Scott Gatz, 47M. I'm an explorer at heart, I love to travel and get a feel for the place I'm going. When I get to another city, I enjoy the sights, I look for great restaurants (I'm a sucker for a nice meal) and I always try to hit the bar/club scene to get a feel for the boys in any town.

San Francisco, California
Joined May 2005
663 Followers 561 Following

266 Loved Places

Listings

  • Badlands The Castro, San Francisco
  • 440 Castro The Castro, San Francisco
  • Lookout Bar The Castro, San Francisco
  • Midnight Sun The Castro, San Francisco
  • Mix The Castro, San Francisco
  • Moby Dick The Castro, San Francisco

Cities

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Abbey Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Probably the most well-known bar in the world, the Abbey has got it all. On the negative side: it's gotten super popular with straight girls, and the food isn't all that good. On the positive side: it's like a big gay playground: eat & drink with friends. check. watch a comedy show. check. mingle. check. cruise. you get the point. Everyone goes here, some complain, but just go with a fun attitude and you'll have a blast.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Edwige Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Edwige is a must-do for dinner in Provincetown. The food is always reliably good (though not quite foodie-level), the drinks are always good and the waiters are cute as are many of the other diners. Add it to your list.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Grotta Bar at Local186 1 week ago
    Loves it

    Tucked in the basement under the burger restaurant, this feels like an urban hole in the wall even in this resort town. We went and there was a bunch of drunk broadway types (total messes) doing karaoke that were a blast to watch. Worth a fun stop for a drink or two.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Moby Dick Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun, packed with 30-40-somethings
    This is literally my corner bar and it's always a great place to meet friends and have a drink. It's the kind of place where beer drinking gays are right alongside cosmo sipping ones and everyone is there to be friendly and chat. Well worth a stop on your Castro bar crawl.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Pizzeria Delfina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing pizza; great outdoor seating
    Well worth the carbs & calories. Delfina is one of the best restaurants in the city and their pizzeria next door is perhaps even better. Come here for interesting takes on the favorites and some new ingredient combos and amazing dough. They also have appetizers and a few non-pizza entrees as well. I've been here a number of times and yesterday we sat at the counter and watched them knead mozzarella from the curd they buy from a local dairy. The waiters are amazingly knowledgeable about what they serve. Really impressive all around. They also have outdoor seating for the overflow - bring a jacket on a cool night.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Sydney Opera House 1 year ago
    Loves it

    Not just pretty, but great shows as well
    We all know the beautiful building, but inside are multiple theatre spaces with shows of all kinds (not just opera). Grab a drink at the cafe along the water and plan to see a show. We did the tour which was worth it to hear the struggle of getting it built.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Bondi Beach (North Side) 1 year ago
    Loves it

    lovely afternoon
    Definitely head to the far end of the beach, there are pretty people everywhere, but it's also a terrific view and a great way to enjoy the sun and sand.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport Over a year ago
    Loves it

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed The Grove Park Inn Resort & Spa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Stunning views, service, setting
    Staying here is a truly special experience. The historic inn is made out of old stones from the area, the large fireplace in the lobby is just begging you to grab some wine and sit in a rocking chair. The views are to die for and the service is top notch (Omni runs the place). The rooms in the newer wing where I stayed could use a remodel, the bathrooms remind me a bit of a motel. As another reviewer said, it's lacking in the gays (not even the staff except for one or two), but I still highly recommend it.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Mon Ami Gabi - Las Vegas Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food especially brunch, great view
    This place is always a bit crowded because it's right across from the Bellagio fountains and it has an amazing outdoor patio. Do ask for the patio, but we've sat indoors and it's quite nice also. The food here is good but I prefer it for lunch/brunch on the weekends.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Starbucks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Neighborhood Bearbucks
    For years this Starbucks earned the nickname "Bear Bucks" for the crowd it attracted. After a recent remodel, there's less place to sit around and hang out (a shame really). But the staff here is super friendly (and mostly gay) and there's still a really nice feeling of community.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Catch Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Reliably good, if not inventive
    There's nothing that'll surprise you here. The food is good and priced right and it's a great place to meet friends for dinner or a drink. The location can't be beat and the outside patio for a warm day's lunch or brunch can't be beat.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Dolores Park Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Must see, must visited
    I've lived here for 16 years and the view from the top of Dolores Park always gets me. Come on the weekend or any good weather day and sit on the first ledge towards the top of the park above the playground. You'll be surrounded by cute gays and their friends. It's our "gay beach"

