1outta4

39M. I travel for work, and love to see new places with my work friends.

New York, New York
Joined Jun 2009
81 Followers 4 Following

98 Loved Places

Listings

  • The Cafe The Castro, San Francisco
  • Twin Peaks Tavern The Castro, San Francisco
  • Blake's Midtown, Atlanta
  • Burkhart's Midtown, Atlanta
  • Swinging Richards Midtown, Atlanta
  • Oilcan Harry's Warehouse District, Austin

Cities

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Boxers NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun and sporty!
    There's lots to love about Boxers, including the bartenders IN Boxers and nothing else. Both weekday Happy Hours I've been here were packed full of well dressed cute guys completely ignoring the sports on the TV's... until RuPaul's Drag Race started on Monday! LOVE the pizza bar in the back, which serves great little pies with cute kitchy names. A great place for a post-work beverage!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Just John Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Patio
    The interior of Just John really isn't all that different from other gay bars all over the country, but its back patio area is a great retreat, with a full bar where it seems every local hottie hangs out... every night. We went on multiple evenings, and met the same people each time. The drinks are well priced and well mixed, depending on which "straight" bartender you visit, and the bartenders are all worth a few looks themselves. A word of advice: don't pay to park across the street, just find street parking a few blocks away.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Boxers 'N Briefs Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Only go if you want to see scary!
    OK, I'm usually very generous in my reviews, but this place is a DUMP. First, it's in a really scary neighborhood WAY too far out of St. Louis. On entrance you pay a cover and then are told that the bar doesn't keep tabs, you have to "pre-pay" at the door-and they charge you a 10% fee for the service-and don't have an ATM. When I walked in there were no dancers anywhere, just a barely-legal malnourished child squatting naked on the bar jacking-off into some older patron's drinks. Drinks were expensive and just so-so, and even when a few more entertainers showed up, they weren't all that entertaining or talented, and the crowd, which I was told was the on the large side for the place, was really pretty pathetic. This place is no Remington's or Swinging Richards, and is truly a disappointment.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed 801 Bourbon Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice hangout downstairs
    'Never saw the drag show upstairs, but we did hang out downstairs at 801 a lot. It's a comfortable, "Cheers-y" experience where the bartender (Greg, cute and nice) learns your name and takes care of you every time you come in. No cover downstairs, and the drinks were well made and well priced. Decor could be a little better, and there was never a crowd, but if you just want a good drink and great service, 801 is the place.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Aqua Nightclub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    All girls...
    I love a great drag show, but if I wanted to hang out in a straight bar, I'd have my pick of better places. The place was packed with straight girls, ONLY straight girls, sipping cocktails and staring open-mouthed at the queens... We moved on after a couple of nice tries by the queens. Why stare at women when there are hot men next-door at Kwest?

