ATLANTAboy

40M. I'm an artist with a love for cooking, writing and traveling. No matter how far away I travel... I always end up at home in Atlanta. I love our local scene and the restaurants here are amazing... there are so many to choose from - and we have some of the best dining in the country! There's always something going on and I'm always on the go...!

Atlanta, Georgia
Joined Jan 2007
12 Followers

Following 0 people

10 Loved Places

Listings

  • Atlanta Eagle Midtown, Atlanta
  • Blake's Midtown, Atlanta
  • Bulldogs Midtown, Atlanta
  • Burkhart's Midtown, Atlanta
  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Mary's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Mary's is one of my favorites!
    There are a few good gay bars outside the "gay-vortex" known as Midtown, and Mary's is one of these. A great hole-in-the-wall neighborhood stop, Mary's is known for it's karaoke night as well as a bar that's usually packed with an array of alterna-punk guys, hotties sporting tattoos, and well groomed Gucci-clad boys. And when we say packed, we mean packed! The Logo channel says that Mary’s is the Best Gay Bar in America and Out magazine calls Mary’s one of the Top 50 Gay Bars In The World. <p> Mary's--which occupies a former notions shop--is long and narrow and lined on one side by a big bar. Upstairs you'll find a nice place to stand and watch the crowd below or play some pool. In the back of the bar and also on the porch there's some good conversational seating. Don't worry about wearing the latest couture, since attitude is the only thing missing at Mary's. <p> <b>Insider Tip:</b> For music lovers, Mary's DJ plays great Brit-pop, alterna-punk, and American pop mixed with 80's favorites.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Jungle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Jungle is back from the grave!
    Jungle Club has gone through a couple of identity changes and is back! The bar is always filled with shirtless boys dancing and showing off their washboard abs and perky pecs on the stage and large dance cubes. The bar is huge and tended by shirtless, perfectly-toned muscle boys. There are also several jungle-themed rooms around the warehouse-sized dance floor where you can sit, chat, or make out if you just can't help yourself. The cover charge is a bit steep on some nights, but definitely worth it for the music, DJs, and dancing.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Bulldogs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not many of Atlanta's original...
    Not many of Atlanta's original gay bars from the 1970s are left but Bulldogs has been open and pouring since 1978. Beware as you approach the large, well-stocked bar--their bartender's reputation for a heavy-handed drink is infamous. <p>Although the spacious dance floor pumps out hip hop and house, if shaking your tail is not your thing you can always claim a pool table. Because of its prime location on Peachtree Street, Bulldogs is convenient to the hotels in the area...you'll probably meet a visitor or two, and the back patio is a great place to get to know them even better! <p><strong>Insider Tip:</strong> Although Bulldogs is well-known as a black gay bar, it welcomes everyone (especially if you love hip hop).

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Burkhart's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    If you're looking for the old ...
    If you're looking for the old biker bar at Ansley Square, it closed in 1988 and has since been replaced by Burkhart's. It's not a "strike a pose" bar; this is one of the most unpretentious gay bars in Atlanta. It's a very comfortable place to hang out, have a drink, and play some pool if you like. The boys here are approachable and laid-back, and on Sundays the legendary Armorettes will make you laugh until you can't take it anymore. Other nights you can sing karaoke or even grab a full dinner. <p> <b>Insider Tip:</b> Burkhart's patio sprawls across the entire back side of the bar. It's also intimate enough to allow you to step back and disappear into the shadows if you want.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Blake's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Midtown has many gay hot spots...
    Midtown has many gay hot spots, and Blake's on the Park is still one of them. Blake's originally opened in 1987 at the intersection of 10th Street and Piedmont Road. Since then, Blake's has been one of Midtown's most popular neighborhood gay bars. Recent renovations have improved Blake's and made this "stand and model" zone a more comfortable place to hang out. The drag shows are hysterical, and the crowd couldn't be cuter. <p><strong>Insider Tip:</strong> Don't miss the Drag Races on Monday night, Drag Gone Wild on Tuesday, Divas Live on Thursday, and Bingo on Friday.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Atlanta Eagle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Atlanta Eagle, Atlanta's best-...
    Atlanta Eagle, Atlanta's best-known leather bar, is famous for its cavernous dark rooms and shadowy corners. The DJ always spins great music for patrons on the small but lively dance floor. The crowd at the Eagle tends to be hard-core, so pretty boys and dolled-up drag queens don't really play here. <p><strong>Insider Tip:</strong> For late-night cravings, the 24-hour Krispy Kreme donut and coffee shop is right across the street.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Two Urban Licks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The restaurant Two Urban Licks...
    The restaurant Two Urban Licks has been open and the talk of the town for a while, but I just never made it there. Finally I did--I realized what everyone was raving about. The food was fantastic, great ambiance and good service. We even bumped into Atlanta's biggest little gay celebrity, Leslie Jordan.

  • ATLANTAboy
    ATLANTAboy reviewed Thumbs Up Diner Over a year ago
    Loves it

    For the morning after an all nighter...
    For the morning after an all night dancing binge, Thumbs-Up Diner serves the best breakfast in town! I am ALWAYS raving about this place and I've been eating there for several years!