Join GayCities, the fun way to discover the world

See where your friends and people like you are going and what they say about places and events worldwide.


HalCall

35 M

Member Since: December 28, 2008

plus minus toggle
HalCall's Reviews
  • HalCall is now a fan of Deco Lounge [CLOSED]
    Bars & Clubs

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 10 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall is now a fan of Wild Side West
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 5 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall is now a fan of Powerhouse
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 33 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall is now a fan of Gangway
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 6 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall is now a fan of Martuni's
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco

    Dec 8, 2010 at 12:56am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    Perfect Neighborhood Bar
    Wild Side West is a landmark, being the oldest gay or lesbian bar in SF. But the lesbian owners have always said that it's a neighborhood bar that just "happens" to get a lot of lesbians. And that's true. It has a warm, smallish interior with fireplace and the pool table Janis Joplin once played pool on (and was reportedly laid on as well). The interior looks very old. Outside they have a back yard. Most places would call it a patio. It's a back yard. And it's perfect for this non-pretentious place where you might as likely meet a radical dyke as a gay male programmer or a straight guy from the 'hood just stopping in for a drink. The staff are friendly types, they mix good drinks, and for major holidays and some birthdays they often have a food spread. I think I'd be there every day if I still lived in the neighborhood.

    Dec 28, 2008 at 11:30am ·

    based on 5 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall gave * to Martuni's
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    Fabulous In Every Way!
    I can't say enough good things about Martuni's! It's a faggy piano bar! I'm happy that such places still exist in the world. What's more the management had done it exactly right. The drinks are first-rate, the decor is absolutely beautiful, and the pianists are top quality all the way. In the back room, you can sit at the piano and take turns singing to the piano each night until way late. Be on the lookout for Katy Stephan, first-rate vocalist and songwriter. She's world class quality. Martuni's is the place to go with your foofy hairdresser and fashion model friends, or with your best buddy. The customers always seem friendly, the bartenders are great, and sometimes you're treated to performances by folks such as the cast of Beach Blanket Babylon. A MUST SEE!

    Dec 28, 2008 at 11:24am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall gave * to Marlena's
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    A Nasty In-Place
    It must be that you have to know somebody to be treated well at Marlena's. I was ignored by one bartender and treated like crap by another one. I tried to talk with folks at the bar, but got nowhere. In fact, when I did get a little conversation in with one guy, he turned his back on me in mid-sentence and walked over to a drag queen and fussed over her gown. Maybe this kind of attitude works for some people, but not for me. It is positively the worst experience I've ever had in a bar, gay or straight.

    Dec 28, 2008 at 11:19am ·

    based on 11 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • HalCall gave * to Gangway
    Bars & Clubs in San Francisco
    Neighborhood Bar
    You want an unpretentious fag bar? You've got it. Unassuming, longtime dive, the Gangway scratches that itch when you want to relax with a drink and talk to local characters.

    Dec 28, 2008 at 11:14am ·

    based on 6 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • Bars & Clubs
    Old School Tenderloin Charm
    Hey, if you want a sample of the REAL old-style gay bar from SF's heyday this is it! Various theme night including a male strip contest on Sunday nights with cash prizes. The bartenders are friendly, the place is MASSIVE with an upstairs, main floor (nice deco style), a downstairs and an outdoor smoking area. Being the Tenderloin, the crowd is sketchy, or interesting, you be the judge. I happen to like sketchy, especially compared with trendoid, so the Deco is on my regular visit list.

    Dec 28, 2008 at 11:13am ·

    based on 10 ratings Thank you! Why not write a review?
  • more (4)

PLACES

I'M A FAN OF

Fan of Martuni's Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Gangway Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Powerhouse Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Wild Side West Bar/Club in San Francisco

Fan of Deco Lounge [CLOSED]