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Blackbird Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Cocktails, cool vibe
    A great place that's not your typical gay bar. A little more grown up without being stuffy, the kind of lounge where you sit and talk to your friends. They make their own flavored vodkas and specialty cocktails. Yum. Can get a little loud.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed California Academy of Sciences Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My fave museum in the city
    The Academy of Sciences brings together a natural history museum, an amazing aquarium, a planetarium and general earth sciences exhibits. The cafe is stellar and the special exhibits (like the earthquake simulator) make it extraordinary. This is the perfect way to spend a day or come here on Thursday nights for wine/beer and a fun night out.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed AMC Dine-In Kabuki 8 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Best place to see a movie
    I'm a huge fan of Sundance Cinemas. You can go online and pick out your seats ahead of time, so no worries about getting there super early. The seats are large and comfortable and in some theatres have tables next to your chair for your popcorn and drinks. Best of all, the upstairs theatres sell wine to make it a perfect evening. And don't let the name fool you, it's not all indy films here, it's the mainstream stuff too.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Saint Felix Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Bar Hopping Food Stop
    A great place to people watch and the food's pretty good too. It's often packed with bar-goers after happy hour or before going out for the night. It can get noisy, so it's better for a group of friends.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Tres Agaves Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great spot for lunch
    Amazing margaritas, terrific chips & guac, nice menu options. I've only been for lunch, but it's a great SOMA meeting spot. (and yes, you gotta have a Margarita for lunch).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Arriba Arriba Midtown Over a year ago
    Loves it

    All about the margaritas
    This place is bustling and loud and is good for comfort mexican food. They aren't breaking any new ground, the food is good and reliable, but you really come here for good margaritas and fun food with friends.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Yotel New York Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quite Nice, great public space, small rooms
    This hotel is modeled after their cabin hotels in airports worldwide, and so the rooms are teeny. But somehow they make the most of the space with a bed that collapses into the wall and clean and attractive finishes. I splurged on a room with a patio (and a hottub!) and my room was large, it was worth it. Best aspect: 4th floor lobby area is spacious and has lots of comfortable places to hang out, use wifi, eat and a great outdoor space if you come in good weather. I'll stay here again.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Barracuda Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfortable Neighborhood Feel
    I still like coming to this place, especially when I'm in Chelsea. It's a good place to meet up with friends and it's kind of an "ole reliable". There's really a dwindling amount of options in Chelsea these days and this is certainly a contrast to G. G is polished and a bit standoffish, Barracuda just feels inviting albeit a bit rough around the edges.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Schmackary's Cookies Over a year ago
    Loves it

