AK_Cruiser

63M. Self employed consultant working in the motion picture entertainment business. Travel extensively, enjoy good company, fine wine, great food and have a passion for the good life. Very uninhibited and open. Travel schedule 7-14 December 2017 Guadalajara Jalisco MX

Camas, Washington
Joined Jun 2009
22 Followers 10 Following

71 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • Powerhouse SOMA, San Francisco
  • The EndUp SOMA, San Francisco
  • Oilcan Harry's Warehouse District, Austin
  • Tracks Denver Five Points, Denver
  • Compound Washington Park, Denver

Cities

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed 7 Sins 4 days ago
    Hates it

    a bit crude
    Not busy at 20:30 but already a 60 peso cover included 2 pony beers or for $130 2 cocktails. The night is young so remains to be seen if this place lives up to its reputation

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed All Worlds Resort 4 months ago
    Loves it

    My choice in Palm Springs
    I've stayed here three times, the first time, which was at least 5 years ago kept me from going back for a long time. It was a bad experience, the place was crummy dirty and the staff could care less. This is no longer the case, I travel to Palm Springs every year for the film festival and I am there for almost two weeks. Last January I made this my home and office away from home and was given a great rate due to the length of my stay. I upgraded to a Jacuzzi suite which was a very large and comfortable room and moved in. Rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini-refrigerators so you can have snacks and cold drinks on hand. AWR offers day passes and in some resorts that is something I tend to stay away from. I hate being a guest to go out in the morning and find every lounger full of someone who paid just a few bucks to enjoy the property. Fortunately, this is not the case at AWR, the space is large and equipped with enough lounges, chairs, canopies and pools that you are never crowded out. The day pass guests are a lot of run and ad to the scene. A couple of minor things that I would like would be a desk in my room as I always have to do some work while traveling, ceiling fans would be nice so you don't have to run the A/C all the time and a coffee maker. The resort does provide coffee for guests in the morning in the library lounge. If you haven't had a chance to try out AWR in recent years, you really should.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Bear Tooth Theatrepub Cafe & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wide variety, Tex-Mex, Vegetarian, Seafood, Burger
    The two restaurants at the Bear Tooth TheatrePub both have distictive menus, so there is a large variety to choose from. For funky-fine dining the Bear Tooth Grill features a great selection of Entrees from tasty seafood dishes, gourmet burgers, Mexican specialties and large salads. The TheatrePub Cafe specializes in great Pizza (this is the sister location of the Moose's Tooth which is constantly ranked best pizza in Anchorage." Pizza is supplemented by great Tex-Mex cuisine and wonderful sandwiches and salads. Very reasonable prices in the casual dining room or you can have your dinner delivered to your seat in the theatre while watching a great movie. Moose's Tooth Beer served exclusively, large wine list, Grill has full liquor bar.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Ginger Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Sort of a let down
    Went with a large group of friends after hearing a lot of positive comments but we all thought the food was mediocre and way overpriced.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Cabazon Outlets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The place to go for a real shopping spree
    There is a little bit of everything here including some really first-rate designer clothing stores. Values come and go with the season but if you have a few hours to kill this isn't a bad place to spend it.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Ooh La La De Paris Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful optical shop with designer brands
    I stopped in here a couple of years ago and found frames that I had never seen. They have a great selection of frames and an inhouse Optomitrist (not on staff everyday). They cater to the GLBT community. I bought my last pair of glasses there and stopin every time I am in PS for an adjustment. They are now my provider, even though I don't live in the area.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Q Trading Co. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Books and novelties
    Great place to pick up a hot read for around the pool.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Gay Mart USA Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fairly large selection
    I usually stop in to see what's on sale; they markdown stuff that hangs around to long and I can often find something cute for a good price. Worth a browse though.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Toucans Tiki Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Known mostly for their drag shows
    Sunday's appear to be the big night here, that's the night they have their weekly drag show. Other nights it's dancing and drinking. Toucans is well involved in the community, sponsors local events and all around good guy/gal sort of place. Staff is consistently good, and around the bar is almost always full. Large smoking patio which seems to be a big social hangout (I'm a non-smoker so I tend to view from a distance).