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Bourbon Street Pub Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Might be fun with a crowd...
    Bourbon Street is a great space, with a few different bars and a great outdoor area out back with a heated pool and spa. If only there was anybody there. 'Went during the day because we heard about the free men-only pool area, but when we showed up, we realized were the only men under 53, and the only ones with swimsuits... sadly, the crowd didn't get much better at night.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Twist Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Rooms of fun!
    A friend said of Twist as we left, it's "everything you expect a South Beach gay bar to be." Lots of different rooms with different music and feel in each one, and a great patio area where hot go-go boys are sure to please (for a price, of course). Drinks were pricey, but since there's no cover they've got to make their money somewhere. Not much of a crowd on a Thursday night, but with so many crazy club scenes outside, it was actually nice that Twist had such a controlled, but still fun, environment.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed 12th Street Gay Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fan-freaking-tastic!
    This is the first gay beach I've seen that actually advertises itself as such... you can see the rainbow flags planted in the sand as you walk toward the water from the street. Fantastic white sand, beautiful turquoise water, and hot hot HOT men everywhere you look. Definitely motivation to go to the gym! You can also rent chairs, umbrellas, and buy soft-drinks from attendants nearby. Only one think would make it better... frozen cocktails!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Leons of Baltimore Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Oldest bar? No kidding...
    It's very easy to see that Leon's isn't exaggerating its age... one look at the place and you KNOW it's the oldest gay bar in Baltimore. But that's part of its charm. The small crowd was aloof but not rude, and the drinks were fine. We were told the back-bar area where food is served was the "leather" section, but it was just more folks standing around, same as the front. The highlight was the claw-machine arcade game that was empty except for about 6 inches of gravel on the bottom...kindof sad, just like the place itself.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Grand Central Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Fine for a spell...
    Nothing stands out about Grand Central, and I guess that's a good thing for Baltimore, since the whole town thinks of itself as DC's ugly, urine-stained step-sister. The place is fine, neither awful nor fabulous. The drinks were ok, the service was ok, and the atmosphere was... ok. Nice door-man, but his kindness as we entered was the only memorable thing about the place.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Club Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quiet on a Tuesday
    Went with work friends on a Tuesday and had a nice time. Not much of a crowd, but the drinks were good and the food was actually pretty fantastic. Probably better on a different night, but still a nice place.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Woody's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Just OK
    Woody's may be Philly's landmark bar, but there is such a thing as being *too* out of date. The bar & pub rooms downstairs could use some updating, but Woody's shows its age most in its refusal to take credit/debit cards. The drinks, once I found a way to pay for them, were well mixed and not too expensive, and the crowd, such as it was on a Tuesday night, was attractive if a little older and pretty cliquey... even the bartender seemed a little aloof.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed 12th Street Gym Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Through the Rabbit Hole
    Working out at 12th Street Gym is a little like being Alice in Wonderland... in this room you're shorter, but through that tiny hole in the wall you're huge. I've never been in such a maze of workout rooms and tiny doorways. The equipment is well maintained if a little older, and the locker rooms are newly renovated and nice, if a little on the small side. Lots of hotties seem to work out here, and as with any city gym, working out after 5 PM can be a crowded experience.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Knock Bar and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ritzy place for an older crowd
    When my friends and I first walked into Knock at 11 on a Saturday night, we were the youngest people there by about 20 years...and that's not a bad thing! The crowd was refined and friendly, and the drinks, while a little pricey, were mixed well. As the evening wore on, more younger people came in, and at one point the front bar was so packed you couldn't move, but the crowd thinned out later as people left to find other nearby bars and clubs. Great upscale place!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Tavern on Camac Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Could it be THAT great?
    On a Saturday night the downstairs piano bar was totally packed, but no one was listening to the player or the singers, they were all waiting in a never-ending, never-moving line to go upstairs to what locals described as the tiny dance floor. Drinks were VERY strong and well priced, and the clientele was attractive, but I can't imagine that anything was so great upstairs as to wait in that ridiculous line. If you want an actual piano bar experience, get on a train and go to New York. And if you want a dance floor, find a club that's actually big enough to have one.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Roppolo's Pizzeria Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Drunk Pizza!
    Austin is known for it's fantastic trailer-food, and this one's no exception. Roppolo's has a few trailers strategically placed throughout the entertainment areas downtown, so hit one up for a great slice before or after the bar. FYI- they do NOT take credit or debit cards.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Hippie Hollow Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    FABULOUS!!!
    Weekends may be a great time to meet babes on boats, but summer weekdays are a great time to relax and become one with nature... naked! Walk down to stairway #12 and you may run across some other gays, all in the nude and totally non-judgemental. I haven't been so relaxed and peaceful in a long time, and even though it was a little scary getting naked in public for the first time, it ended up being a freeing and fantastic experience.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Rain Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Make in RAIN!
    Rain is a great time. All the bars served strong, inexpensive drinks, and the crowd was hopping at 11 and only got better as the night wore on. The two patio areas provided great refuge if needed from the thumping beat on the dance floor, which was surrounded with cages where willing boys danced after entering the Amateur Strip contest, which was a hoot! Rain seemed to be THE place to be in gay Austin on a Thursday night.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Oilcan Harry's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    "Sports bar?"
    "OCH" is trying to remake it's image as a Sports Bar, but aside from a bunch of giant TV's over one of the bars, it's really still just a typical, but cute, gay bar. Thursday night brings a joint Amateur Strip contest with 'Rain' down the street, which was a lot of fun, although Rain was a lot more crowded. OCH has darts, a pool table, and even a beer-pong set-up. A great place to stop in for a drink while having a night on the town in Austin's 4th Street gay district.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Tryangles Over a year ago
    Loves it