    wow. worth the calories
    The cookies here are truly unbelievable. Maple Bacon is popular and quite amazing but I think lots of the others are even better (yes, I bought a mixed batch). A bit pricey for a cookie, but worth it. Owned by gay former broadway performer and it's open late for an after dinner treat.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Lookout Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Good looking crowd, not pretentious
    I love this place for it's mixed age crowd (mostly younger, but not exclusively) and it's general laid back feel. My mainstay is the Sunday afternoon "jock sundays". It's hosted by and donates to a local gay sports team each week, so it brings in new folks along with the regulars each week. It gets packed, but with a goodlooking, non-pretentious crowd.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Inn at Laguna Beach Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Location and wine hour
    You can't beat the location overlooking the main Laguna Beach. Just go down the stairs, make a left and you are in the bustle of the beach, go right and you have a quiet stretch of beach. The pool here is good for families, but has no drink service. Best thing is the 5pm happy hour on the roof deck with free wine. Can't be beat. Rooms are spacious and clean too.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Super Duper Burger Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quality fast food
    This Castro location was the first and now Super Duper is a chain with outlets all over. The burgers are consistently amazing with good fries. Get the Super burger (a double with their secret sauce) you won't be disappointed. Gets pretty busy a bit on the later lunch side (1pm), so come early or a bit later to get one of the seats in the window or outside.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Byron's Hot Dog Haus Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Go now, even if out of your way
    Hands down this is the best Chicago style hot dog on the planet. Get it loaded up with everything: tomatoes, cucumber, relish, all of it. Celery salt makes it amazing. It's the kind of place I force my traveling companions to go and they love it. I'll even sneak here on my own.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Wood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Quality, great drinks, great location
    Usually restaurants in Gayborhoods are just awful, but this one bucks that trend. Not quite "fine dining", but the menu and items are interesting and not your run of the mill. The location can't be beat and it was the perfect start to an evening in Boystown. The server was attentive and friendly. Good bet all around.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Fasano Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth every penny
    Located right on Ipanema Beach, just a few blocks from the gay section, this hotel is simply stunning. Get an ocean-front room and enjoy your own view of the most beautiful beach. The beds face a wall of glass so you can wake up to that view. And the pool is simply the most remarkable place in the world - it's an infinity pool on the roof overlooking the Dois Irmãos. Get a (really expensive) caipirinha and take it all in. We could only afford one night and then moved to a cheaper hotel, but it was worth it.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Frances Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fine dining in the Castro
    The Castro is not known for good food, but Frances changed all that. Amazing food, can't-miss desserts and smart wine choices. All in a small neighborhood feel. Still hard to get reservations but come right when they open or on the late side for one of the 3-4 counter seats.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Steuben's Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Down home food in a great setting
    I had breakfast here on a beautiful summer morning and it was great to sit outside and enjoy the people watching and the great food. The service is good and the food is better. I'd definitely go back.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Slow Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Place for Brunch
    Always a reliable brunch spot. The french toast is great, the burger is even better. Small place but always fast service and on nice days they have outdoor seating.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Four Seasons Maui at Wailea Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Service at it's finest
    This is simply one of my favorite hotels in the world. THe service is top notch and not be left wanting. Yes, it's pricey, but you can truly escape and pamper yourself. Evian spritz by the pool? Why thank you. I love the massage out in the little grass hut by the water. Most of all I like the poolside service. Just relax and they will take care of you.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Hardware Bar NYC Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great
    Great comfortable new place

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Gowings Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing food in a hard to find spot
    My husband and I had a terrific meal here. I highly recommend the Crab Cakes which were out of this world. We ordered steak (but the smaller ones) and it was very good.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Westfield San Francisco Centre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing Food Court, good shops
    This is a mall of course, but the shops are fairly large and all your favorites are there. But we come here consistently for the food court on the Bloomingdales side. While the Nordstrom side food court is all the normal junky food court fare, this food court is a wide variety of slightly higher end fare. My faves include Pasta Moto, Beard Papa and Catch.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Zuka Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The best meal in Rio
    I had one of the best meals I've had in quite a long time right here in Leblon. We were lucky to grab two available seats at the counter so we could watch them cook in the open air kitchen throughout the night. Both our appetizers and both entrees were spectacular, simply perfect. The menu has lots of fish and beef but each were prepared with interesting and fresh ingredients. We were told this is a "famous" restaurant in Ipanema, so you should get a reservation or come for lunch. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Tetou Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Ridiculous Price, Amazing Place
    Ok, so first off, this place is stupidly expensive. If you judge it by any sort of value for money, you\'ll be disappointed. We let that go and had one of our most memorable dinners ever. Bouillabase and an amazing view is why you come here. It\'s right on the shore. Our waiter came over with 5 whole fish and a whole lobster, then prepared the fish to put it in the stock for the soup. that\'s a lot of food for two, but it was amazing. For dessert, it was beignets and jam. They tried to sell us two orders, but we figured we\'d share one - it was still like a dozen beignets. The jam is in these giant jars that they bring to the table. They claim their grandmother is the only one that knows the recipes and makes it in these jars at home. The jam had odd flavors like tomato jam and a few standards too. I can still picture the place, the waiter, the food -- I highly recommend it for an experience. When we went, they only took cash, so bring boatloads.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Le Méridien Nice Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Terrific choice
    I stayed here using my Starwood Points and I couldn't be happier. The location is great, right across the street from the beach and an easy walk to the flower market and great restaurants. It's a bit far from some of the gay places, but it is still walkable (a very long walk though), or an easy cab ride.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Center on Halsted Over a year ago
    Loves it

