. Inside you will find numerous shops and also you can enjoy occasional concerts and other events here. Back in the 80's during the marches on DC they held a huge dance event here, much like the huge parties now similar to White party. It was an event.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed 1 1st Street SE Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It helps when you have an inside
    It helped that my partners sister at time we visited had a connection and was able to secure us a tour and a ride on the special rail that connects capitol to Russell Senate. The rotunda was so impressive in the Capitol and to step into the Senate floor. She was able to secure an aide to give us the private tour. Have to say we felt privileged. Wish she still was there.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Washington Monument Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful spire
    We have visited this site many times, two of which for the assembly for the marches on Washington in the 80's and again a few short years ago. The stairs are no longer accessible due to safety concerns so the elevator is only way up, be prepared for a line.

  • Airline Buffs
    This was a must for us since we both work for an airline, love anything to do with airlines. Great collections and pretty cool to see examples of planes suspended in air.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Plaza Mayor Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Open square surrounding by cafes and shops
    Located near the metro stop SOL, Plaza Mayor is a gathering place to people watch, have a few beers or glass of wine. Beware however that prices are a bit inflated and business cater to tourists. Its still worth a visit and a sit down to have a beer and people watch. Steer clear of the shops around. There is also lots of street performers hawking for cash, if you expect them to perform then you should be willing to cough up a token.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed IHOP Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good for that late after bar craving
    Central to West Hollywood, place where after the bars you can go and fill that need for comfort food. Late night also has it fill of eye candy but at this point all you want is some food to take place of all that alcohol you just consumed. Eye candy is the last thing on your mind unless of course the slut side of you still hasn't been fulfilled or you left the bar without a pick up. There could be a wait for a table depending on the night. IHOP if you are visiting the US is famous for its breakfast foods, pancakes and waffles.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Manhattan Beach Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    one of the best in the South bay area of LA
    Great location in South bay on Rosecrans Ave, very near oodles of wonderful restaurants, shops, even near the Manhattan Village Mall and shops on Sepulveda Blvd.. Personally stayed here several times when working as Event manager for our companies Holiday Parties which were all held in the main ballroom. Hotel overlooks a golf course. Also within 5 miles easily of LAX, so great for a local business stay that also gives you the convenience of all the shops in surrounding area. Even a major theatre chain is across street and a 24 hr fitness gym is across parking lot. What more could you want while on business or even pleasure.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Washington Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Georgetown Central
    We split our stay in Washington between here and JW Marriott so we could experience both. Both had there pluses, this hotel was central to Georgetown where we found many great shops and restaurants. Lived up to its name as a Marriott property.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed San Francisco Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Like a Giant Jukebox
    Very interesting building from outside, looks like a huge jukebox, but inside very nice and continuing with the well known Marriott brand, this was our base when visiting SF for the Opera and well central to city. Name of Hotel is since changed to San Francisco Marriott Marquis from when entry was submitted.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Charlotte Marriott City Center Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Literally in center of city
    One of the first mainstream major brand hotels to locate uptown, it is center of city, in fact on the corner of Trade and Tryon the two main streets uptown Charlotte. Very close to Museums and Discovery Place, across the street from B of A's corporate headquarters and the Blumenthal Performing arts center. Rooms were very nice and in tune with Marriott brand. Parking was convenient, self parking is $12/day and valet $18. Hotel has 438 rooms so it is a good sized hotel in a very beautiful city.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Close to beach
    This property was taken over by Marriott a few years ago and they have done good at adopting their brand as best as could be expected I guess, still it lacks that something I have liked about Marriott. Its close enough to beach, but what Marriott could have done if it was oceanfront. Rooms are nice and comfortable but again average. Unfortunatley the balconies are at such an angle that you don't get the impact you could if hotel was built with a better view of wither ocean or mountains. View is not awful but it is obstructed by surrounding towers on many levels. Lobby is nice and open with the breezes that Hawaii is famous for.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Wynn Resorts Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Both properties are gorgeous
    The encore is stunning inside, the feeling was very Asian, Red everywhere, stunning light fixtures on the walls on the ceilings. Great glass sculptures like the dragon and the peacock. Really beautiful.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Harrah's Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Middle of strip
    Great location, in it's hey day it was one of the top hotels, now bypassed by properties that are far grander. We have stayed here numerous times, the rooms are adequate, the casino could use an overhaul to have better ventilation. We had our best win here so we always come back here to gamble just in case our luck returns.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Printemps / Printemps de l’Homme Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Exsqusite Dept. Store
    One of the greatest free standing Department Stores in the world, its extremely large, upscale, stunning to walk into. One of the greatest parts is the roof terrace restaurant and its dome, really beautiful. This store caters to customers who require that extra something, you will feel pampered here if that's your desire. You know that this is not your run of the mill Dept. Store. Just walking in you already feel lifted.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Louvre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    High marks as museums go