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Trunks Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Kind of like a big family
    I stopped by here on a Sunday afternoon; it seemed like mostly locals, mostly men and a few women. They had a BBQ going, and everyone seemed to be having a goodtime. The bartender was just wearing a jock behind the bar which seemed to be entertaining the guys sitting around the bar. I didn't find it very tourist friendly, but maybe if I would have stayed for more than 1 beer I might have gotten more out of it.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed The Barracks Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hit and miss here, a little out of the way from downtown PS
    I'm not that imbedded in the leather and bear scene and Barracks caters to that group which is great. The guys are friendly, and its a good place to hang out for a beer. The place can be fun on underwear night with the right crowd.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Hunters Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Depends on the night and the season
    Palm Springs is very transitional; most of the residents are older and not much for dancing. The younger clientele usually comes from out of the area and where they decide to go depends on other events going on in the valley, San Diego and Orange County as well as the season. I've had great times here, other times not enough people around to make it interesting but for most weekends this is the hot spot to be at. If it's not busy, check out some of the other clubs or bars, there is quite a bit of variety in PS.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Pinocchio Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice lunch spot
    The incentive here is cheap alcohol. Bottomless champagne for $3.95 and people really take advantage of that. I never saw so much champagne poured at lunch time on a workday. Of course, PS is a retirement community so most of the people probably didn't have to go back to work. I skipped the champagne, since I was getting ready to drive back to Ontario to catch a flight but I did have a single Bloody Maria and for $5.95 it was very good. Lunch for me was a Turkey Meatloaf Sandwich with Cole Slaw. Very tasty, and more than enough food, I was stuffed. Prices are reasonable; service is good and the sidewalk setting ideal for people walking. Misting system kicks in when it gets super hot and they have fans to keep you comfortable in the mid-summer heat of 95 degrees.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Bongo Johnny's Patio Bar & Grille Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great sidewalk cafe for lunch or dinner
    This reasonably priced diner located right in gay central PS is a wonderful treat. The menu is mosly lunch faire or light dinner faire and very casual. The offer wonderful sandwiches and salads, full bar and people watching while sitting on the patio is great. A PS favorite for me.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Hotel Torre De Oro Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Great location, clean but average facility
    I visit Puerto Vallarta at least once a year for the past 17 years, and have stayed at numerous locations. I prefer the area south of the river known as Zona Romantica. The Abbey is located on a small street in the area which has a large number of bars/lounges and restaurants and is only 2 blocks from Las Muertos beach so the location is very good. The hotel staff is accommodating; the rooms are kept very clean. This is a very basic tourist hotel, Id rate it 2 stars. Beds are average, some rooms are smaller than others, many have a balcony, but it is often only big enough for one person. The A/C is not quite adequate in the summer season when the humidity is high. If the rooms had ceiling fans, then it would be fine but neither of the rooms I was in did. Rooms also do not have a mini-refrigerator for keeping drinks and food cold. These are two amenities that I have come to expect in most PV hotels. I did have an issue with being assigned a room that wasn't what I reserved and it did take almost an hour to get the matter taken care of, other than that the service was good and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Mo's O'Brady's on Huffman Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Southside Irish Pub
    Burgers, salads, entree's with a small offering of traditional Irish dishes. Well stocked bar , especially Irish Whiskies (they sell more Jamison than any other bar in Anchorage), house specialty Irish Car Bombs at the best price in town , very large assortment of draft beers (including Guinness and Bass) and lots of bottle beers as well. Open 7 days a week. Gay friendly staff and clientele.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Racines Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Disapointing service and food
    I've been to Racine's about 5 years ago, went here with some friends while visiting because of past good experiences but this place had really went downhill. We were seated and waited on in good time, but all of our food came out wrong, the entres came before the salads and everybody got their food at a different time. Salads also came out with the wrong dressings. The portions were large but quality was not very good. The chicken on my Cobb Salad was "Costco" preformed, precooked, cold and tasteless. This place used to do much better. I can't recommend at this time.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Tracks Denver Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great music, fun scene
    Saturday, a dance club in a major city and no cover...I was shocked. The place had a big crowd, dance floor packed and there was fun to be had. Only downer was the drunk straight women that thought they could attack anybody on the dance floor that didn't seem to be with someone. I don't mind straight company but I wish they would mind their manners when they are in a gay bar, I mind mine when I go to their bars.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Compound Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Improved facility, but not that busy
    I stopped by on a Saturday night while in town for a quick weekend trip. Not very busy (seems Friday is the best night here), good drinks, friendly service, the new patio is an asset. Will check it out next trip back to Denver and try to make it on a Friday.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Phil's Bar & Grille Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good food, freindly personable service
    I hit this place on Memorial day for dinner, they only had one open table when I walked in and even though it was a 4 top they were happy to seat a solo, menu is mid-price range, $19 for the special peanut crusted Walleye, a couple glasses of wine and a side salad brought me a $36 bill...service is expeditious but not rushed, steady clientele kept the place full until I left. Recommended!