    An amazing spot
    I think this might be the most impressive gay community center in the US. It's an amazing space, with some really impressive programs. It's connected to the whole foods next door, so grab your lunch there and sit in the large lobby / public gathering area to enjoy the passersby and your fellow patrons. Their day care program for kids seems impressive (I'm a dad) and their computer center, gym and meeting spaces are top notch. I especially love the art exhibits in their main public areas. A *must* stop for any gay traveler and for locals, an amazing resource in boystown.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Elmo restaurant and lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun, loud and ok food
    This isn't a foodies fave spot, but it's a consistent spot to meet friends and people watch. It's incredibly loud, so hard to hear your friends talking if you are in a big group. All that said, I keep coming back and the food is good, so there.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Four Barrel Coffee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great wide open space - get the donuts
    It seems like most coffee shops are cramped into small spaces, Four Barrel bucks that trend with 30(?) foot ceilings and a somewhat cavernous space. THey roast their own coffee in the back (making it look like a warehouse and brewery at the same time), but yet it somehow feels approachable and warm. The donuts are great, and the coffee is too. No wifi, but who cares. Play a board game or just talk - it's what the cool kids do.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Vatican Museums Over a year ago
    Loves it

    more than the sistine Chapel
    The Sistine Chapel is what creates the lines around the block, but I fell in love with the amazing sculpture collection. I've never before and never since seen such an amazing collection. And it doesn't hurt that the ancient romans had a fascination with the amazing male form. Don't rush to the Sistine chapel, take the day to soak in all the great works here.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed St. Peter's Basilica Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Like nothing you have ever seen
    The sheer size of it all is beyond belief and the amount of marble and gold made me take a moment (as someone raised Catholic) to think about how the church actually got all the money to build this palace - a palace more grand than any king's palace I've seen. A *must* stop. And do hit up the Vatican Museum next door while you are here.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Spanish Steps Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great people watching
    I think these steps are all about the people. Packed on a nice day (even on colder days) you'll find young and old just enjoying the day. The view is nice at the top, but it's not what I remember most, it was the people. Certainly a stop on your tour of Rome.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Basix Cafe Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Terrific for brunch
    Had an amazing brunch here. The place was packed, but well worth the 45 minute wait. Cute and friendly waiters, even cuter crowd throughout. The food was good and the bloody marys were amazing (order a small or a large, guess which I picked). We sat on the patio and even though it was raining it was covered and heated, so it was quite nice. Plan to stop here.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed French Quarter Restaurant Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Enjoyable spot, ok service & food
    I had a nice brunch here with friends. The patio is really the only option, the indoor space is made to look like a fake New Orleans courtyard, not so nice. The food was good, but not great and the service was slow. The highlights were gay clientele all around on the patio and good weather.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed W San Francisco Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to meet friends
    I often recommend the W to my friends from out of town. The location can't be beat, the rooms are comfy and the lobby is a great place to grab a drink and a light snack. I love that the lobby bar has a great tea selection as well as good drinks. There seems to be always a crowd, but never too crowded.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Kit Kat Lounge & Supper Club Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun drag shows
    I can't talk about the food, but I had an amazing martini there while watching a show girl get the crowd going. She was entertaining and a hell of a lot of fun. I hear that Sundays are more gay (I was there on a Friday and it was full of girls and their gay boy friends), so I'd love to try brunch there.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Crew Bar + Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Sports on TV, Nice environs, and the gays
    Crew is a pleasant surprise. Super nicely appointed, nice bar staff and sports on the TV. Didn't eat, but this is a definite must hang out place (albeit not in the middle of either boystown or andersonville).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Scarlet Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Enjoyable casual spot
    I went for happy hour on a Friday and while the crowd was small, it was a nice spot to have good conversation and drinks. A perfect place to meet before dinner or catch a drink with a friend after work.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Commander's Palace Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Truly a delight
    This is the old fashioned south at it's best. At first I was concerned about this place being too stuffy (the dress code requires a jacket) but even on my first visit I felt comfortable. the food is amazing (and rich) and the service delightful. On our second visit we were a group of about 10 gay men and the waitstaff had a ball with us, even down the to flirty (but obviously straight) busboy. The food was again amazing. And extra plus is that it is located in the beautiful garden district. Take the trolley early and plan to walk around before or after dinner.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed SPQR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great, but overhyped