    One of the worlds greatest museums, wonderful collections, Mona Lisa who knew it was so small a painting. You will find it quite large and so much to see but don't rush through.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Eiffel Tower Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Top 10 must see's in Paris
    So glad they did have the elevator, my father never would have experienced the magnificence of Paris below us. It is truly a wonderful structure to see and look at. Yes the lines are very long but worthy of the wait.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Polynesian Culture Center Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Get a taste of Polynesia
    This is basically a theme park but in reality it is an educational center to enlighten tourist about the many different cultures that make up Polynesia. Most people only think of Hawaii or Tahiti but Polynesia stretches from the Maori nation of NZ to Papua New Guinea to Easter Island. There is a different sections of park dedicated to the cultures and a show in the main stage area where you will get to experience the different dances and war chants. The center is run by the Mormon church and staffed by many students at BYU-Hawaii campus. I would recommend it at least once on a trip to Oahu. It is located on North Shore , you can drive or take one of the many tours offered in Waikiki.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed San Diego Opera Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the top 10 Opera companies in America
    According to Opera America SD Opera is one of the top 10 Opera Companies in America, we had the pleasure to see La Boheme there and it was Spectacular. The Opera Company performs at the Civic Theatre in Downtown SD. Check out this seasons performances and perhaps take in an Opera. Its always great fun.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Smithsonian National Zoological Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great American Zoo
    As Pete does, my partner as well love to visit zoos and see how they take care to house them and care for them. The National Zoo is a wonderful zoo. They have taken care to redesign the habitats for Elephants as have many other zoos across America.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed National Museum of American History Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Extensive collection is accurate
    Visited here with my partner and parents, the collection is massive and a worthy visit when in DC, one of the many great museums in DC. They have items from every facet of American Culture, things like dress donated by Celia Cruz, items from Krispy Kreme, Electric Street Car from St Louis. The collections are mind boggling.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed San Francisco War Memorial Opera House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the great centers for the arts in America
    SFWMPAC stands for San Francisco War Memorial and Performing Arts Center. It comprises many different venues each unique to a variety of Arts. The San Francisco Symphony and San Francisco Opera, Veterans Activities, Museum of Performance and Design each call certain parts of the venues home.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed San Francisco Opera Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the greart Opera companies in America
    Truly a great Opera Company and War Memorial Opera House is a great venue. We had the pleasure to see Madame Butterfly there a few years ago, we flew up just for the event and we were glad to have witnessed a great company at work.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Shrine Auditorium Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great venue in LA
    The Shrine is one of the great venues in LA, it was for years where the Oscars were held till the Kodak, its where many an awards show has been held, we saw the Miss Universe Pageant here. It has great charm and elegance. Its been around since 1920, the original built in 1906 burnt down, holds over 6000 people.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed French Quarter Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gathering point for the Gays still..
    This place is an institution, not sure how long they've been around but when I first landed in LA some 30 yrs ago they were a hopping place. It still has its attraction which is good inexpensive food and some eye candy every once and a while. The parking lot is not huge but definitely helps since parking is not great in this area. Also has shops that line around the restaurant on the inside.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Casita Del Campo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very good food, nice place.
    We always ate here frequently when we lived up in Mid Wilshire, now we make it a stopping point when up in Silverlake on a day out, the food is always good and friendly staff. Haven't had a bad meal here once.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Bar Velodromo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Breakfast
    This restaurant sat almost directly across the street from our Hotel Wilson Boutique and was a very good find. They had some of the best breakfast we ever had, the service was outstanding and friendly and the best part reasonable, we both ordered coffee, eggs over medium with bacon and croissants and it came to around 12 euros for us both. The link I am provided here since it won't fit in the web address box below. Just copy and paste to link to review site, there doesn't appear to be a web site at least that I can find for bar directly. www.barcelona-metropolitan.com/reviews/whats-for-breakfast-bar-veldromo

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Culture in the sense that this market is beautiful
    Not really a Cultural stop in the literal sense, not a restaurant, so because it was a great representation of a true European flea market with Fresh Fruits/Vegetables/Meats I had to submit it under this category. The colors were so vivid and the way they displayed their products were photo opportunities I could not pass up. Beware however it is extremely crowded, keep your wallet and valuables if you dare to take them inside close to you. Some things such as the chocolate stand were quite pricy and others like the fresh fruit juice ones were very reasonable and out of this world in freshness and taste. it is on the La Ramblas pedestrian mall. Link is below but I would also recommend you also google it and look at reviews on Trip Advisor or other sites.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Wilson Boutique Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    What a winner
