Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world
See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.

SupaSteve

34 M
Detroit, Michigan

I'm cool. I'm honest. I'm blunt. I give honest reviews and opinions--if you disagree with what I have said, then to each their own as it is ALL in the eye of the beholder, Right?

Member Since: March 26, 2009 | Originally From: Flint

plus minus toggle
SupaSteve Loves These Places
  • SupaSteve is now a fan of Inferno Disco
    Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 14 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • SupaSteve is now a fan of Menjo's Complex
    Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 12 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • SupaSteve is now a fan of Gigi's
    Bars & Clubs in Detroit

    December 8, 2010

    based on 17 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • SupaSteve is now a fan of Backstreet
    Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 9 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • SupaSteve is now a fan of The Malebox
    Bars & Clubs

    December 8, 2010

    based on 4 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Mostly Lesbian bar but DEF fun...
    This is in anohter "sketchy" neighborhood but just try to park in designated areas. The cover is a little pricey but you get two atmospheres. There is a "drag-king" somtimes "queen side" with their own crowd, pool table, bar, and DJ. The other side is a little door that takes you to a dance area with their own DJ and bar and even a small "caged" area to dance in. This is def more for the women but as a gay guy, I have enjoyed many Saturdays here. VERY mixed crowd. Gay, straight, bisexual (men, women, AND transex/gendered). It is def on the WEST side of Detroit (Inkster, west of Dearborn and Garden City, not too far from Detroit Metro Airport). The drink prices are So-So and the staff is hard to put your finger on...I can't say they are mean or nice...haha. A lot of the crowd is friendly that goes there but I would take a friend with me if I went there to feel more comfortable. 18 and up but expensive cover (call cuz I don't remember haha). Top 40 URBAN style music. I still had fun there though.

    March 26, 2009

  • Thursday nights only
    Bored on a Thursday? Hit up Menjo's. Take advantage of parking on the West side of the building (if you follow the fence-line you WILL find the entrance to park your car in it) and park. The lot attendants will be there and tell you to "have a good time, we'll see you on the way out" meaning TIP THEM A COUPLE DOLLARS for watching your car for "free parking" (translated as TIP two dollars per car)!!! You walk in the club and it's def a "dance-themed" club. Nice atmosphere, sometimes the crowd is hit-or-miss as of lately although it had LEGENDARY status for Thursdays for a LONG time. It's still the only thing to do in Detroit on a Thursday. You can dance, play pool, sit in the lounge, or go outside in the completely enclosed outdoor atrium (nice in the summer/spring.) The crowd varies and it is five dollars for 18 and up. Its a darker themed bar on the inside. The music is very trendy. The bar staff is "so-so" depending on who you get and how they are doing that day. There's a couple straight bar-tenders but they have worked there for years and are very gay friendly. Used to be one of my favorite bars, but the crowd is hit or miss. Get there after Midnight for the best chance of seeing what it's like. Mixed crowd. Somewhat a "twink" looking bar, although if you look around, it's just at first glance. Remember, tip the lot attendents on the way out or park in Valet. Had my car broke into once from parking far down the street. (STUPID ME LOL)

    March 26, 2009

  • SupaSteve gave * to Gigi's in Detroit
    Best on Mondays, then on Fridays....
    This is a VERY diverse nightclub that prides itself on being diverse as well as a "staple" in the gay community for YEARS. The decor is actually updated frequently, they paint the interior about every couple of years and try to throw a lot of different "themed" parties there. They have go-go dancers and have a lot of friendly bar-tenders, although they can appear to be indifferent, but when they are busy, they are BUSY, they aren't trying to look unhappy. They pour a STRONG drink, especially UPSTAIRS on the LEFT side. Drinks are very reasonable. Cover is 5.00 18+. They do 2 different drag shows and 2 "go-go dancer" sessions. You may dance on the dance floor before, between, and after those performances. Personally, I don't like drag shows or go-go dancers, so sometimes I don't go till around 1 am (haha) so I can just walk in, get a drink, slam it, and then the dance floor is free to dance at. The area is actually borderline "scary" becuase of the "ghetto" apartment complex that is located near the bar. It borderlines the completely Arabic city of Dearborn. (look it up at your own discretion). I would suggest parking inside valet, in the Park-yourself area inside the fence, or somewhere very close to the building or where you see others parking (try to follow a crowd in and out...although I have never had a bad experience here I have heard of a couple) You should probably take someone with you to feel more comfortable because of the diverse crowd it can seem to be a little "click-ish" and if you are stuck-up or rude, don't expect to throw your attitude around becuase being in Detroit, one of these other "queens" or "ghetto" people will be quick to put you in check. Monday is the best (if interested in dancing guys/girls/lesbians/gays/black/white/hispanic/latin/arabic upstairs and downstairs are open) on Fridays, the same type of crowd, but only the upstairs is open. Saturdays, I have never been but heard it is for the audiences that prefers drag shows, so you decide what night to go there :) You can definitely LET LOOSE here and be yourself because no one will really judge you here.

    March 26, 2009

  • Mostly younger crowd, white boys, "ok" music.
    This is definitely a bar that's best night (competing with Gold Coast and also offering a totally different atmosphere) is Tuesday nights. This bar has good drink specials on Tuesdays, the crowd is mostly younger white guys, and pretty much a place to go to hang out with friends and bare witness to their "BOOTY CONTEST." This bar has a dancefloor that gets busy sometimes but it depends on the song. The club is a little bit on the "brighter" side of style and is decorated very nicely. The staff here is very nice and courteous and you can also find the gay owner on any given night out there mingling/meeting people (bigger older guy named Bill.) Go here for something light-hearted and innocent. The music is definitely Top 40. As it is down the road from Gold Coast, (bad area if not familiar with it) please take advantage of the two parking lots (directly across the street and in the entrance to the club) in which you can tip the "guards/security/parking lot watchers" to keep an eye out for your vehicle and well being. 18 and up club, best night Tuesday and then Friday.

    March 26, 2009

  • Darker atmosphere makes you feel comfortable
    While some may find upon first entering that this is not really a dance club, it is definitely a place to go if you like to see strippers. They have two sides to the club. The "entrance-side" is darker and looks a little bit older in style but the crowd is very different from night to night. All-in-all, the excitement of this place is that you never know what to expect when you walk in. The drinks are reasonable becuase most of the bartenders know how to be courteous and how to make drinks that you feel are "good for the money." This isn't a bar to take people to "impress" so to speak, but it serves its purpose, something different in the line of "bars/clubs," because they do have a dance-floor, it's just a matter of how many people get out there and dance to the songs. Best night is Tuesday followed by Sundays. Cover is cheap. 18 and up. Dangerous area I might add, probably better to valet than to park if you're not familiar with this area. :)

    March 26, 2009

  • more (1)

1 FOLLOWERS

  • dante248

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Backstreet Bar/Club in Detroit

Fan of Gigi's Bar/Club in Detroit

Fan of Menjo's Complex Bar/Club in Detroit

Fan of Inferno Disco Bar/Club in Detroit

Fan of The Malebox