    This was the it restaurant for a while. It is damn good, but too hard to get into and not quite living up to the hype. Go with real expectations and you'll love it. Lunch is also a great choice.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Spike's Coffee Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice neighborhood coffee shop
    Ok coffee, freindly staff, cozy surroundings and an amazing set of regulars and their dogs make this a nice stop.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Farina Focaccia & Cucina Italiana Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Wonderful offshoot of Farina
    Farina is one of my favorite spots in the neighborhood and I was delighted to see them spin off a Pizzeria. The pizza here is great, but not quite as good as Delfina Pizzeria down the street. But it's the other items on the menu that make this worth a stop. Try the amazing (albeit carb-full) arancini. The pastas are fresh and tasty and even the entrees are great. It's usually not too hard to get a table or a seat at the bar. A must stop on an increasingly popular foodie street.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Albona Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unique and homey "Istrian" food
    Istrian cuisine is basically a more homey Italian food (mixed with Croatian) food. The service here is amazing, it's family owned and really feels it. You'll feel welcomed and the food is amazing. It's a real experience and I'd do it again (but as a once in a while sort of thing).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Serendipity 3 Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Lunch Spot
    Had a great sandwich here and my friends tried the burger and one of the salads that looked great. We resisted the ice cream and the "frozen hot chocolate" which looked very tempting. The atmosphere is vibrant and quite pink, but it's a good location and a fun environment.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Woodhouse Fish Company Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New England Fish Shop in SF, Lobster Rolls anyone?
    First, it's a bit of a stretch to say this is the Castro. It's in the "crossroads" between the Castro and other hoods. I'm not sure if I'd recommend this to a traveler, but certainly to locals. (Travelers should check out Anchor Oyster Bar on Castro). That having been said, I had a terrific meal here. THe food isn't too expensive, the atmosphere is busy without feeling crowded and the waitstaff is smart and fun. I had a great Halibut and my friend had crab, both were successes. I can't wait to get back and try the Lobster Rolls (maybe go for lunch). Well worth a visit.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed The Castro Theatre Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A real SF institution
    The Castro theatre is one of those amazing old movie houses that still hints at it's old beauty. It's of another time where people would pack into single theatres to watch one movie. These days they have live shows, the frameline gay film festival (among other festivals) and art pics and mainstream pics too. I love the organ player who plays while you are waiting to see a film, it's worth going early to hear.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Harvey's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Okay food, fun atmosphere
    You don't really come to Harvey's because the food is great, but it's actually not bad. The hamburgers are really great and the salads good too (but I'm not much of a salad person). But the wait staff is always flirty, the other patrons are way gay and if you can get a window seat you can be entertained by the passersby in this, the heart of the Castro.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Pizzeria Mozza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Amazing food, easier to get into than Osteria
    I stumbled into Pizzeria Mozza on accident (it looked nice from the outside), before I knew about all the buzz about this place (I'm not a fan of celeb chef places and Mario Batali doesn't do anything for me). The pizzas were amazing with different ingredients than your standard pizza fare. This reminded me a lot of my hometown's Pizzeria Delfina - high end pizza and italian fare. And the desserts: amazing! We sat at the bar and ate (which meant we got right in), so that might be a good way to beat the crowds.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed United States Holocaust Museum Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Compelling, thought provoking and moving...
    I had wanted to go to the Holocaust Museum ever since I heard about it, but I was concerned that it wouldn't live up to the initial hype. But, it is an amazing place. The exhibits are actual things from Germany & Europe leading up to the Holocaust and then through the aftermath. There's a lot of info that they manage to get across (a combination of reading placards and videos), but it never felt laborious. It was easy to work your way through and learn a lot about it. Most striking to me was the use of propaganda in the leadup to it. Ostracize a set of people slowly and surely and eventually add in laws limiting their rights. It is a scary parallel of the gay rights setbacks we've had. I shuddered when I noted some tactics of the Bush administration in the early days. My only disappointment was that the area with the pink triangle seemed easy to miss. I would have liked them to call that out a bit more, especially with the current climate around gay rights. I highly recommend this to anyone visiting DC, it is educational, moving and very well done.