    I found this hotel on web site Booking.com and have to say it took me several times looking at properties before I settled on this one, the ratings were high, they had a great location, wifi was free. Well let me tell you it was beyond my expectations, the room was exquisite, the price was around 135 USD per night, we had a grand view from our 7th floor room of Avenida Diagonal left to right, view of the city. Room was very modern in a classy sort of way. We were literally walking distance to all the Gay bars approximately 10-15 minutes max. The closest metro stops were Diagonal and Hospital Clinic about 10 minutes in either direction, but the bus stopped in front, definitely a step up from the ones in US, the Tram (above ground) was also 5-10 minutes away.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Poble Espanol Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great crafts, arts for sell
    This is a village atmosphere,according to Wikipedia it was built in 1929 for an exhibition and is supposed to reflect the ideal Spanish village. It is filled with many great shops showcasing their crafts, many even having people displaying how they make and design some of the very things they sell. We got off here on the tourist bus which I highly recommend because for one price you can get off and on as frequently as you like at the places that suit your tastes. This place did offer a lot of quality shops with some many fine crafts to buy, for the shoppers this place is a must.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Teleferic de Montjuic Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Some of the best views of Barcelona
    We took this funicular which gives you one of the best panoramic views of Barcelona, simply stunning. If you buy the Barcelona Tourist Bus tour you get a discount off the price. It was a beautiful day and we took some great shots of the city before us. Near Parallel Metro stop L3. If you take the Tourist bus tour you can get off and on as much as you like and visit what ever you choose to see. I searched for a direct link and could not find one so I provided the link that I thought best described funicular and gave best information.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Chocolateria de San Gines Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yumm, chocolate and churros
    We had read about this place ahead of time and it was not a dissapointment, lively busy place not far from the Sol metro stop and just before Plaza Mayor. Link I am providing best describes the place and shows a pic of store front. Pretty reasonable price, we shared one cup of Chocolate, comes in a normal size coffee cup..well for Spain anyway and 5 churros, you dip them of course.. Devine.. do try it out.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Elche Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Paella
    Well I have to say the lady at a restaurant also reviewed here for Barcelona recommended this place over one the Hotel did and it was a wise decision. The Paella was divine. The place seemed a bit upscale and clientele did as well. We were welcomed without a reservation, we did go a bit early for normal eating times, I think around 6p. Place was pretty busy but we were seated promptly, if you go later would highly calling ahead. However I must say for what seemed like a better than average place our bill was not too shocking. We had 1 beer each, a starter each and the main dish Paella and we paid around 52 USD. so not too bad. Personally I would recommend this place and definitely eat there again if and when we ever return to BCN.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Out of China Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good Chinese in a great Spanish city
    We were actually wanting to eat the gay restaurant/ drag palace Divine but it was closed so after walking around we decided to try this Chinese place, the tastes buds were craving something familiar. It was quite when we decided to eat there since it seems they eat very late in Spain, Nicely decorated in modern Chinese motif, very clean, the food was quiet tasty, we had one starter and two entres' we shared and one beer each and it was around 54 USD. expensive in comparison to what we pay in US. I could not find a web site for them but I did find a review on Trip Advisor, they recommend reservations, I suppose that might be correct if you eat at traditional times they eat in Spain, we ate around 8pm and there were only 6 other people there. It is close to most of the Gay bars in Barcelona.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed San Diego Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    There's a reason they are the greatest zoo.
    This is one if not the best zoo in the world along with the wild animal park. They take extreme care in keeping this zoo fresh, clean, inviting. The exhibits are designed with the best intentions, zoos exist so that us humans can see what we would otherwise never see, you only hope they do it with care and compassion and SD does its best.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed SeaWorld San Diego Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great zoo in water form
    We've visited here numerous times, mainly with family visiting from out of town. They have some great shows with with Orcas and dolphins, definitely crowded. It's an all day event practically. Located off I-5, just before reaching downtown. Its one of the great attractions of SD. The kids will love it. They have a lot of specimens and a some great exhibits. One suggestion would be, go to Internet and see if you can combine other attractions into a ticket that offers better prices when you lump them together over a few days.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Queen Mary Over a year ago
    Loves it

    One of the great ships of all times.
    LA is blessed to have this great ocean vessel in our back yard. We have been lucky to attend parties held here and imagine how regal the voyagers were who were lucky enough to have been passengers in its hey day. We use to have the Spruce Goose along side it but that has sense moved to Oregon. When you come to LA take a visit here and stroll the decks and try to live in the past for a moment.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Aquarium of the Pacific Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best aquarium.....in..LA..
    Ok it's not in same level as Monterey, Atlanta, Boston or Baltimore aquariums but it is still a nice visit. Yes it does get crowded with school kids, but thats almost to be expected. We enjoyed the exhibits and it was a nice day out with family in town. They do have a large collection of specimens and you won't be totally disappointed.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Lincoln Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pete is right, don' miss
    Pete is so right, you see this memorial in movies, on TV but when you see it in person it is so impressive and yes you get emotional. It brings to your mind how incredible of a human being this man was, what he did for our country, his greatness, his foresight, his fortitude. You look out into the pool and beyond and try to envision all those gatherings in Washington that helped change our country and it blows your mind.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Vietnam Veterans Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great tribute to the fallen.