    If you like wood panelling...
    then you'll LOVE Tryangles! There's no question it's a dive, but it's a comfortable place with an "outdoors-in-the-indoors" kind of feel. 3 pool tables, some dart-boards, and more Appalachian ambiance than you can shake a stick at. The drinks I had were VERY well made by a cute bartender, and inexpensive too. A great place for a dark, laid-back drink before heading to Connections down the street.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Blazing Saddle Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not Quite Latin Nite
    GayCities describes it as a levi/leather bar, but it's hardly that. We went on a Thursday or "Latin" night, and while the music was in Spanish, there were not many Latino/as there. Everyone who *was* there seemed to be having fun, and it was definitely a mixed crowd. The drinks are cheap ($2 for ANY bottle of beer? Yes, please!) and strong (every cocktail is a double), which can make even the smallest, dingiest bar look great.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed MiraBar Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Maybe better on another night...
    MiraBar on a Sunday night may not be your best bet. There was some sort of drag-court benefit going on, and while I love a good drag show, this wasn't. The poor, brand-new bartender couldn't even pour a beer, let alone mix a drink (he looked in his manual multiple times). The 3rd floor houses a cute space with great decor and a piano player some nights. Hopefully there's better goings on other nights.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Dark Lady Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Star-f*%ing good time!
    If you want to see the Providence gay-elite, Dark Lady is the place. Rumor has it the gay Mayor loves to hang out here, and in one night I saw Mr. and Miss Gay Rhode Island, Jonathan from the latest season of Project Runway, and Jessica Wild from RuPaul's Drag race! The place is well decorated (in the dark), with chandeliers and a great layout that lets you stand above the bar action and watch the hunky crowd below if you prefer. Like other places in town, there's no sign with the name of the place or even a gay flag... just look for the drag queens smoking around the front entrance on Snow St.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Alleycat Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun gay dive!
    Never mind the never-ending construction outside or the fact that it sounds like a lesbian-only bar...AlleyCat is a welcoming bar for all. It's not big, and can get pretty crowded when the Providence crowd decides to show up, but the drinks are well made and less expensive than other bars around. While it's not the trendiest or the cutest, AlleyCat seems to be the place where the gay bartenders go to get away from the gay bar crowd... a comfortable place to have a drink with a friend.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Stable Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Sangria!
    The Stable seems like THE place to go if you're gay in Providence... even when you drink or party elsewhere, you always seem to end up there! Great "Hell's Kitchen" feel, talkative crowd, and good drinks make for a great hangout any time of night. Like most places in Providence, there's no sign outside with the name of the place or even a tiny rainbow flag, so it's a little hard to spot... look for the door on Washington St. right next to "Local 121."

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Club Marcella Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun but dead
    'Went to Marcella on a Sunday night with 8 friends from work, and we easily doubled the "crowd." It's a cute space, with modern lighting and some white leather couches in a lounge area that overlooks the dance floor and drag stage. Drinks were cheap and not very good, but we were there for the famous drag (including Buffalo's own Sabrina Williams, the African-American Little-Person drag queen.) The show was typical of a small town, but the audience was strange: a bunch of young girls (possibly lesbians) who gathered inches from the stage and stared dead-eyed at each of the queens, without any reaction to their efforts. Highlights: Ms. Williams, the mouth-shaped urinals in the men's room, and the TV's showing a Joel Osteen sermon over the bar during the drag show.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Bottom Line Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good space, tiny crowd
    On a Friday night in a town with only 3 gay bars, you'd think the biggest one would be packed... but you'd be wrong if you were thinking about TBL. The place boasts 7 bars (though I could only count 5), a dance floor, a catwalk "deck" above, an outdoor patio, a "cruise bar" with pool and games, and "Sammy's," a karaoke room covered in drag queen headshots. While the space could use a little sprucing up (an ottoman was holding the door open between rooms, and plastic party table-cloths were duct-taped to the cabaret tables), it's no wonder the management has no decor budget... there was no one there! The drag show (one queen, "Miss Vanessa") started late (after the bartender changed the sign from 12 to 12:30, she started at 12:36 and was done by 12:51), and ended with gratuitous breast-implant nudity. We still had fun, but this gay bar needs more gays!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Adam's Apple Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Smokey Neighborhood Hang
    A group of friends from work and I went late one Friday night and had a nice time. I'm not sure if they have karaoke every night, but when we went it was in full swing... Not the best singers, and since there was no elevated stage area you couldn't see them from anywhere but on top of them. The drinks were cheap, and the crowd, while not the hotties you'd see at a hip lounge or dance club, was fun to be around. Beware the heavy layer of smoke that pervades the place and will follow you home on your clothes.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Lodge Kura Hulanda & Beach Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    FABULOUS beach resort!!!
    This was my first trip to Curacao, but having seen the island, I wouldn't stay anywhere else! The resort is upscale and beautiful, high on cliffs that provide staggering sunset views and access to a private beach, with gorgeous landscaping and comfortable rooms that provide the perfect getaway after a long day of lounging on the beach or by the pool or snorkeling in the beautiful blue water. The staff was attentive (if slow...everyone's on "island time") and the drinks at the pool and beach bars were pricey but good. Each room has a kitchenette, so you can avoid the expensive, so-so restaurant food by shopping at local supermarkets (a rental car is a must have) and cooking for yourself. It's not an exclusively gay hotel, but even though it's small we met at least 3 other gay/lesbian couples there during our stay, and felt comfortable and welcomed the entire time. It's very remote (about 45 minutes from town and nightlife) so if barhopping and clubbing are a your idea of a vacation, it might not be for you, but if you're looking for a small, boutique-y tropical experience, I HIGHLY recommend it.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Curaçao Seaquarium Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A once in a lifetime experience!
    My experience with the Dolphin Academy at the Curacao Seaquarium was truly amazing. We arrived 1/2 hour late (the road maps and signs on Curacao are incomprehensible), but the staff still managed to accommodate us and we had a great time. We did the Dolphin Swim, in which we got to actually swim in the ocean with 2 dolphins in a group of 6, with a trainer who helped us give the animals commands and gave us tips on interacting with them. The staff was helpful and the trainer was amazing, speaking 3 different languages to our group and guiding the dolphins at the same time. It's expensive, and they get you at the end with even more costs for videos, pictures, and merchandizing, but this is one experience I'm so glad I shelled out the dough for.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Cas Abou Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Might be the best beach on Curacao
    If you're looking for white sand and crystal blue water, Cas Abou is for you! This beach has great services (chairs, a small dive shop, water sports, restrooms, a bar/restaurant) and wasn't crowded at all, even on a Saturday. In contrast to some of the free beaches on the island, Cas Abou was clean and secure, which is what you get for the $10 fee to access the road to get there. We didn't see any other gay folks, but still felt comfortable being there together and wearing our skimpy suits (all the Europeans vacationing there wear them too).

