44M.

Joined Sep 2011
3 Followers 8 Following

Following 8 people

35 Loved Places

Listings

  • Cellblock Boystown, Chicago
  • Roscoe's Boystown, Chicago
  • Sidetrack Boystown, Chicago
  • Big Chicks Uptown, Chicago
  • Jackhammer Rogers Park, Chicago
  • Manhandler Saloon Lakeview, Chicago
  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Tweet Over a year ago
    Loves it

    No reviews? Just check ins? Sad, todays kids.
    just don't know how this could have been better. We got out of the cab as our friends drive up. The hostess, maybe owner yelled accross the street, "Come on we have been waiting for you!" Too funny. We arrived at 9 am Sunday, reservations are not taken and there was indeed a line when we left. Despite the slim seating, there was no rushing and we enjoyed coffee and conversation with our Chicago friends. The service was attentive, the options were limitless and so was my Lox Platter. So much food, I ate it for 3 days and carried the left over home to Indiana. **** had the French toast, and it looked amazing. Should have had a bloody so I could report back. I'll save that for next time! PS our semi-vegan veggie friend also was totally happy, I am not sure what it was he had, but he too was pleased.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Steamworks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Even a "hetro" can ( respectively) walk through!
    To be completely honest, I was truly impressed by Steamworks. It definitely turned the preconceived thoughts attached to what a bathhouse is and the conservative Merriam-Webster definition upside-down, excluding the fact that there really are only nude men and the existence of baths. Now with that said, if you're similar to my mother pondering, "What is a bathhouse? I didn't know there is still such a place. I thought that was what cities had in the old days. You can go to one to take a bath and freshen up, or am I wrong?," then just pass up this review and place all together. This isn't ancient Rome! (Although I bet all the same activities went on back then too...) ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Now for the *DISCLAIMER* This review contains mature content that might not be suitable for all audiences and is of an adult nature. This review may also contain adult language and themes that are not intended for children. (In addition it is in this Gaycities reviewers own words and does not reflect any other opinions.) ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- If you're over 18, liberal-minded and understand that which is stated above, scroll down at your own free will... V V V ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- All my friends know this isn't my "type" of venue so why was I here you ask?? Well tonight I helped myself out by reciving a free, with out going to my medical doctor (or having any medical records stored on me). Read on! And I must admit that I greatly respect Steamworks and give them A TON of credit for allowing testing on their premises. They house a different STD organization one day a week to do testing. After all, we're aware that many bathhouses took the blame for the AIDS crisis/paranoia back in the late '80s, but let me say that times have changed tons since. Ok I'm stepping off my soap box...and on to the interior description. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- You would not believe what's behind that bare (no pun intended) loft-looking facade. Seriously, someone could hideout and live there secretly (heck, it would be the perfect hideout for Bin Laden if he were wise). Three Stories of Steamworks = Over 300 hook-up rooms, plenty of showers, saunas & jacuzzis, literally mazes of glory holes, one work-out gym, countless TVs projecting porn, endless mirrors, social lounges with fireplaces...all of this under techno/dance music and nauseating specialty lights. I kid you not that every corner has available condoms and lube. They take prevention and cleanliness seriously. Also all sub-groups of the gay community are welcome (daddies, leathers, bears, cubs [I'm not referring to the ones from neighboring Wrigley], twinks, jocks, and any others I failed to mention). Everyone is very friendly and accepting (whether they want to get in your pants or not). ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- As long as you can withstand the smell of bleach and rubber, and you can promise me to practice safely, explore your kinky horizons to the extreme by checking out Steamworks. Refer to their website for prices, hours (24/7, 256 days of the year) and further information. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- *Please check webisite for dates also* *STD testing for Chlamydia, Gonorrhea and Syphilis is only offered on Tuesdays between 4 pm and 7 pm. All the other weekdays offer solely HIV rapid, oral swab testing. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Thompson Hotel - Thompson Chicago Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth it.
    Sutton Place in the Right Place: Being Indiana suburbanites, we had decided to "vacation" in Chicago for an evening. We looked for a hotel that would allow us to be close to the things we wanted to enjoy and The Sutton Place Hotel had the right location. (Be sure to check for specials and consider the different types of rooms. The prices vary widely.) ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Our first impression as we checked in was that the lobby was dark and the staff was unfriendly. Once we got to the room, things were much better. (The elevator was one of the fastest I have ever ridden.) ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The Deluxe King Room was spacious and had a nice view of Rush St. The bathroom was huge for a hotel. The tub was big enough for two! The room included a nice sound system with a CD player and a few CDs. Unfortunately the CDs had seen better days and there was a lot of skipping. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The location of this hotel is great if you want to experience Rush St. with a minimum of travel. We went to dinner at Gibsons, had drinks at Dublin's Pub, and listened to jazz at The Back Room without walking more than a half block. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Many drinks later we retired for the evening. A soak in the tub was a perfect way to wind down. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. The A/C was very quiet, but effective at keeping the room cool. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ In the morning we went to The Original Pancake House which is right across the street. The apple pancakes were delicious! Once again, the location of this hotel was our primary reason for choosing it. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ As we checked out after a wonderful stay, we were surprised by the steep cost of valet parking. I thought that $40/day for a guest of the hotel was a little steep. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ Overall we enjoyed our stay and will definitely keep Sutton Place in mind for our next trip to Rush St. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Bernard's Tavern Over a year ago
    Hates it