    My partner made it a point to visit this tribute to our families who served in Vietnam, my father who survived and my partners cousin who did not, we were able to take an imprint of his name as a memento. It is a moving experience for sure. We also visited with my father and to watch him cry, I could only try to envision what he saw there.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed National Mall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great meeting place for the masses
    My partner and I were privileged to be part of the great marches in the 80's. We went for two and the crowds were overwhelming, quite stirring, the quilts were a moving moment for everyone. We have also visited at other times with family and alone, it's a great place to stroll and sit and take in the beauty that surrounds you.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Honolulu Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Small zoo in Waikiki
    This is a small zoo but a nice visit in a beautiful park..Kapiolani..it's located at the end of Wakiki's hotels on Kalakau ave and Kapahulu. Across street from Hulas bar.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Bishop Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hawaiian culture best displayed in museum form
    A truly great place to visit, anyone going to Honolulu should visit. Really great collection of Hawaiiana on display. One learns to really appreciate this culture especially when they know how they were overthrown by the US government. This was our real royal family. Museum is quite large and has so many beautiful items.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed USS Arizona Memorial Over a year ago
    Loves it

    American history must see
    Visited memorial on a tour bus from Waikiki that my best friend drove and it definitely made a difference in going there, be prepared for long lines that at some point turn into swirling circles. Go early, one of the best parts of this visit was meeting some of the remaing survivors of Pearl Harbor who are too happy to meet with you and talk with you about this time. Pete truly captured all the details of going here, his review is right on.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Pantages Theatre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Venue for Musicals and Plays
    A great venue to watch a play or musical, we have seen Wicked, Lion KIng here and truly enjoyed them, it is located across from a red line metro stop, on corner of Hollywood and Vine, on the east end of Hollywood Blvd before Freeway, area is being renovated and not as seedy as in past. Many good restaurants to go to either before or after event.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Descanso Gardens Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Gardens
    Located in the suburban area of LA in La Canada Flintridge, a really beautiful and large gardens, worth a visit, we took my Mom there on one of her visits to LA and she just loved it, she is wheelchair bound for most part and it was easy to maneuver around the gardens with a wheelchair.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Griffith Observatory Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great location
    This is a really wonderful Observatory, we have gone here on many occasions, enjoyed when the weather permits a spectacular view of our great city below.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed AIDS Project Los Angeles Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Organization
    My partner in our earlier years participated in the dance-a-thons and now contribute through friends who do the walk-a-thons and other activities they sponsor. A worthy organization to donate your time and efforts and dollars to.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Almudena Cathedral Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A stirring visit, remarkable inside
    This is one of the most beautiful Cathedrals we've visited over the years, made my hairs stand up, you could feel the power inside. Every view was magnificent. Truly a must visit while in Madrid. Next to the Palace Real. Take Opera Metro or walk from Plaza Espana metro on Gran Via.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Real Jardin Botnico de Madrid Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautiful Gardens
    Included as well in our Madrid card, gardens were beautiful, most of the floral was over with exception of tulips, gardens well cared for.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Botin Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A must visit at least once.
    Old world charm, outstanding service, reservations is highly recommended, we lucked out with our front desk clerk calling for us even though we went without a reservation. Suckling Pig is specialty, I ordered it but for me it was too fatty. Tab for the 2 of us with entrée, appetizer and bottled water was 120 usd. Mind you that also included price of what we thought was complimentary bread they brought to table and the butter. If you eat what they bring out they will charge you, nothing is free. Clientele is mostly tourists not locals.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed El Parque del Buen Retiro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Massive park
    This is a treasure for the people of madrid, just a stunningly beautiful park, on our visit, a weekend day, there were lots of people laying about sunning, strolling with their dogs, well laid out, beautiful from every turn. Best reached by the Atocha metro stop from souther end or Retiro from Northern end.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed El Palacio Real Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Magnificent Palace
    Buy the Madrid Card, it includes this wonderful palace entry for free. You also avoid the long lines on weekends and can enter from side avoiding lines, What a spectacular example of how those in power lived extravagantly along the masses of poor. This palace is beautiful, elegant worthy of a visit.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed El Museo del Prado Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Large and wonderful Museum
    A really wonderful and large Museum with exhibits of Romanesque paintings, sculptures, a must see when in Madrid.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Truco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Lively
    We actually encountered some friendly people here and beers were around 8 euros for 2, mostly girls as review of club stated with their Gay BF's, pretty accurate, sits at end of plaza that surrounds the Chueca Metro stop. The Music was excellent, Bathrooms were downstairs, place overall small but quite lively.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Black & White Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Upstairs Blah and smoky, downstairs blah and dead
    Small crowd upstairs and even smaller downstairs. We ordered upstairs 2 drinks, could not make the bartender understand Patron and Cranberry so we settled on Orange Juice and Absolute Vodka. Turns out they pour the vodka in a glass filled with ice and handed us each a glass bottle of OJ, one would have sufficed.. Cost us 19 euros, yikes. Something tells me we had sucker written on our foreheads. Didn't stick around here long and decided early on that beer was about all we would be ordering from then on in Europe.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Bulevard Rosa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The Rodeo drive of Barcelona
    This is where you will find the BIG names of shopping, the avenue is beautiful, lined with the wonderful buildings and their spectacular balconies, a great stroll.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed La Sagrada Familia Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Top visit while in Barcelona
    I agree, get there early, long lines and lots of people. This place is a must see, its a work of art, the stain glass windows are spectacular from inside. The place is massive in scale.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed La Chapelle Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Small bar but friendly staff