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Dunes Resort Bars Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun holiday...to much local drama though
    I spent Memorial Weekend here; Fri., Sat., & Sun. were all fun. Good music, nice crowd, staff is mostly customer friendly. Rob in the upstairs bar was especially attentive and poured the best drink of any of the barkeeps. There is a ton of space here so while it has a great vibe you never have to squeeze through the crowd. Poolside during the day has great eye candy, friendly Midwest guys and everyone showing off their hottest swim suit. A couple of things that turned me off, $4 bottled water is ridiculous, and on Monday night after most of the tourists went home the locals (mostly employees) get drunk and there seems to be a ton of local drama. If you are not a local, you might as well not exist as they are only into their own problems. Too bad...it was a downer way to end what was otherwise very fun weekend.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed The Dunes Resort Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Remodeled and Improved
    This was my first stay here in about 8 years, the Dunes has definately done some serious upgrading. The older "motel" rooms are remodeled and are very comfortable, a good value. My only dislike is there was no internet (wireless or wired) available. The dayside pool scene on a nice day is great. I was there over Memorial Day weekend and the place was busy but never felt overcrowded. The downstairs "Dunes" rooms and the woods out back get very crusy and active at night, if that's your thing...if not, just go to your room and watch TV no one will bother you. They do not furnish pool towels so make sure you bring your own.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Hotel of the Arts - Days Inn and Suites Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Almost Perfect
    This has to be the nicest Days Inn out there, very chic and trendy. Comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom, although could use a bit more counter space. The walls are a bit thin, the neighbors TV could be heard in my room. I arrived a couple hours before the 3 PM check in and the front desk clerk reminded me of such, but within 15 minutes had found an available room for me. Free parking and easy access to the local gay scene.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed LaCage NiteClub Over a year ago
    Loves it

    LaCage / Montage Lounge class act
    LaCage is the main attraction but it's only open on Wednesday, Friday & Saturday and draws a nice crowd. My recent visit put me there on a Thursday night and only the Montage Lounge was open, our bartender Chad was friendly and inviting, makes a decent drink and gave good service. The remodel of this upstairs lounge is very nice, shows a pride of ownership. Space is tiered with a stage so makes viewing (if something is going on) good. Could be a great cruise bar if there is a crowd. Thursday is not a big night here, about 10 people total but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Kruz Bar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hit or miss, nothing special
    I've stopped at Kruz a few times while in the city, never anything special. It's a basic neighborhood bar, good for drink, their stiff enough and not over priced, no one goes out of their way to get to know you and I never stay for more than one. Never been there on the weekend, so it might be different then.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Hybrid Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice new joint and non-smoking
    Stopped in on a quiet Tuesday night while in Milwaukee on a layover. Barkeep Bradley was efficient and easy on the eyes, clientele (4 guys when I arrived, increased to about 12 before I left after a couple drinks) mostly younger and attractive. Good drinks, decent prices, dart board, clean and friendly. Non-smoking is a plus me, but I understand all of Milwaukee bars will be non-smoking on July 5.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Chateau Sonesta Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful customer service, upscale & comfortable
    This is now known as the Bourbon Chateau, a Wyndham Historic Property. I got a great deal through their website for Decadence 09. While not everything was perfect (the internet wasn't working when I arrived and there was a minor housekeeping issue) the customer relations person, Jackie and front desk relations Lisa made sure to keep me informed and even moved me to another room on the pool deck at my request. The only downside here is it is a little bit of a walk from the central gay area, but you do get a quality room and a reasonable price and plenty of quiet when you need it.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed The Brit Over a year ago
    Hates it

    The Brit, it's just another bar
    Thought this would have a little more of a British atmosphere, Corona banners instead of Guiness...not sure what the theme is here. It wasn't busy but the place could be a nice little neighborhood watering hole if they would try to come up with something different from the rest of the crowd on Broadway.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Sweetwater Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Favorite Long Beach watering hole
    Stopped in on Wednesday night, was greeted with a beautiful smile from Kevin who minds the bar here, the tall, good looking hunk will take care of your thirst and treat you right. A couple of pool tables make this a local hangout with friendly customers as well.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Paradise Piano Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    2nd Favorite place in Long Beach
    Hit the Paradise on a Monday night, it's busy here as they have really cheap drinks (a Miller Lite and Absolute soda for $5 total)...the bartender is friendly and attentive and while we didn't attract much interest from the visiting locals we did enjoy a couple of rounds here. A return visit on Wednesday found a good crowd as well as a little more interaction with the locals. Large screen TV for sports and other programming enhances the feel of the bar, restaurant on premises.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Mineshaft Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Where is everyone at?
    On a trip to Long Beach a number of years ago this seemed to be the most popular bar in town, it was packed but we stopped in on Monday and it was just the bartender and on Wednesday just a handful of guys. Very casual, reasonable price on the drinks and could be fun with the right crowd.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Falcon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Casual and neighborhood feel
    Visited on a Wednesday night, decent crowd, inexpensive drinks. Parking in the area is an issue, on Monday we couldn't find a parking place within 6 blocks, on Wednesday we just left the car at the hotel and walked.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Le Montrose Suites Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My choice in WeHo
    I was pleasantly surprised at this suite hotel located just 3 blocks off the Santa Monica Strip and San Vicente Blvd. The rooms are spacious with separate bedroom, dressing room and large living room well appointed and even a kitchenette. The roof top pool and hot tub, sunning deck are fabulous on a sunny day. If you're driving be prepared to pay $24 a night for parking.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Micky's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Much improved over the last time
    I haven't been in Micky's in maybe 10 years, I like what they have done with the place, modern cool colors, nice patio, very friendly staff and down to earth patrons. Happy hour is reasonable and a great deal, patio for cruising the strip and upstairs on Thursday's you can drink the the stars (porn stars that is), hot men in briefs!