    So this is ?
    So this is where you go when you "graduate" from Gaswerks or Brother's ??? --------------------------------------------------------------------- I really liked Bernard's at first. The food was definitely decent and the beer selection was nice. Then as months went by since it first opened it declined in quality as it became more popular. I hate when that happens. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ On Fridays and Saturdays this place gets too crowded to really enjoy yourself and the prices are a bit higher than I'd like for their draught beer. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ This place is not okay. Not bad, not great. I'd go if my friends were, but it's not a go-to for me. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Halsted's Bar and Grill Over a year ago
    Loves it

    The memories of this place.
    I've said it before and I'll say it again...the gays get all the good stuff!! ------------------------------------------------------------------------ Halsted's Bar and Grill is a wonderful little bar with the most perfect beer garden ever! The food was delicious! I had an egg panini with chihuahua cheese, avocado, and chipotle creme. Mmmm! I woke up this morning craving another. ----------------------------------------------------------------------- During Cubs games you can get a giant glass of Bud or Bud Light for $4. Such a deal! They also make a delightful mojito that was perfect for a warm summer day in the beer garden. ----------------------------------------------------------------------- The overall vibe of this place is laid back and that's what I loved about it. The staff was wonderfully nice and the manager was extremely helpful in setting aside tables for the Yelp crew. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ This is definitely a place that I would go back to. ------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Omni Severin Hotel Over a year ago
    Loves it

    .
    I have stayed in many hotels in my business travels and this is definitely one of the best! ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The hotel itself is immaculate. Classy decor. Impeccable service and a staff that bends over backwards for you. Very professional. Front desk personnel were friendly and quick to help me out with directions and suggestions of the area. Found me a room even though I had arrived a bit earlier than check in time. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ My room is wonderful. Clean and well maintained. Super comfy bed, large flat screen TV, safe, mini bar, great AC, terrific bathroom and toiletries, and even a basket of snacks to purchase. The tempation to rip open that $3 can of Pringles and $3 bag of M&M's is killing me! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Nice clean pool and fitness room with a mix of cardio machines, weights, and resistance equipment. Not a lot but enough to get in a decent workout. Beautiful ballrooms on site for meetings and events. Coffee shop, lobby bar, restaurant, and even a martini cigar bar on the premises. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The hotel is located perfectly and is convenient to everything - the Circle Centre Mall, restaurants and bars, the convention center, Lucas Oil Field, and more. The hotels in the area including the Omni are also connected to the mall by enclosed walkways. You never really need to walk outside too much which is great since it has been rainy ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Even by the elevators in the main lobby they have two urns of water - one with cucumber slices and tthe other with lemons and limes in it - with cups for anyone who wants a drink. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I really think I could live in this place! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ -------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------- PS - be sure to join their Select Guest rewards club before you check in as it's free. You receive complimentary in-room wifi, pressing service, shoe shine, morning beverage delivery, and bottled water on day of arrival. -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Aja Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great undiscovered resturaunt!
    I ate at Aja a couple of weeks ago and it was a wonderful experience! I don't think Aja gets the props it deserves. I went on a Monday night and it was pretty dead inside which was shocking for a location right downtown. People need to go to Aja! It really is quite good! Plus the sous chef is super,,,well for a hetro, hot???! :) ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- We just did drinks, apps and desserts and everything we tried was fantastic. I started with the Blueberry drink which our super friendly server brought out to us. It was very strong and didn't hold anything back in the hard liquor department. For apps, we tried the rock shrimp, crab rangoon and dumplings. All three items were really good but the rock shrimp was a standout, Had a little kick to them and an interesting sauce I didn't quite recognize on them. Very tasty! ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The star of our meal show was definitely the Aja oreo dessert. I don't normally like white chocolate but the white chocolate mousse in this is fantastic and the cookies are to die for! It was sooo delicious and sooo hard to split them between four people so we each only got one! --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I'd go back to Aja in a second and might have plans to go back with some friends! ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Sushi Taiyo Over a year ago
    Loves it