    This place sits next door to BCN and not nearly as smoky and the beers were a 3rd less the price, the young lady who tended the bar seemed quite friendly and was the way with every customer that walked in that she waited on. Not a loud bar, a lot of religious items on the walls, not sure what that was about. Seemed more like a nice bar to just sit and have a beer or Cafe\'.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Punto BCN Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Seemed hippest place on a mid week night out...but
    If you like smoky bars with some pretty sexy men then this would be up your alley, the music was good, but damn if I didn't need an oxygen mask at some point. Place was packed, with a mix of mostly young but also some pretty attractive mature men too. Bar tender was a bit snooty at my tip which was interesting since it seems most Europeans don't tip and I gave him at least 15% of bill, 2 beers almost 10 euros. I thought I was generous, he looked at amount and seemed to make a comment to another bartender who then chuckled. Hmmm.. We finished our beer and went next door to a hole in the wall bar which was 10x more friendly and the beers were a 3rd less.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Atame Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Just OK
    Like previous reviewer, bar is rectangular shape, when leaving bathroom in rear if there was some show "Drag" going on you would have been suddenly part of it since exit from bathroom stepped onto platform of stage. It was an off night mid week day we went, so crowd was small, perhaps 10-12 people, we decided to take our 2 beers for 9 euros out the door and sit at a table just outside. Nothing exciting about the place.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed ABQ BioPark Zoo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great zoo in ABQ
    We like to visit city zoos when we travel and I have to say this zoo was quite good, clean, large variety of species from every continent. The Polar bears was one of our favorites. The grounds were well kept, exhibits clean and easily viewable. The enclosures were thoughtful. Was not too crowded and comfortable to meander around. Not a great zoo but quite good.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Los Angeles Opera Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Why not try the Opera,LA has a great Opera Company
    Truly a great Opera Company, I'm not an Opera Aficionado but I know I LOVE Opera, even bought a year subscription once and had the great opportunity to see some incredible performers. We visited Vienna one year and for first time saw an Opera and I was sold, made my partner suffer as he likes to think of it through an entire season of Operas. Haven't done that to him in a while. After watching Barbara Padilla on AGT I may drag him back, he's OK with Puccini or Italian. The LA Opera performs at the beautiful Dorothy Chandler Pavilion in downtown LA

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed TownePlace Suites by Marriott Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Central to ABQ
    For us this was a great location, it was near airport and yet close enough for us to see all of the sites in ABQ, we visited here mainly to meet a friend we met online and had been communicating with for several years, Property was very clean, safe, like living in a small apartment. We were only about 2-3 miles from main drag.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Amsterdam Marriott Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Central Location
    Stayed here twice, 1st in 88 and again in Feb of 09, located in central square of Amsterdam across from the Leidseplein shopping and entertainment in the city centre. We were able to walk to everything, no cabs, not even the subway was necessary. Very comfortable rooms. Very much what one would expect of a Marriott and similar to American style rooms. The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum were just 5 minutes away.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Premium Outlet Mall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Shop the outlet malls in Vegas
    If you are looking to do some serious shopping while in Vegas and want to save some of that money for the casinos , dining or whatevers, head to this outlet mall, you will find some very good buys. There is this one located between downtown Vegas and the strip, off the 15 at Charleston Ave. Another is on the south end of strip

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Shark Reef Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Shark Reef at Mandalay Bay Resort
    Pretty good aquarium, long lines to buy tickets, to get in, but they moved fast, one plus is after touring facility we found out they actually clean the audio wands after you use them, aquarium had a pretty good amount of specimens, Large size (1.6 million gallon) but not massive like some others around the country. Price was I believe $17 to get in, no discounts with AAA, AARP, or senior

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Colosseum at Caesars Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Venue
    We've seen both Bette Midler and Elton John here, both fantastic shows. Truly there isn't a bad seat in the house. Bette and Elton used up the whole stage, one of the biggest I ever have seen. Cher is definitely on our radar for future visit. You have to go see one of them, Great Venue, Great shows.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Getty Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Spectacular
    The grounds, gardens are magnificent. Took Mom here on a recent visit and we all just enjoyed it immensely. One of the real great Museums of the world. She was in a wheelchair and everything about the experience was comfortable and was easy to maneuver.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Dolby Theatre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great venue
    We saw Kathy Griffin here and had a blast, really not a bad seat in the house, recommend if you are visiting to take the tour thats offered.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Falcon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Night we went recently it was so packed you were sliding by body to body, of course this was pride weekend, expected it to be jammed, well located near other Broadway bars making it fun to cruise from one to next. If we hadn't been with a large group I would have loved to hang out here, lively crowd, good looking crowd.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Sweetwater Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Clean fun bar
    We have been a few times, loved this place, its updated, clean, friendly people, friendly staff, nice neighborhood bar. Located on Broadway near or within walking distance of other Broadway bars, so if you like to check out more than one place without have to drive to each, this is one to include on your trek.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Grand Lux Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    They dish out a lot of food
    We discovered after first meal to never order two entrées again, the amount of food they give you certainly is worth the price. At first I thought it was on the higher end cost wise until I saw what they delivered. We ate almost every meal here except those special nights when we ate at fine dining establishments. The food is excellent, service quick, very friendly staff. Every day we arrived and left not one, or two but several or more of the staff welcomed us or wished us a great day. Menu is quite varied, much to choose from regardless of the day or time, If you are staying at The Venetian, there is a location there too. Restaurant is same side as theatre where Jersey Boys are performing

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Venetian Resort Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Luxury at a reasonable price.