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Nellie's Sports Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An Authentic gay sports bar. Who knew?
    Unlike Gym (in New York) and other "gay sports bars" around, Nellie's feels like an actual sports bar for fans who just happen to be gay. Clean and modern? No. Cozy, comfortable, full of down to earth folks and crazy sports crap on the walls? YES! Big TVs to watch multiple games, a wall of board games for the gays who don't really love sports, and fun theme nights like Pokerf Ace and Drag Bingo make this a great place for anybody who wants to have a fun, relaxed evening. Oh yeah! Great food and fun merchandise to boot!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Commissary Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bustling Brunch!
    Centrally located on the hot block of P between 14th and 15th, Commissary has a fantastic weekend brunch chock full of great food and cute customers. Alcohol service begins at 11, but after that the mimosas (and other juice & champagne variations) are great coupled with the limited but delicious menu choices. Real buttermilk pancakes, fresh pastries, and healthy meat selections made for a tasty meal. A tip: be prepared to wait for a table, as much of the indoor area is dedicated to some loungy-couch seating that the management would do better to clear away and replace with tables on busy weekend mornings.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Kramerbooks & Afterwords: Bookstore & Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yummy Breakfast!
    Dupont Circle seems to be devoid of anywhere to go for breakfast on a weekday, but Kramerbooks & Afterwords is the one fabulous exception. The menu was short and sweet, but included some great omelets, benedicts, and other breakfast staples (my whole-wheat belgian waffle was terrific!). The Cafe area is in a glass enclosed outdoor patio that looks like it can be opened up in summer weather, and while simple, the decor was pleasing enough. Good wait-staff and happy customers made for a pleasant morning. And when you're though, you can browse the fabulous bookstore for anything from gay fiction to political commentary.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed JR's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Showtune Monday fun!
    I'm not sure if JR's is officially a chain, but DC's JR's is similar in feel to those I've seen in Houston and Denver--a sort of gay "Cheers." Wood panelling, stained glass, and cute boys are common at JR's, and DC's is no exception. Monday Showtune night started off slow but ended up completely packed, and the VJ kept a steady stream of musical numbers going on the screens, ranging from TV clips to a rare Broadway bootleg. The staff was all cute, but a little rude--after waiting in line to close out the tab, we were told to go see another bartender who'd already left for the night and then ignored.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Dupont Italian Kitchen Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Good food, but...
    Dupont Italian Kitchen's location on 17th might just be its best feature. I went on a chilly fall night, so there was no outdoor seating, and inside the place could be nicer--older floor tiles, awkward tables and chairs that could be replaced with nicer ones. The service was fine if a bit disinterested (certainly no hot gay waiters here, the only attractive men were the customers), but the food made up for it: everyone at my table enjoyed their different meals, from pizza to pasta, even if we had a pretty small selection to choose from. I ordered a Cosmo and have to say it was the worst drink I've ever had in a restaurant--hopefully the bar upstairs has better bartenders!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Ziegfield's/Secrets Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Strippers on top, Drag Queens on the bottom!
    Z/S (as the sign says) was a great time. After a short line and a $10 cover, you enter the downstairs space, which is huge and equipped with 2 bars and a great stage and floor area for Drag shows.. and voila, the naked penis of a stripper on the bar! The drag was good, although the queens only picked older songs that didn't really get the crowd going (except for a Miley Cyrus tune that the queen *clearly* didn't know the words to). Upstairs, lots of hot, fully naked men, a different body type for everyone, and a great dance floor space. Unlike lots of strip clubs, it didn't seem gross or icky though... everyone just seemed to be there to have a good time. Great bartenders, good prices, and $1 off the first drink with cover! My only quip: Lighting--upstairs it was a little too dark to see much of the dancers, and downstairs they kept turning on the garish fluorescents to see the crowd, who was probably better under dimmer conditions.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Duplex Over a year ago
    Loves it