  • Beautiful design, a bit cold
    I stayed at the Nines when last in Portland and was very impressed with the room, quality of the amenities and the decor. Clearly they wanted the place to look "designed" and *everything* is either aqua or brown. I'm a Starwood fan, and The Nines is one of their "luxury collection", but other than the design, I found little distinction from their other properties - it was large and tended to be impersonal. For a "luxury" hotel, I'd like to be able to feel the extra service and I simply didn't here. Regardless, I'd stay again thanks to the great rooms and the location (right in the heart of downtown near to all transportation).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Delfina Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite place to bring friends
    When friends come into town, I always try to get a table at Delfina. This is an Italian place, but it's not the tomato-sauce kind of place. You'll find creative takes on pasta and amazing pizzas, but I almost always order one of their entrees which read more continental than Italian. Their wine list is amazing and the service is always knowledgeable about the menu and their large wine list (with lots of Italian wines). If you are coming to town to meet me, I'll likely take you here.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed The Red Inn Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Higher end P-town experience
    I've been to the Red Inn twice and each time I've had a great meal. I've heard some people say that the menu isn't all that inventive - and that's true, it's a bit more on the seafood/chicken/meat and veggies/potatoes side, but cooked perfectly with great preparation and the service a delight. Come around sunset to enjoy their views or sit on the deck ad have a drink. It's a hike to get here (maybe a 15 minute walk from town), so either plan on the walk or get a cab.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Bubala's By The Bay Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Really about the patio and the people watching
    Bubala's is perfectly located, convenient to everything and the service is generally fast (once you get past the long line). I love the lobster salad roll here (probably the best one I had in Ptown), and the breakfast items are usually good. Yes, the food isn't stellar, but I really enjoy Bubala's and never miss it when I'm there.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Shipwreck Lounge (at The Brass Key) Over a year ago
    Loves it

    New and different for ptown
    I was surprised to hear about a new bar opening in Provincetown, it is so rare that it happens. This one, however, I think is a win. The bar is basically the lobby area of the Brass Key inn and the courtyard out back. The bartenders were cute and the drinks strong. It's a nice spot to grab a drink with friends, sit around the fire or to meet up with your group that might be staying different places. This is the place to go after dinner but before the A-House, so I'm not sure this would be a place to meet new people (most everyone was with groups of friends). The crowd was slightly older than some other places, but that suited me just fine.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Books, Inc. Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great store, amazing selection
    I'm not much of a book person, but from time to time i'll go looking for an interesting travel book or some non-fiction. This store is huge and has a great and very browseable selection. The staff is great and you can go to them with silly questions like "I want to read something light and fun and gay" and they'll point you to them. The shelves also point out staff picks. The store has a few places to sit, but I wish they had more. Also, the magazine collection is large as well and is fun to flip through.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Lola Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Brunch Spot
    I went here on the recommendation of a friend and had a great experience. The restaurant is in the Hotel Andra and is decorated with an updated take on an old school diner, but the food is anything but diner-ish. You *must* get the "donuts made to order" with fresh jam and mascarpone - amazing! The eggs benedict was just so-so, but my partner's Lamb Burger was great and the garlc fried "smashed" potatoes were really tasty. Overall, I highly recommend this place (but skip the benedict).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Sheraton Seattle Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Perfectly fine, but not top of my list
    Stayed here for the 4th of July Weekend and it was quite nice, but nothing made me want to stay here again. THe location is great, right in the middle of downtown shopping and just a few blocks walk from the Capitol Hill bars. The Seattle Sheraton is a giant hotel -- too many people IMHO and is lacking any distinct personality. The cardio workout room on the top floor is quite amazing, but the pool is overrun with kids. You'll wait forever for the elevator and we were met with a long line at the checkin desk. I'm a big Starwood person, but next time I'll try the Westin a few blocks away.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Hotel Arts Barcelona Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Simply over the top
    This hotel is one of the most upscale properties i've seen. It's a tall highrise hotel right on the water with views to die for. It's at the very end of the Ramblas, so easily located for a walk about town. My friends rented a suite here at the top of the hotel and I've honestly not even seen an apartment that was this nice. Highly recommended.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Devon's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great food, a litlle pricey
    We make devon's a regular stop every time we go to ptown. The food is terrific and they offer interesting takes on their entrees. This time Devon was our waiter, he's attentive, friendly and knowlegeable (of course). My only negative: the portions are a bit small for the price. Well worth it all around, though.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Vynl Hells Kitchen Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Pretty crowd, Ok food, inattentive service
    This is probably the gayest spot in Hell's Kitchen. Was there on a Friday night and it was packed with boys on their way out to the local bars. The food was just ok, but I think you come here more for the energy than the food. Our waiter was more interested in hanging with friends that night, so we had to chase other waiters for whatever we needed. A highlight: The fun bathrooms are all themed (Dolly, Cher, Nelly) and decorated to match with the artist's music playing.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed La Palapa Over a year ago
    Loves it

