Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

noooby

56 M
Palm Springs, California

Member Since: January 27, 2010
Friends Call Me a: Art Lover, Film Buff, Foodie, Music Lover, Activist |

plus minus toggle
noooby Loves These Places
  • Restaurants in Palm Springs
    Big Hit on the Strip
    Right in the heart of the tourist scene, on the strip, and (seemingly) always crowded, this new restaurant appears to be an instant hit. Very large interior opens (when weather is good) to the outside patio. The decor is modern and arty, yet casual. And ever so clever: the crystal chandeliers over the bar are de-kitsched with minimal, translucent shades; the looking glass in the hallway sees newbie diners checking their teeth for spinach without realizing that the 2-way mirror is the vista from the men's room. The large and moderately-priced menu features a wide range of food, from updated American classics to (a major surprise in land-bound Palm Springs) fresh seafood - including a New England lobster sandwich (welcome to California!). Special sections of the menu are devoted to substantial gluten-free as well as vegetarian offerings. I ordered lightly fried oysters (perfectly, delicately cooked) and a domestic "Kobe" beef burger (arrived exactly medium rare as ordered, with the condiments requested). My partner's babyback ribs were succulent and juicy, but completely bland other than the brushed-on barbecue sauce. The waiter happily accommodated a vegetable substitution for the potatoes as requested. The service staff were super attentive (the place is well-staffed), mostly male, and very, very handsome.
    first review First to Review

    Oct 28, 2011 at 10:04pm ·

    based on 5 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of The Tropicale
    Restaurants in Palm Springs

    May 13, 2011 at 4:07pm ·

    based on 18 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Restaurants in Palm Springs
    Twilight at the Oasis
    I love to sit outdoors, in the garden patio bar, under the lights and the sunset-hued sky and enjoy the Happy Hour prices on drinks and the excellent selection of appetizers (Wed is all-night Happy Hour pricing). Incredible steamed mussels (when in season) in spicy Thai coconut broth with crusty bread to dunk. Fresh made pizzas. Sinful treats and American standards. Plus, you can order anything off the main menu. Lots of gays and local scenesters wandering about. Friendly, attentive service staff. Relaxed and casual socializing at a fantastic price!

    May 13, 2011 at 4:07pm ·

    based on 18 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Restaurants in Palm Springs
    Consistently Good at a Great Price
    My bf and I eat here often and the food and service has been consistently good since my very first visit. Mostly locals (many of them gay groups of friends) and in-the-know visitors. Cuban specialties and all-American classics like turkey dinners, including scaled-down portions of their main entrees at a cheaper price for light eaters (the prices are very reasonable to begin with). Professional, seasoned and friendly staff. Love the complimentary welcome snack of old-fashioned deviled eggs (when available)! Giant black and white photos on the walls feature Palm Springs history and celebrities. Not on the hipster radar and that's just fine!

    May 11, 2011 at 6:10pm ·

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of Rick's Desert Grill
    Restaurants in Palm Springs

    May 11, 2011 at 6:10pm ·

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of Escena Grill
    Restaurants in Palm Springs

    Feb 3, 2011 at 8:39pm ·

    based on 2 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of Norma's
    Restaurants in Palm Springs

    Feb 3, 2011 at 8:03pm ·

    based on 1 rating Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of Swank Modern Design
    Shops in Palm Springs

    Feb 3, 2011 at 8:02pm ·

    based on 1 rating Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • noooby is now a fan of Palm Springs Follies
    Culture in Palm Springs

    Feb 2, 2011 at 5:37pm ·

    based on 3 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Arts & Culture in Palm Springs
    Surprisingly entertaining
    Yes, gays get their fair share of the bad jokes, but the show itself is OTT gay camp and everyone seems to know it. The first half of the show was never-a-dull-moment. Happily, Leslie Gore was the guest star during my visit and hearing her belt out You Don't Own Me was a highlight. Generally the stage craft, costumes, and enthusiasm of the geriatric hoofers was top-notch, but the show bogged down and became a bore during the "patriotic" finale - I got to practice silent clapping during the final 30 minutes. Expensive tickets, but you can get "friends and family" rates if you visit their tent in front of the theater during the street fair that takes place every Thu night. Glad I saw it - once - and, if you want to see actual veteran dancers from The Carol Burnett Show era, better do it soon.

    Feb 2, 2011 at 5:37pm ·

    based on 3 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • more (14)

3 FOLLOWERS

  • SacJeff
  • paperdoll
  • KenWeTalk

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of The Tropicale Restaurant in Palm Springs

Fan of Rick's Desert Grill Restaurant in Palm Springs

Fan of Escena Grill Restaurant in Palm Springs

Fan of Norma's Restaurant in Palm Springs

Fan of Swank Modern Design Shop in Palm Springs

see all »