    FABULOUS piano bar!
    Duplex is a great mix of piano bar, neighborhood hangout, and cabaret theater. The piano bar downstairs is a fun place to hear up-and-coming New York singers (and once in a while a famous one) belting out anything from rock and roll to classic showtunes, especially on a Monday night when all the Broadway folks have a night off and Darius Frowner is playing the heck out of the piano. Upstairs is a more relaxed feel, with darts and games and a cozy hang-out space, and attached is an intimate cabaret space where you can catch all different kinds of shows, from one-man/woman cabarets to readings of full cast musicals. A fantastic spot for tourists and locals alike!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Play Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Come out and PLAY!
    My friends and I had a FABULOUS time at Play on Sunday nights for Drag Karaoke. Who doesn't love a 3-toothed Drag Queen doing Beyonce's "Soldia' Boy" followed by a lesbian rapping "Baby Got Back?" Great, cute staff, good drink prices, and a fun crowd make this a great place to go. Head to Tribe next-door for a pre-party cocktail, and then go sing your face off!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Cobalt / 30 Degrees Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loud but fun!
    I'm not quite sure why this one building feels it has to have 3 names, but Cobalt/30 Degrees/whatever the first floor is called is a fun time. The music on the 3rd floor (Cobalt) was crazy loud, but the shirtless bartenders were hot, even if they had to make a drink twice 'cause they couldn't hear the order. The second floor (30 Degrees) had loungey seating and was packed with all they boys who wanted to hear themselves think. Fun!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Station 4 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing drag, great atmosphere!
    If you like a good drag show, S4 is for you. One of the best Drag stages I've seen in the country, it's obvious that the ownership spent some good money on lighting and sound, and with good reason: these queens are amazing! Look for Krystal Summers, who was literally mobbed with adoring fans during her numbers, and was a fabulous hostess to boot! A great mixed crowd, big dance floor, and fun patio complete the scene. Expensive cover, but worth it for fun night out.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Delphinium Home Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Pricey but fabulous!
    If you need that little extra something in your bedroom, living room, kitchen, or bath, but you can't quite put your finger on it, go to Delphinium and you will find it! Tons of cute, kitschy things for your home, including the best selection of shower curtains in the city since Details closed a few years back. Sure, you'll pay more here than at Bed Bath & Beyond, but you'll get better service, and support a gay owned business.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Posh Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fabulous summer drink specials!
    I know we gays love the nightlife, but if you happen to be out and about before dark, Posh can be a great place to go for a happy-hour drink and some nice conversation. It's loungey and cute, and during the day completely quiet. PLUS, $3 frozen cosmos certain days of the week. Who could beat that? Yes, it's crowded and cliquey at night, and we all love that too, but give it a try some afternoon!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed 9th Avenue Saloon Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Cozy but snoozy
    I celebrated a birthday at Ninth Avenue Saloon, and while I love the cozy atmosphere, the exposed brick, and the great drink prices, I was a little surprised by the clientele. It was a karaoke night, and after a few drinks I went up to sing, and said "Let's hear it for the gays!" into the mic... and got dead silence. It was like no one there wanted to be outed. Hello? You're in a gay bar in Hell's Kitchen. My friends and I had a great time, though!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Barracuda Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Loungey and LOUD
    I lived on the same block as Barrage, and while it's totally cute inside and always full of cute guys, I rarely went there. The reason: LOUD music. In a lounge atmosphere, I expect to be able to sit and have a drink and chat with friends, but here, even though there's no dance floor, the house/techno music is pumped at full volume, so all you can do is scream at one another. Lots of potential though!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Ice Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay Grease Memories...
    I had the pleasure of doing a show at the Ice Palace that was a gay version of "Grease" a few years back. While the show was pretty horrible, the crowd had a great time because the bartenders kept the drinks going and kept up a great atmosphere. The owners donated the stage and all the proceeds to GMHC! So even if the place isn't the most fantastic club on earth, their hearts are in the right place. We always had fun drinking here after the show, and the pool parties were a blast!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Woody's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    THE Toronto Hangout
    If you're going to Gay Toronto, you MUST go to Woody's. The bars located throughout offer different places to chat or watch the boys, and the bartenders were all HOT HOT HOT. We didn't love Canada's laws governing drink pouring (only one measured shot per drink, unless it's a double), but the friendly atmosphere made up for it. We went for a fantastic Halloween party and had an absolute blast, but it's just as fabulous every night! Tip: Since the mixed drinks are so measured and expensive, try a Smirnoff Ice-they're made with real Vodka, not malt liquor like in the States... yum!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Neighbours Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Get past the scary entrance...
    ...and you'll end up in a fun, if a little trashy, dance club. 80's night is definitely the best night to go, especially with a big group. It seems like all the cutest boys in Seattle dance here, and face it, indoors is the only time you can tell if anyone's cute in Seattle, outside they're all bundled up under an umbrella! Loved the drag-queen trivia prizes... sausage anyone?