    I have to give this five stars...but just barely,,,,,,,
    Sushi was very good. The fish was very fresh and the service was excellent. The sushi menu had some things that I had never seen before and they were delicious. They also had a blueberry cold sake which was fantastic. The unfortunate thing was that they had a ton of interesting cold sake's but only the regular hot sake. However, the blueberry sake was something else. And that sentence was meant in a very good way! Also tried a cucumber wasabi martini which was interesting. They had the small chunks of cucumber lining the rim of the martini glass along with the salt but the martini really only tasted like cucumber. I was hoping for a kick of wasabi to hit me but that never really happened. This drink had the potential to be very good but it was a fail in my eyes. The decor of the place is really nice. I definitely recommend coming here. The prices were are about regular for what you'll get at a good sushi place - somewhere between $10-15 a roll for their specialty rolls. The fish was extremely fresh and the size of the rolls were very very big. A good place to come for good sushi.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Jackhammer Over a year ago
    Loves it

    History lesson,,,,
    A few years ago, this bar went through a major remodeling, and transformed from a dive bar catering to bears and leathermen to a cute neighborhood bar catering to bears and leathermen. It's a lot brighter and cleaner now, with wall-length windows that look out onto Clark Street, an upstairs bar and dance floor, and a small back deck. In addition to the requisite male dancers and amateur strip nights, Jackhammer now hosts live music and other events. The clientele is still gay, but the bar now attracts a wider variety of gays and some straight folks. Be aware that the back bar on the main floor may not, not safe for casual viewing, and the men's room -- while all clean and shiny, with new fixtures -- lacks any dividers between urinals -- or what would normally be stalls. So if you don't want guys checking out your material while you pee -- or worse -- you'd better hold it.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Cellblock Over a year ago
    Hates it

    A world getting smaller and smaller.
    I get so confused when watching a wall of TVs playing both Grey's Anatomy and porn at the same time. But the cheap drinks make up for it. __________________________________________ I cannot tell a lie... I've only been here twice when required t But the bartenders are always friendly, pour generously and will often offer you a free drink or shot. __________________________________________ Yes, I'm cheap. Frugal. I'm frugal. Free booze is a way to win my heart. ________________________________________ I've only been there on Thursdays, maybe 1-,2, times. I've never seen evidence of leather or old dudes lurking in corners. It's not a fancy place to take a date or anything either. You get what you pay for... cheap drinks in a dingy place. But there's darts and pool to keep you entertained. _________________________________________ Oh... and you can watch Grey's Anatomy and porn simultaneously. __________________________________________ Nope, no pics this time. For some reason, people didn't wnat them taken?

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Manhandler Saloon Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Walked through, non particapant.
    Since 1980, Manhandler is a Chicago institution serving men of all persuasions. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ It get's better with age? ------------------------------------------------------------------------ This is the place to go if your girlfriend just refuses to return the favor.... if you know what I mean! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- Enter this late 70's saloon and you might not find anyone inside except the bartender, go way in back by the bathrooms and exit to the outside patio area, this area too may be void of peeps.... but dare go back beyond the wooden stockade fencing and here you may find it surprisingly packed with two legged Iguanas willingly scouring about looking for live underwater snakes to devour.......! These male yard lizards are looking for a feast! ....and many str8 men cum here just for this free service! ------------------------------------------------------------------------- ...But do buy a drink at the bar before you take that walk back, you just can't be rude! Best in Summer but, open all year 'round! SHHHHHH! Keep it under your hat you came by! ------------------------------------------------------------------------- I wrote this for a friend of mine, long gone,,,,,,,