    The Venetian and sister hotel The Palazzo are two of the finest hotel/resorts on the strip, all the rooms are suites and with all the goings on inside you never have to set a foot outside. There's plenty of things to do whether it be shopping, gambling, go to the theatre, eating at one of the finest restaurants, its all here. Highly recommend staying at either property.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Palazzo Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great resort hotel
    The Palazzo is a great resort, the rooms are all suites, each time we've stayed its been totally relaxing. The Palazzo is connected to the Venetian, sister hotel, something for everyone, great restaurants, clubs, shops, pools, open space, not smoky like a lot of the older casinos.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed G-A-Y (at Heaven) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    still going after all these years?
    This place was hot in 88' last time we were in LONDON, I know its not relavent now, but what it does say is this club has staying power. It had a line then to get in, when we did the DJ noticed us and our style of dancing, had us come up to booth overlooking club, we thought that was cool that someone would pick us out to compliment us and want to chat. I remember it as being a pretty good size club. Heading to Europe in April, we would love to check out London Again.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Casino Royale Over a year ago
    Hates it

    On strip, central but more like a motel
    Sits between Harrahs and Venetian, great location but because we were attending a family reunion and didn't book early we got stuck with whatever we could find. It was also NBA All Star game and so we went on internet and this was the cheapest property. It was really like staying at a bad motel. Rooms reeked of smoke, Casino was nothing but smoke. Also we had to go to a timeshare meeting to get the rate we got. I guess all taken into consideration it was good location, rate was good and we didn't spend much time in room it wasn't so bad. However I would never stay here again.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Flamingo Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Central to strip
    Nice property, central to all the great hotels on the strip. We have stayed at this property many times over years and last time was in June of this year. I have to say they do need to upgrade the rooms, especially the bathrooms. The fixtures and tubs were showing the age. The beds however were divine to sleep in. One last tidbit, if you have a hard time walking like I do lately you may want to stress a room near the elevator. Our room was what seemd like 3 city blocks away from elevator.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed JW Marriott Hotel Pennsylvania Avenue Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Extremely nice hotel, central to DC
    A wonderful property like most Marriott Hotels, centrally located in DC. Everything you could ask for in a great hotel. Beautiful property, elegant room. Split our stay of 7 days in DC between here and The Georgetown Marriott, equally nice. DC is a great city to stay and visit and not need a car. The Marriotts were close to metro stations.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Boston Marriott Copley Place Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great central hotel Downtown Boston
    Stayed here 3 nights and we totally enjoyed this property. Like all Marriott hotels, this one did not dissapoint. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms equally beautiful. Everything we wanted to visit in Boston was within walking distance making our stay even better. The Boston Marriott Copley Place anchors the upscale Copley Place Mall and is connected to the Prudential Center Mall. There are over 200 shops, restaurants, theatres and the Hynes Convention Center conveniently located under one roof.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed RAGE Restaurant & Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fuego on Wednesdays is hot!!
    Nice place, open bar, nice patio area on facing Blvd, great music, Latin night (Fuego) is agreat night to visit. The men are quite stunning. Go with a friend or partner and make them your focus however if you want to avoid any attitude. Drinks can be expensive compared to other bars we have visited. Overall nice decor and nice bar.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Metropolitan Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Where the pretty people go
    This is the bar that is not representative of all Gay men, that's OK,those guys need a place they feel comfortable at too. LOL!! We use to frequent this place exclusively when we first met 27yrs ago, however when we discovered Circus disco which is far bigger, more down to earth and has better parking we stopped going here. This is not a place to continue to visit when you want to still party after you have passed that age bracket that's considered too old..LOL!!