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Urban Mo's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A place every gay will like
    Who wouldn't love a comfy, fun, burger joint/bar right in the middle of gay San Diego? Urban Mo's has great food (if you don't mind greasy) and fabulous drinks. The waiters and bartenders are fun and knowledgeable about the area. A great place to go before, after, or even during a night hitting the clubs and San Diego scene.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Twin Peaks Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Love this historic gem!
    One look at the fantastic neon sign tells you that Twin Peaks is full of history and gritty charm. The staff and the patrons are always friendly, even if they do think of you as a "whippersnapper." There's nothing special about the drinks, but who cares when you can sit at the bar and enjoy the cozy, warm (if crunchy) atmosphere and the great views of all the folks passing by?

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ah the memories...
    Coming of age and coming out in the SF Bay Area, I practically grew up at The Cafe. There are often lines out the door on weekend nights, and sometimes you can meet your dance partner outside before even getting past the door. My friends and I always enjoyed that there was no cover, and the bartenders were always generous with the pours, especially for a nice tip. You need a centrally located Castro dance club with cute boys and great music? This is it!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Below Zero Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cozy piano atmosphere
    I wouldn't say Below Zero is something you'd find in New York, but it was a cozy, cute place to go for a nice drink and good company. We went on a piano-bar themed night, and had a nice, comfortable drink on the plush couches in the raised area near the back. The piano area was a little crowded with CCM Musical Theatre students monopolizing the pianist's time, but some of them were cute, and some of them were even talented singers!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Main Event Over a year ago
    Hates it

    If you like a trashy dive...
    The Subway is scary at best, dangerous at worst. My friends and I went after work and barely made it through one drink before we had to escape. The clientele horrid, the bar was cramped, and the place had a bunch of video games, pinball machines, and even skee-ball, none of which worked. Among the highlights were the worst drag I'd ever seen (not performing, just sitting at the bar with an 80's purse) and the one "hot" guy in the place in the neck-brace.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed The Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    What's not to like?
    My friends and I loved the Saloon because it was close to work, had great drinks at fantastic prices, and was always full of cute guys. There seemed to be a place and a man for everyone, and we loved the fact that food was also served for those late-night munchies. It was certainly quieter on the 21+ nights, but that gave us some variety. The back patio and fireplace area was a god-send on the cold nights if you couldn't find a local boy to warm you up instead.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Gay 90s Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Loved it, but now I'm worried...
    I've been to Gay 90's a few times in my travels over the years, and always had a good time. Yes, it's old and sticky, but that's what I loved... the horribly dated decor downstairs, the $5.99 spaghetti dinner special, the bingo nights. A drag queen/waiter on my last visit said it was being sold and changing management, and from the other reviews I'm guessing it's changed for the worse. On my last visit it was still fun, still served great drinks, and the many rooms and themes meant there was something for everyone. Here's hoping it comes back to it's tattered glory!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Ball Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Swimwear with a boost!
    If you're looking for swimwear and only swimwear, this is the place. Ball carried all kinds of swimsuits and beachwear, featuring their own line of tight-fitting suits, many of which have a cock-ring like feature inside that pushes you're junk up and forward for a big boost. It's not comfortable, and my friends and I all looked like something from a burlesque show when we tried them on, but if you want to make waves at the beach, it might be for you. I bought a cute (un-enhanced) suit there, and it's one of my staples.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Sebastian Street Gay Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gorgeous!
    'Visited Sebastian Beach with friends a few times on my trip to Ft. Lauderdale and loved it every time. Florida weather can be fickle, but on a clear day it's the perfect spot to sunbathe and swim in the warm water. Saw and met lots of other gays there (including a few strippers from Johnny's), and everyone was having a good time. Tip: Go to Fat Tuesdays across the street and buy fabulous frozen drinks in their cute Sports Bottles. Alcohol isn't technically allowed on the beach, but the Sports Bottle conceals what you're really drinking. Refills are only $5!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Alibi Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun any night!
    Georgie's anchors Wilton Manor's gay strip-mall, and the other business there should thank it attracting so many customers. Thursday night ($3 Long Island Night) the place is so packed the boys spill out into the parking lot, making it look like a big gay riot! Great drinks and specials, and food served late for anyone who needs to eat after going to another bar. Though it's a lot quieter depending on the night of the week, it's always a good place to hang out.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Cowgirl Hall of Fame Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Yeeeee-Haw!
    This is FANTASTIC place to meet friends for a fun meal. In a cute part of the West Village, outdoor seating is a great choice, but indoors is fun too, with kitschy decor and fun staff to boot. The food is down-home fun, and the drinks are strong and delicious. Everyone loves the Frito-pie, plus lots of other great menu choices you just won't find this side of Texas!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed New York Sports Club/49th & Broadway Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Work it out!
    This is the gym where all the Broadway boys work out. It's clean and well kept up, but can also get super crowded at peak hours. Only one pec-fly, not a huge selection of free-weights, but lots of cardio equipment, and each machine with it's own TV. Be warned, it shares a lobby with a hotel, and guests can use it, so not every hot guy in there is a New Yorker...