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Sidetrack Over a year ago
    Loves it

    This place is so fun!
    I need to,,, to reiterate my love for this bar. ---------------------------------------------------------------------- Sidetracks is my perfect place. Seriously. ----------------------------------------------------------------------- There's friendly bartenders. Dance music playing and people be-bopping along. The rooftop is AMAZING. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ It's been a long hard year of ??????planning so after that final "we're finally done (I think...)" meeting, we treated ourselves to cocktails at a very much missed hang out. ------------------------------------------------------------------------ And it was like coming home again. ----------------------------------------------------------------------- The pours are heavy and the service is sweet. And on a warm day where you want both a drink and a slushy, come nab one with some vodka in it here! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- My favorite thing ever though is Sunday nights. There's nothing better than singing your favorite show tunes with people you don't know but already love! ----------------------------------------------------------------------- They've redone some stuff to keep it fresh and gorgeous. So come with me, pull up a bar stool and *sigh* Welcome to a good life. ------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Roscoe's Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Packed like sardines that all wanna dance.
    +1 that they recycle. They're probably the only bar in Boystown that recycles. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ I'm writing this review for the cafe part of Roscoe's. I came here Saturday night with my boyfriend, we felt like eating somewhere that had outdoor seating. This is a great sidewalk cafe in the middle of boystown. The service was excellent, wait staff very friendly and attentive. The food is good too, i would not say it is excellent, but it is well worth coming back for. I ordered a vegetarian black bean burger, came with delicious tater tots. I think next time I would like to try their vegan coleslaw, I hear that is really good. Great place to come to if you are looking to eat somewhere that has outdoor seating on a nice summer night.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Big Chicks Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not a " Shake and Bake " place.
    5 years later it's still going strong. How does a gay bar improve with age? Let me count the ways. 1) Great staff. Like Boy Scouts, they're helpful, kind, and courteous. If you want pretty, go to Minibar. If you want good service, come here. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 2) Diverse clientele. I'll admit, I'm more likely to be here on a weeknight than a weekend, 'cause I can't stand the crowds. But young and old, city and suburb, thin and fat, male and female, gay and straight, everyone is welcome at Chix. And it shows in ... ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3) A noticeable lack of attitude. Nuff said. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 4) Fab decor. Tons of original art and photography, and no it's not for sale. Vintage strippers, naked men with purses, and indeed, big chicks, they're all on the walls. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 5) Specials, specials, specials. Not just drink specials, but buck burgers on Monday nights, euchre on Weds, Homolatte (a music and spoken word series) on the first and third Tuesday of the month, free Sunday bbq, and on and on and on. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 6) Michelle Fire. Yes, I buried the lead. She's the owner and grand doyenne, the original Big Chick. She created a bar she would want to hang out at, and has kept it that way for longer than some of her customers have been alive. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I could easily continue this list to 10 -- or 50 (I haven't even mentioned the weekend dance parties or the backyard patio), but you get the idea. For many years, Big Chicks was my Cheers. I'm no longer its Norm, but it still feels like a place where everybody knows my name.---------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Level Dining Lounge Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Surprissed for a bar?
    This place was DELICIOUS!!! It's a very trendy little place in the Short North. I had the veggie melt sandwich with the sweet potato fries. Let me tell you this....the sweet potato fries were out-of-this-world GOOD!! They also bring you a side of dipping sauce, which may contain brown sugar or something. Couldn't really put my finger on it, but it's addicting! I kind've scanned over the place to see what others were eating...and everything looked very good!

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed English Ivy's Restaurant & Corner Bar Over a year ago
    Loves it