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Gold Coast Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great neighborhood bar
    Friendly place, great gathering place for friends we work with. Pretty down to earth, not prentious at all which is refreshing.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Faultline Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hot Down to Earth real men for sure
    Been here a few times to meet friends on Sundays when this place is really happening in the afternoon. The times we went the men were so packed in you couldn't move without rubbing every body you went by. My partner and I were never cruised nearly as heavily in any other bar as here, complimentary for sure and even better when they honored our committment to one another and didn't intrude further. The men are very down to earth, easily approachable, not stuck up, no attitude and manly attarctive studs. Just what one needs to boost your ego when you need it. Parking can be a bitch, but definitely well worth visiting.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Tapa's Lanai Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Same block as Fusion and Angles
    Friendly enough bar, around the corner from Angles and Fusion. This place is also a restaraunt, we did not eat there. Bar is upstairs, entry is around back side. Drinks are good, priced reasonably, its more of a sit down stand around kind of place where it seems friends gather to enjoy one anothers company. No dancing, its an open bar meaning that its not enclosed completely so you get the breezes when they are flowing.It seems thay have Karaoke but was not happening when we visited.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed El Coyote Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Absolute fun place
    Probably our favorite Mexican Restaraunt ever. The food is good with a great price. We've had several Birthday celebrations here because we knew our guests would love the place. The staff are wonderful. El Cotote is a haven for the well known and the not so well known. Its trendy while having that down home feel.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Has the potential to be a better bar
    Been here a few times, first time I was quite impressed, well there wasn't anything like it in LA before. The one time we ate here I had to borrow someones lighter to read the menu, food was OK. Drinks are expensive when you consider the glasses are smaller then other bars use. The one nice thing I like is the light fixture over the main bar. Great fixture. Someone should tell the owner to get help that has good customer/people skills.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Silver Fox Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Small but nice bar
    Most bars are pretty small in LB including this one, but it was pretty nice. We went on a Sunday night when it was Karaoke night, crowd was mixed young and the not so young. Overall a very friendly place.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Chiang-Mai Thai Cuisine Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Excellent Thai dishes, neighborhood restaraunt
    This neigborhood restaraunt in the McCully/King Street area (a hop skip and jump from Waikiki) is an excellent choice for good Thai food. Its been one of our favorites for years. The service is always friendly, fast, the food incredibly good. Definitely wirth a try next time you visit. The Spring Rolls, Green Curry are some of our favorites. There doesn't seem to be a web site yet for place but I did include a link to Frommer's Guide Book and their review.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Greek Corner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Near UH Manoa Campus, very good food
    A small quaint place near the Main campus of UH Manoa. Located near intersection of University and King Street. Everything we ordered was excellent and a decent price as well. Place was well kept. Web site provided is not official web site but does list the menu and prices.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Leonard's Bakery Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Damn Malasadas (donuts to us Haole's)
    This place is a Bakery in fact but truly famous in Hawaii. The Malasadas are so famous that anyone in Hawaii asked about them will know immediately who Leonards is. You have to get them fresh, they will simply melt in your mouth. Leonards has been around since 1952, check out the web link I provided. This is a must when traveling to Hawaii. Its a short distance from Waikiki on Kapahula Ave, which by the way is the same street Hulas Bar is on. Just head away from beach to mountains and it's on right side of street. Parking can sometimes be hard but don't let this stop you from making a trip.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Rainbow Drive-In Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Some of the best Plate lunches served in HI
    Every time locals get back to Hawaii, they head straight to Rainbows for pork cutlet, two scoops rice, one scoop mac salad. Also serve great breakfasts. Located just off Kapahulu Avenue about 1/2 mile from Hulas Bar. Head towards mountains from beach.(Honolulu / Kapahulu Area) This place has some of the most tasty comfort food and cheap food you will find in Hawaii. The place is simple and the food is what people from Hawaii crave when they return home to Honolulu. There is something for anyone to find that will suit their tastes. The web site provided isn't the official one but gives great info and shows some pics of place and menu. Give them a try.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Executive Suite Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Mostly Women
    Been there a few times, dancing is OK, but being a Gay man (went with friends), it felt strange being surround by butch women. For women who love women its probably a paradise.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Club Ripples Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best dance bar in Long Beach
    Its a fun place, fun crowd, crowd is younger than most bars in Long Beach, hipper, the music is better. Could use some remodeling however. Two levels, dance floor on each, upper dance floor is larger and better for dancing. There is an outside patio. Bar sits right across from the ocean which makes sunsets great from upstairs which is glassed around.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Paradise Piano Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A Piano Bar/Restaraunt
    Actually its quite nice inside, music is pretty loud for those eating there I would think. Can't comment just yet on food since we have been there only for drinks. Its one of at least 4 bars in a row on Broadway where if ones bored at one he can just walk very easily to other.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Mineshaft Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Long Beachs' version of Leather Bar