    My favorite in PV
    During our trip, we managed to eat here for all three meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner. We weren't disappointed. The menu is probably best said to be "continental cuisine", but there were a number of Mexican dishes on the menu too. The preparations were unique and enjoyable (for example, my eggs benedict on a corn meal based english muffin). The location is right on the beach and you can choose to sit out on tables out on the beach/patio which makes for good people watching. It's proximity to the gay beach makes it quite gay popular and a little eye candy during a meal never hurts.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Trattoria Michel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great italian.
    Another unexpected find, a legitimately good Italian restaurant. Michel the owner is ever present (and quite attractive too) and a delight. The food was a bit pricey, but it fit the quality. We had a great meal here - this isn't tomato sauce italian--creative dishes with terrific ingredients (Michel says imported from Italy). The only negative: the night we were there an employee had just gotten a new puppy who was yelping behind the bar. Just made our otherwise great night imperfect.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Memo's Casa De Los Hotcakes Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Unexpected. Pancakes in Mexico
    I didn't expect to find a place for pancakes and french toast on my trip to Mexico, but this was a pleasant surprise. It's super casual, you sit on a covered patio and the pancakes are good (though not the best you've ever had). It was nice to try something different and the prices were good.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Chez Panisse Restaurant and Café Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It started it all
    Chez panisse started the whole idea of "california cuisine" with an emphasis on local produce and meats and fresh, inventive meals. I've only ever been here for lunch (twice), but each time I had an amazing meal. One negative: I found the menu to be intimidating, nothing sounded "normal" and was afraid to be adventurous - but if you get past that and just pick something, you will enjoy it immensely. But for the record, I just couldn't bring myself to order the bone marrow.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed The Royal Vauxhall Tavern Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Feels like the real London
    At first I was put off, the music was loud and I wasn't sure if this was my crowd: a mix of hipsters, bearish types and regular guys. But as the evening wore on it was clear that everyone was there to have a great time. A fun mix of electropop, 80s music (they even played El Debarge's Rythym of the Night) kept the crowd bopping. An inspired performance by local gender bender Johnny Woo made the night even more fun (if a bit surreal). This is a must do when in Vauxhall (and worth a trip here regardless).

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Barcode Vauxhall Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Fun crowd, Dance Remixes
    I enjoyed my stop here, it's a great place to stop before heading out to the other bars or dance spots in Vauxhall. I managed to see the same people here as the RVT and Fire later in the evening, so it's clearly the first stop on night's festivities. There's a dance floor in the back, but it never seemed to get too crowded (on a Friday when I was there). The crowd was good looking and I had fun.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Cafe Flore Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A popular hangout, food just ok
    You don't really come here for the food, but to hang out and meet up with friends or make new ones. The salads are good as is the coffee but the service isn't always the best. But come here anyway. This is the perennial meeting spot and they have events many evenings.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed W Los Angeles - Westwood Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Peaceful location, great rooms, great pool
    I've stayed here a few times (because I've had business in the area) and I highly recommend it. Too often W's can be cold and small - the rooms here are comfortable and reasonably sized - I got rooms with living rooms and desk areas the last three times and they were great. Walk two blocks and you have the funky college town feel of Westwood (UCLA) with some fun little diners and college kids everywhere. You'll need a car if you want to go anywhere else (WeHo, etc), its also quick drive to the Getty from here. The pool area was known (years ago) as the party spot for hollywood, but that seems to have died down thankfully, so you can enjoy the space. Service at the pool isn't great, but it is comfortable. I'd stay here again if I didn't want to be right in WeHo.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed INNdulge Palm Springs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Friendly and comfortable home base in PS
    My partner and I stayed here over President's Day weekend and had a great time. The owners (John and Jean-Guy) are very present and a part of making your stay enjoyable, which I liked. The crowd naturally gathers for conversations over the morning breakfast, during the afternoon snack/cocktail hour and on Sunday for Margaritas. Pick this place if you want a casual and nice time by the pool and to meet new folks for good conversation. This isn't one of the friskiest resorts - there are better places to stay if you are looking for that - but for an overall relaxing trip, I'd stay here again.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Woody's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice, but not out of this world
    Like T.O.C., Woody's is like two places in one. the main bar upstairs and down is a busy, but casual bar and hangout. Pull up a stool and have a beer, talk with friends. Then, if you are so inclined, pay a cover to go into their large dance floor area. The crowd and the place is much more vibrant and fun. The music on the Friday I went was so, so and the crowd breaking out into line dancing was a little bit of a throwback though. I'd stop in again to give it a try on my next trip, but I wouldn't go out of my way unless there's a special event going on.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Tavern on Camac Over a year ago
    Loves it