    A somwhat decent gay bar.
    Wanted a late-night bite and so many places close their kitchens early on Thursday nights if they're slow, so Ivys can always be depened on to be open, albeit with their Extended Latenight Menu (ELM), not the usual dinner menu. That have a great selection on their ELM. Salads, and soups, sandwiches and appetizers as well as pizza and lasagna. We started with the appetizer combo platter. Fried mozzarella, fried pickles, fried mushrooms, fried onion rings and fried chicken wings. One might think that's a lot of fried, but I am not one of those people. It was great, especially when paired with some mild or spicy dipping sauces. For my meal I was lulled into sweet blissful states of comfort with their toasted cheddar cheese on sourdough. Other breads and cheeses are available but I find the hearty sourdow not only holds up to the butter and grilling but add some edge to the taste of the cheddar. The coleslaw that came with it was creamy as I like it but a little lukewarm which made me go hmmmmm. My companion had their burger and potato salad. The burger was reported to be juicy and the potatoe salad also very creamy. Dessert was the caramel turtle cheesecake (just an ordinary slice of cheescake with caramel sauce on top along with pecans and then chocolate syrup drizzled over the whoe thing) and their 24-Karat cake (carrot cake, get it?) Our server was attentive and our glasses were constantly refilled. Highly recommended as a late night place to eat.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Henry's on East Street Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Worth the drive.
    --but have you had their giant cookies?!?! G-I-A-N-T. Peanut butter and choco chip. big chips. $1.50. WORTH IT.----------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- MISSION: caffeine & pastry. what to do when Calvin Fletcher's is closed, Taste is a crazy morning mess, and Rene's is clean out of all 3 varieties of my favorite croissants (almond, chocolate, and orange-- in that order)?-------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ANSWER: beeline to Henry's.....an Americano & a homemade muffin ----------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Henry's LG Americano: $2.50 = 4 shots & a side of competent real barrista service-------------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Starbucks grande Americano: $2.55 = 3 shots (w/ inferior beans) & a side of nonchalant youth or frowny part time housewife or confused senior....... you do the math.-------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Their regular coffee is also good. Don't doubt it bc you see them dispensing out of a thermos. this is coming from Ms persnickety french press lady. But okay, if you try first then decide it's not fresh enough for you they'll happily do a fresh brew. -------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Muffins deserve a huge shout-out. There's nothing commercial or artificial about these baseball-sized muffins: they've got a bed & breakfast quality about them, subtly sweet and greasy in a good way, with soft, cakey light interiors and awesome crusty edges; cranberries and blueberries are big and plump and tart. Just such a perfect honest and soul-satisfying package, you really do find yourself wanting to stop in each morning. ------------------------ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Midday food: California sandwich & chipotle turkey panini-- soooo good the super cool & super inked and pierced Sandwich Maker Dude-- who obviously has admirable control over his reactionary nerves-- can't even help exclaiming to himself as he removes the melty masterpiece from the presser, 'DAMN this is an awesome fine sandwich!!!"------------------------------------------------------------------ ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Have not enjoyed their dessert panini yet but "nutella & banana"? "pb & marshmallow"?? daresay could be better than a crepe-- someone please indulge and confirm! Jon A, I nominate you! take one for the team!!--------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Also consider their cool bar counter seating at the orig East St location, great indoor & outdoor tables for group mtgs or indiv study, cute little bathrooms. Friendly mix of regular patrons--strangers always happy to share tables if they are scarce, esp if you're looking for an outlet.-------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Their website used to suck and be totally useless but now you can find the entire menu and addl info there. Facebook blog too-- great daily updates on menu specials and other news.--------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ The only reason they don't get 5 stars is bc they aren't open 24 hrs. HA!-------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- PS- Skip the cinnamon rolls they are pretty much the weakest thing on the menu.------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Peak Performance Fitness Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Just looking?
    I didn't join here, but I did take the tour. This is a pretty comprehensive fitness center, with all the equipment (cardio machines, free weights, and weight-machines such as Hammerstrength, Strive, Paramount, Body Masters, Magnum, Nautilus), and lots of classes that are included in your membership, Aerobic, Spinning, Strength Training, Boot Camp, Pilates, Zumba and Yoga. Some classes, such as boxing, are extra, but at very low cost to members. -------------------------------- ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- They've added a BOXING program and a real BOXING RING, from Rock Steady Boxing.------------------------------------------------------------ ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- They're not the cheapest gym in price, but given the extensive amount and variety of machines they have (including rowing machines), the free classes, and the discounted classes, overall, I'd have to say it's a good value. Especially those classes. If their class schedule meets your schedule, and If you go on a regular basis, your cost per hour is much cheaper than those classes-only places (ie, "boot" and "fit" type places).----------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- There's a wide diversity of clientele. It's not mostly "the beautiful people" working out in make-up and designer clothes, nor all muscle-heads. They've got a mix of "hefty-Hoosiers," seniors, and plain folks, too.-------------------------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- You can get a free 3-day pass from their web site in order to evaluate them. ------------------------------------------------------------------ --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- They offer child-care for a nominal fee, but not at all hours; check their schedule. ------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I live in this neighborhood, so I've seen that this place has been around for years, and is still popular, so it's not a fly-by-night joint. And they don't pressure you to pay for a year up front like some places.------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- They're located in the Hawthorne Plaza Shopping Center at the NW corner of E 62nd and Binford. Enter at the Shell gas station on 62nd Street. You can't see them from 62nd street, but you can see them from Binford.--------------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Zonie's Closet Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Gay bar????
    There aren't enough good things I can say about this fabulous little dive on the east side of downtown Indy. Although Talbott Street is more well-known, Zonie's has somehow flawlessly combined the glitziness of drag shows with the coziness of a neighborhood hole-in-the-wall. I guess I better start at the beginning. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I called there a couple weeks ago to make reservations for a rather large party (20 people). Zonie herself answered the phone and was extremely helpful and friendly and promised a table right up front. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Everything was in order for us when we walked in around 10:00 (shows start at 10:30 on Saturdays). The friendly lady with the Elvis hair and tie-dyed blazer greeted us at the door to check IDs and get the $3 cover charge. Miss Britney Taylor, one of the performers, was sitting at the bar and asked if one of us was the bride?????? I pointed him out to both Britney and Kristi (the DJ), who also asked about him. I figured they had a little something planned for her since it was a party and all. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------- A little something doesn't even cover it! Britney came out in a bridal getup and performed a couple wedding-related numbers, Kristi interacted with our group all night from her place in the DJ booth, and Scotty Too Hottie came out and gave our friend a fun little personal dance. All of us, especially the "bride", felt like royalty by the end of the night. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- And wow, did these girls and guys give it all they had. Each of them performed four or five sets (I lost track), all different and all entertaining. There was were two drag queens (the afore-mentioned Britney and also Ginger Ale), a drag king (Mr. Colton Parker), a male dancer (Scotty) and the outrageously androgynous Khaos van Ryan. A couple of personal favorites included Britney doing Pink's "Dirty Little Freaks," Ginger's rendition of "His Eye is on the Sparrow" (yes, really) and Khaos' punk and Silly String interpretation of Kesha's "Blow." We hung around afterwards, taking pictures and talking with the performers, who were all so nice. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Oh, and mad props go to the bartenders too, who got drinks out fast, strong and cheaply. They were workin' it just as much as the ladies on stage. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Yeah, this is pretty much the longest review ever, but we all had such a great time, and felt so welcomed at Zonie's Closet. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Downtown Olly's Over a year ago
    Hates it