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Fiesta Cantina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best happy hour/ value food and beverage
    What a find, a place on Santa Monica Blvd in the heart of gay WeHo that I can have 2 excellent margaritas and a taco dinner plate and the bill was $22 including a 20% tip. Great food, drinks and service, the ambiance is friendly and festive, hot staff and good location right on the corner of Santa Monica and San Vicente.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Fubar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fubar turns up the heat on Thursday
    Lots of hot guys show up at this place on Thursday night for the big fat dick contest; lots of sexual energy and you can't help but want to take your clothes off (it gets damn hot in there). Friendly service, price a little on the high side but a good time.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Hamburger Mary's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Poorly managed outlet
    My friend and I stopped by late in the evening as asked about getting something to eat, we were told we could order off the appetizer menu which we did, and we waited around 30 minutes, no food. When we brought it to the bartender’s attention we were informed that the cook went home and there was no one to cook our food. We did get a refund and a free drink. Unfortunately, that didn't satisfy our hunger for food. The bartender was cute and freindly, as well as appologetic. There were a couple of attractive dancers on stage, a guy in his CKs and a girl which was somewhat entertaining. The clientele is very mixed here and the music very loud.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Utopia Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Delicious selections at this Long Beach Bistro
    You'll have a hard time making a selection from the varied and delicious offerings of this downtown culinary delight. Reasonable prices and outdoor seating make this a perfect location for dinner. Nice wine menu as well, very attentive service.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Good Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    SOMA value, friendly and diverse
    This bright little spot in SOMA is a great value from JDV hotels, clean and comfortable with above average amenities for an economy hotel. Location is good for the area, not far from the Bart and MUNI if you want to visit other areas of the city. Walking in SOMA after dark can be challenging unless you are with someone else as I was, lots of homeless and panhandlers. The hotel is safe and secure though and fairly quiet given the area (we were on the 5th floor). Rooms are intermediate in size with big enough bathrooms you don't bump into something turning around. This is an environmentally friendly property, and they give free parking to those driving Hybrids. I will stay here again when I visit for Folsom St Fair as it will be very convenient.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed The EndUp Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Crowded but not sure what the scene is here
    On a Sunday evening we hit this place after a late dinner, I think we should have ended here rather than starting. It was getting pretty crowded and it a multi-mixed crowd. Doesn't seem all that gay, no bad vibes. The $15 cover charge was a bit exhorbitant I think but maybe it would have been worth it if we stuck around later. One thing, this place like many other SF dives is very dirty, we sat down at a table that needed some serious cleaning. My buddy got some nasty stuff on the seat of his pants...from the looks of thing I don't think this place has a cleaning staff. The outdoor deck is very large and is a great place to hang...if the place had some good management it could be a decent and fun spot to hang.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Powerhouse Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Not that impressive
    I had heard some good things about Powerhouse and in all my travels to SF had never been there. Unfortunately, my friend and I both thought we were oversold. The place is pretty grungy which isn't really a bad thing, the bartenders were friendly but some of the clientle were just downright rude, I don't think they like tourists coming into their space. A couple of guys did everything they could to bump into us, get in our face, get between my friend and I while we were sitting at the bar having a beer...it got to be obvious they didn't approve of our being there, so after 2 beers we went down the street to the Eagle where we were felt more welcome.

  • AK_Cruiser
    AK_Cruiser reviewed Badlands Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Always fun, always hopping
    Stopped in on Sunday afternoon (7/5) for a cold beer with a buddy, place was hopping with hot men as usual. Very consistent and I always go there on my trips to SF.