    It's like two different places
    Downstairs is a really fun piano bar with the expected show tunes queens (and college drama boys) singing along. It's rustic and not all that much to look at, but packed. Go upstairs and its like a totally different world. Modern lounge feel, young and attractive crowd great pop/dance music. It was my favorite stop on my trip to Philly.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Cobalt / 30 Degrees Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Full of attractive younger guys
    This is clearly the "hot spot" in Dupont. I went on a Thursday and the crowd started rolling in around 11 for the "Batlle of the Briefs" at 12. The downstairs lounge area feels like a high end living room, upstairs is a mid-size dance floor with shirtless (and hot) bartenders. I'd agree with the other reviewers that the crowd here is young, cute and keenly aware of fashion - yep, diesel t-shirts and trendy haircuts everywhere.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed JR's Bar & Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to meet new friends
    So I wouldn't call this a stand & model bar, although a few people seem to act like it is. I went there on a night where they were playing rock videos from the 80s - fun! It was easy to strike up conversation here and I enjoyed having a drink in this crowd. The upstairs area is odd, only room enough for a pool table. Seems like many people stop here for happy hour, or before heading to Cobalt down the street.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed D.I.K. Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Nice friendly bar for a drink with friends
    I stopped in briefly around 11pm and it was a bit quiet with a few groups of people watching show tunes on the TV screens. I like this place, instantly felt comfortable and the crowd was attractive and of mixed ages.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Spiritus Pizza Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The place to be after the clubs close
    The pizza here is actually quite good, but that's not the reason people come here. This is the spot to cruise, meet people and people watch after the bars/clubs close. It's simply part of the routine: dinner, then club, then spiritus. I have had the pizza while sober, and it is worth the trip during the day too.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Thai House Express Castro Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great Thai food, cute crowd
    Thai House Express is my corner Thai place (I'm lucky enough to live right here in the Castro) and I eat there way too many times to mention. The food is terrific: maybe not the best thai I've ever had, but close to it. I recommend the yellow curry chicken (I forget the name) There's always a crowd of good looking people and the waiters aren't bad to look at either.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed GYM SPORTSBAR Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great place to meet friends
    I stop at this place when I need to meet up with friends before bar hopping. There's a nice crowd (mostly thirty-something) that's a little more manly then other chelsea hangouts. I'm not much into sports, but the sports bar feel makes it different than the rest.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Revere Guest House Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Beautifully restored Inn
    We stayed at this guest house 1 night in July 2006. They did an amazing job of restoring this inn, the finishes are impecable, everything is clean, and there are a ton of nice touches like recessed lights, wall sconces, etc. We stayed in one of their smallest rooms (#3 I think) and while we loved it, we felt the mattress was a bit uncomfortable (too firm). I would definately try this place again and would love to stay for at least a few nights.

  • Scott
    Scott reviewed Le Montrose Suites Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Comfortable and trendy at the same time
    My partner and I stayed here over New Year's 2005/2006 and it was the perfect place for us. The rooms are all suites and we got a junior suite which is just a big room with a living area on one side and bed on the other. The decor of the room was contemporary but very comfortable and since it rained most of our trip we particularly enjoyed the fireplace and the DVD player - unlike most hotel rooms, we felt at home here. My favorite thing about this hotel though is that it is just a block or two off of the main WeHo strip, but in a residential neighborhood. So you really do feel like you are living there. I recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who wants to stay in WeHo and wants a nice attitude free place.