    Not a bad place, drinks are good, dimly lit, pool table, sound system could use an updating. Another of the string of bars we frequent after Long Beach Gay pride. As far as it being a "Leather" Bar, it doesn't seem to come close, well at least when we've been inside.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed The Brit Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Reminds me of older Gay bars
    This is an Ok place, crowd tends to be more mature men. Usually we only go here after Long Beach Gay pride and do the circuit of bars all lined up on Broadway. Drinks are good, crowd is friendly enough.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Eggs 'N Things Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best Breakfast in Waikiki
    For us this is by far the best place to get a fantastic breakfast while staying in waikiki. The wait can be a half hour sometimes for a table, but well worth the wait. They have these maccadamia nut pancakes with a coconut syrup that's to die for. Its a place that the locals and tourists like equally. The food is excellent, waiters incredibly friendly and fast. We highly recommend this place

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Orchids Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Incredible Sunday Brunch
    The setting is incredible, it sits beachfront of waikiki's beautiful sandy beach. The restaraunt has floor to ceiling french doors that open up to the cool breezes. If you can, try and get a table on the outside edge near beach. The food is phenomenal, you can literally eat breakfast lunch and dinner in one setting. You are never rushed, free to enjoy the wonderful relaxing atmosphere of this incredible restaraunt. It's one of those must eat at places at least once in your life. The experience is so worth it. Click on the link and learn about this place.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Bossa Nova Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Brazilian food
    A great place to get some really good food, accross street from the Abbey. We went in the afternoon and the seating area is inside. You walk thru prep area for waiters to your tables which are painted in different colors. Decorated nicely, friendly and fast staff. Menu is vast, it was hard to pick one thing to settle on. Definitely a great find, we will visit this place more than once.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Hula's Bar & Lei Stand Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Very nice setting
    This is a cute bar, great setting, overlooks Kapiolani Park (Zoo) and to right the ocean. Its a very nice bar but if you like dancing the space is too tiny like most bars actually in Honolulu. Its actually for me better after a day at the beach (Queens Surf, across street) to share a drink with friends or meet someone new. My partiality is to the old Hula's Bar & Lei Stand formerly on Kuhio, since long gone. Greed and money changed all that. It had a banyon tree that spanded entire club, it was connected to other bars and Hamburger Mary's, also now gone. Anyone and everyone knew this place. It was my old stomping ground when I lived there in late 70's early 80's. Can I say if I were a zillionaire I would have saved this place. It was a treasure. It should have been protected.

  • Sat Nights is Gay night
    We have been going to Arena lately on Saturday nights and it is pretty good. Music is Latina style until around 11p and then converts to progreesive house/latin mixed. The Go Go men are awesome, not twinks but real hot bodied men, there is also a hot African American gal that has the best bod. Some of our favorite DJ's/Bartendars that also work Circus are there on Saturday. Circus would be Gay night on Tuesday and Fridays. Its two levels, upper level looking over entire dance floor, great outside patio.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed California Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Hawaii in Vegas
    Well it was family reunion in Vegas, always stay at California. Away from strip, downtown, but if you seek that Hawaii feel its the place to be. You can get you local favorites to eat from Hawaii too.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Ruth's Chris Steak House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey but excellent!!
    First time ever at this chain, very impressed, especially for Charlotte. the room was very beautiful, comfortable setting. Food is all ala carte, final bill may cause you to loose your breath, but if you go there expecting to pay a lot and also get your moneys worth then it is all good. Waiter was quite friendly but a bit talkative. The steak was mouth watering, like Butta!!! This location was in the Southpark area, like being in Beverly Hills of LA, very upscale area. There is another one located uptown on Tryon across from Courtyard Marriott Hotel.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Piranha Boutique Nightclub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It was fun
    Not a bad club, think LA, smaller scale. Didn't hurt that we were there during the NBA All Star game weekend. Everywhere in Vegas was packed. Piranha was more our style for music, dance (techno, progressive house), nice mix of people, the fish tank was a nice touch. Front bar was hip hop mostly and very young crowd. Over all a good night.

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Fusion Waikiki Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great strippers and the drag shows can be fun
    Connected to Angles , again very smoky, very smoky. but can be a fun place. Has a upstairs that overlooks the dance floor. When the strippers are done they even venture upstairs for a person hands on feel of them, of course for a buck or more. If you are open to being exploited by your friends, your friends can pick their favorite stripper to work over your body, nasty style. Your firnds put their dollar bills where they want the stripper to remove them. So hope your firnds don't plant them someplace you don't want him to go. LOL

  • BBUC
    BBUC reviewed Circus Disco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    We met here in Oct 1981
    Roger and I met here and been together sice that night. Circus has always been our bar of choice in LA, friendly crowd, DJ's are great, bartenders too. Many great nights have been spent at Circus and we seen some of the best in the Dance scene perform there, Deborah Cox and Amber probably the best. Wev'e made some great friends at Circus and the greeters at the front of club have always welcomed us with hugs and friendly smiles. Circus is truly a great club, huge beyond most Gay bars dreams. On a great night Circus can easily handle 3000 people. That's a party. If you love Latins, down to earth people who love to just have a great time we recommend Circus. Tuesdays are Boys Night out, Fridays Gay night. Of course there is also the frequent special nights on Holidays that are always great fun. Hope to see you there sometime.