    Hungery?
    I've been there twice now, and this place is just plain awesome. They're not terribly big, but they have a nice dining area that is somewhat separated from the bar. They're open 24 hours starting Thursdays at 9am and stay open until Sunday night. GREAT food, AMAZING service. I will be back the next time I'm in Indy.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Gregs Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Has a little bit of everythig.
    Greg's is one of the few bars in Indianapolis that caters to any crowd. Lots of fun happening here and the only place I've been to with a crowded but friendly Country Line Dancing room on Friday nights until midnight (show up at 9:00 for Line Dancing Lessons). The bar is also pretty busy on Saturday nights as well and even host a drag show Monday nights. Any other night of the week it's fairly casual. _________________________________________________ This bar is smoke-free (indoors only)! But also has a back patio for smoking. _________________________________________________ Neither bars accept credit cards, but they do have an ATM machine to get some cash. _________________________________________________ They do not have a VIP section, but they do have second floor seating, which gives a view of the main bar area and a good place to see who is coming in the front door. __________________________________________________ The bathrooms are a little sketch, but what can you expect from a gay bar... ___________________________________________________ Overall, I always have a good time here... except when it's time to push through the crowds on a busy weekend. See you there for Two-Stepping! ___________________________________________________

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Hai Sizzling Wok Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great choise "pfdindy".
    This place is a favorite of mine...I come here with coworkers when we feel like taking a long lunch. Forget the "Chinese" part of the menu - what you are coming for is the Vietnamese food. Delicious Pho! Authentic and tasty, it rivals any I've had outside of Indianapolis. Noodle dishes are great too...everything is so fresh and cooked perfectly. Service is attentive - the server is amazing actually, she remembers what everyone likes to eat to the point we really don't need menus anymore. Try a Vietnamese iced coffee, they are yummy! And did I mention they serve bubble (boba) tea! Awesome! Highly recommended!