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Top Shop/Top Man Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Even bottoms like Top Man!
    Stumbled on this fantastic shop on my last NYC trip and fell in love. Great clothes, not super expensive, and sizes ranging from XXS to XXXL! They seem to have something for everyone, although definitely with a hipster vibe. Suits, ties, tees, jeans, button downs, shoes... you could get a whole wardrobe if you wanted!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Vynl Hells Kitchen Over a year ago
    Hates it

    SO Disappointed...
    Vynl used to be my favorite restaurant in the city. When they closed recently for a refresh, I thought all that would change was the decor. While the decor has been updated a little, what really changed was the menu- FOR THE WORSE. Gone are all the items my friends and I used to rave about, (the stir-fry, the butternut soup, even the grilled cheese!) and instead they've cut the menu in half and added some strange new items. (Why would I go to Vynl for schnitzel and spatzle when I can get them at the German place 2 doors down for half the price?) The service, which used to be great, was slow, even though the place was just about empty. All the things that used to make Vynl great (low prices, great menu variety, relaxed atmosphere, great service) are gone.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Ogunquit Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    BEAUTIFUL!
    There's nothing to say about Ogunquit beach except that it's absolutely gorgeous. The water is cold, but the sand is warm and powder-soft, and the view from the beach is amazing. One can see for miles in either direction. We saw a few cute gays, especially further north by the big number 3 and the first bridge over the dunes. This beach has any P-town beach beat hands down.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Tapas & Tini's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Too big for it's britches
    If you like fancy small plates and don't mind paying a lot for them, you might like Tapas and Tini's. But if you're just looking for a good drink and a snack or appetizer, Tapas and Tini's is not for you. Our food was way overpriced for what it was, and the menu choices, while many, all centered around the same kinds of upscale food. The drinks were great, but also far too expensive, especially since MaineStreet is right next door and charges about half the price. Also, we were the ONLY people in the place, and the service was still just so-so.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed MaineStreet Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nicer outside than in
    MaineStreet during the day was a great place to sit outside and have a relaxing drink while enjoying the weather and people-watching. (A tip- don't order anything frozen... the bartender couldn't get the ice/alcohol ratio right and I ended up leaving my drink mostly untouched). At night, Mainestreet is only open inside to keep noise down for the neighbors, but it's not so cute. The night we were there we were blasted out the door by bad country-karaoke, and went to Oxygen instead.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Front Porch Piano Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great drinks, cute atmosphere
    This isn't the kind of piano bar where a singer leads the entertainment and folks from the crowd can get up and sing too, but rather the kind of place where a group sits around the piano/bar and sings together as the pianist bangs away at the keys and cracks a few jokes. The drinks were fabulous, as were the hot waiters, and we loved the fun murals on the walls depicting life in Gay Ogunquit. A tip- skip the "Adult Comedian" unless you want to hear the same old tired jokes and straight-baiting from a guy in a red sparkly vest who won't leave you alone if you just want a drink.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Betty Doon Motor Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Kitschy and Fabulous!
    4 friends and I stayed 2 nights in this great little place! Smack in the middle of gay Ogunquit and super close to the beautiful beach, the Betty Doon may be dated, but in the fun cute way. Rick, who owns and runs the place, was nice as can be. Our room was clean if not luxurious, and had 2 queen beds and a single, with a big bathroom and ample closet space. A tip: don't stay in rooms 5-9 if you want to sleep late, the store above opens at 8 am and the floorboards creaking will ruin your beauty sleep.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Provincetown Inn Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Family Friendly Dump
    This place was built in the 1930's, and has been lovingly and painstakingly ignored ever since. It looks cute from the outside, and most rooms have little decks that look onto the ocean and/or pool, but that's where the charm ends. The room had bad '80's conference room furniture, a horrible bed, and old, smelly industrial carpet. Plus, it was WAY overpriced for the condition of the place. The best part of the place is the private beach and pool, where the pool bar provides fabulous drinks and food in season... if you can get a chair.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Bayside Betsy's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fantastic View, Fantastic Food!