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed 45 Degrees Over a year ago
    Hates it

    3 - 4 out of 5 stars
    Forty Five Degrees is a cross between a sushi bar, a Mediterranean/Cajun restaurant and a swank downtown club. The fact that it's at the end of Mass Ave., under Michael Andretti's place, says a lot. I always taste spicy tuna to gauge a sushi joint's worthiness. I was impressed: It was fresh. I also had some prawns on crostini with portabella mushrooms in a Cajun sauce that could have been spicier. The shrimp was good, though. The decor is a bit interesting: Everything is turned to a 45 degree angle, and done up in ice blue and gray colors, but then some of the booths kinda have a diner look to them. It's pretty eclectic.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Metro NightClub and Restaurant Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Not a shake and bake place!
    The metro is one of my favorite places to go after work with a friend, (or even alone)? Grab a veggie burger (if thats your thing)? And some beers (or cokes), if thats your thing? The atmosphere is quite before 10pm the bartenders and servers are always nice and helpful the beer is good pool tables are nice , the pool sticks are in great shape no need to bring your own, if your like (and thats your thing), enjoy the sport of playing pool with your own pool cue.____________________________________________________________ I've been here a few times over the last few years and somehow missed about, THE BEST PATIO IN TOWN. Seriously, I was here last month and the patio is amazing. Lots of seating, beautiful trees, fenced in so you don't have to look at the alley, great lighting/ambiance. The only down side was that you had to go inside to the bar to get your drink - if there was a server out there to bring them to me, it would have been perfect

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Scotty's Brewhouse Over a year ago
    Loves it

    Great new busness! With young owners
    If you need to gain five pounds quickly, go here. It's kind of sad that "American (Traditional)" cuisine = fried, fattening appetizers followed by fried, fattening entrees, washed down with calorific drinks and finished off with sugar-bomb desserts. That said, Scotty's does this genre decently, adding unexpected twists like fried disks of dill pickle with horseradish. Their pub menu is expansive and even funny (they serve a school lunch meal on one of those plastic trays you remember from elementary). In case you had any doubts about your inevitable heart attack, you can add cheese and bacon bits to pretty much everything. I had a chipotle black bean burger, which pretty much tasted like the Morningstar patties I get in the freezer aisle. I was, however, impressed with the number of interesting microbrews they had on tap. The People's Pilgrim Porter (Lafayette, Ind.) I chose was the stand-out of my meal. I'd definitely go back for that alone. The dill pickles were a novelty, but way too salty and greasy. The atmosphere was your typical douche-y sports bar. Hey, sorry, to you folks who are into that. It's not my bag. I dislike TVs and certainly don't need EIGHT in my sightline to enjoy a beer and a meal. I know, I know, I should probably stay far away from places like Scotty's, but I live in Indianapolis and the pickings are slim. I do give Scotty's credit for the exciting beer selection, nice servers and their efforts to include a few decent veggie options on the menu. Note: The owners are young, with a brand new busness they started. So things can go up and down here,,, very easily,,,,,

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed The Stone Soup Inn Over a year ago
    Hates it

    This is a (GAY) friendly place????
    If you are going to have a "wedding" night here. The room in a house? You might embaress the owners and guests while they eat at the, breakfast , lunch table? At the bed and breakfast? Is this what "Scott" the owner of this sight really would want? I.E. read the description on the top of this page? ____________________________________The Lily room features a romantic two person jacuzzi.

  • JA237
    JA237 reviewed Varsity Over a year ago
    Hates it

    SOLD BAR TO NEW OWNERS !
    To the redheads at the Varsity.... You two are awesome!!!! It's what the bar has needed for the longest time, just great people with (as Thomas would say) great energy! Jeremy is by far the best bartender who also sings karaoke while still tending bar and Thomas well he is just a dancing fool! The two together are enough enjoyment to watch that there is no other place you have to go for entertainment! To the new owner I have to say this.... These two are by far the best decision you have made to the bar! Thank you! Now let's see more of the redheads working the bar! Since you just opened the bar, I give you three stars! As there is more to look forward to!