    This is a fabulous, upscale yet casual restaurant with amazing views of the Cape. The waiters were all cute and gay, and very helpful when it came to menu choices, and to how to eat the fabulous baked lobster when it came out. The drink menu is extensive and everything we ordered was perfect. Not too many families, but family friendly if need be. A great little gem... and Betsy was there making sure everything was great and looking cute as a button just like the logo!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Bubala's By The Bay Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Meh...
    This place is fine if you have a gaggle of kids and don't care about the food. The view of the water is blocked by a parking lot, and when we were there the outdoor patio, while cute and providing a great view of Commercial Street, was just too hot to sit on. My chicken was dry and the fish my husband had wasn't great either.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Hot Mess! Sundays at UnderBar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Sunday Night Dancing
    UnderBar is a great place to go Sunday Nights for Mash-Up DJ mixes and cute boys. The bartenders mix the drinks strong, motivating dancing to move from the floor to the top of the long bay of booth-seats at the center of the huge dance space. Free before 11:00 PM, $10 after.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Legends Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Laid back and fun!
    Went with my work buds last Sunday night and had a great time. Drag-queen BINGO was fun, especially the "rim-job" portion, and free shots every time she called B-1! There was a nice, laid back crowd there who were very friendly. The drinks were a little weak, but reasonably priced. The drag show started ON TIME, something I've never seen in my life! A fun, short and sweet show on a real stage (take that Atlanta!) with 3 queens who actually seemed to like each other and have fun. We'll be going back!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Swinging Richards Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun on a Tuesday!
    Went with some friends for 1/2 price cover ($5) on Tuesday. As soon as we walked in we saw 5 fully naked men, and they just kept on coming! A friend who knew the guys said that only 4 of the 25 dancers that night were gay, which was disappointing, but all the guys were hot, and most of them seemed to be having an okay time. The drinks are STRONG- I had only ONE and was so drunk afterward I couldn't feel my feet. A special shout-out to the "little person" dancer, who was just as hot if not hotter than all the others!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Blake's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Kicked out by the cops!
    So since I can't write a review of the whole city, I'll note my experience here. I travel to a lot of cities for work, and my only day off is Monday, so Sunday night is the night for me and my coworkers to go see the gay bars and clubs. WELL, I guess there's some new law in Atlanta and bars have to close Sundays at midnight! At Blake's "last call" was at 11:30PM. At 11:50, a uniformed cop barged into the door, yelling "EVERYBODY OUT!," like we were a bunch of teenagers breaking the law, or worse, a bunch of fags congregating in public... oh wait. THIS ISN'T 1969! Why is the gay community standing for this? Not that I've been, but I wonder if the straight bars all over town get the same treatment. If Atlanta really wants to be the "Gay Capital of the South" as this site suggests, then clearly things need to change. The community needs to stand up and fight for itself... or else these bars, and the whole gay nightlife, will die.

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Felix's on The Square Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cute and welcoming
    My friends and I went to Felix's after a disappointing drink at Burkhart's across the parking lot (see review). What a difference! Felix's was small and light, with a pool table, nice bar that takes up half the space, and some high-top tables for sitting with friends. The cute bartender greeted us from behind the bar as we came in. The drinks were great: 2 of us ordered from the new "Fishbowl" menu and were not disappointed. One of the locals chatted with us and brought us some Chex Mix to munch on, and even though we drank a bit, the tab was very reasonable. Give it a try!

  • 1outta4
    1outta4 reviewed Burkhart's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Rude!
    My work friends and I went here on a Monday night for a relaxing drink. We went inside and sat at a table, while one of us went to the bar to get our drinks. He was told rather rudely by a smoking bartender that we couldn't get drinks there, we had to sit down and wait for a waiter to come take our order. The waiter (cute but a little slow) came to the table once to take our order, then had to come back 10 minutes later with a pad & pen because he'd forgotten it. The drinks were okay, but our table was under an AC unit that blew on us the whole time, and it smelled like the place had been freshly varnished. We paid and left, thankful to get out of that dark place. We went across the lot to Felix's and had a better time, better drinks, and were treated better by the helpful staff and patrons.